Stats: 3,330,920 members, 8,447,751 topics. Date: Saturday, 18 July 2026 at 10:00 PM

Uk's First Satellite Launch Fails As Rocket Suffers 'anomaly' - Foreign Affairs (2) - Nairaland

Nairaland ForumNairaland GeneralPoliticsForeign AffairsUk's First Satellite Launch Fails As Rocket Suffers 'anomaly' (2019 Views)

1 2 Reply (Go Down)

Re: Uk's First Satellite Launch Fails As Rocket Suffers 'anomaly' by Kingsnairaland(op): 6:35pm On Jan 15, 2023
OAUTemitayo:
Russia doesn't use GPS, they have their own Glonass.
Same with China, Beidu or what do they even call it
Exactly.
Re: Uk's First Satellite Launch Fails As Rocket Suffers 'anomaly' by olugabbie(m): 7:31pm On Jan 15, 2023
obedience4:
Lol, please the GPS is use world wide, so Russia airline uses different positioning systems grin
GPS is used worldwide. GPS was only created by the USA military, now it is commercialize, GPS is used worldwide
Russia does not use GPS. They use GLONASS. Only 3 countries have their own Navigation System. India and EU are currently trying to build their own.

US fighter jets and warships are not battle tested. A war with Russia or China will be an avenue for them to be tested. Some of the equipment used by their ground troop have been tested in battle. The Abraham tank used by the Saudis performed badly in Yemen against the Houti rebel and the very expensive Patriot Defense System failed to stop the Houti Rebel drone attack on the Saudi ARAMCO oil field.

The trust is, there is no wonder weapon any where. The Russians and the US will always claim their weapon is super. It is marketing strategy. They are both arms exporter.
Re: Uk's First Satellite Launch Fails As Rocket Suffers 'anomaly' by OAUTemitayo: 7:32pm On Jan 15, 2023
obedience4:
Lol, please the GPS is use world wide, so Russia airline uses different positioning systems grin
GPS is used worldwide. GPS was only created by the USA military, now it is commercialize, GPS is used worldwide
You can use Glonass worldwide.
Broaden your knowledge
Re: Uk's First Satellite Launch Fails As Rocket Suffers 'anomaly' by obedience4(m): 8:14pm On Jan 15, 2023
olugabbie:
Russia does not use GPS. They use GLONASS. Only 3 countries have their own Navigation System. India and EU are currently trying to build their own.

US fighter jets and warships are not battle tested. A war with Russia or China will be an avenue for them to be tested. Some of the equipment used by their ground troop have been tested in battle. The Abraham tank used by the Saudis performed badly in Yemen against the Houti rebel and the very expensive Patriot Defense System failed to stop the Houti Rebel drone attack on the Saudi ARAMCO oil field.

The trust is, there is no wonder weapon any where. The Russians and the US will always claim their weapon is super. It is marketing strategy. They are both arms exporter.
USA jets f16 engaged Russia made MIGs in the Iraqi invasion with a kill ratio of 10: 0
USA Abrams tank did well against Iraqi tanks
May I remind you that the Israeli air forces uses USA made planes, Google the six day war and see USA military hardware in action. The Israeli air force had an almost one hundred percent against Soviet made MIGs,
See the Truth is this the USA can't be fighting a country like Ukraine, and not have total air superiority.
Til today, the Ukrainian airspace is still contested, the Russian airplane don't even risk entries into it,
The USA is battle hardened and its weaponry most of it are battle tested.

I see you putting China, China that have not fire one single bullet in real combat for years. Who weapons are mostly knock off copy's of American tech..
Re: Uk's First Satellite Launch Fails As Rocket Suffers 'anomaly' by obedience4(m): 8:19pm On Jan 15, 2023
OAUTemitayo:
Broaden your knowledge
How many counties uses it,do you use it in Nigeria?
Am not saying you can't use it.. Is it reliable? Is it acceptable?
Even Russia state airlines, Chinese States airlines have GPS installed in their airplanes.
Re: Uk's First Satellite Launch Fails As Rocket Suffers 'anomaly' by olugabbie(m): 8:49pm On Jan 15, 2023
obedience4:
USA jets f16 engaged Russia made MIGs in the Iraqi invasion with a kill ratio of 10: 0
May I remind you that the Israeli air forces uses USA made planes, Google the six day war and see USA military hardware in action. The Israeli air force had an almost one hundred percent against Soviet made MIGs,
See the Truth is this the USA can't be fighting a country like Ukraine, and not have total air superiority.
Til today, the Ukrainian airspace is still contested, the Russian airplane don't even risk entries into it,

I see you putting China, China that have not fire one single bullet in real combat for years. Who weapons are mostly knock off copy's of American tech..
The F-16 fought against the very old mig and not against it fair competitor SU-27 & MIG-29 in Irag.

