Stats: 3,326,118 members, 8,425,042 topics. Date: Friday, 12 June 2026 at 03:20 AM

Imo Economy Bigger Than Yoruba States Economy - Politics (5) - Nairaland

Nairaland ForumNairaland GeneralPoliticsImo Economy Bigger Than Yoruba States Economy (4812 Views)

1 2 3 4 5 6 Reply (Go Down)

Re: Imo Economy Bigger Than Yoruba States Economy by Workch: 6:45pm On Jul 06, 2023
totit:
The bolded can only be ascertained with the most recent stats. A deep observation of the data being thrown around of dated back and repetitive of the same 2013-2017.
Yes, but I really do not see other parts of southwest catching up. You know why? Natural Gas.

Natural gas is an emerging in Nigeria and its growing faster than crude oil economy. The gas deposits in Imo and anambra state is causing massive investments to go there. 1 gas plant that will be newly completed by Shell in Imo state is worth about $2billion. Seplat jusr completed one is Imo state earlier this year, it's work $700million.

Imagine dropping investment worth $2.7billion in a state within a year, that's about N3trillion. And more are coming.
When these plants start operations, it's going to skyrocket the GDP and economy of that axis.
However FMCG factories do you want to set up in Ogun state that can Rival that? The only thing that will rival it or even do better is Dangote refinery in Lagos and as the world moves away from oil to Liquefied gas, Dangote refinery production is reach a limit and start dropping.
Re: Imo Economy Bigger Than Yoruba States Economy by Anambra1stS0n: 6:46pm On Jul 06, 2023
Putinofrussia:
Not that I dont believe Budgit but it has a caveat.
GDP fluctuates.SW states have always been in the top 10.
This one from NBS still shows that SW leads.
Yorubas their highest economical activities in Lagos because it is in the SW.
SW states are still in the top 10.
Yorubaland still leads.
How are they leading when NBS released only two Igbo states Anambra and Ebonyi, released 5 in West except Lagos, so how are you leading? When Imo which is a major oil and gas producing state and Abia which is oil producing state and commercial and industrial activities aren't included

Re: Imo Economy Bigger Than Yoruba States Economy by Workch: 6:47pm On Jul 06, 2023
Putinofrussia:
It has not always been like this.
yes, what do you think changed.

Is it that something new has started driving the economy of Imo and Anambra?
Re: Imo Economy Bigger Than Yoruba States Economy by totit: 6:47pm On Jul 06, 2023
Workch:
Yes, but I really do not see other parts of southwest catching up. You know why? Natural Gas.

Natural gas is an emerging in Nigeria and its growing faster than crude oil economy. The gas deposits in Imo and anambra state is causing massive investments to go there. 1 gas plant that will be newly completed by Shell in Imo state is worth about $2billion. Seplat jusr completed one is Imo state earlier this year, it's work $700million.

Imagine dropping investment worth $2.7billion in a state within a year, that's about N3trillion.
When these plants start operations, it's going to skyrocket the GDP of that axis.
However FMCG factories do you want to set up in Ogun state that can Rival that? The only thing that will rival it or even do better is Dangote refinery in Lagos and as the world moves away from oil to Liquefied gas, Dangote refinery production is reach a limit and start dropping.
Well, all good. But until these are translated into the GDP of these states it remains a forecast. Do you now see the need for a new GDP table after all?
Re: Imo Economy Bigger Than Yoruba States Economy by Anambra1stS0n: 6:52pm On Jul 06, 2023
totit:
You are referring to Nigeria not a state or anambra and if we are to go by your logic SW cover the most Gross domestic product " even according the OP table and NBS. Can't you see that? cool

So, you may want to humble yourself and acknowledge the superiority of the SW. Lool
Superiority how huh Lagos is nation capital base, the economy are control by all tribes, even the industrial sector in other part of Yoruba land are control by others unlike Southeast, Only Anambra and Ebonyi were listed, Anambra still top all the states except Lagos, I optimistic that Imo will also do well if they release the complete states
Re: Imo Economy Bigger Than Yoruba States Economy by MrFourSHIRTS: 6:53pm On Jul 06, 2023
totit:

