Stats: 3,149,828 members, 7,806,326 topics. Date: Tuesday, 23 April 2024 at 02:48 PM

Stop Asking Nigerians To Write IELTS (Petition) - Travel (2) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Travel / Stop Asking Nigerians To Write IELTS (Petition) (26571 Views)

Which Visa Is Easy For Nigerians To Get In 2023 / What Is The Best Country In The World For Nigerians To Relocate To And Why? / Fraudsters: STOP Asking Your Kins Abroad To Help You Aid Your Selfish Interests! (2) (3) (4)

Re: Stop Asking Nigerians To Write IELTS (Petition) by shina11(m): 2:17pm On Jan 26, 2022
Hmmmmmm
Re: Stop Asking Nigerians To Write IELTS (Petition) by Zee0007: 2:18pm On Jan 26, 2022
This is so disheartening.
Re: Stop Asking Nigerians To Write IELTS (Petition) by Zonex1(m): 2:18pm On Jan 26, 2022
O
Re: Stop Asking Nigerians To Write IELTS (Petition) by mikeetim(m): 2:18pm On Jan 26, 2022
Re: Stop Asking Nigerians To Write IELTS (Petition) by tachusta(m): 2:18pm On Jan 26, 2022
And these white guys are generating a lot of funds from this IELTS Test.
Its very unfair and wrong to ask countries colonized by the UK, to provide an IELTS result as a language requirement for admission.

Re: Stop Asking Nigerians To Write IELTS (Petition) by Dexpro: 2:19pm On Jan 26, 2022
Ogbeni, stop reading
post=109708172:
SECONDED,
Because English is the primary medium of instruction in Nigeria at all levels of education,
We don't need IELTS at all.

We are still signing the petition as we type.
More signatures needed from sane, honest and hardworking Nigerians.

Re: Stop Asking Nigerians To Write IELTS (Petition) by dialfa: 2:19pm On Jan 26, 2022
No other country is complaining.

Shameless Zoo.

Always begging.

Re: Stop Asking Nigerians To Write IELTS (Petition) by We4all: 2:19pm On Jan 26, 2022
Seconded. The way those white niggars love to exploit Africans is appalling. If they insist on writing that stupid exam, we should also mandate them to take Ibo, Hausa or Yoruba tests before they come to Nigeria.
Re: Stop Asking Nigerians To Write IELTS (Petition) by Racoon(m): 2:19pm On Jan 26, 2022
This petition is in order. Why the discrimination Britain?
Re: Stop Asking Nigerians To Write IELTS (Petition) by GoldenJAT(m): 2:20pm On Jan 26, 2022
Very good move!
Re: Stop Asking Nigerians To Write IELTS (Petition) by Angelfrost(m): 2:21pm On Jan 26, 2022
Long overdue tbh...

It's deeply insulting to say the least. How can a nation whose official language is English, even colonized by English speakers have her citizens made to go through such?!! Makes absolutely no sense whatsoever!

Re: Stop Asking Nigerians To Write IELTS (Petition) by marylandcakes: 2:21pm On Jan 26, 2022
perambulator:

Nigerians are actually very bad at english especially the new generation. Just read articles on Nairaland. A good example is the common use of the word "staffs" instead of "staff"

I have noticed that Ghanaians and south African countries Zambia, Tanzania etc have a better grasp of English than Nigerians

Even the journalist and their reports are riddled with bad English.

The truth is bitter and you are going to get attacked for your post because Nigerians find it so difficult to accept the simple truth. They just dance around it and make excuses.

Re: Stop Asking Nigerians To Write IELTS (Petition) by tmtech: 2:22pm On Jan 26, 2022
Signed already .. it is bullcrap...

Our official language is English.
It is loony and fraudulent to ask a Nigerian graduate to pay for or write that stupid exam

Re: Stop Asking Nigerians To Write IELTS (Petition) by RaisedByWolves: 2:23pm On Jan 26, 2022
post=109708172:
SECONDED,
Because English is the primary medium of instruction in Nigeria at all levels of education,

You have a way of making everything you touch or comment about seem toxic.

