Stats: 3,151,866 members, 7,813,956 topics. Date: Tuesday, 30 April 2024 at 10:40 PM

General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction - Properties (2233) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Properties / General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction (4380085 Views)

Discuss Anything Property And Lets Make Money In The Process / Residential Building Construction Mistakes In Nigeria You Need To Avoid / General Topic Thread - The Roforofo Thread Of Construction Activities (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (2230) (2231) (2232) (2233) (2234) (2235) (2236) ... (3665) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by stanley000: 9:15pm On May 30, 2021
Kentucky404:

Shalaye Baba. OMG. See senseless explanation. grin chaiị

The fact that you accepted to being a fool is enough for me. The Grade of your foolishness is even Top Notch. . #CaseClosed. cheesy

Sorry oh! Bait Creator

See Another bait you created below. cool

ok
Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by Muyi002(m): 9:31pm On May 30, 2021
Good evening people. Eku ojo meta o. Please I don finish plaster o. Please from the attached how do I set my priorities.

Kindly advise as I have 450k. Please the prices quoted might not be updated

Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by michlins(m): 9:36pm On May 30, 2021
adeememman:

How can I reach u Sir, I wan ask you something, my WhatsApp number is on my signature
sent you a message already
Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by BuildingProject: 9:41pm On May 30, 2021
Please I still need someone that can help me in installing a roofing rain gutter / water collector.

Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by michlins(m): 9:42pm On May 30, 2021
Muyi002:
Good evening people. Eku ojo meta o. Please I don finish plaster o. Please from the attached how do I set my priorities.

do doors and burglaries. Secure the building and you can start fixing the rooms one after another
Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by Muyi002(m): 9:48pm On May 30, 2021
michlins:
do doors and burglaries. Secure the building and you can start fixing the rooms one after another

Building is already secured

Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by michlins(m): 9:50pm On May 30, 2021
Muyi002:

use the money and buy the wires and store. You can then ask twinskenny for a quotation on wiring and see what you're up against
Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by twinskenny(m): 9:53pm On May 30, 2021
Muyi002:

i think electrical wiring, pop, tiling accordingly.
Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by soonest(f): 9:53pm On May 30, 2021
Muyi002:

Do ceiling work. Since you have fixed windows and external doors. I wish you more money to complete your project
Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by twinskenny(m): 9:55pm On May 30, 2021
soonest:

Do ceiling work. Since you have fixed windows and external doors. I wish you more money to complete your project

wiring before ceiling
Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by Jasobry: 10:10pm On May 30, 2021
Muyi002:

I just concluded wiring,pop is ongoing before screeding then tiles
Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by rmx: 10:10pm On May 30, 2021
n3xt:

My goal is not to look rich but to be rich.

Below is my biggest competition and where I’m channeling all my energies now. I’m doing something nicer than what strucutracasa delivered near me.

Na here we go dey wey I go finish this and jump on something bigger.

I’ve left the dead to bury their dead grin

Happy Weekend NL!

Nice .will yours have a community pool

I think most of the 12 units strucuturasa built is not sold last time I checked
Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by soonest(f): 11:39pm On May 30, 2021
twinskenny:

wiring before ceiling

Really?
I did the piping of my house before plastering.
After plastering, i did ceiling. I have bought wire but yet to wire the house
Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by EgunMogaji2: 11:49pm On May 30, 2021
BuildingProject:
Please I still need someone that can help me in installing a roofing rain gutter / water collector.

@money121

Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by coldcandy: 12:00am On May 31, 2021
soonest:

Really?
For POP ceilings, always do wiring before pop work. Else the electrician will damage the pop when he climbs on the ceiling

Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by money121(m): 12:00am On May 31, 2021
BuildingProject:
Whatsapp 08085310359

Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by n3xt(m): 4:18am On May 31, 2021
rmx:

Nice .will yours have a community pool

I think most of the 12 units strucuturasa built is not sold last time I checked

There’s provision for a pool per unit. It’s one of the nice-to-have features of the build.

The issue of high vacancy rate has been discussed here many times and I still maintain my position that people should not invest heavily in areas where the cost of owning a house is relatively cheap.

The major reason most builds are unoccupied is because we have an over-saturated real estate market.

We are currently overbuilding in Nigeria and this can be extremely detrimental to the viability of a real estate market which is a major cause of the decrease in demand.
Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by n3xt(m): 4:54am On May 31, 2021
Jumyg:

20k for both arch and Structural designs ke!