That's how that du..nce called Alambra1stson claimed that Alambra's economy is worth 6 trillion. grin
Re: Imo Economy Bigger Than Yoruba States Economy by totit: 6:54pm On Jul 06, 2023
post=124258063:
Superiority how huh Lagos is nation capital base, the economy are control by all tribes, even the industrial sector in other part of Yoruba land are control by others unlike Southeast, Only Anambra and Ebonyi were listed, Anambra still top all the states except Lagos, I optimistic that Imo will also do well if they release the complete states
Control by all tribes, how is that possible ? cool
Please, give a breakdown of how it is controlled by all tribes, I want to learn.

Thank you.
Waiting.
Re: Imo Economy Bigger Than Yoruba States Economy by Workch: 6:55pm On Jul 06, 2023
totit:
Well, all good. But until these are translated into the GDP of these states it remains a forecast. Do you now see the need for a new GDP table after all?
So why do you think Imo state froglipped to that position? There are production of gas going on now in imo state and it's growing. What factories does Imo state have to rival Akwa ibom if not for gas production?

The shell plant is meant to supply gas major power plants in Aba (there are about 3 power plants in Aba waiting to patronize them, including th largest in Nigeria, Alaoji power plant) and SS. This plant also pipelines to Ota in Ogun state to supply industries in Ogun. It means that Ogun will still depend on Imo as we move to gas to run its industries. All these gas sales will add to Imo state GDP. It's inevitable
Re: Imo Economy Bigger Than Yoruba States Economy by Anambra1stS0n: 6:55pm On Jul 06, 2023
totit:
Control by all tribes, how is that possible ? cool
Please, give a breakdown of how it is controlled by all tribes, I want to learn.

Thank you.
Waiting.
Yes I can name the five biggest industries domicile in Lagos non own by Yoruba person
Re: Imo Economy Bigger Than Yoruba States Economy by Nobody: 6:55pm On Jul 06, 2023
post=124258063:
Lagos is not the capital. Its a full SW state and a genuine yoruba land. your propaganda wont change that. Not to mention the total of other SW states is $50 billion GDP while the whole SE is $49 billion. SW is ahead
Re: Imo Economy Bigger Than Yoruba States Economy by Workch: 6:57pm On Jul 06, 2023
tundein18:
Lagos is not the capital. Its a full SW state and a genuine yoruba land. your propaganda wont change that. Not to mention the total of other SW states is $50 billion GDP while the whole SE is $49 billion. SW is ahead
Lagos is Yoruba land. It's not debatable.

But you must agree that Lagos is the economic capital of Nigeria. It's a priority for the federal government to make it so.
Re: Imo Economy Bigger Than Yoruba States Economy by Anambra1stS0n: 6:59pm On Jul 06, 2023
tundein18:
No doubt is in West but the state economy is control by all tribes not you guys, Nigerians and foreigners built Lagos economy not just Yoruba people
Re: Imo Economy Bigger Than Yoruba States Economy by totit: 7:00pm On Jul 06, 2023
Workch:
So why do you think Imo state froglipped to that position? There are production of gas going on now in imo state and it's growing. What factories does Imo state have to rival Akwa ibom if not for gas production?

The shell plant is meant to supply gas major power plants in Aba (there are about 3 power plants in Aba waiting to patronize them, including th largest in Nigeria, Alaoji power plant) and SS. This plant also pipelines to Ota in Ogun state to supply industries in Ogun. It means that Ogun will still depend on Imo as we move to gas to run its industries. All these gas sales will add to Imo state GDP. It's inevitable
Why would I think the bolded, for what reason? It's good you are projecting your region well and that's good but like I said, wait till it's translated into GDP. SW will improve too.
Re: Imo Economy Bigger Than Yoruba States Economy by totit: 7:03pm On Jul 06, 2023
post=124258123:
Yes I can name the five biggest industries domicile in Lagos non own by Yoruba person
Are the ones in Alambra also controlling its economy as well? This reasoning ehn? He get well oo grin

You couldn't even relate GDP and its impact of these so called industries ( as you referred them) and how it control Lagos economy.