Well, whether the US air force is capable of gaining total air superiority in Ukraine is yet to be seen. The fact is any super can gain air superiority in Ukraine. But not in days or weeks. It takes time. Iraq or Afghanistan did not have S-300 or the BUK Defense Systems or ORCA anti-drone Defense Systems. Russian air force would perform the same the US air force perform in Iraq & Afganistan. Ukraine has a lot of these weapon. Though they are Soviet Defense Systems. But they are very dealt. The ORCA Defense System used by Russia is the reason why there is no more Baraktar Drone in the sky in Ukraine. The problem for Russia is every weapon they destroy, the West replace it.

Kindly recheck. During the six day war. The Egyptian air force which used Soviet aircrafts were destroyed on the ground, not in the air. The Israelis carried out a surprise air raid on all the Egyptian air base and they were able to effectively destroy the Egyptian air force.

China fought the West in Korea. North Korea took South Korea. The US and it allies came and liberated South Korea and the went for into North Korea. China intervened. Chased the US out of North Korea territory and further
went into South Korean territory. The US called for re-enforcement and push the Chinese and the North Koreans out of the South Korean territory and the war became a stalemate. The Chinese are not inexperienced. The Soviet mig-15 fighter jet played a crucial role in that war. The aircraft denied the US air superiority. Just Google mig-15. The aircraft out performed the US fighter jet at a time.

Russian air force still control the sky in Ukraine. Their fighter jets may not be able to fly deep into Ukraine. But SU-35 &SU-30 (using anti-radiation missiles) are still being use to carry out SEAD in Ukraine couple with the Lancet drone. The SU-34 & SU-25 are constantly being used on the battlefield. Russian attack helicopter are being used on a daily basis. So the sky is not being contested. Ukraine has not more air force. Although they still have few fighter jets and helicopter.But they can't compete with Russian air force.
Re: Uk's First Satellite Launch Fails As Rocket Suffers 'anomaly' by obedience4(m): 8:59pm On Jan 15, 2023
olugabbie:
The F-16 fought against the very old mig and not against it fair competitor SU-27 & MIG-29 in Irag.

Well, whether the US air force is capable of gaining total air superiority in Ukraine is yet to be seen. The fact is any super can gain air superiority in Ukraine. But not in days or weeks. It takes time. Iraq or Afghanistan did not have S-300 or the BUK Defense Systems or ORCA anti-drone Defense Systems. Russian air force would perform the same the US air force perform in Iraq & Afganistan. Ukraine has a lot of these weapon. Though they are Soviet Defense Systems. But they are very dealt. The ORCA Defense System used by Russia is the reason why there is no more Baraktar Drone in the sky in Ukraine. The problem for Russia is every weapon they destroy, the West replace it.

Kindly recheck. During the six day war. The Egyptian air force which used Soviet aircrafts were destroyed on the ground, not in the air. The Israelis carried out a surprise air raid on all the Egyptian air base and they were able to effectively destroy the Egyptian air force.

China fought the West in Korea. North Korea took South Korea. The US and it allies came and liberated South Korea and the went for into North Korea. China intervened. Chased the US out of North Korea territory and further
went into South Korean territory. The US called for re-enforcement and push the Chinese and the North Koreans out of the South Korean territory and the war became a stalemate. The Chinese are not inexperienced. The Soviet mig-15 fighter jet played a crucial role in that war. The aircraft denied the US air superiority. Just Google mig-15. The aircraft out performed the US fighter jet at a time.
The Truth is this the Russian military is ovehyped, especially the air force, before invading a country the air force would have to target and destroy all know SAMs site, the shock and ave approach..which they have failed..

During the six day war,not all Egyptian jets were downed during the air raids,, other countries too like Jordan, although we can't compare them to the level of training the Egyptian pilots had, also flew Soviet MIGs.

The Korea war is almost a 100 years, you are using the experience of over a 100 to gauge this present China military..
Re: Uk's First Satellite Launch Fails As Rocket Suffers 'anomaly' by olugabbie(m): 9:17pm On Jan 15, 2023
obedience4:
The Truth is this the Russian military is ovehyped, especially the air force, before invading a country the air force would have to target and destroy all know SAMs site, the shock and ave approach..which they have failed..

