Stats: 3,166,108 members, 7,863,867 topics. Date: Tuesday, 18 June 2024 at 08:07 AM

Rio Ferdinand Names Virgil van Dijk Best Centre-Back In The World - Sports (3) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Entertainment / Sports / Rio Ferdinand Names Virgil van Dijk Best Centre-Back In The World (33827 Views)

Rio Ferdinand On A Media Tour In Lagos, Visits Computer Village (Pics) / Virgil Van Dijk Wins PFA Player Of The Year / Mourinho Blames Rio Ferdinand And Paul Scholes For His Sack (2) (3) (4)

Re: Rio Ferdinand Names Virgil van Dijk Best Centre-Back In The World by franugo(m): 1:39pm On Nov 10, 2021
MrKShoes:
Interested in your general wellness?

Do you want to boost your sexual vitality and also enjoy the taste of chocolate milk?

Check signature to learn more

She (or he) will thank you for making the right choice!

Nice slippers..what's the price for the one that looks like shoe?
Re: Rio Ferdinand Names Virgil van Dijk Best Centre-Back In The World by femi4: 1:48pm On Nov 10, 2021
PlayMaker14:
But your daft friend Gary Neville still thinks the £80million pounds fridge called “Maguire” is the best thing after Jollof Rice.

Maguire wasn't even the best defender while in Leicester
Re: Rio Ferdinand Names Virgil van Dijk Best Centre-Back In The World by sammytovic(m): 1:51pm On Nov 10, 2021
Fahdiga:
He might be the best now simply because we no longer have quality defenders. He wouldn't be in the top ten if it was during the days of Terry, Vidic, Ricardo Cavaloh, Ramos, Maldini and Canavaro
jFerdinard himself
Re: Rio Ferdinand Names Virgil van Dijk Best Centre-Back In The World by sammytovic(m): 1:58pm On Nov 10, 2021
pman06:

He's far better than Mr. "If i miss d ball I'll kill d player" Chiellini. And before you start saying canavaro,even canavaro knows he was never the best. Getting lucky at a world cup bad winning the world best doesn't mean you were the best. Go look at his playing career, see if he stood at at any point than the world cup he won.

Van Dijk had to his exceptional way of reading the game that he hardly get caught out of position. That's his main strength i believe. The debate if being the best is up for scrutiny, but Biko no dey mention canavaro Biko. Jaap Stam even better pass that one
May I ask, did you ever watch Canavaro playing?

Re: Rio Ferdinand Names Virgil van Dijk Best Centre-Back In The World by Latakia(f): 2:12pm On Nov 10, 2021
Mexyz:

Omeruo is no longer a Chelsea defender, more over Kenneth is doing well with Leganes in Spain now.
Leganes which local government is that? grin
Re: Rio Ferdinand Names Virgil van Dijk Best Centre-Back In The World by Numerouno94(m): 2:19pm On Nov 10, 2021
baggioni:

God bless you jare

Bless u too bro. smiley
Re: Rio Ferdinand Names Virgil van Dijk Best Centre-Back In The World by Impregnable101: 2:19pm On Nov 10, 2021
PlayMaker14:
But your daft friend Gary Neville still thinks the £80million pounds fridge called “Maguire” is the best thing after Jollof Rice.

been a manchester united fan since the 1998-1999 season and i can categorically tell u that slab head is the worse thing to ever happened to my dear club & i said it with Eric djemba-jemba, manucho & every other united flops in mind

Re: Rio Ferdinand Names Virgil van Dijk Best Centre-Back In The World by Numerouno94(m): 2:23pm On Nov 10, 2021
PrimeWatermark:

Thank you jare.
Lucio, Philip Lahm.

He couldn't even mention Bonucci and Chiellini that are currently playing. That's my problem with English pundits.

Ur welkum bro.

English media can hype nonsense. Imagine the kind of hyping the likes of Fridge head Maguire, Shaw, Rice, Grealish, Sancho etcetera got from the media. I'm not surprised.

Re: Rio Ferdinand Names Virgil van Dijk Best Centre-Back In The World by Numerouno94(m): 2:24pm On Nov 10, 2021
fergie001:

Don't ever call Maguire when you talk about footballers unless on squid game.

Thank you.