It’s a professional job!
Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by twinskenny(m): 6:31am On May 31, 2021
soonest:

Really?
it has to be before to make the electrician work easier and without damaging the ceiling

Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by Person2person(m): 6:52am On May 31, 2021
Good morning? Happy new week!
Doors, wardrobes and kitchen set up.....check us out!
Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by cash1115(m): 7:23am On May 31, 2021
Need a professional to install your building's P.O.P ceiling? Screed the walls to make it as smooth as glass? Install all kinds of P.O.P designs like wall demarcation, T.v stand, wine cabinets and the likes? Install Roman arch at the entrance and dinning? Windows and doors art? Pillar and column designs?

Contact us at His Grace Interiors for the best of the best at affordable prices.
Our reputation precedes us, especially here on Nairaland.
You can check all our other threads here on NL for further info.
A trial, I'm sure , will definitely convince you.

You can reach us on +2347069462837 or hisgraceinteriors@gmail.com for further information and enquiries.
We're available 24/7 anywhere in Nigeria

Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by spyder880(m): 7:37am On May 31, 2021
twinskenny:
it has to be before to make the electrician work easier and without damaging the ceiling

You are right, doing your wiring before the ceiling makes for a smooth work all through BUT the fear of wire theft can make one to put off wiring till later, despite the risk of the ceilings.

Because of the number of workers that work in the sites between the time you wire and the time the ceiling is later done, theft of wires can occur. Theft of wires is very easy and quick, and could be done by even those who are not trained as electricians. The cost of wires now is an added incentive for thieves.

So I go ahead and so my ceilings, and my ceiling people always tie them with enough supports to avoid any damage. I then do wiring as one of the last jobs on site when most people have left the site, just before painting.

To ensure there are no blocked pipes, i bring the electricians to phish the lines and confirm that all lines are through before we start plastering. Thanks.

Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by ceelog(m): 7:59am On May 31, 2021
You are indeed a veteran in the business.

The prevalence of wire theft in my zone is so high that wiring shall be done just before painting and cleaning.

Just stocking up on wires for now.

spyder880:

You are right, doing your wiring before the ceiling makes for a smooth work all through BUT the fear of wire theft can make one to put off wiring till later, despite the risk of the ceilings.

Because of the number of workers that work in the sites between the time you wire and the time the ceiling is later done, theft of wires can occur. Theft of wires is very easy and quick, and could be done by even those who are not trained as electricians. The cost of wires now is an added incentive for thieves.

So I go ahead and so my ceilings, and my ceiling people always tie them with enough supports to avoid any damage. I then do wiring as one of the last jobs on site when most people have left the site, just before painting.

To ensure there are no blocked pipes, i bring the electricians to phish the lines and confirm that all lines are through before we start plastering. Thanks.

Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by Johntemmy(m): 8:00am On May 31, 2021
Good morning..
Contact me for your roofing woods,woodwork and materials
Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by EgunMogaji2: 8:07am On May 31, 2021
ceelog:
You are indeed a veteran in the business.

The prevalence of wire theft in my zone is so high that wiring shall be done just before painting and cleaning.

Just stocking up on wires for now.

He really is.

Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by diordaves(m): 9:16am On May 31, 2021
Muyi002:

I'm not sure of your location, but to me personally, with 450k on ground, I will completely achieve the home water supply, make that one commot for ground. So water tower, pumping machine, bore hole (location determinant). Every other thing on that list you can do "small small" but you will struggle to do water tower small small.

Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by somehow: 9:32am On May 31, 2021
n3xt:

There’s provision for a pool per unit. It’s one of the nice-to-have features of the build.

The issue of high vacancy rate has been discussed here many times and I still maintain my position that people should not invest heavily in areas where the cost of owning a house is relatively cheap.

The major reason most builds are unoccupied is because we have an over-saturated real estate market.

We are currently overbuilding in Nigeria and this can be extremely detrimental to the viability of a real estate market which is a major cause of the decrease in demand.

Over building?

Do you know the percentage of housing deficit in Nigeria?

Just look it up.

Maybe the real estate guys are building too many "out of reach" houses and not targeting those with lean purses.

We need at least 1 million houses per year to meet up with the deficit in 10 years.

Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by gbadexy(m): 9:35am On May 31, 2021
twinskenny:

Lol I think the client own the empty bucket... lol I might be wrong though. Oga gbadexy where are you?
Sorry to be late to the party.
The client owns the empty buckets unless the painter got the whole job as a contract. It wouldn't matter how many buckets he used or what happens to the leftovers and used container so as long as he gets the job.
Michlins already did justice to the question.

cc Badgers14

Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by micgray100(m): 9:42am On May 31, 2021
[quote author=Horlardorjah post=102208747][/quote]

YOU CAN SEE HOW IGNORANT YOU ARE..

