CAN's Rejection Of Muslim-muslim Ticket Godly - Yakubu Dogara - Politics (8) - Nairaland
Nairaland Forum › Nairaland General › Politics › CAN's Rejection Of Muslim-muslim Ticket Godly - Yakubu Dogara (42156 Views)
1 2 3 ... 5 6 7 8 9 Reply (Go Down)
| Re: CAN's Rejection Of Muslim-muslim Ticket Godly - Yakubu Dogara by davidsthe(m): 9:10am On Jul 28, 2022 |
SmartPolician:I actually tried to pass over your comment! but shall I ask you, if you were a politician, if you were in Tinubu shoes would you pick Dogara as your running mate? considering the history between them, how Dogara withstood the party and the administration of PMB, how dogara became speaker...Dogara only tried to reap where he did not sow and that's unchristianic. |
| Re: CAN's Rejection Of Muslim-muslim Ticket Godly - Yakubu Dogara by pedel: 9:12am On Jul 28, 2022 |
What’s your point? Obi left APGA for PDP, and now he is in Labour Party. How is that relevant to my post? PHOTSEE: |
| Re: CAN's Rejection Of Muslim-muslim Ticket Godly - Yakubu Dogara by davidsthe(m): 9:19am On Jul 28, 2022 |
Onigawara:Oga rest even if he'd picked the pope you still for no vote am. |
| Re: CAN's Rejection Of Muslim-muslim Ticket Godly - Yakubu Dogara by FreedomfromtheT: 9:22am On Jul 28, 2022 |
shinealight:Yes, because most of Senator Bola Tinubu's Muslim northern supporters cannot vote for him if he picks a northern Christian as running mate. Yet APC supporters hypocritically claim that religion should not be an issue but 'competence'. Instead of saying the obvious, the APC presidential flagbearer keeps on adding salt to injury by claiming that he went for 'competence' thereby insinuating that no northern Christian is competent enough to become Nigeria's vice president which is an insult to them. |
| Re: CAN's Rejection Of Muslim-muslim Ticket Godly - Yakubu Dogara by Invitationn: 9:39am On Jul 28, 2022 |
WibusJaga:This screams "every sensible Muslim must vote the Muslim-Muslim ticket" |
| Re: CAN's Rejection Of Muslim-muslim Ticket Godly - Yakubu Dogara by shinealight(m): 9:51am On Jul 28, 2022 |
FreedomfromtheT:There are many factors at play, all of which can affect the outcome of the election. Competence, Religion, Ethnicity are all factors which the flagbearer need to weigh and determine which carries more weight to enable him win the election. At the end of the day, elections are about winning creditably…..not about mere participation as in the Olympics. The flagbearer may also be of the view that certain factors like Religion or Ethnicity need to be de-emphasised in our polity while other factors such as “Competence and Capacity to Deliver” should be given a higher premium. It is therefore a balancing act that each flagbearer is engaged in. After all said and done, the voter retains his/her PVC to do as s/he pleases and thereafter face the consequences of making a wrong choice. Simplicita! |
| Re: CAN's Rejection Of Muslim-muslim Ticket Godly - Yakubu Dogara by FreedomfromtheT: 10:01am On Jul 28, 2022 |
shinealight:I see. You and the APC's definition of 'competence' is the capacity to be used to win elections and not necessarily the capacity of the candidate to govern well. Amidst the insecurities, corruption, dwindling economy and biting hardships in Nigeria, winning of election is paramount to politicians and in this case the ruling APC. But to the suffering majority of Nigerians, competence in terms of a candidate's ability to pull the nation out of its numerous challenges is paramount. |
| Re: CAN's Rejection Of Muslim-muslim Ticket Godly - Yakubu Dogara by shinealight(m): 10:35am On Jul 28, 2022 |
FreedomfromtheT:I said…”Competence and Capacity to Deliver”. Those are two distinct factors at play. The competence factor still satisfies your latter definition, doesn’t it? Anyway, no point quibbling about the factors the flagbearer should or should not place emphasis on. Good thing Nigeria is not like USA (in this respect) where you only have one or the other choice of party to vote for. At the last count I believe we had 18. So, everyone should make his choice and stop haranguing those who have chosen not to follow your own particular choice of political arrangement. It’s a free country for Heaven’s sake! ![]() |
