Stats: 3,143,325 members, 7,780,808 topics. Date: Thursday, 28 March 2024 at 10:56 PM

APC May Lose 2023 Presidential Election Because Of Cashless Policy, Sagay Warns - Politics - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / APC May Lose 2023 Presidential Election Because Of Cashless Policy, Sagay Warns (22676 Views)

10 Reasons Why The APC May Lose 2023 Elections - Opinion / 2023 Presidency: Don’t Denigrate Yourself By Joining APC, Sagay Warns Jonathan / I Supported Buhari’s Re-election, Because I Foresaw His Victory ― Obiano (2) (3) (4)

APC May Lose 2023 Presidential Election Because Of Cashless Policy, Sagay Warns by nairavsdollars(f): 10:03am On Jan 16, 2023
Chairman of the Presidential Advisory Committee Against Corruption (PACAC), Prof. Itse Sagay (SAN), on Sunday came down hard on the Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN) for trying to force the cashless policy on Ni­gerians.

Speaking exclusively with Daily Independent, Sagay, who backed the calls for the extension of the January 31 withdrawal date of the old notes, said most automated teller machines (ATM) are still dispensing the old notes while the new ones are not fully in circulation.

Describing CBN’s governor, Godwin Emefiele’s statement that there is no going back on the policy as brutish, un­civilised and barbaric, Sagay warned that the policy can create an economic disaster for Nigeria if not urgently ad­dressed.

Sagay particularly said the policy which is unpopular with many Nigerians may affect the fortunes of the ruling All Pro­gressives Congress (APC) in the 2023 general elections.

He said, “I am even angry that this government allows him to do that because it will make the APC unpopular. This hardship is being created under an APC government and election is just around the corner.

“I think Emefiele may be a mole from another party trying to create hatred for the APC. I don’t understand why he should bring this policy at this time when we are just few days to the general election.

“I don’t understand why this government should accept such a recommendation which is most unfavourable to them and their political chances in the forthcoming elections. For me, the whole thing is a disaster”.

Speaking further, he said the developed nations which Emefiele is trying hard to im­itate are still using notes as le­gal tender and do not introduce new notes in a hasty manner the way the CBN governor was going about it.

“I think the whole thing (cashless policy) is a disaster. I don’t like people trying to show off that they are very modern. You are introducing cashless policy bla la bla, you want to be like America. In America, they are still using cash. I was there this year. I used cash on many occasion.

“So, nobody is forcing you to adopt cashless policy. It is the African man that wants to im­itate and he does that in a very ignorant and uncivilised man­ner. Why is Emefiele trying to force people? Why is he putting deadline on the usage of the old currency?

“The deadline is almost here now yet the new curren­cy is not available. I have been withdrawing money and all I’m getting are the old notes.

“Why should he even tell me how much to withdraw from my own money? If I find the electronic transfer more con­venient, I will adopt it without anyone mounting pressure on me to do so.

“For example, I have ATM card now because it is conve­nient for me to use. It is a mat­ter of convenience, not usage of force. Africans tend to imitate in a brutish manner, using force without providing the facility that will make what they want to do possible. By doing so, they inflict hardship on societies. If we are not careful, this CBN policy can create an eco­nomic disaster for this coun­try”.
https://independent.ng/cashless-policy-unpopular-may-mar-apcs-chances-in-2023-polls-sagay/

13 Likes 3 Shares

Re: APC May Lose 2023 Presidential Election Because Of Cashless Policy, Sagay Warns by taylor88(m): 10:04am On Jan 16, 2023
So the man that claimed he single-handedly built Lagos can’t even win a free and fair election

It’s so shameful to be a Tinubu supporter

If no be tribalism and foolishness how can a sane Nigerian bath in the morning queue up under the sun to vote for a microphone licker

182 Likes 13 Shares

Re: APC May Lose 2023 Presidential Election Because Of Cashless Policy, Sagay Warns by StrongandMighty: 10:08am On Jan 16, 2023
Apc losing this election would be the best thing to ever happen to Nigerians in the last 10yrs..