I guess, the gov has no business governing these state then since it is in the hands of the 3 ' industries ' according to you. grin
Re: Imo Economy Bigger Than Yoruba States Economy by Anambra1stS0n: 7:05pm On Jul 06, 2023
totit:
Are the ones in Alambra also controlling its economy as well? This reasoning ehn? He get well oo grin

You couldn't even relate GDP and its impact of these so called industries ( as you referred them) and how it control Lagos economy.

I guess, the gov has no business governing these state then since it is in the hands of the 3 ' industries ' according to you. grin
You know the truth, just that you enjoying being stup..id
Re: Imo Economy Bigger Than Yoruba States Economy by Nobody: 7:06pm On Jul 06, 2023
Workch:
Lagos is Yoruba land. It's not debatable.

But you must agree that Lagos is the economic capital of Nigeria. It's a priority for the federal government to make it so.
Its mostly the economic capital because the people there built it to be. Stop diminishing the people of lagos and giving glory to the federal government. Kano is bigger than Lagos so why is it not as successful. If anything the government prioritized lagos because of the success of the people there.
Re: Imo Economy Bigger Than Yoruba States Economy by Anambra1stS0n: 7:07pm On Jul 06, 2023
totit:

Industries, service and other sectors are control by Igbos
Re: Imo Economy Bigger Than Yoruba States Economy by Nobody: 7:09pm On Jul 06, 2023
post=124258202:
No doubt is in West but the state economy is control by all tribes not you guys, Nigerians and foreigners built Lagos economy not just Yoruba people
Its really not. Its mostly controlled by yorubas. lagos was never that diverse until very recently. yorubas built it up before that
Re: Imo Economy Bigger Than Yoruba States Economy by Anambra1stS0n: 7:09pm On Jul 06, 2023
tundein18:
Its mostly the economic capital because the people there built it to be. Stop diminishing the people of lagos and giving glory to the federal government. Kano is bigger than Lagos so why is it not as successful. If anything the government prioritized lagos because of the success of the people there.
Lagos is nation capital base you guys can't change that until Nigeria cease to exit.
Re: Imo Economy Bigger Than Yoruba States Economy by totit: 7:09pm On Jul 06, 2023
post=124258330:
You know the truth, just that you enjoying being stup..id
I never expect you to comprehend such a practical and logical explanation. You don't know what it means to control a country or state economy, it's obvious. As rich as Dangote is, he can't ' dictate ' or control " the economy of even his own state.

Note the word ' dictate '. But he pays his taxes.
Re: Imo Economy Bigger Than Yoruba States Economy by Nobody: 7:11pm On Jul 06, 2023
post=124258406:
Lagos is nation capital base you guys can't change that until Nigeria cease to exit.
And its also a Yoruba territory and no one can change that either
Re: Imo Economy Bigger Than Yoruba States Economy by Workch: 7:11pm On Jul 06, 2023
tundein18:
it's the economic capital because its given a special treatment to make sure that it's seaport is the only optimally functioning seaport in Nigeria.

It is from this revenue generate by the inflow businesses in Lagos that gives Lagos state money revenue to build Lekki port.
Allow other seaports work well in other parts of the country and Lagos will grow slowly economically because many businesses will move
Re: Imo Economy Bigger Than Yoruba States Economy by Nobody: 7:13pm On Jul 06, 2023
Workch:
it's the economic capital because its given a special treatment to make sure that it's seaport is the only optimally functioning seaport in Nigeria.