| Re: CAN's Rejection Of Muslim-muslim Ticket Godly - Yakubu Dogara by Nobody: 10:46am On Jul 28, 2022 |
It was godly when you and other christian folks indulge in vote buying that led to asiwaju's emergence but find it ungodly when the aftermath of your decisions doesn't favour you guys. You had viable christians amongst the candidates especially considering how the VP dealt with your conscience but then you guys went ahead and sold your votes for a man you knew was desperate and will make desperate decisions to become president. Where was same CAN when christian folks amongst delegates sold their votes? Where was same CAN when the redeem Christian church was attacked for setting up a political department to ensure the emergence of the VP who is not just a respected pastor but one who is loved by the common man? Those shouting Muslim Muslim ticket, were they not part of the process that were coming up with propagandas because of the VP loyalty to party and boss? Everyone should enjoy the effect of their decisions and no one should come foam around their mouth here. |
| Re: CAN's Rejection Of Muslim-muslim Ticket Godly - Yakubu Dogara by FreedomfromtheT: 10:58am On Jul 28, 2022 |
shinealight:Yes, it is a free country. But we know what desperate politicians especially the ruling party are capable of doing since they are after 'winning' and little or nothing else matters. Nigeria can burn to ashes so long as certain politicians have the power. We also know how 'strong' and truly 'independent' our institutions including the so-called Independent National Electoral Commission and the judiciary currently are. I don't really blame the APC presidential candidate. He appears so desperate that he is willing to do anyone's bidding so long as he achieve's his life time ambition of becoming the president. The ruling party to me is to blame. Knowing how polarized our country currently is and how sensitive and important the issue of religious representation is to us (from both sides of the divide), I think the party should have been circumspect in their choice of candidates and running mate. There were lots of southern Christian aspirants who contested for the presidential primaries under the ruling party: the current vice president, professor Yemi Osinbajo, Rt Hon. Rotimi Amaechi, Dr. Kayode Fayemi, Dr. Ogbonnaya Onu, Engineer David Umahi, Chief Godswill Akpabio, Mr. Chukwuemeka Nwajiuba, Dr. Ken Nnamani, professor Ben Ayade, Owelle Rochas Okorocha etc. Why didn't the APC choose one of them and then choose a northern Muslim as running mate (since a northern Christian cannot represent the north)? If a northern Christian is dispensable to give way for same faith ticket, even if it will cause religious upheaval and brouhaha, can't a southern Muslim be dispensable for the sake of religious balancing, unity and peaceful coexistence of our already divided nation? Or is non of these southern Christian politicians 'competent' enough to be president under the ruling APC? Is APC a Muslim party in disguise? |
| Re: CAN's Rejection Of Muslim-muslim Ticket Godly - Yakubu Dogara by shinealight(m): 11:23am On Jul 28, 2022 |
FreedomfromtheT:Why didn’t APC choose one of them? I’m sure you already know the answer to that question…..they cannot win a national election the way Nigeria is presently constituted. When they asked the South to unite, some people refused and insisted on going their separate ways. This is the fallout of that divided house. The principle of “divide and rule” continues to flourish where minorities refuse to employ sensible tactics of uniting but rely more on sentiment to direct affairs that have the potential to spell doom to millions of their people. Think about it! |
| Re: CAN's Rejection Of Muslim-muslim Ticket Godly - Yakubu Dogara by FreedomfromtheT: 11:44am On Jul 28, 2022 |
