Stats: 3,151,473 members, 7,812,463 topics. Date: Monday, 29 April 2024 at 01:47 PM

How Herdsmen Paid To Educate Southern Nigeria - Politics - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / How Herdsmen Paid To Educate Southern Nigeria (744 Views)

Yemi Osinbajo Sings Asake Organize To Educate The Audience At National Theatre / Benue: Herdsmen Paid N100m Fines In 3 Months – Miyetti Allah / Fulani Radio To Educate Herdsmen, Fishermen, Farmers, Hunters — NBC (2) (3) (4)

How Herdsmen Paid To Educate Southern Nigeria by chakula: 12:07pm On Sep 22, 2021
By 1943, one of the highest revenue generator for the federation account was livestock tax.

Northern region generated £120,000
Eastern region generated £2,000
Western region generated £50
Lagos colony generated 0

The expenditure on education was as follows:
Northern region £2,341
Eastern region £47,000
Western region £34,000
Lagos colony £17,000

What this meant was that it was cow money from the north that colonialists use to send majority of Nigerians from Southern region to school at that time.

If you have no knowledge of Adams Smith rhetorics on "THE WEALTH OF THE NATION", then don't join the debate on VAT.
Re: How Herdsmen Paid To Educate Southern Nigeria by overall90: 12:09pm On Sep 22, 2021
And the lies continues cheesy
Federation account in 1943 lols

Re: How Herdsmen Paid To Educate Southern Nigeria by chakula: 12:10pm On Sep 22, 2021
Kindly note that I am not the author of this publishing rather I saw it elsewhere and I decide to forward it for discussion. Simple.
Re: How Herdsmen Paid To Educate Southern Nigeria by cocolacec(m): 12:14pm On Sep 22, 2021
chakula:

By 1943, one of the highest revenue generator for the federation account was livestock tax.

Lagos colony generated 0

Northern region £2,341
Eastern region £47,000
Western region £34,000
Lagos colony £17,000

What this meant was that it was cow money from the north that colonialists use to send majority of Nigerians from Southern region to school at that time.

If you have no knowledge of Adams Smith rhetorics on "THE WEALTH OF THE NATION", then don't join the debate on VAT.

You are the biggest liar in the history of Nigeria.so you mean other regions economic activities were shut down only the North was functioning.

In 1943-1966 Nigeria ran a regional govt (Western,Eastern and Northern) where money in your region was utilized by that region only 10% was given to the FG.

Re: How Herdsmen Paid To Educate Southern Nigeria by milkymesh: 12:15pm On Sep 22, 2021
Source please to enable verify the authenticity of this claim.

chakula:
Kindly note that I am not the author of this publishing rather I saw it elsewhere and I decide to forward it for discussion. Simple.
Re: How Herdsmen Paid To Educate Southern Nigeria by overall90: 12:19pm On Sep 22, 2021
chakula:

Why the disclaimer.
If you have some knowledge about the history of Nigeria, you should know that the write up does not make sense.
First, the reason why the north and south were amalgated is because the north didn't have money to run it's administration.
Secondly,the major earners during those periods were cash crops and it has been shown on this forum that the Cash crops from the south had more economic value than the ones from the north.
Thirdly, what we had were regional educational and scholarship boards, so I don't how the north were educating others and left their own population.
I can go on and on...

Re: How Herdsmen Paid To Educate Southern Nigeria by Gentlerespect76: 12:29pm On Sep 22, 2021
chakula:

Lagos colony generated 0

Northern region £2,341
Eastern region £47,000
Western region £34,000
Lagos colony £17,000

Your lies no be here!

Re: How Herdsmen Paid To Educate Southern Nigeria by Otuegbe: 12:30pm On Sep 22, 2021
chakula:

Lagos colony generated 0

Northern region £2,341
Eastern region £47,000
Western region £34,000
Lagos colony £17,000

will u kip quiet!

