Stats: 3,153,581 members, 7,820,092 topics. Date: Tuesday, 07 May 2024 at 09:36 AM

Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA - Satellite TV Technology (1346) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Entertainment / TV/Movies / Satellite TV Technology / Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA (2070560 Views)

UPS Back-up, Also A Complement To FTA / FTA Frequency / Cctv Installation A Complement To Fta And Solar Energy (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (1343) (1344) (1345) (1346) (1347) (1348) (1349) ... (1697) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by NiyiOmoIyunade(m): 8:15am On Jan 25, 2023
But I did mention the Axpert/Voltronic family and Deye as well boss grin grin grin

The Axpert family e.g Felicity, Zinox, Gennex, Sorotec, Phocos, Steca and all their grey market and rebrand ilk have some sort of solar then battery then utility priority built into them.

These also come with decent MPPTs built in.

The problem with the el cheapos is not a lack of features but rather scrimping on protections and critical ratings, poor isolation of the electronics and internals, flaky/buggy behaviour and a lack of robustness to deliver the promised performance long term.

toyeoye:

This makes sense! Strong selling point and reason to get a Victron inverter I guess. While we ponder on this option/save up to get one, we're on our own?
Re: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by toyeoye(m): 8:23am On Jan 25, 2023
NiyiOmoIyunade:
The Axpert family e.g Felicity, Zinox, Gennex, Sorotec, Phocos, Steca and all their grey market and rebrand ilk have some sort of solar then battery then utility priority built into them.

The problem with the el cheapos is not a lack of features but rather scrimping on protections and critical ratings, poor isolation of the electronics and internals, flaky/buggy behaviour and a lack of robustness to deliver the promised performance long term.

Got it sir. The fact remains that my units burneth as a flaming fire grin

Re: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by tsiriman(m): 9:06am On Jan 25, 2023
toyeoye:

Got it sir. The fact remains that my units burneth as a flaming fire grin

From what I read and understand, you use only grid to charge your batteries, not a combination of grid and solar?
Re: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by viperVIP: 9:07am On Jan 25, 2023
Still available
6months used.
Excellent working conditions

Re: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by kiekie1(m): 9:35am On Jan 25, 2023
WE BUY DEAD/SCRAP BATTERIES!!!

We also buy off scrap/dead deep cycle batteries from any state to Lagos (Terms & Condition applies) ...

12v 200a .... N24,000
12v 150a.....N18,000
12v 100a.......N12,000
2v 500a ......N6,000

Free pickup within some parts of Lagos mainland ! Shared cost logistics within Lagos Island environs . . If outside Lagos state , send the scrap batteries to your nearby Lagos park & get your payment alert immediately after confirmatory remarks from me with the transport company manager / secretary or driver (shared logistics cost depending on scrap battery quantity)

Contact,
Smartcell global services
CALL:: 081-350-31951
WHATSAPP::: http://.us/w/?c=a46ea5

Re: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by toyeoye(m): 9:38am On Jan 25, 2023
tsiriman:

From what I read and understand, you use only grid to charge your batteries, not a combination of grid and solar?

Both actually, but I think it prioritises the grid.

Re: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by ojesymsym: 9:48am On Jan 25, 2023
Why not manually switch off the grid power during the day as a makeshift solution?
toyeoye:

Both actually, but I think it prioritises the grid.

Re: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by earthrealm(m): 9:53am On Jan 25, 2023
toyeoye:
Hello good people, I wonder why no one talks about the huge amount of units consumed through charging the batteries if your setup is tied to the grid.
Na die o! in my opinion doesn't make sense right now because the point of going solar is to save money eventually.
This doesn't apply to folks using
only backup generator to supplement production during long stretches of outage.
Please share your experiences, thanks

This shouldn't be an issue, if you are using a decent hybrid inverter with adequate solar panels, just set it on solar priority.
if you don't have solar, switching off the inverter so as to use the charged energy in the battery is not a good idea, reeks of ignorance, batteries are not 100% efficient, worse leadacid batteries, they have about average of 75% efficiency while lithium battery has about 95% efficiency. so if you take out 1kwh from leadacid, you would need theoretically about 1.3kwh to replace this energy and may get as high as 1.7kwh, if theprocess starts and stops before the battery is full. while an equivalent lithium battery may take about 1.15kwh .

Re: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by RipVanWink: 9:59am On Jan 25, 2023
kiekie1:
WE BUY DEAD/SCRAP BATTERIES!!!

