Stats: 3,151,133 members, 7,811,198 topics. Date: Sunday, 28 April 2024 at 06:12 AM

Sort Codes For Nigerian Banks - Business - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Business / Sort Codes For Nigerian Banks (186348 Views)

Sort Codes For Nigerian Banks / Banks Sort Codes / Zip Codes For Nigeria (2) (3) (4)

Sort Codes For Nigerian Banks by ace1(m): 4:26pm On Sep 18, 2012
Please I need the sort code for Ecobank, Rumuokoro branch, Port Harcourt. Bank's closed already and I need to fill it on a form. Checked Ecobank's website cant find it dere.

Re: Sort Codes For Nigerian Banks by xammy(m): 5:16pm On Sep 18, 2012
050150010 ECOBANK
Re: Sort Codes For Nigerian Banks by xammy(m): 5:17pm On Sep 18, 2012
WEMA BANK 035150103
FCMB 214150018
FIN BANK 085082357
BANK PHB/ KEYSTONE 082150017
DIAMOND BANK 063150162
ECO BANK 050150010
ETB 040150101
First Bank N 011151003
Fidelity BANK 070150003
GTB 058152052
Intercontinental Bank 069150014
SKYE BANK 076151006
STANBIC IBTC 221159522
STANCHART 068150015
STERLING BANK 232150016
UBA 033153513
UNION BANK 032154568
UNITY BANK 215153593
Zenith Bank 057150013
ACCESS BANK 044150149
CITI BANK 023150005
SPRING/ENTEPRISE BANK 084150015
AFRI/MAINSTREET BANK 014150030
OCEANIC BANK 056150014

you can also save this for future use

22 Likes

Re: Sort Codes For Nigerian Banks by ace1(m): 10:12pm On Sep 18, 2012
xammy: WEMA BANK 035150103
FCMB 214150018
FIN BANK 085082357
DIAMOND BANK 063150162
ECO BANK 050150010
ETB 040150101
First Bank N 011151003
Fidelity BANK 070150003
GTB 058152052
SKYE BANK 076151006
STANBIC IBTC 221159522
STANCHART 068150015
STERLING BANK 232150016
UBA 033153513
UNION BANK 032154568
UNITY BANK 215153593
Zenith Bank 057150013
ACCESS BANK 044150149
CITI BANK 023150005
OCEANIC BANK 056150014

Thanks but I have a few questions. Is it one sort code for all branches? And, I opened d account when it was oceanic bank. Which sort code am I 2 use now, Oceanic or Ecobank?
Re: Sort Codes For Nigerian Banks by Mustay(m): 12:35pm On Oct 13, 2012
This excel file on this link has all the sort codes -
http://zenithbank.com/SORTCODES.xls

For example, Bank Phb appears here (caveat) but iSuppose Keystone should retain that.

attaka: A sort code identifies a specific branch of a bank. It has 9-digits. first 3 are the bank's code, the next is the location and the last 5 are for the branch. It is printed on every single checkleaf, the middle set of characters on the MICR line .

^^^That should answer @beamed's question.
Re: Sort Codes For Nigerian Banks by lolaben(m): 2:18pm On Oct 13, 2012
Every branch of a bank has a different sortcode. The bank code(first three nos) is always the same but the last six numbers, differs with the branch of the particular bank
Re: Sort Codes For Nigerian Banks by ignis: 2:23pm On Oct 13, 2012
xammy: 050150010 ECOBANK
Different branches have different sort codes, so you have to give the branch and the sort code.

Re: Sort Codes For Nigerian Banks by Nobody: 2:24pm On Oct 13, 2012
please guys, what is a sort code? i understand "sort" in basic English but not in banking.
Re: Sort Codes For Nigerian Banks by INFO70: 2:37pm On Oct 13, 2012
jammyng: please guys, what is a sort code? i understand "sort" in basic English but not in banking.
Sort code is used in banks when u want to transfer funds to another bank. It is in number form. The transfer can be inter or intra - bank.

Re: Sort Codes For Nigerian Banks by Frosti(m): 2:43pm On Oct 13, 2012
They should make this available on all banks' websites.