Re: Stop Asking Nigerians To Write IELTS (Petition) by airsaylongcome: 2:23pm On Jan 26, 2022
post=109708172:
SECONDED,

Starting a sentence with "Because" already provides enough reason why you should be writing IELTS

12 Likes 1 Share

Re: Stop Asking Nigerians To Write IELTS (Petition) by Perfecttouchade: 2:23pm On Jan 26, 2022
Let's move it on.. Nigeria has to be Great again
Re: Stop Asking Nigerians To Write IELTS (Petition) by YorubaKing: 2:23pm On Jan 26, 2022
Stupid U.K... who still dey go there sef?

Several U.S Universities have already waived it for Nigerians given English as the official language.

Re: Stop Asking Nigerians To Write IELTS (Petition) by Lightened: 2:24pm On Jan 26, 2022
The matter tire me, I swear. Is it that Nigerians are not fluent in English or what? Insult upon injury!
Re: Stop Asking Nigerians To Write IELTS (Petition) by airsaylongcome: 2:24pm On Jan 26, 2022
tmtech:
Signed already .. it is bullcrap...

Our official language is English.
It is loony and fraudulent to ask a Nigerian graduate to pay for or write that stupid exam

Quick check. Is this sentence correct

"He paid for his car installmentally"
Re: Stop Asking Nigerians To Write IELTS (Petition) by blackaxe78: 2:25pm On Jan 26, 2022
UK has made a fortune from it in Nigeria
Re: Stop Asking Nigerians To Write IELTS (Petition) by LikeAking: 2:25pm On Jan 26, 2022
Re: Stop Asking Nigerians To Write IELTS (Petition) by MrPADDY(m): 2:25pm On Jan 26, 2022
Na wao. Let them free us now
Re: Stop Asking Nigerians To Write IELTS (Petition) by timefarm(m): 2:26pm On Jan 26, 2022
Re: Stop Asking Nigerians To Write IELTS (Petition) by donprinyo(m): 2:26pm On Jan 26, 2022
FIX UR OWN COUNTRY. THEY OWE YOU NOTHING

Re: Stop Asking Nigerians To Write IELTS (Petition) by vincentjk(m): 2:26pm On Jan 26, 2022
perambulator:

Nigerians are actually very bad at english especially the new generation. Just read articles on Nairaland. A good example is the common use of the word "staffs" instead of "staff"

I have noticed that Ghanaians and south African countries Zambia, Tanzania etc have a better grasp of English than Nigerians. Dont assume when speaking to a young Nigerian that they actually understand what you are saying. Nigerians have a habit of hearing one word and construing another meaning to it. Today Someone was trolling me because he clearly did not understand the meaning of the word "viable".

So these countries you mentioned speak better English than Nigerians? People like you always rushing to type nonsense in order to appear smart.

14 Likes

Re: Stop Asking Nigerians To Write IELTS (Petition) by SunOfZeus: 2:26pm On Jan 26, 2022
Very useless policy for a country like Nigeria colonized by the same Britain to be writing IELTS, to me is another means of British ripping us dry. The certificate should be for lifetime if they can't exclude us from writing.

We need to rise and stand against double standard by this so called Brits. grin angry

Re: Stop Asking Nigerians To Write IELTS (Petition) by Guyman02: 2:27pm On Jan 26, 2022
Me I have signed it, what nonsense and ingredients
Re: Stop Asking Nigerians To Write IELTS (Petition) by airsaylongcome: 2:27pm On Jan 26, 2022
perambulator:

I have noticed that Ghanaians and south African countries Zambia, Tanzania etc have a better grasp of English than Nigerians. Dont assume when speaking to a young Nigerian that they actually understand what you are saying. Nigerians have a habit of hearing one word and construing another meaning to it. Today Someone was trolling me because he clearly did not understand the meaning of the word "viable".

Furnitures nko? Luggages? Informations? Am for I am/I'm, Are my for Am I. Installmentally and Installmental....

Re: Stop Asking Nigerians To Write IELTS (Petition) by lookingfly: 2:27pm On Jan 26, 2022

Police Escort On Duty Dies In Kaduna-Abuja Train / Warri-Itakpe Bound Light Train Derails (Photos) / 19-year-old Nigerian Among Refugees Rescued From The Mediterranean (pics)