346 Likes 27 Shares

Re: APC May Lose 2023 Presidential Election Because Of Cashless Policy, Sagay Warns by PresidObi: 10:09am On Jan 16, 2023
Bullion van in trouble, apart from sharing peanuts to voters, nobody in their right senses will vote for a failed party like APC or PDP.

231 Likes 17 Shares

Re: APC May Lose 2023 Presidential Election Because Of Cashless Policy, Sagay Warns by malel1: 10:11am On Jan 16, 2023
Urchins are crying already

145 Likes 10 Shares

Re: APC May Lose 2023 Presidential Election Because Of Cashless Policy, Sagay Warns by Didijiji: 10:11am On Jan 16, 2023
What is this one saying?

30 Likes

Re: APC May Lose 2023 Presidential Election Because Of Cashless Policy, Sagay Warns by brainint: 10:11am On Jan 16, 2023
See the man to vote next month

256 Likes 21 Shares

Re: APC May Lose 2023 Presidential Election Because Of Cashless Policy, Sagay Warns by Jalinspy(f): 10:12am On Jan 16, 2023
Emefiele holding bullion van criminal Tinubu on his scrotum grin. The real Muslims have rejected tinubu, real yorubas have rejected tinubu, real Easterners don reject tinubu too, only his demented urchins are shouting bala bulu bulu up and down.
Tinubu has failed already. cheesy

187 Likes 16 Shares

Re: APC May Lose 2023 Presidential Election Because Of Cashless Policy, Sagay Warns by Dreal1247: 10:13am On Jan 16, 2023
This is the only reason why Emefele is a wanted man by the DSS. And we are praying for better Nigeria. All the enemies of this country will be disgracefully frustrated into political retirement.

108 Likes 11 Shares

Re: APC May Lose 2023 Presidential Election Because Of Cashless Policy, Sagay Warns by Nobody: 10:18am On Jan 16, 2023
Apc does not have geinue and organic people that supports the party.
Most Apc supporters are tribalistic and religious fanatics.
Anything to destroying Apc is welcome.

110 Likes 6 Shares

Re: APC May Lose 2023 Presidential Election Because Of Cashless Policy, Sagay Warns by Tinubuadvocate: 10:20am On Jan 16, 2023
This election would have been very easier for Tinubu to win but this Buhari policy is not helping matter.

16 Likes

Re: APC May Lose 2023 Presidential Election Because Of Cashless Policy, Sagay Warns by Amb1045(m): 10:31am On Jan 16, 2023
ANY ATTEMPT TO VOTE APC BACK TO POWER IN 2023 IS A VOTE FOR:

1. 2nd Most Terrorized Nation in the world.

2. World Poverty Capital.

3. 22M out of school children.

4. 53.40% youth unemployment.

5. ASUU Strike.

6. Twitter ban

7. Crypto ban.

8. Silly and unintelligent boarder closure.

9. Naira at N703/$ and heading to he N1k/$.

10. Oil theft at the highest level since discover with Government agencies pointing fingas at each other.

11. Unprecedented borrowing. Highest in the history of Nigeria.

22. Fraudulent subsidy payments, breaking any previous records.

23. Billions spent on unproductive refineries yearly.

24. Unprecedented corruption.

25. Lack of transparency in governance.

26. N20 trillion Ways & Means or CBN’s reckless printing of money.

27. Lowest FDI in recent years.

28. Terrorism, mass abductions, kidnapping & UGM.

29. Terrible roads, with FERMA dead.

30. Poor power generation, with highest number of national grid collapse in recent years.

31. Lies and propaganda raised to the level of policy of state.

32. Conniving and toothless National Assembly.

33. Compromised Judiciary and harassment of Judges

34. Budget padding

35. Sick President with Parkinson disease.

These are the things you want to continue when you reward the APC with another 4 years and the result will be total collapse of our country. Venezuela and what is happening now in Lebanon would be child's play.

Do not choose to play politics of party, tribe or religion in the 2023 Presidential election. It has to be a politics of competence and commitment. Peter Obi of Labour party is the man to rescue the country at this critical time of near collapse.

