Stats: 3,160,688 members, 7,844,256 topics. Date: Wednesday, 29 May 2024 at 05:16 PM

Iyaloja Appoints An Ibo Man As Babaloja Of Ladipo Market - Politics (2) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / Iyaloja Appoints An Ibo Man As Babaloja Of Ladipo Market (5916 Views)

Ibo man Joe Ajaeran from Imo state Declares War On Tinubu Government / Peter Obi Causes Pandemonium At Ladipo Market As He Campaign For GRV / Labour Party Criticizes Sanwo-Olu Over Closure Of Ladipo, Oyingbo Markets (2) (3) (4)

Re: Iyaloja Appoints An Ibo Man As Babaloja Of Ladipo Market by flokii: 7:36pm On Feb 10, 2022
Ojiofor:

We are one people one nation,we have to stop this tribal nonsense and discrimination.God bless Nigeria!

Iyaloja or babaloja position is not political but a symbol of tradition in Yorubaland and only Yoruba descendants SHOULD occupy such posts.

God bless Nigeria.

Re: Iyaloja Appoints An Ibo Man As Babaloja Of Ladipo Market by Rugaria: 7:39pm On Feb 10, 2022
flokii:

Of course they sent them packing under the pretext of expanding and opening warehouses in Ladipo market area.. we've seen countless videos where Yoruba traders in Ladipo were lamenting about Igbo arrogance and insult on them, claiming they can chase the Yorubas away and buy up the whole place. The mechanics and other artisans there pleaded with Yoruba leaders not to sit and watch them lose their means of livelihood on their father's land because of politics and political correctness.

The positions of Iyaloja and babaloja are NOT political and are not meant to be used for political purposes. Tinubu-Ojo goofed big time on this one and the royal stools in Yorubaland aren't happy with her.
Ranter keep ranting..

Re: Iyaloja Appoints An Ibo Man As Babaloja Of Ladipo Market by christistruth01: 7:42pm On Feb 10, 2022
flokii:

The Igbos first came into Ladipo market as tenants just like every other market but have now ganged up against the owners, taking over the whole place..

A revolution is coming cos we can't sit and watch Yorubaland fall to outsiders because of some people's political ambition.

https://guardian.ng/news/tinubu-ojo-denies-appointing-rival-leader-in-ladipo-market/

Re: Iyaloja Appoints An Ibo Man As Babaloja Of Ladipo Market by flokii: 7:42pm On Feb 10, 2022
christistruth01:

Monday is an Over Loyal Tinubu boy from way back

That's not an excuse..
Tinubu should employ him as gurad or gardener in his house and not "babaloja" over Yorubas in Yorubaland.

Aseju baba yen ti n po ju.. we are not happy with his behaviour atal.

Re: Iyaloja Appoints An Ibo Man As Babaloja Of Ladipo Market by Ojiofor: 7:44pm On Feb 10, 2022
flokii:

Iyaloja or babaloja position is not political but a symbol of tradition in Yorubaland and only Yoruba descendants SHOULD occupy such posts.

God bless Nigeria.

There are thousands of markets scattered in Yoruba land so it makes sense if Igbos are appointed leaders in the few markets they dominate so far as they pay taxes to the authorities.Is like Igbo market master taking it upon himself to appoint an Igboman the leader of a cattle market dominated by the Hausas because it is located in Igboland.Iyaloja is a wise woman.God bless Nigeria jare!

Re: Iyaloja Appoints An Ibo Man As Babaloja Of Ladipo Market by christistruth01: 7:44pm On Feb 10, 2022
flokii:

That's not an excuse..
Tinubu should employ him as gurad or gardener in his house and not "babaloja" over Yorubas in Yorubaland.

Aseju baba yen ti n po ju.. we are not happy with his behaviour atal.

Monday is not the Babaloja of Ladipo his Position is different It is like an Assistant Babaloja

Re: Iyaloja Appoints An Ibo Man As Babaloja Of Ladipo Market by tommy589(m): 7:45pm On Feb 10, 2022
PressMyButton:

Babaloja of Computer Village - Mr. Adeniyi Olasoji.