Re: How Herdsmen Paid To Educate Southern Nigeria by Gentlerespect76: 12:31pm On Sep 22, 2021
chakula:

To exculpate yourself, simply quote your source of information.

Re: How Herdsmen Paid To Educate Southern Nigeria by JimiJunji: 12:31pm On Sep 22, 2021
Hmmm, please do have a source to this data?
Re: How Herdsmen Paid To Educate Southern Nigeria by Corporate2020: 12:33pm On Sep 22, 2021
chakula:

Lagos colony generated 0

Northern region £2,341
Eastern region £47,000
Western region £34,000
Lagos colony £17,000

MAD 101: Introduction to Simple Madness.

Where is all the Cocoa, Rubber, Palm Oil money? Very soon, you go land for psychiatric hospital you this street Almajari

Re: How Herdsmen Paid To Educate Southern Nigeria by macof(m): 12:33pm On Sep 22, 2021

Northerners and their comedy

Lets even imagine this stats were real, because it isn't in itself unbelievable, are you saying because livestock tax was collected most in the North therefore the North had an overall higher contribution to the economy? grin?
Other regions didn't have coal, cocoa, palm oil etc

That's how northerners also like to hype groundnut pyramids grin saying groundnut money fed the country

Re: How Herdsmen Paid To Educate Southern Nigeria by Corporate2020: 12:35pm On Sep 22, 2021
chakula:

The writer knows there are internet miscreants like you who will spread the nonsense

Re: How Herdsmen Paid To Educate Southern Nigeria by Gentlerespect76: 12:36pm On Sep 22, 2021
Moreover, Adam Smith did not write any book titled "THE WEALTH OF THE NATION" but rather "The Wealth of Nations"

Re: How Herdsmen Paid To Educate Southern Nigeria by Nobody: 12:37pm On Sep 22, 2021
chakula:

Lagos colony generated 0

Northern region £2,341
Eastern region £47,000
Western region £34,000
Lagos colony £17,000

Even a new born baby won’t believe these balderdash.

Re: How Herdsmen Paid To Educate Southern Nigeria by system21: 12:43pm On Sep 22, 2021
Almajari statistics. All to prove that north is not parasite
Re: How Herdsmen Paid To Educate Southern Nigeria by spy24(m): 3:35pm On Sep 22, 2021
Buhari becoming president is the best thing that has happened to the South so far

Our eyes don open small

The man cast north well infact his 8 years worked against them than it did to the south

Re: How Herdsmen Paid To Educate Southern Nigeria by Patriot9: 4:34pm On Sep 22, 2021
cheesy cheesy grin grin the guy done mute sharp sharp.
Op, come out now grin grin
Re: How Herdsmen Paid To Educate Southern Nigeria by nabiz(m): 4:38pm On Sep 22, 2021
chakula:

Lagos colony generated 0

Northern region £2,341
Eastern region £47,000
Western region £34,000
Lagos colony £17,000

was there Nigeria in the year 1943
Re: How Herdsmen Paid To Educate Southern Nigeria by debaj10: 4:47pm On Sep 22, 2021
mods
what's the punishment for fake news and misinformation?
kindly proceed with this person, whoever they are.
this sort of expensive nonsense has brought down nations before.
someone will now copy this insult to the south and post it on social media.
you guys need to take swift action to curtail such criminality, before nairaland becomes a place of ridicule.
nuff said.
lalasticlala, seun, mynd44
Re: How Herdsmen Paid To Educate Southern Nigeria by Gabkosh: 4:55pm On Sep 22, 2021
chakula:

Lagos colony generated 0

Northern region £2,341
Eastern region £47,000
Western region £34,000
Lagos colony £17,000

Mumu, no be only cow, you for say squirrels money.

The Secret Recipe For Southern Unity, That Will Shake The Northern Oligarchy / No Sit-at-home In Abia Today Monday 18th Oct 2021 Photos / We Are Worried By Difficulties Encountered By Nnamdi Kanu’s Legal Team — S-east

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 32