Ha!! Our captain? It's our captain ur referring to oo grin grin
Re: Rio Ferdinand Names Virgil van Dijk Best Centre-Back In The World by Numerouno94(m): 2:29pm On Nov 10, 2021
Van Dijk shuld b in the list of top5 active CBs buh don't tink he tops the list.
Re: Rio Ferdinand Names Virgil van Dijk Best Centre-Back In The World by fergie001: 2:38pm On Nov 10, 2021
Numerouno94:

Ha!! Our captain? It's our captain ur referring to oo grin grin

Re: Rio Ferdinand Names Virgil van Dijk Best Centre-Back In The World by Adjovi: 2:44pm On Nov 10, 2021
For those of you saying he's not, I don't really blame you. I know most of us are used to the rugged defending of them maldini,Nesta, gattuso, Ramos, vidic and co. VVD has a way of doing it, he's so calm in defending and getting the job done. His way of defending has become an act. If you play football and you play as a dm or CB you'll truly appreciate what Van dijk does. For me he's the best. This particular game against westham game, even tho they lost, if you see some tackles he made and how he did it so calmly when players like Ramos would have charged at the player and get carded. Van dijk just does it so easy. His shadow marking is the best I've ever seen. His speed despite how tall he is damn!

Re: Rio Ferdinand Names Virgil van Dijk Best Centre-Back In The World by mvem(m): 2:54pm On Nov 10, 2021
baggioni:

no mind them, na English press dey hype their below average players
is vvd English ?
Re: Rio Ferdinand Names Virgil van Dijk Best Centre-Back In The World by baggioni: 3:00pm On Nov 10, 2021
mvem:
is vvd English ?
No, but they make too much of noise about clowns that called themselves footballers cheesy
Re: Rio Ferdinand Names Virgil van Dijk Best Centre-Back In The World by mvem(m): 3:21pm On Nov 10, 2021
baggioni:

No, but they make too much of noise about clowns that called themselves footballers cheesy
English media only hype english players...vvd is not English but dutch
Re: Rio Ferdinand Names Virgil van Dijk Best Centre-Back In The World by Sniper04(m): 3:28pm On Nov 10, 2021
princeleo2017:
Show respect to who it's due to, vv single handedly transformed Liverpool which lead to other players coming out good while playing around him, his composure on the ball is class, his timings, he tackles well, has hardly received any red card since he signed for Liverpool, his stronger in the air ahead of any other central defender in the world at the moment, above all he brings so much calmness to the Liverpool defense,
Chelsea zouma was a beast in air boss
Re: Rio Ferdinand Names Virgil van Dijk Best Centre-Back In The World by Numerouno94(m): 3:55pm On Nov 10, 2021
[quote author=fergie001 post=107494085][/quote]

Calm down comrade. grin grin
Re: Rio Ferdinand Names Virgil van Dijk Best Centre-Back In The World by uchaymart(m): 4:27pm On Nov 10, 2021
Glycolite:
Really ?

Fabio cannavaro for me.
Come to think of it,is van dijk even better than Giorgio Chiellini ?
VVD is way above Giorgio Chiellini
Re: Rio Ferdinand Names Virgil van Dijk Best Centre-Back In The World by uchaymart(m): 4:30pm On Nov 10, 2021
olisaEze:
If Van Dijk is what goes for best CB in the world now, then the class & quality of football players in the world has really gone down the drain. cool
You are not being truthful, Sir.

Currently, no CD in the world you can compare with VVD . The next to VVD is Reuben Diaz

Re: Rio Ferdinand Names Virgil van Dijk Best Centre-Back In The World by MisfitHPG: 4:33pm On Nov 10, 2021
Fahdiga:
He might be the best now simply because we no longer have quality defenders. He wouldn't be in the top ten if it was during the days of Terry, Vidic, Ricardo Cavaloh, Ramos, Maldini and Canavaro
Mr Man,Vidic,Cavalho were not better than Van Dijk,Ramos is not even for to lace his boots,not because they are old doesn't make them better than the new,that guy is the most intelligent defender after Maldini and Nesta
Re: Rio Ferdinand Names Virgil van Dijk Best Centre-Back In The World by Wchris(m): 4:51pm On Nov 10, 2021
The best lazy defender is Maguire
Re: Rio Ferdinand Names Virgil van Dijk Best Centre-Back In The World by GuiseppeO: 5:50pm On Nov 10, 2021
pman06:

He's far better than Mr. "If i miss d ball I'll kill d player" Chiellini. And before you start saying canavaro,even canavaro knows he was never the best. Getting lucky at a world cup bad winning the world best doesn't mean you were the best. Go look at his playing career, see if he stood at at any point than the world cup he won.