Re: Sort Codes For Nigerian Banks by pheemmii(m): 2:48pm On Oct 13, 2012
Dis code is 4 their Head Office in Lagos.
050: Bank Code (from CBN)
15: State Code (Lagos State)
001: Branch Code (within d Bank)
0: Sort Digit (auto-generated by software)
xammy: 050150010 ECOBANK

Re: Sort Codes For Nigerian Banks by NET1(m): 2:54pm On Oct 13, 2012
Nice thread.
Re: Sort Codes For Nigerian Banks by pheemmii(m): 3:07pm On Oct 13, 2012
More info: On a cheque leaves, there r sum numbers @ d lower part of it i.e "00000001" 050150010 ".1234567890". 01 .. Serial no of d cheque, Sort code, Account number & Transaction code. The Sort code is meant to know where d account was originated.
jammyng: please guys, what is a sort code? i understand "sort" in basic English but not in banking.

Re: Sort Codes For Nigerian Banks by beamed: 3:28pm On Oct 13, 2012
FCMB 214150018
FIN BANK 085082357
DIAMOND BANK 063150162
ECO BANK 050150010
ETB 040150101
First Bank N 011151003
Fidelity BANK 070150003
GTB 058152052
SKYE BANK 076151006
STANBIC IBTC 221159522
STANCHART 068150015
STERLING BANK 232150016
UBA 033153513
UNION BANK 032154568
UNITY BANK 215153593
Zenith Bank 057150013
ACCESS BANK 044150149
CITI BANK 023150005
OCEANIC BANK 056150014

Thanks for this. Now does it mean I don't have to worry about the particular branch ?
Re: Sort Codes For Nigerian Banks by Nobody: 3:34pm On Oct 13, 2012
FCMB 214150018
FIN BANK 085082357
DIAMOND BANK 063150162
ECO BANK 050150010
ETB 040150101
First Bank N 011151003
Fidelity BANK 070150003
GTB 058152052
SKYE BANK 076151006
STANBIC IBTC 221159522
STANCHART 068150015
STERLING BANK 232150016
UBA 033153513
UNION BANK 032154568
UNITY BANK 215153593
Zenith Bank 057150013
ACCESS BANK 044150149
CITI BANK 023150005
OCEANIC BANK 056150014

Fisrt Bank own is incorrect,the correct SORT code is 011257208.I just collected it from their receptionist yesterday.I wonder how many others are incorrect?

Re: Sort Codes For Nigerian Banks by Walexz02(m): 3:35pm On Oct 13, 2012
Firstbank Nig. Ibadan Orita challange branch. 011191212
Re: Sort Codes For Nigerian Banks by wellmax(m): 3:35pm On Oct 13, 2012
FCMB 214150018
FIN BANK 085082357
DIAMOND BANK 063150162
ECO BANK 050150010
ETB 040150101
First Bank N 011151003
Fidelity BANK 070150003
GTB 058152052
SKYE BANK 076151006
STANBIC IBTC 221159522
STANCHART 068150015
STERLING BANK 232150016
UBA 033153513
UNION BANK 032154568
UNITY BANK 215153593
Zenith Bank 057150013
ACCESS BANK 044150149
CITI BANK 023150005
OCEANIC BANK 056150014

You try but its wrong. I'm not a banker but I work where I carry out online transfer τ̅☺ our clients and I know that sort codes are branch-specific. A bank might have similar numbers for the first few digits, but the last few of the nine digit are unique τ̅☺ the branch where the account is domiciled.
The whole list of bank sort codes in nigeria is like a booklet.
If you got cheque book, underneath there are three set of numbers; the first is cheque number, the second is the sort code while the third is your account number.

Re: Sort Codes For Nigerian Banks by wellmax(m): 3:41pm On Oct 13, 2012
pheemmii: More info: On a cheque leaves, there r sum numbers @ d lower part of it i.e "00000001" 050150010 ".1234567890". 01 .. Serial no of d cheque, Sort code, Account number & Transaction code. The Sort code is meant to know where d account was originated.
GBAM
Frosti: They should make this available on all banks' websites.
Unfortunately no bank has it on their website, infact some bankers don't know what sort code is.
Re: Sort Codes For Nigerian Banks by Mustay(m): 3:49pm On Oct 13, 2012
ace1: Please I need the sort code for Ecobank, Rumuokoro branch, Port Harcourt. Bank's closed already and I need to fill it on a form. Checked Ecobank's website cant find it dere.
The sort code is -