Vote wisely and Vote Peter Obi as the next President of Nigeria come 2023.

73 Likes 9 Shares

Re: APC May Lose 2023 Presidential Election Because Of Cashless Policy, Sagay Warns by Nobody: 10:32am On Jan 16, 2023
How does cashless policy affect anything?...

- Were your mobile transfers stopped?
- Do you carry cash of 100k around to pay bills?
- A Business person that deals with large volume of cash is learned enough to run a bank account.
- Small retail transactions have the ATM and POS to use.

If you don't have the new currency, DO TRANSFER. Except you want your "bribes" paid in cash

29 Likes 2 Shares

Re: APC May Lose 2023 Presidential Election Because Of Cashless Policy, Sagay Warns by Phoen1X: 10:45am On Jan 16, 2023
Now we know why they want to give emefiele the same walter onnoghen treatment,...but we, the voters are waiting.

14 Likes

Re: APC May Lose 2023 Presidential Election Because Of Cashless Policy, Sagay Warns by MadeInTokyo: 10:51am On Jan 16, 2023
That is why they are after CBN Governor Emefiele's life
Emefiele should remain on exile until after the election is over
I am ok with Peter Obi or Atiku Presidency

55 Likes 2 Shares

Re: APC May Lose 2023 Presidential Election Because Of Cashless Policy, Sagay Warns by pedrilo: 10:54am On Jan 16, 2023
this man is evil
imagine a prof supporting tinubu to win smh

31 Likes 1 Share

Re: APC May Lose 2023 Presidential Election Because Of Cashless Policy, Sagay Warns by Putinofrussia: 10:57am On Jan 16, 2023
nairavsdollars:
Chairman of the Presidential Advisory Committee Against Corruption (PACAC), Prof. Itse Sagay (SAN), on Sunday came down hard on the Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN) for trying to force the cashless policy on Ni­gerians.

Speaking exclusively with Daily Independent, Sagay, who backed the calls for the extension of the January 31 withdrawal date of the old notes, said most automated teller machines (ATM) are still dispensing the old notes while the new ones are not fully in circulation.

Describing CBN’s governor, Godwin Emefiele’s statement that there is no going back on the policy as brutish, un­civilised and barbaric, Sagay warned that the policy can create an economic disaster for Nigeria if not urgently ad­dressed.

Sagay particularly said the policy which is unpopular with many Nigerians may affect the fortunes of the ruling All Pro­gressives Congress (APC) in the 2023 general elections.

He said, “I am even angry that this government allows him to do that because it will make the APC unpopular. This hardship is being created under an APC government and election is just around the corner.

“I think Emefiele may be a mole from another party trying to create hatred for the APC. I don’t understand why he should bring this policy at this time when we are just few days to the general election.

“I don’t understand why this government should accept such a recommendation which is most unfavourable to them and their political chances in the forthcoming elections. For me, the whole thing is a disaster”.

Speaking further, he said the developed nations which Emefiele is trying hard to im­itate are still using notes as le­gal tender and do not introduce new notes in a hasty manner the way the CBN governor was going about it.

“I think the whole thing (cashless policy) is a disaster. I don’t like people trying to show off that they are very modern. You are introducing cashless policy bla la bla, you want to be like America. In America, they are still using cash. I was there this year. I used cash on many occasion.

“So, nobody is forcing you to adopt cashless policy. It is the African man that wants to im­itate and he does that in a very ignorant and uncivilised man­ner. Why is Emefiele trying to force people? Why is he putting deadline on the usage of the old currency?

“The deadline is almost here now yet the new curren­cy is not available. I have been withdrawing money and all I’m getting are the old notes.

“Why should he even tell me how much to withdraw from my own money? If I find the electronic transfer more con­venient, I will adopt it without anyone mounting pressure on me to do so.