Babaloja of Alaba rago is Alhaji Ibrahim Malami . It calms and bring ease of management to a market when leadership emerges from those with majority population.

Fyi, computer village ratio of Igbo population is not in league with Ladipo

Re: Iyaloja Appoints An Ibo Man As Babaloja Of Ladipo Market by PressMyButton: 7:51pm On Feb 10, 2022
flokii:
Will the Igbos ever allow a Yoruba man head any market in the East?

Ladipo market now has little to no Yoruba businesses there because of Igbo traders flooding the entire place. The mechanics and all that are Yorubas have been sent packing and yet Tinubu-Ojo thinks this move is the best?

Well I'm not surprised.. when someone is handpicked to a position instead of years of experience, they'll end up making a mess of the place.
I hope she doesn't regret this later. Tinubu is regretting the pay back now upon his magnanimity to ibos.
Re: Iyaloja Appoints An Ibo Man As Babaloja Of Ladipo Market by PressMyButton: 7:53pm On Feb 10, 2022
Re: Iyaloja Appoints An Ibo Man As Babaloja Of Ladipo Market by Naijabad: 7:56pm On Feb 10, 2022
PressMyButton:
These are the very same people who were up in arms against Iyaloja general whose appointment is an age-long tradition proceeding the migration of ibos into SW. They talked down and hurled invectives at Babalojas and Iyalojas in Lagos markets.
It came as a shock that same people opposed to the installation of Babalojas and Iyalojas would gladly accept the installation of one of their own without batting an eyelid. If that is not the height of hypocrisy, I wonder what is.
The fact that these people, in the spirit of greed, would disrespect their hosts and throw at them all manner of insults, disregarding the conducive and friendly environment, atmosphere to strive, economic opportunities and sense of belonging and identity the host affords them.
How do you maintain a social relationship with people who kick against a cultural heritage of their host but turn around to celebrate it when it comes in their favour.
Since Babaloja is alien to the ibos, so, why accept the title?.. One would expect them to reject it with the same vigour they used in kicking against it whenever a Yoruba man is about to be installed.

Shut-up. You are inconsequential.

Support Biafra and they will leave you land in peace.

Re: Iyaloja Appoints An Ibo Man As Babaloja Of Ladipo Market by christistruth01: 8:08pm On Feb 10, 2022
PressMyButton:

What's your point?

Monday is not the Babaloja of Ladipo his Position is different It is like an Assistant Babaloja

Monday is Babaloja Papa laagbeji Ladipo

He is under Babaloja of Ladipo but like an assistant

Cc Flokii

Re: Iyaloja Appoints An Ibo Man As Babaloja Of Ladipo Market by Putindbutt: 8:08pm On Feb 10, 2022
This is what Ibos will never do in their land. Ibos are not worth all this, i swear.

Re: Iyaloja Appoints An Ibo Man As Babaloja Of Ladipo Market by Urchman200: 8:17pm On Feb 10, 2022
flokii:

Of course they sent them packing under the pretext of expanding and opening warehouses in Ladipo market area.. we've seen countless videos where Yoruba traders in Ladipo were lamenting about Igbo arrogance and insult on them, claiming they can chase the Yorubas away and buy up the whole place. The mechanics and other artisans there pleaded with Yoruba leaders not to sit and watch them lose their means of livelihood on their father's land because of politics and political correctness.

The positions of Iyaloja and babaloja are NOT political and are not meant to be used for political purposes. Tinubu-Ojo goofed big time on this one and the royal stools in Yorubaland aren't happy with her.
i will be the last person to support intimidation on a anyone in the name of my tribe is superior than your own tribe, because i am vulnerable to injustice too,but to me the blame should be to the yuroba leader's who sold the land and collected money, i don't think igboman took that place by the use of force, so anger should be channelled to the right place, my opinion ooo.