Van Dijk have this exceptional way of reading the game that he hardly get caught out of position. That's his main strength i believe. The debate if being the best is up for scrutiny, but biko no dey mention canavaro biko. Jaap Stam even better pass that one.

You sabi ball senior man...
Re: Rio Ferdinand Names Virgil van Dijk Best Centre-Back In The World by GuiseppeO: 5:53pm On Nov 10, 2021
sammytovic:
May I ask, did you ever watch Canavaro playing?

I watched him, he was just a little above average....
Re: Rio Ferdinand Names Virgil van Dijk Best Centre-Back In The World by McTominay(m): 6:53pm On Nov 10, 2021
PlayMaker14:
Trust the English Media to always hype most of their below average players.

Harry Maguire is not worth £23mil, but because Liverpool got Virgil Van Dijk, a non British player for £75mil, they decided to make the below average Maguire the world most expensive defender by getting him for a whopping £80mil.

We all know the price tag they slapped on Andy Carroll and Rickie Lambert.
You people should keep quiet! Have you heard of Lucas Hernandez of Bayern Munich? The brother to Theo Hernandez of Milan... How did Bayern pay for him 70+ million pounds, do you know how much these players were bought ( kepa, dembele, coutinho, harverts) are they English players?
Because we watch more of English league we tend to focus more on the English media...
Do you how much the release clause of fati, pedri,isco, valverde are? 500million euros above... Bros leave your masters alone
Re: Rio Ferdinand Names Virgil van Dijk Best Centre-Back In The World by PlayMaker14: 6:56pm On Nov 10, 2021
McTominay:

You people should keep quiet! Have you heard of Lucas Hernandez of Bayern Munich? The brother to Theo Hernandez of Milan... How did Bayern pay for him 70+ million pounds, do you know how much these players were bought ( kepa, dembele, coutinho, harverts) are they English players?
Because we watch more of English league we tend to focus more on the English media...
Do you how much the release clause of fati, pedri,isco, valverde are? 500million euros above... Bros leave your masters alone

My dear, I don't argue with daft fellows.

Re: Rio Ferdinand Names Virgil van Dijk Best Centre-Back In The World by McTominay(m): 6:58pm On Nov 10, 2021
DOTian:
Ferdinand is too opionated for my liking..
Go to the Italian league and see an assortment of center halfs..
Virgil is good but will easily be torn apart in front of skillful players..
Which Italian league? The one that retired and out of sorts epl players go there and deliver? Is it the league where mhikitaryan, Abraham, dzeko, Ashley young, Pedro, lukaku, Smalling, performed to top level that has good defenders? U must be joking �
Re: Rio Ferdinand Names Virgil van Dijk Best Centre-Back In The World by Guzx: 7:20pm On Nov 10, 2021
Re: Rio Ferdinand Names Virgil van Dijk Best Centre-Back In The World by aladeokin1000(m): 7:24pm On Nov 10, 2021
Adjovi:
For those of you saying he's not, I don't really blame you. I know most of us are used to the rugged defending of them maldini,Nesta, gattuso, Ramos, vidic and co. VVD has a way of doing it, he's so calm in defending and getting the job done. His way of defending has become an act. If you play football and you play as a dm or CB you'll truly appreciate what Van dijk does. For me he's the best. This particular game against westham game, even tho they lost, if you see some tackles he made and how he did it so calmly when players like Ramos would have charged at the player and get carded. Van dijk just does it so easy. His shadow marking is the best I've ever seen. His speed despite how tall he is damn!
Apt!

Drake And Anthony Joshua Took A Photo Together And People Think Drake Is Cursed / UEFA Champions League 2020/2021 Round Of 16 Draw / Pictures Of Kanu, Ighalo & Tobi @ The Final Of The Oshoala Football Clinic

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 38