“For example, I have ATM card now because it is conve­nient for me to use. It is a mat­ter of convenience, not usage of force. Africans tend to imitate in a brutish manner, using force without providing the facility that will make what they want to do possible. By doing so, they inflict hardship on societies. If we are not careful, this CBN policy can create an eco­nomic disaster for this coun­try”.
https://independent.ng/cashless-policy-unpopular-may-mar-apcs-chances-in-2023-polls-sagay/
Yes nah.It is unpopular and hard on the masses.
The rich will know how to wriggle their way out.
Re: APC May Lose 2023 Presidential Election Because Of Cashless Policy, Sagay Warns by nnamdi640: 11:07am On Jan 16, 2023
Without vote buying, there is no way Thievenubu can win any election, no wonder he brought in 2 bullion vans on the eve of the last presidential election. That man is extremely corrupt. I just pity those supporting him, because his goal will be to recover all what he lost if he wins the election.

26 Likes

Re: APC May Lose 2023 Presidential Election Because Of Cashless Policy, Sagay Warns by Kiddogarcia(m): 11:18am On Jan 16, 2023
Cashless policy
I use to think the elites are way beyond the laws of the land.

Na we be your best plug for everything sexual enhancement tho
Re: APC May Lose 2023 Presidential Election Because Of Cashless Policy, Sagay Warns by hisexcellency34: 11:48am On Jan 16, 2023
I agreed
StrongandMighty:
Apc losing this election would be the best thing to ever happen to Nigerians in the last 10yrs..

Re: APC May Lose 2023 Presidential Election Because Of Cashless Policy, Sagay Warns by Validated: 11:53am On Jan 16, 2023
Peter Obi

Kerere nke OBI, Kerere nke OBI!!!

AS E DE PAIN DEM, E DEY SWEET US!

Thank you Buhari

13 Likes

Re: APC May Lose 2023 Presidential Election Because Of Cashless Policy, Sagay Warns by unclejb2(m): 11:55am On Jan 16, 2023
This imp is trying so hard to be in the news.

We all know that the cashless policy was targeted at Tinubu who had stockpiled cash generated from agbero work in Lagos to buy votes...

APC is incredibly going to loose the election

Peter Obi is the next president of Nigeria

23 Likes 1 Share

Re: APC May Lose 2023 Presidential Election Because Of Cashless Policy, Sagay Warns by patriotic007: 12:09pm On Jan 16, 2023
Truth is gradually coming out.....vote buyers go hear am

15 Likes

Re: APC May Lose 2023 Presidential Election Because Of Cashless Policy, Sagay Warns by datola: 12:10pm On Jan 16, 2023
That will be very good if APC loses along side PDP.

18 Likes

Re: APC May Lose 2023 Presidential Election Because Of Cashless Policy, Sagay Warns by Lovetie: 12:10pm On Jan 16, 2023
Abi ooo
Re: APC May Lose 2023 Presidential Election Because Of Cashless Policy, Sagay Warns by iwaeda: 12:10pm On Jan 16, 2023

Re: APC May Lose 2023 Presidential Election Because Of Cashless Policy, Sagay Warns by techWriter3: 12:10pm On Jan 16, 2023
know the man to referendum next month
Re: APC May Lose 2023 Presidential Election Because Of Cashless Policy, Sagay Warns by fredoooooo: 12:11pm On Jan 16, 2023
Let's wait till then ..
We no dey take money and we go vote APC ..
BATSHETTIMA23 BY the grace GOD
Re: APC May Lose 2023 Presidential Election Because Of Cashless Policy, Sagay Warns by bonechamberlain(m): 12:12pm On Jan 16, 2023
angry Coming from a Bat disciple, what suffering can this cashless policy bring that Nigerians haven't witnessed in the past 7years.

The election is just a month from now, Nigerians would endure for a month, we have been enduring. After the election the CBN can relax the policy a bit or extend the deadline.

Sane Nigerians say NO to vote buying by criminals who initiated suffering, hunger and poverty for their own selfish interest.

16 Likes 1 Share

The Opportunity Costs Of Militancy In The Niger Delta, An Exposé / Senator Akpabio Sues David Hundeyin For Defamation / Again, APC Adjusts Primaries Timetable, Exempts Statutory Delegates

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 37