Stats: 3,150,866 members, 7,810,298 topics. Date: Saturday, 27 April 2024 at 06:19 AM

Breaking:Eguavoen Steps Down As Super Eagles Coach After AFCON 2021 Exit - Sports - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Entertainment / Sports / Breaking:Eguavoen Steps Down As Super Eagles Coach After AFCON 2021 Exit (710 Views)

Who Should Be The New Super Eagles Coach After Poseiro? / The Crowd That Came Out To Welcome Guinea After AFCON Outing / Eguavoen Steps Down As Super Eagles Coach After AFCON 2021 Exit (2) (3) (4)

Breaking:Eguavoen Steps Down As Super Eagles Coach After AFCON 2021 Exit by Omooba77: 11:09pm On Jan 23, 2022
Augustine Eguavoen has stepped down as the interim coach of the Nigeria national team.

This follows the Super Eagles’ 1-0 defeat to Tunisia in the 2021 Africa Cup of Nations round of 16 clash on Sunday.

Eguavoen had led the three-time champions to three straight wins against Egypt, Sudan and Guinea-Bissau.

However, they fell short against a Covid-stricken Tunisian team in the knockout stages.

“What happens next is that I’m the interim coach and Technical Director of the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF).

“I will go back to my position and allow the NFF (to) make a decision on the way forward,” Eguavoen said after the match.

Eguavoen stepped in after Gernot Rohr was sacked last month. However, the NFF announced Jose Peseiro as the new permanent coach before the AFCON kicked off.

https://dailypost.ng/2022/01/23/breaking-eguavoen-steps-down-as-super-eagles-coach-after-afcon-2021-exit/
Re: Breaking:Eguavoen Steps Down As Super Eagles Coach After AFCON 2021 Exit by Reflect7: 11:11pm On Jan 23, 2022
I don't blame the poor guy. Let someone else deal with these useless players.
Re: Breaking:Eguavoen Steps Down As Super Eagles Coach After AFCON 2021 Exit by Omooba77: 11:13pm On Jan 23, 2022
Lalasticlala it has happened.....
Re: Breaking:Eguavoen Steps Down As Super Eagles Coach After AFCON 2021 Exit by Bola146(f): 11:14pm On Jan 23, 2022
You really tried sir expect the mumu goalkeeper and unfortunate caller that called you hours to go lipsrsealed lipsrsealed. Next time, don't receive call when you are going for something very important grin grin

Re: Breaking:Eguavoen Steps Down As Super Eagles Coach After AFCON 2021 Exit by otokx(m): 11:14pm On Jan 23, 2022
Let him go, how could he not read the game?

Re: Breaking:Eguavoen Steps Down As Super Eagles Coach After AFCON 2021 Exit by Nanaborga(m): 11:18pm On Jan 23, 2022
I pity him for picking buhari’s call , he should be wise next time
Re: Breaking:Eguavoen Steps Down As Super Eagles Coach After AFCON 2021 Exit by Omooba77: 11:18pm On Jan 23, 2022
Bola146:
You really tried sir expect the mumu goalkeeper and unfortunate caller that called you hours to go lipsrsealed lipsrsealed. Next time, don't receive call when you are going for something very important grin grin

Why are you all blaming Buhari, he is just doing the Lord's work......
Re: Breaking:Eguavoen Steps Down As Super Eagles Coach After AFCON 2021 Exit by Treasure17(m): 11:20pm On Jan 23, 2022
Just little twist in tactics could have saved us from this pain but you did your best. You were not prepared for the job anyway.

Re: Breaking:Eguavoen Steps Down As Super Eagles Coach After AFCON 2021 Exit by Bola146(f): 11:21pm On Jan 23, 2022
Omooba77:

Why are you all blaming Buhari, he is just doing the Lord's work......

sad sad

Re: Breaking:Eguavoen Steps Down As Super Eagles Coach After AFCON 2021 Exit by Omooba77: 11:32pm On Jan 23, 2022
Bola146:

sad sad
It reminded me of France 1998....
Re: Breaking:Eguavoen Steps Down As Super Eagles Coach After AFCON 2021 Exit by Reflect7: 11:40pm On Jan 23, 2022
otokx:

Read what? He will come on the field to help Ndidi shoot on target? To help Iheanacho make a simple pass or dribble? Sorry, this was not Eguavoen's fault. The players as usual turned complacent and stupid after the hype got to their heads.

Re: Breaking:Eguavoen Steps Down As Super Eagles Coach After AFCON 2021 Exit by TOPCRUISE(m): 11:43pm On Jan 23, 2022
He shouldn't have stepped down now. Nigerians wants him to continue. Infact, a lot of lovedup messages has been sent to him on this forum
Re: Breaking:Eguavoen Steps Down As Super Eagles Coach After AFCON 2021 Exit by TarOrfeeek: 12:06am On Jan 24, 2022
otokx:

Ola Aina was playing like a drunkard

Aribo was no where to be found

Ekong was utterly useless

Omeruo was tired after 30mins

Re: Breaking:Eguavoen Steps Down As Super Eagles Coach After AFCON 2021 Exit by festacman(m): 12:22am On Jan 24, 2022

Re: Breaking:Eguavoen Steps Down As Super Eagles Coach After AFCON 2021 Exit by tellwisdom: 2:49am On Jan 24, 2022
Reflect7:

Read what? He will come on the field to help Ndidi shoot on target? To help Iheanacho make a simple pass or dribble? Sorry, this was not Eguavoen's fault. The players as usual turned complacent and stupid after the hype got to their heads.

Ndidi had more than 3 chances of that type they scored us with, but the guy blew everything. Not even a shot on target.

I’m so disappointed
Re: Breaking:Eguavoen Steps Down As Super Eagles Coach After AFCON 2021 Exit by Reflect7: 2:56am On Jan 24, 2022
tellwisdom:

Ndidi had more than 3 chances of that type they scored us with, but the guy blew everything. Not even a shot on target.

I’m so disappointed

Don't mind him. He can easily get a shooting coach to help improve his shooting. Or make him a free kick specialist etc. But no. Those boys never strive to be extra, or better than they are.
Re: Breaking:Eguavoen Steps Down As Super Eagles Coach After AFCON 2021 Exit by paulolee(m): 3:15am On Jan 24, 2022
wish him luck bt I dnt see him keeping this eagles job...
Re: Breaking:Eguavoen Steps Down As Super Eagles Coach After AFCON 2021 Exit by tellwisdom: 3:24am On Jan 24, 2022
Reflect7:

Don't mind him. He can easily get a shooting coach to help improve his shooting. Or make him a free kick specialist etc. But no. Those boys never strive to be extra, or better than they are.

You are very observant. I’d always known our players to be average or below par. No self improvement or growth in their game.

One way players. Now check out Aribo With No 10 jersey- Someone who couldn’t make a penetrating or string a disturbing pass In between the opponents defensive midfield and the center back. He probably thinks Jersey No10 is just a number..
Re: Breaking:Eguavoen Steps Down As Super Eagles Coach After AFCON 2021 Exit by Richy4(m): 4:53am On Jan 24, 2022
It will be be hypocritical of me to totally erase all the wonderful performance the Eagles showcased at group stage...

It was unfortunate that they didn't come to the tournament with a goal keeper...

Maybe instead of training, they got distracted due to over praising from well meaning Nigerians... Overconfidence sets in and all

Victor Osimhen's interview after Napoli's destruction of Juventus (video) / Cool 2 Odds Prediction / Top 15 Hottest Female Footballers In The World (2023)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 18