YOU REFUSE TO LEARN EVEN AFTER THIS PAGE HAVE GOTTEN TO 2000+ PAGE.

LET ME EDUCATE YOU A LITTLE.. THERE ARE MANY PROFESSIONALS IN THE CONSTRUCTION FIELD..
AND THIS PROFFESSIONALS WORK IN EITHER THE DESIGNING STAGE, TENDERING STAGE, OR EXECUTION/CONSTRUCTION STAGE.
MANY WORK IN THE CONSTRUCTION STAGE BECAUSE THAT IS WHERE THE REAL PROJECT HAVE PHYSICAL PRESENCE

LIKE YOU ALREADY KNOW.. I ADVERTISED ONLY DESIGNING OF STRUCTURAL ENGINEERING DRAWINGS.. NOT BUILDING CONSTRUCTION WHICH IS MOSTLY DONE BY EXPERT BUILDERS YOU MENTION ABOVE. YOU SEE THEM POSTING PICTURES OF ON-GOING PROJECTS BUT YOU DONT SEE THEM POSTING ENGINEERING DESIGN DRAWINGS. THAT IS PROFFESSIONALISM..

TRY TO EDUCATE YOUESELF A LITTLE EVEN WITH GOOGLE... OR LOCATE A CONSULTANCY ENGINEEERING FIRM AND LEARN WHAT THEY DO.
ENGINEERING DRAWINGS ARE NOT JUST POSTED ANYHOW IN A FORUM LIKE THIS... IF YOU WANT TO SEE MY WORK... I HAVE TOLD YOU TO DM ME DIRECTLY OR DROP YOUR MAIL... I AM SURE YOUR JAW WILL DROP...

I AM A CONSULTANT STRUCTURAL ENGINEER AND MY ADVERT SHOULD TELL YOU THE KIND OF PERSON I AM... I HAVE NOTHING TO HIDE.. THE FEW I HAVE WORKED FOR HERE KNOWS ME WELL... I JUST LOVE DESIGNING...

YOU WILL BE SHOCKED IF I TELL YOU I CAN PRODUCE A STRUCTURAL DESIGN DETAILS OF A DUPLEX IN 1 HOUR... GROW UP BRO.. THIS IS COMPUTER AGE.... I AM GOOD AT WHAT I DO.. I HAVE PAID MY DUES WORKING IN A CONSULTANCY FIRM FOR 12 YEARS... IS TIME TO BLOW MYSELF... LET ME ADVERTISE MYSELF.... PLEASEEEEEE

Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by topsy23: 9:44am On May 31, 2021
Muyi002:

Thieves can still enter through the ceiling and remove all the cables . With the pictures uploaded the area is not fully developed .

You can pull the cables if the POP contractor are fully mobilized to site. Price of cable is very high in the market now. I received a call recently from a customers that I supplied cables in Warri last December. He told me all the cables bought worth 735k have been stolen and he's planning place order for another one.

Think twice before you go ahead for the Cabling aspect

God help you

Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by spyder880(m): 9:44am On May 31, 2021
gbadexy:

Sorry to be late to the party.
The client owns the empty buckets unless the painter got the whole job as a contract. It wouldn't matter how many buckets he used or what happens to the leftovers and used container so as long as he gets the job.
Michlins already did justice to the question.

cc Badgers14

I agree completely, I was only waiting for your submission before I comment on that question. Michlins also did good justice to the topic. The client/owner owns the buckets if only he gave money for paints to be bought, example, "Buy me 20 drums of paint and how much is the paints?" "Then, how much is your workmanship?" The painter takes his workmanship money and walks away after the painting, leaving the buckets for the owner, and if the paints are not enough, the owner buys more, and keeps all his buckets.

The scenario changes completely if the owner said, "How much will you charge me to paint this BQ?" If N100,000 is agreed as sum for the paints and workmanship, maybe even transportation, the painter goes to the market, buys the paints (it could be 17 drums or 22) but the painting is done and seen to be done well, if the painter takes his buckets and remaining paints and walks away, he is right to do so.

Thanks Gbadexy.

This was a big issue in one of my past projects, the clients family insisted they own the buckets even when I charged for a complete painting contract, (paints, painters, transportation and painting tools, ladders and other materials) but when I saw it was going to cause a big problem, I left the remaining paints and all the buckets so that peace will reign.

(1) (2) (3) ... (2230) (2231) (2232) (2233) (2234) (2235) (2236) ... (3665) (Reply)

Viewing this topic: nwaorlu, Itzkingtimmy(m), chairmanawe(m) and 5 guest(s)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 64