We also buy off scrap/dead deep cycle batteries from any state to Lagos (Terms & Condition applies) ...

12v 200a .... N24,000
12v 150a.....N18,000
12v 100a.......N12,000
2v 500a ......N6,000

Free pickup within some parts of Lagos mainland ! Shared cost logistics within Lagos Island environs . . If outside Lagos state , send the scrap batteries to your nearby Lagos park & get your payment alert immediately after confirmatory remarks from me with the transport company manager / secretary or driver (shared logistics cost depending on scrap battery quantity)

Contact,
Smartcell global services
CALL:: 081-350-31951
WHATSAPP::: http://.us/w/?c=a46ea5

oga, scrap battery don add money, why you never update ya price

13 Likes

Re: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by toyeoye(m): 10:13am On Jan 25, 2023
earthrealm:

This shouldn't be an issue, if you are using a decent hybrid inverter with adequate solar panels, just set it on solar priority.
if you don't have solar, switching off the inverter so as to use the charged energy in the battery is not a good idea, reeks of ignorance, batteries are not 100% efficient, worse leadacid batteries, they have about average of 75% efficiency while lithium battery has about 95% efficiency. so if you take out 1kwh from leadacid, you would need theoretically about 1.3kwh to replace this energy and may get as high as 1.7kwh, if theprocess starts and stops before the battery is full. while an equivalent lithium battery may take about 1.15kwh .

Thank you! I checked my trusty Famicare inverter but cannot see the function to set charging priority, will keep checking. My faithful lead acid batteries are pampered and I'd always want to keep them fully charged. I appreciate your inputs.
Re: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by toyeoye(m): 10:14am On Jan 25, 2023
ojesymsym:
Why not manually switch off the grid power during the day as a makeshift solution?

I've been doing this my guy, it's not just the most convenient. Thanks
Re: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by zeestone99(m): 10:34am On Jan 25, 2023
toyeoye:
Hello good people, I wonder why no one talks about the huge amount of units consumed through charging the batteries if your setup is tied to the grid.
Na die o! in my opinion doesn't make sense right now because the point of going solar is to save money eventually.

That's why you need our smart inverter.

it's multifunctional settings Allows you to
set priority i.e choose between Grid and battery priority
set charging current from 0 - 30amps
Set different charging voltage parameters
Set equalization mode

Get this if you need that smart rugged inverter that can perform functions close to hybrid.

The battery mode allows you to bypass mains and not charge your battery. This is good for my solar power folks that worry about inverter consuming their phcn units.

Snadi 3.5kva 24v - 275k
Snadi 5kva 24v - 345k
Snadi 5kva 48v - 345k

Call/chat - 08117398294 to order

Re: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by zeestone99(m): 10:37am On Jan 25, 2023
contease:

You are not alone bro... At some point, I had to look through the grid source lines after my meter to be sure neighbour's are not tapping my line, but of course, it's almost impossible because all cables are conduit just after the meter.

So seating down to analyse, what I see happening is that, we pay for grid even when no national grid.

Assuming you have 100% charge of your battery, and grid goes out to the time your battery becomes 50%, once grid is restored, your battery begins to charge while your appliances are also in use, this process draws so much current to fill in the gap on both the battery and the appliances..., putting off the inverter once grid is off or putting off basic appliances makes no sense otherwise what's the need to having a non stop power supply going solar... The only way out is to use the sun via panels

Sincerely, I think this is it... Let's wait for the SMEs to tell us more!

Get our smart inverter and worry no more about getting your units consumed.

Our inverters can bypass your mains without charging your battery.

Set equalization mode

Get this if you need that smart rugged inverter that can perform functions close to hybrid.

The battery mode allows you to bypass mains and not charge your battery. This is good for my solar power folks that worry about inverter consuming their phcn units.

Snadi 3.5kva 24v - 275k
Snadi 5kva 24v - 345k
Snadi 5kva 48v - 345k

Re: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by zeestone99(m): 10:37am On Jan 25, 2023
FEGEITOK:

10k a week without AC,

10k a day if I turn on the AC

Wahala wahala wahala
Re: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by zeestone99(m): 10:40am On Jan 25, 2023
ojesymsym:

This can be stressful.
Re: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by zeestone99(m): 10:45am On Jan 25, 2023
For those having issues of grid consuming their units during charging. Many low frequency inverters (transformerless inverters) are dumb. That's why people go hybrid, sadly not everyone likes hybrids.
We now have smart transformerless inverters for you. You no longer have to worry about your inverter charging your batteries anytime there is grid supply. You can simply disable charging or set bypass mode. The inverter
bypasses( supplies ) you mains without charging your batteries. Win win for all

No need to break the bank.
Check our affordable prices and dm to order while stock last.