shinealight:You are wrong sir. Perhaps you have forgotten our recent political history President Olusegun Obasanjo, a southern Christian, won the national election twice in 1999 and 2003 (defeating a popular northern Muslim Muhammadu Buhari in the later) and it is the same way Nigeria is currently constituted. President Goodluck Jonathan, a southern Christian, won the 2011 presidential election also defeating Muhammadu Buhari and it is the same way Nigeria is constituted. He only lost his second term bid because of the Southwest that didn't support him but decided to play the second fiddle unlike in 2011. The only explanation in my view, why in the ruling APC, 'a southern Christian cannot win a national election' according to you (which I don't subscribe to) is religious sentiments in favour of a Muslim candidate which brings me back to the question: Is the ruling APC, a Muslim party in disguise? |
| Re: CAN's Rejection Of Muslim-muslim Ticket Godly - Yakubu Dogara by deeva2: 12:27pm On Jul 28, 2022 |
This failed and irrelevant Dogara was actually waiting for Tinubu to choose him as his running mate but was disappointed. Vote Leadership Vote Excellence Vote Achievement Vote Mentorship Vote Tinubu
| Re: CAN's Rejection Of Muslim-muslim Ticket Godly - Yakubu Dogara by deeva2: 12:46pm On Jul 28, 2022 |
Onigawara:You can call him whatever u like..He made the ryt choice...Most of u crying online is not abt christian interest but a bid to blackmail Tinubu for ur personal interest. If i may ask, wud u vote Tinubu if he had chosen pope or a pastor as his running mate?..The answer is NO so why are you so concerned and pained abt his decision.. Vote ur Obi in peace and let him be. BAT 2033
| Re: CAN's Rejection Of Muslim-muslim Ticket Godly - Yakubu Dogara by deeva2: 12:54pm On Jul 28, 2022 |
mycar:Most of u, the oppositions are pained and confused because the combo of Tinubu-Shettima is the real deal because of christians interest. BAT 2023
| Re: CAN's Rejection Of Muslim-muslim Ticket Godly - Yakubu Dogara by deeva2: 1:09pm On Jul 28, 2022 |
pedel:Most people wailing abt this strategic combo are actually worried abt the winning effect more than the religious effect.. Do you know that CAN/pastors are yet to praise Kwanwkaso for picking a pastor as his running mate..So i can boldly say its not about a christian being a vp..CAN is indirectly working for the oppositions like 2015. An average ibo man will not vote Tinubu if he chooses a bishop as his running mate. |
| Re: CAN's Rejection Of Muslim-muslim Ticket Godly - Yakubu Dogara by shinealight(m): 1:11pm On Jul 28, 2022 |
FreedomfromtheT:As to who is right or wrong, let’s leave that till Feb 2023 when evidence will clearly bear one of us out! As for the cases of Obasanjo and Jonathan you cited, I do not rely on such cases of manipulated elections to guide my conclusions. You’re of course free to disagree. Furthermore, if not for the threat of the ‘baboon and the dogs being made to bathe in blood’, I believe that Jonathan would still have retained the Presidency in 2015….but his nerves failed him. Anyhow, let everyone use their PVCs wisely but not on the basis of religious sentiment or tribalism, neither of which can create jobs or put food on anyone’s family table. Heaven helps those who help themselves. Enough said!! |
| Re: CAN's Rejection Of Muslim-muslim Ticket Godly - Yakubu Dogara by deeva2: 1:11pm On Jul 28, 2022 |
Toks2008:Sorry for yourself
| Re: CAN's Rejection Of Muslim-muslim Ticket Godly - Yakubu Dogara by deeva2: 1:14pm On Jul 28, 2022 |
But its Godly to jump from PDP to APC for your selfish reason... Hypocrite.. |
| Re: CAN's Rejection Of Muslim-muslim Ticket Godly - Yakubu Dogara by deeva2: 1:16pm On Jul 28, 2022 |
deji17:Can you please mention the states |
| Re: CAN's Rejection Of Muslim-muslim Ticket Godly - Yakubu Dogara by deeva2: 1:19pm On Jul 28, 2022 |
deji17:I'm one of them, including my households.. My pastor is also rooting for Tinubu's victory. BAT 2023 |
| Re: CAN's Rejection Of Muslim-muslim Ticket Godly - Yakubu Dogara by deeva2: 1:45pm On Jul 28, 2022 |
I'm still waiting for when CAN will openly disown and reject fake pastors in Nigeria. |
| Re: CAN's Rejection Of Muslim-muslim Ticket Godly - Yakubu Dogara by FreedomfromtheT: 3:48pm On Jul 28, 2022 |