During the six day war,not all Egyptian jets were downed during the air raids,, other countries too like Jordan, although we can't compare them to the level of training the Egyptian pilots had, also flew Soviet MIGs.

The Korea war is almost a 100 years, you are using the experience of over a 100 to gauge this present China military..
Well it is yet to be seen. It has not happened. It makes absolutely no sense to say the US air force will perform.

During the six day war. People believe that the war was between Israel and The Whole of Arab. But it was actually between Israel and Egypt. Other players like Jordan and Syria has no substantial military.

The Korea war happened in the 70's, that was like around 50 years ago(not 100 years). The six day war happened around that time too (1967).

If not for the West the war would have ended. Russia is a super power and will continue to be a super power. The strongest countries in Europe like UK, France, German or Italy don't have the capacity to invade Ukraine. UK has about 80k active troops, about 30k reservist & 400 tanks. They can not even occupy Nigeria. Same with France, German and Italy. The only country that has the capacity to do what Russia is doing in Ukraine right now is the US. Russia is doing what UK, France , German or Italy can not do on their own and yet people call her a paper tiger. Is it not ridiculous?
Re: Uk's First Satellite Launch Fails As Rocket Suffers 'anomaly' by Kingsnairaland(op): 10:30pm On Jan 15, 2023
OAUTemitayo:
Broaden your knowledge
he thinks Russia is his village cnn don't tell them that Russia is independent lol.
Re: Uk's First Satellite Launch Fails As Rocket Suffers 'anomaly' by AmuDimpka: 2:50am On Jan 16, 2023
obedience4:

Jesus Christ

Can you support this your postulations with verifiable facts .... I need links here please

Jeeez
Re: Uk's First Satellite Launch Fails As Rocket Suffers 'anomaly' by AmuDimpka: 2:51am On Jan 16, 2023
olugabbie:
Well it is yet to be seen. It has not happened. It makes absolutely no sense to say the US air force will perform.

During the six day war. People believe that the war was between Israel and The Whole of Arab. But it was actually between Israel and Egypt. Other players like Jordan and Syria has no substantial military.

The Korea war happened in the 70's, that was like around 50 years ago(not 100 years). The six day war happened around that time too (1967).

If not for the West the war would have ended. Russia is a super power and will continue to be a super power. The strongest countries in Europe like UK, France, German or Italy don't have the capacity to invade Ukraine. UK has about 80k active troops, about 30k reservist & 400 tanks. They can not even occupy Nigeria. Same with France, German and Italy. The only country that has the capacity to do what Russia is doing in Ukraine right now is the US. Russia is doing what UK, France , German or Italy can not do on their own and yet people call her a paper tiger. Is it not ridiculous?
we know that Russia is huge
Re: Uk's First Satellite Launch Fails As Rocket Suffers 'anomaly' by AmuDimpka: 2:56am On Jan 16, 2023
HornyTave1:
all these people the white men forgot to take during slave trades makes this forum unbearable.
are you talking about the US that was beaten in 5g technology. is it not the same US that restricted Huawei in order not to run US companies out of business? abi is it not the same US that lags behind Asia countries in AI?

abeg go flush your phone,
duse should be sold as a slave
Re: Uk's First Satellite Launch Fails As Rocket Suffers 'anomaly' by obedience4(m): 7:43am On Jan 16, 2023
AmuDimpka:
Jesus Christ

Can you support this your postulations with verifiable facts .... I need links here please

Jeeez
Which of the things I wrote you wanna verified?
Re: Uk's First Satellite Launch Fails As Rocket Suffers 'anomaly' by obedience4(m): 7:57am On Jan 16, 2023
olugabbie:

Before the USA entry into ww2 it had one of the smallest army, in terms of numbers, but was able yo draft over 3 million men, so we Can't judge the UK, or France military base on numbers alone,
If a war was to happen now in Europe, the UK will be able to field a lot more than the 80k active men it have.
You should understand we are no longer in the age were Huge numbers of infantry supported by tanks will sweep entire defense line, this age ain't ww2
Just the way Russia park slow moving tanks together thinking it will March into Kiev.