7 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Iyaloja Appoints An Ibo Man As Babaloja Of Ladipo Market by christistruth01: 8:20pm On Feb 10, 2022
Urchman200:
i will be the last person to support intimidation on a anyone in the name of my tribe is superior than your own tribe, because i am vulnerable to injustice too,but to me the blame should be to the yuroba leader's who sold the land and collected money, i don't think igboman took that place by the use of force, so anger should be channelled to the right place, my opinion ooo.

In Yoruba Culture all markets belong to the Local Oba

The land and shops can belong to any individual but the Market itself belongs to the Oba of the domain
Re: Iyaloja Appoints An Ibo Man As Babaloja Of Ladipo Market by PressMyButton: 8:21pm On Feb 10, 2022
christistruth01:

Monday is Babaloja Papa laagbeji Ladipo

He is still under Babaloja of Ladipo

Cc Flokii
There's nothing like Assistant Babaloja. Mr. Oki was not installed. Monday is the Babaloja.
Re: Iyaloja Appoints An Ibo Man As Babaloja Of Ladipo Market by christistruth01: 8:23pm On Feb 10, 2022
Re: Iyaloja Appoints An Ibo Man As Babaloja Of Ladipo Market by PressMyButton: 8:24pm On Feb 10, 2022
Urchman200:
Stop saying nonsense. Ladipo mrk wasn't sold to ibos, it's on rental. LASG can relocate the market anywhere it deemed it at anytime. All markets belong to LASG under the supervision of the Local Governments.
Re: Iyaloja Appoints An Ibo Man As Babaloja Of Ladipo Market by PressMyButton: 8:27pm On Feb 10, 2022
christistruth01:

Babaloja Papa Laagbeji is under the Babaloja of Ladipo
He is not. He bears the title of Babaloja, Papa Laagbeji is his nick.
Re: Iyaloja Appoints An Ibo Man As Babaloja Of Ladipo Market by flokii: 8:27pm On Feb 10, 2022
Urchman200:

You made valid points.. the campaign has started for Yorubas to stop selling off our ancestral lands to outsiders for money..
If worse comes to worst, the aggrieved traders can set the whole market ablaze including the warehouses they are using as a tool of intimidation.

This is why I strongly condemn this move of installing an ajoji as babaloja of Ladipo market. What is WRONG is WRONG and we must all condemn it.

Re: Iyaloja Appoints An Ibo Man As Babaloja Of Ladipo Market by PressMyButton: 8:29pm On Feb 10, 2022
Naijabad:

Shut-up. You are inconsequential.

Support Biafra and they will leave you land in peace.
What's my business with your biafra. Go tell your lawmakers in Abuja to pass a bill on biafra.

Re: Iyaloja Appoints An Ibo Man As Babaloja Of Ladipo Market by Urchman200: 8:29pm On Feb 10, 2022
christistruth01:

In Yoruba Culture all markets belong to the Local Oba

The land and shops can belong to any individual but the Market itself belongs to the Oba of the domain
i can understand that, but my point is this, if individuals can own a land within the market, they are at liberty to sale to the highest bidder. Then is complicated seriously.

Re: Iyaloja Appoints An Ibo Man As Babaloja Of Ladipo Market by Nobody: 8:37pm On Feb 10, 2022
flokii:

You made valid points.. the campaign has started for Yorubas to stop selling off our ancestral lands to outsiders for money..
If worse comes to worst, the aggrieved traders can set the whole market ablaze including the warehouses they are using as a tool of intimidation.

This is why I strongly condemn this move of installing an ajoji as babaloja of Ladipo market. What is WRONG is WRONG and we must all condemn it.
which dirty campaign it seems you want to suffer starvation? Where will you get money for owambe again? Google the man called ned okonkwo that man done buy 80 percent of lekki.... grin grin if you don't sell hunger will finish you grin

Re: Iyaloja Appoints An Ibo Man As Babaloja Of Ladipo Market by christistruth01: 8:40pm On Feb 10, 2022
PressMyButton:

He is not. He bears the title of Babaloja, Papa Laagbeji is his nick.