Snadi 3.5kva 24v - 275k
Snadi 5kva 24v - 345k
Snadi 5kva 48v - 345k

Re: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by Dam5reey(m): 10:50am On Jan 25, 2023
zeestone99:
For those having issues of grid consuming their units during charging. Many low frequency inverters (transformerless inverters) are dumb. That's why people go hybrid, sadly not everyone likes hybrids.
We now have smart transformerless inverters for you. You no longer have to worry about your inverter charging your batteries anytime there is grid supply. You can simply disable charging or set bypass mode. The inverter
bypasses( supplies ) you mains without charging your batteries. Win win for all

No need to break the bank.
Check our affordable prices and dm to order while stock last.

Snadi 3.5kva 24v - 275k
Snadi 5kva 24v - 345k
Snadi 5kva 48v - 345k

Whats the No load consumption and efficiency?
Re: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by earthrealm(m): 11:06am On Jan 25, 2023
toyeoye:

I've been doing this my guy, it's not just the most convenient. Thanks

quite stressful, I know about 3 easy to moderate options.
1. buy a timer switch and put it inline with the inverter, you can then set it to turn off the inverter by 9am when the sun is up and turn off grid charging by 4pm

2. If you have home wireless internet, buy a tuya wifi breaker and put it inline with the inverter, this breaker has timer functions as well as weather related commands -- such as turn off 2hrs or 3hrs after sun rise or sundown, turn off/on when raining/cloudy...etc

3. Get a battery based SOC turn off/on, this device can turn off ya charging based on your battery state of charge. this is a DIY device not off the shelf

Re: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by toyeoye(m): 11:09am On Jan 25, 2023
zeestone99:

That's why you need our smart inverter.

Set equalization mode

Snadi 3.5kva 24v - 275k
Snadi 5kva 24v - 345k
Snadi 5kva 48v - 345k

Marketer! You have spoken well actually.
For now na me and my trusty Famicare go dey manually ruff tins until things look up.
Re: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by toyeoye(m): 11:12am On Jan 25, 2023
earthrealm:

quite stressful, I know about 3 easy to moderate options.
1. buy a timer switch and put it inline with the inverter, you can then set it to turn off the inverter by 9am when the sun is up and turn off grid charging by 4pm

2. If you have home wireless internet, buy a tuya wifi breaker and put it inline with the breaker, this breaker has timer functions as well as weather related commands -- such as turn off 2hrs or 3hrs after sun rise or sundown, turn off/on when raining/cloudy...etc

3. Get a battery based SOC turn off/on, this device can turn off ya charging based on your battery state of charge. this is a DIY device not off the shelf

You're making plenty sense bro! I'm ready. Who can hook me up with #2 and install in Abj?
Re: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by Milito: 1:11pm On Jan 25, 2023
Hello guys,

Kindly assist. How many 200amps battery can give 10kWh?
Re: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by Moneyboyz: 2:04pm On Jan 25, 2023
I don't understand these talks about inverter consuming grid power, you guys do not have solar panels?

I've been using 1200w + 5kw lithium with 2kva inverter for over 6 months now without grid power.
Re: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by bigrovar(m): 2:28pm On Jan 25, 2023
FEGEITOK:

In other words, whether I go Canadian or Trina.

I can't go wrong!

Thanks.
Nope. They are essentially using the same technology and have similar efficiency. The difference between them is pretty much negligible heck Techland sell all of Longi, Canadian Solar, JA and Jingo at the same exact price per watt. In my case, I went with the Canadian solar when I wanted to upgrade because the specification had slightly better heat tolerance but I can assure you, you can't go wrong with either.

Re: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by bigrovar(m): 2:39pm On Jan 25, 2023
NiyiOmoIyunade:

The problem with the el cheapos is not a lack of features but rather scrimping on protections and critical ratings, poor isolation of the electronics and internals, flaky/buggy behavior, and a lack of robustness to deliver the promised performance long term.