Am not saying Russia ain't a strong nation, am just disappointed that a nation with such might, could be doing so badly,
Imagine fighting a war in your backyard yet plagued by logistics issues, no proper coordination among commanders, allowing mercenaries a foothold in a war that the military is suppose to do.
Re: Uk's First Satellite Launch Fails As Rocket Suffers 'anomaly' by Kingsnairaland(op): 8:05am On Jan 16, 2023
obedience4:
Before the USA entry into ww2 it had one of the smallest army, in terms of numbers, but was able yo draft over 3 million men, so we Can't judge the UK, or France military base on numbers alone,
If a war was to happen now in Europe, the UK will be able to field a lot more than the 80k active men it have.
You should understand we are no longer in the age were Huge numbers of infantry supported by tanks will sweep entire defense line, this age ain't ww2
Just the way Russia park slow moving tanks together thinking it will March into Kiev.

Am not saying Russia ain't a strong nation, am just disappointed that a nation with such might, could be doing so badly,
Imagine fighting a war in your backyard yet plagued by logistics issues, no proper coordination among commanders, allowing mercenaries a foothold in a war that the military is suppose to do.
this four regions is more than enough for the biggest nation to add to it land mass lol.

Re: Uk's First Satellite Launch Fails As Rocket Suffers 'anomaly' by obedience4(m): 8:05am On Jan 16, 2023
Kingsnairaland:
he thinks Russia is his village cnn don't tell them that Russia is independent lol.
Do you use glonass? grin is glonass used in Nigeria?
Even Russian state airlines uses GPS
Re: Uk's First Satellite Launch Fails As Rocket Suffers 'anomaly' by Kingsnairaland(op): 8:06am On Jan 16, 2023
obedience4:
Russia has nothing to do with GPS
Re: Uk's First Satellite Launch Fails As Rocket Suffers 'anomaly' by Kingsnairaland(op): 8:07am On Jan 16, 2023
obedience4:
glonass is even better than GPS. Lol. USA said if Russia destroys GPS satellite then USA will stand still.
Re: Uk's First Satellite Launch Fails As Rocket Suffers 'anomaly' by obedience4(m): 8:09am On Jan 16, 2023
Kingsnairaland:
this four regions is more than enough for the biggest nation to add to it land mass lol.
Which four region, don't you know that Russia don't control entirely the four region she claimed to annexed,
An non of the regions administrative headquarters is in Russia hands,the only one Kherson which Russia lost last year.

So that brings me to the conclusion, how can Russia claimed something its has no full control over,huh grin
Re: Uk's First Satellite Launch Fails As Rocket Suffers 'anomaly' by obedience4(m): 8:11am On Jan 16, 2023
Kingsnairaland:
glonass is even better than GPS. Lol. USA said if Russia destroys GPS satellite then USA will stand still.
Simple question I asked, do you use glonass,??
Do your country use glonass??
How many nations apart from Russia uses glonass?
When Russia state owned airlines uses GPS.
Re: Uk's First Satellite Launch Fails As Rocket Suffers 'anomaly' by obedience4(m): 8:15am On Jan 16, 2023
Kingsnairaland:
Russia has nothing to do with GPS
So Russia airlines uses What tongue grin?
Re: Uk's First Satellite Launch Fails As Rocket Suffers 'anomaly' by Kingsnairaland(op): 8:20am On Jan 16, 2023
obedience4:
Which four region, don't you know that Russia don't control entirely the four region she claimed to annexed,
An non of the regions administrative headquarters is in Russia hands,the only one Kherson which Russia lost last year.

So that brings me to the conclusion, how can Russia claimed something its has no full control over,huh grin
bbc told you Russia control it you don't like the report because you been feed by your thoughts

Red the map written words I know it hard for you to read
Look at the map BBC show red places Russia controls.
Re: Uk's First Satellite Launch Fails As Rocket Suffers 'anomaly' by Kingsnairaland(op): 8:22am On Jan 16, 2023
Read it until you understand how to read maps

BBC that hate Russia said Russia military control the red places

Even though it more than the red places lol.

Re: Uk's First Satellite Launch Fails As Rocket Suffers 'anomaly' by obedience4(m): 9:16am On Jan 16, 2023
Kingsnairaland:
bbc told you Russia control it you don't like the report because you been feed by your thoughts

Red the map written words I know it hard for you to read
Look at the map BBC show red places Russia controls.
Using an old BBC map,
Now you want to knowledge BBC, but yet you call it propaganda news outlet. grin

Re: Uk's First Satellite Launch Fails As Rocket Suffers 'anomaly' by Kingsnairaland(op): 10:06am On Jan 16, 2023
obedience4:
Using an old BBC map,
Now you want to knowledge BBC, but yet you call it propaganda news outlet. grin
Google Ukraine Russia war map.