shinealight:Anything can happen by February 2023. It can go any of the three ways. The APC may end up 'winning' by free and fair election, by hook or by crook. The end does not justify the means. The sense of belonging of Christians and their fears about happenings under the current ruling (Islamic APC) party is cause for concern. But sir, can you please accept that you are wrong with your insinuation that a southern Muslim was picked by the APC because 'a southern Christian cannot win a national election' due to the way the country in constituted? Instead of accepting that you are wrong, your alibi is that the former elections were 'manipulated'. Back to my point. The ruling APC is to blame for the present political imbroglio. To avoid this unnecessary heating of the polity and dividing an already polarized nation, the ruling APC should have nominated a southern Christian with a Muslim running mate, more so bearing in mind that the incumbent president is a northern Muslim. But they are seeking for a Muslim to replace a Muslim in a country of almost 50% Christians. As if that was not enough, they selected another Muslim to deputize for a Muslim candidate! To justify this serious aberation, they claim the choice was made on the grounds of 'competetence' implying that no Christian is competent to even be a VP! Instead of correction this anomally, the ruling party keeps on attacking those who have been expectedly reacting in an obvious attempt to shut everyone down. Is Nigeria heading to a Muslim country should APC succeed in sailing through with this Muslim-Muslim ticket? Is Nigeria being ruled by the 'Taliban'? Is the APC an Islamic party? |
| Re: CAN's Rejection Of Muslim-muslim Ticket Godly - Yakubu Dogara by deji17: 4:20pm On Jul 28, 2022 |
deeva2:Here you have it. The new elected governor of Osun and his deputy are both Christians.
| Re: CAN's Rejection Of Muslim-muslim Ticket Godly - Yakubu Dogara by deeva2: 4:47pm On Jul 28, 2022 |
deji17:This chat doesn't answer my question. |
| Re: CAN's Rejection Of Muslim-muslim Ticket Godly - Yakubu Dogara by deeva2: 4:50pm On Jul 28, 2022 |
deji17:I only asked you to mention states that are dominated my muslims but are ruled by a christian. |
| Re: CAN's Rejection Of Muslim-muslim Ticket Godly - Yakubu Dogara by deji17: 4:58pm On Jul 28, 2022 |
deeva2:Sorry, I replied you at all. I thought you were genuinely interested in knowledge but not knowing that you are out for mischief. Osun, Ondo and Ekiti are states with high population of Muslims. |
| Re: CAN's Rejection Of Muslim-muslim Ticket Godly - Yakubu Dogara by deeva2: 5:32pm On Jul 28, 2022 |
deji17:None of the mentioned state is dominated by Muslims.. They only have high population of Muslims.. Check your fact. |
| Re: CAN's Rejection Of Muslim-muslim Ticket Godly - Yakubu Dogara by shinealight(m): 5:56pm On Jul 28, 2022*. Modified: 7:25pm On Jul 28, 2022 |
FreedomfromtheT:I believe that Obasanjo’s election was manipulated by the military in 1999 to pacify the Yoruba for the treatment meted out to Abiola. I also believe that the incumbency factor played a major role in Jonathan’s election in 2011. So, why should I accept your views to the contrary? As already noted, one of us will be proved right in Feb 2023 about the workability of a Christian-Muslim ticket in today’s Nigeria. Why don’t we all just wait and see…..it’s not far off! |
| Re: CAN's Rejection Of Muslim-muslim Ticket Godly - Yakubu Dogara by sageer1706(m): 8:47pm On Jul 28, 2022 |
PHOTSEE:Well if CAN can not see them fit to be their president, definitely they are fit to be president/vice of this country |
| Re: CAN's Rejection Of Muslim-muslim Ticket Godly - Yakubu Dogara by pedel: 9:42pm On Jul 28, 2022 |
You, my friend, are a very intelligent man. Tinubu is not even depending on votes from the East. deeva2: |
Yakubu Dogara And Babachir Lawal Visit Governor Wike (Pictures) • Court Sacks Yakubu Dogara From House Of Reps • Yakubu Dogara Dumps PDP, Joins APC • 2 • 3 • 4
Peter Obi Pays Condolence Visit To Pastor Adefarasin Over Mom's Death • Mike Smith on Twitter: "Nigerian Police Are So Friendly" • Resignation: I Will Not Move With Obaseki – Ojezua