I used the Axpert MKS for close to 5 years now without any issues. When I was connected to the grid, I set it to Solar Utility Battery mode which allowed me to use solar when it is available, grid when solar is not available or sufficient and battery when Both solar and grid are not available. I also disabled Charging from the grid. The result was that I only ever used the grid at night.. between the time of 7 pm - 8 am daily or when it is too cloudy for solar. This greatly reduced my Nepa bill because my estate then was on premium power and electricity although always available, came at a very steep cost. The arrangement above helped to reduce the electricity bill.

Axpert (In my case Ipowerplus) does not have the fine grain feature of a Victron especially its ability to share between solar, grid, and even generator and it is no where near as robust. Yet it is a good and cheaper alternative for those who are price sensitive. Axpert is well used and tested (all over the world, especially in OECD countries like South Africa, Australia and Europe) and offers great performance for the money. Heck, you can buy 2 ipowerplus and keep one in cold storage and the price won't still be close to half the price of a Victron of similar capacity.

It all depends on your pocket and how you want to have things optimized.

Re: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by Trippledots(m): 2:40pm On Jan 25, 2023
toyeoye:

Very true. I don't use grid to charge my batteries normally, except on dire situations. Odimmbannamdi, see what I was advising you some days back?
Re: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by samir101ng(m): 3:49pm On Jan 25, 2023
bigrovar:

Nope. They are essentially using the same technology and have similar efficiency. The difference between them is pretty much negligible heck Techland sell all of Longi, Canadian Solar, JA and Jingo at the same exact price per watt. In my case, I went with the Canadian solar when I wanted to upgrade because the specification had slightly better heat tolerance but I can assure you, you can't go wrong with either.

Can you explain a bit more on this heat tolerance issue and why that was a deciding factor for you ? Is it that major of a differentiator when choosing between those range of panels (JA Solar, Jinko, Trina) ?
Re: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by mahkanjuh: 4:00pm On Jan 25, 2023
tolukemi:
I have considered all my light bulbs in the 232W, so that is 16 light bulbs of 10W and 2 4ft fluorescent tubes of 36W each. I will not use more than 25% of that load on an average day.

I am happy to replace the ceiling fans. I would only run 2 and that would be during the evening/night.

I don't have an AC yet so I will consider an inverter AC when I get round to it.

Thank you very much for your input. I will definitely take your points on energy efficiency on board.

Energy saving bulbs, Both DC and AC are available for sale, 1 watt each

NB: mostly comes as pin, not screw
Re: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by samnaija: 4:55pm On Jan 25, 2023
Moneyboyz:
I don't understand these talks about inverter consuming grid power, you guys do not have solar panels?

I've been using 1200w + 5kw lithium with 2kva inverter for over 6 months now without grid power.

My taught exactly, he should beef up his solar panel generation, and switch off the grid meter. I don't on my grid meter at all, unless the weather is very bad..

Re: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by isangjohnson: 5:47pm On Jan 25, 2023
samnaija:

My taught exactly, he should beef up his solar panel generation, and switch off the grid meter. I don't on my grid meter at all, unless the weather is very bad..
Some people are even getting tired of grid now with the recent tariff hike.
A unit in Kano now 13.25kwh.
If I can conveniently charge my battery with pv, power my basic appliances like fridge, freezer, water pump etc during the day and switch to battery at night for lightings and tv, why do I need to waste my money on nepa bill?
Currently, solar is cheaper than nepa.

Re: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by adrusa: 5:49pm On Jan 25, 2023
samnaija:

This is what I do. The grid input on my inverter is off by default. I turn it on only on rare occasions when my battery SOC is low in the evening due to 2 or 3 days of poor solar harvests. I used a switch I can control remotely, so even if I'm not home and my battery is critical, I can turn it on.
Re: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by mctfopt: 6:38pm On Jan 25, 2023
viperVIP:
Still available
6months used.
Excellent working conditions

5000ES? How much is it?
Re: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by Moneyboyz: 6:41pm On Jan 25, 2023
samnaija:

That's why generator comes in handy, I only use that to pump water if the weather is bad. I don't have any wires linked to the grid at all. Nigeria should hold their light.

(1) (2) (3) ... (1343) (1344) (1345) (1346) (1347) (1348) (1349) ... (1697) (Reply)

FTA Live Football Matches Announcement Thread / Free To Air Satellite Tv General Thread

Viewing this topic: kristien4(m), isco10(m), kdaddy, jonescosmos and 1 guest(s)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 70