It is from this revenue generate by the inflow businesses in Lagos that gives Lagos state money revenue to build Lekki port.
Allow other seaports work well in other parts of the country and Lagos will grow slowly economically because many businesses will move
"Allow" like Lagos is the ones stopping it. The new seaport was built by state government not federal. If those states want to build themselves a seaport then they should do it. Don't blame lagos for building there own.
Re: Imo Economy Bigger Than Yoruba States Economy by Anambra1stS0n: 7:14pm On Jul 06, 2023
tundein18:
Its really not. Its mostly controlled by yorubas. lagos was never that diverse until very recently. yorubas built it up before that
Lagos economy isn't control by Yoruba stop fooling yourself, Dangote refinary will be the biggest industry wasn't built by Yoruba, NNPC head office is in Lagos, Oil industries, bank headquarters, multinational corporations, markets, etc aren't control by you guys
Re: Imo Economy Bigger Than Yoruba States Economy by Nobody: 7:15pm On Jul 06, 2023
post=124258510:
Lagos economy isn't control by Yoruba stop fooling yourself, Dangote refinary will be the biggest industry wasn't built by Yoruba, NNPC head office is in Lagos, Oil industries, bank headquarters, multinational corporations, markets, etc aren't control by you guys
It is controlled by Yoruba. Get over it.
Re: Imo Economy Bigger Than Yoruba States Economy by Anambra1stS0n: 7:18pm On Jul 06, 2023
tundein18:
And its also a Yoruba territory and no one can change that either
No wahala but you can't claim the contributions of others, it will remain so except Nigeria disintegrate then you guys will understand the contribution of others
Re: Imo Economy Bigger Than Yoruba States Economy by Anambra1stS0n: 7:19pm On Jul 06, 2023
tundein18:
It is controlled by Yoruba. Get over it.
You know you're deceiving yourself grin grin continue grin
Re: Imo Economy Bigger Than Yoruba States Economy by Ibadanpikin(op): 7:19pm On Jul 06, 2023
tundein18:
Wrong. SW is $150 billion GDP. SS is $85 billion gdp. SE is $49 billion GDP. Go verify
stop joining Lagos to sw stats,yorubas have zero contribution there.
Re: Imo Economy Bigger Than Yoruba States Economy by Workch: 7:19pm On Jul 06, 2023
tundein18:
"Allow" like Lagos is the ones stopping it. The new seaport was built by state government not federal. If those states want to build themselves a seaport then they should do it. Don't blame lagos for building there own.
Did you read my comment carefully?
Re: Imo Economy Bigger Than Yoruba States Economy by Ibadanpikin(op): 7:21pm On Jul 06, 2023
totit:
You can as well remove Alambra or better still IMO since SW is 5 and SE is now 4. grin
Lagos is exempted because yorubas has little contribution here.
Re: Imo Economy Bigger Than Yoruba States Economy by Nobody: 7:23pm On Jul 06, 2023
post=124258590:
No wahala but you can't claim the contributions of others, it will remain so except Nigeria disintegrate then you guys will understand the contribution of others
Their contribution in polluting and slumming themselves in lagos. yes some come and do well but many come to slum away. And you cannot deny that fact
Re: Imo Economy Bigger Than Yoruba States Economy by totit: 7:23pm On Jul 06, 2023
Ibadanpikin:
Lagos is exempted because yorubas has little contribution here.
Are you arguing based on facts or emotion?
The government controls the economy of a state and if by economic contribution below is how it is generated.

Don't be troll, argue intelligently.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Reply

Igbo Lost More To NADECO After June 12 Annulment Than Yoruba - Peter ObiStates Economy Wobbles As Edo, Rivers, Ondo, Katsina, 17 Others Record Zero InveWhy Are More Igbo Making It US Military Than Yoruba And Hausa/fulani Altogether234

Black Sunday For Nigerians In London As Immigration Nabs Illegal ImmigrantsAPGA: MOSSOB Leader Cannot Question My Authority – ShinkafiMob Stoned Gombe Governor Over Campaign For Jonathan