Alhaji Oki is still the Babaloja of Ladipo and he was installed more than 10 years ago

https://guardian.ng/news/tinubu-ojo-denies-appointing-rival-leader-in-ladipo-market/

Re: Iyaloja Appoints An Ibo Man As Babaloja Of Ladipo Market by PressMyButton: 8:41pm On Feb 10, 2022
GBOKASINCHA:
Afonjas sabi cry ehn abeg who be the babaloja of alaba international?
Babaloja dey sweet you now?.. I thought y'all crying that a mordern market shouldn't be under the control of an individual.
It takes nothing before he could be disposed and thrown away or flogged the way your eze was flogged in Akure.
Re: Iyaloja Appoints An Ibo Man As Babaloja Of Ladipo Market by PressMyButton: 8:44pm On Feb 10, 2022
christistruth01:

Alhaji Oki is still the Babaloja of Ladipo and he was installed more than 10 years ago

https://guardian.ng › news › tinubu-...
Tinubu-Ojo denies appointing rival leader in Ladipo market
This is an old news. The tussle had been settled.
Oki was appointed by the late iyaloja but wasn't installed before she died.
Re: Iyaloja Appoints An Ibo Man As Babaloja Of Ladipo Market by cktheluckyman: 8:45pm On Feb 10, 2022
flokii:

The Igbos first came into Ladipo market as tenants just like every other market but have now ganged up against the owners, taking over the whole place..

A revolution is coming cos we can't sit and watch Yorubaland fall to outsiders because of some people's political ambition.
Lol see pesin wey fulani people de kill everyday.Maybe when you deal with the fulanis we will start taking your childish threats serious

Re: Iyaloja Appoints An Ibo Man As Babaloja Of Ladipo Market by PressMyButton: 9:02pm On Feb 10, 2022
GBOKASINCHA:
I don't care about any dirty leader of any dirty market it doesn't affect any igbo man working in there if you increase tax you level they will increase price of goods simple and short....money inflow steady we buy more lands you cry more tears story end
I also don't give a hoot about any dirty market that pigs are selling their goods. Your price is none of our business as long as you pay your levies or get your shop locked.
I would even advise you to buy as much land as you can. You can only have a CofO, you can never be a title holder. That's how low your thinking is.
Re: Iyaloja Appoints An Ibo Man As Babaloja Of Ladipo Market by OyeofIkoTuN(m): 9:05pm On Feb 10, 2022
NestOil.....I'm sure the igbo babaloja will gladly switch places with our brother Tunji. We give yorubas top refined top spots not nonsense title

PressMyButton:

I thought ibos also dominate computer village. A Yoruba man was appointed Babaloja of Computer Village over the ibo
traders. And you can't do more than kick at a stone. Soon, this ibo man would be thrown out for a Yoruba replacement. Your lousy behavior is very nauseating.

Babaloja of Computer Village - Mr. Adeniyi Olasoji.

Re: Iyaloja Appoints An Ibo Man As Babaloja Of Ladipo Market by flokii: 9:16pm On Feb 10, 2022
cktheluckyman:

Lol see pesin wey fulani people de kill everyday.Maybe when you deal with the fulanis we will start taking your childish threats serious

You think all is well but all is not.. I see Lagosians taking back Lagos soon.
Re: Iyaloja Appoints An Ibo Man As Babaloja Of Ladipo Market by JohnSin97: 9:26pm On Feb 10, 2022
flokii:

I hate igbo arrogance and their involvement in our politics but I disagree with you on this, these guys didn't put a knife to anyone's neck asking them to sell the land to them, it was a business transaction that was carried out between two individuals and no body forced anyone to patronize their business or do business with them. If you're to blame anyone blame the leadership in the region and the inability of the indigenes to control their lands.

INEC Gave Peter Obi 185 Votes In Entire Bauchi LGA,But IRev PO Got 5,065 / Goodluck Jonathan: "I Dont Have Good Political Experience" / Information Minister Decries Increase In Social Media In Nigeria

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 56