Because the fake news you saw won't let you swallow your lies.
Re: Uk's First Satellite Launch Fails As Rocket Suffers 'anomaly' by olugabbie(m): 7:23am On Jan 17, 2023
obedience4:

Well, this is what we all thought. That the age of large infantry force is over. But now they realise you need men to seize/liberate territories. Your air power can not do that for you. Poland is trying to raise it land forces to 300k,other NATO members are trying to follow suit. Russia is countering NATO by increasing it troops to 1.5m.

The US can invade countries thousands of kilometres away, because it has large ground troops.

Air power is not everything. Israel invaded Lebanon some years ago. Despite it air superiority, it has to withdraw it troops from the capital because of heavy loses it suffered in the urban areas. Israel was able to pound the country but could not successful seize the capital. Seize urban area can be very hard. You need to fight building by building. You will likely lose soldiers for every building you seize.
It is common sense that 30k Russian troops can not take Kiev. Kiev is far developed than Baghdad and Lebanese Capital. Kiev has a lot more buildings than the two mentioned above. So without collaborators, it is impossible for Russia to take Kiev with that number of troops. Russia didn't fail in Ukraine. They were looking for negotiation.
Re: Uk's First Satellite Launch Fails As Rocket Suffers 'anomaly' by Kingsnairaland(op): 7:51am On Jan 17, 2023
Kyiv attack was a distraction because Ukraine took it military men from the east to go protect kyiv and this made Russia to capture those four regions easily you don't know military tactics 101
Re: Uk's First Satellite Launch Fails As Rocket Suffers 'anomaly' by Konquest:
Kingsnairaland:
UK's first satellite launch fails as rocket suffers 'anomaly'

https://www.independent.co.uk/space/rocket-launch-failure-uk-anomaly-cornwall-virgin-orbit-b2259199.html

The UK’s first-ever space mission has failed after “an anomaly” prevented the Virgin Orbit rocket from reaching orbit.

The rocket and the nine satellites it was carrying, reportedly burned up in the atmosphere after the launch failed.

It was projected to land over water, but burned up in Earth’s atmosphere on reentry, according to New Scientist.

Shortly before midnight, an official on the live stream announced the rocket suffered an “anomaly” that meant it failed to reach orbit.

The launch was an opportunity for Virgin Orbit to show its investors what it was capable of, but the failure has led to its tanking as much as a third in after-hours trading and is set for a $200m fall.

The launch was set to be the first-ever rocket launch from UK soil, as well as the first time that satellites have been launched from Europe.

Virgin Orbit’s unusual system sees a plane carry the rocket up to 35,000 feet, before dropping it off to carry its satellites into space.

Recommended

https://newseu.cgtn.com/news/2023-01-10/UK-s-first-satellite-launch-fails-as-rocket-suffers-anomaly--1gtW90htONO/index.html?utm_term=Autofeed&utm_medium=Social&utm_source=Facebook&fbclid=IwAR1HEDHx36G65b5F_JxVO_cZEZ2g7kLzQC54ncLhFZLPJPN30bA1CuCHjmc#Echobox=1673393208
Gosh! A lot of investors' money went into that Virgin Orbit project.

Thank goodness it wasn't the type of space craft with people on board like the U.S. space shuttle
Challenger which exploded 73 seconds after lift-off with American astronauts on board on January 28, 1986 and the live images will always remain with me haven seen that same day the fatal explosion of Challenger in the Florida skies like fireworks.
Re: Uk's First Satellite Launch Fails As Rocket Suffers 'anomaly' by Kingsnairaland(op): 11:32pm On Jan 18, 2023
Konquest:
Gosh! A lot of investors' money went into that Virgin Orbit project.

Thank goodness it wasn't the type of space craft with people on board like the U.S. space shuttle
Challenger which exploded 73 seconds after lift-off with American astronauts on board on January 28, 1986 and the live images will always remain with me haven seen that same day the fatal explosion of Challenger in the Florida skies like fireworks.
UK thinks it on the same level with Russia and USA lol.
1 2 Reply

Senegal Successfully Launches First SatelliteTurkish MP Suffers Heart Attack Right After Cursing Israel ( Video)Iran Rocket Launch Fails To Put Payload Into Orbit234

What's Wrong With Socialism?Franklin Graham Defends President Trump, Slams Satan For Charlottesville ChaosBody Of Former U. S. Presidential Candidate, John Mccain Is Given Police Escort