056210080|| RUMUOKORO, PHC||11, EAST- WEST ROAD, RUMUOKORO JUNCTION, PORT-HARCOURT

That bank was formally Oceanic bank.
Re: Sort Codes For Nigerian Banks by Nobody: 3:55pm On Oct 13, 2012
i do online transfers both inter- and intrabank.i never used a sort code,so on what occasion or condition would i need a sort code?
Re: Sort Codes For Nigerian Banks by OkikiOluwa1(m): 4:46pm On Oct 13, 2012
Dat GTBank sort code belongs 2 a particular branch & so I think 4 oda listed banks. U guys shld stop confusing pple. Instead, tell dem 2 request 4rm dr Bank's Branch.
Re: Sort Codes For Nigerian Banks by lokzie: 6:12pm On Oct 13, 2012
The stanbicibtc code is wrong. Kindly refer to any Stanbicibtc IBTC Branch or call 0700-CALL-STANBIC
Re: Sort Codes For Nigerian Banks by bitweezy: 6:24pm On Oct 13, 2012
This sort code issue has been a bit annoying to me because no bank should ask a customer for a branch sort code, it is totally uncalled for. Every bank has the sortcode for all banks, the stupid thing some banks do is ask you for branch sortcode which as a banker i know is not necessary

This is the way it works every bank has a unique sort code which identifies the bank e.g. First bank: 011150000 and your account no. is peculiar to the branch were you opened the account.

So incase of an epayment the bank sortcode locates your bank and your account no. Directs the fund to your account. Simple
Re: Sort Codes For Nigerian Banks by franchizy(m): 6:48pm On Oct 13, 2012
Please do I need a sort code to buy Garri in d market

Re: Sort Codes For Nigerian Banks by Nobody: 6:48pm On Oct 13, 2012
Thanks guys for answering my questions.
Re: Sort Codes For Nigerian Banks by muyenmuyen: 7:35pm On Oct 13, 2012
pls my friend , don"t follow what someone qouted as sort code . just go to ur bank branch/nearby same bank to ask 4 sortcode.
Re: Sort Codes For Nigerian Banks by chyket(m): 8:30pm On Oct 13, 2012
Sort code is very easy to get,just bring out your cheque ooo and look at the 3 set of numbers at that at the lowest white part of the cheque leaf which you are normally asked not to sign on.
The set of numbers at the middle is the sort code. The set of numbers on the right is normally the account number,while the first set of numbers is the cheque numbers.

Re: Sort Codes For Nigerian Banks by Profkomolafe(m): 8:45pm On Oct 13, 2012
U dey hot sit 4 who wants 2 be a millionaire? Rememba na 50_50
Re: Sort Codes For Nigerian Banks by princemmab(m): 8:46pm On Oct 13, 2012
binger: Fisrt Bank own is incorrect,the correct SORT code is 011257208.I just collected it from their receptionist yesterday.I wonder how many others are incorrect?
It is not incorrect, just that different branches of same bank has diff sort codes. If you look closely you'll find out that the code u have has similar initial digits with @poster's
Re: Sort Codes For Nigerian Banks by Mustay(m): 8:49pm On Oct 13, 2012
muyenmuyen: pls my friend , don"t follow what someone qouted as sort code . just go to ur bank branch/nearby same bank to ask 4 sortcode.

In this country, we are fond of making simple things seem difficult. Zenith bank happens to have these codes online and I provided the link. Some of them I verified on the twitter handle of these banks (just to crosscheck) as tweeps do ask banks this question.

What if I can't go to the bank on saturday and I need it that day? Too much "Where-Is-UMYA-" over sorting.

What's the biggie in a sort code Even CBN should have it on its website. Phew

Re: Sort Codes For Nigerian Banks by Mustay(m): 9:02pm On Oct 13, 2012
Okiki_Oluwa: Dat GTBank sort code belongs 2 a particular branch & so I think 4 oda listed banks.

Sort Code: 058152052
GTBank||
Plot 1669, Oyin Jolayemi Street, Victoria Island, Lagos||VICTORIA ISLAND||Lagos
Re: Sort Codes For Nigerian Banks by vicuze(m): 11:30pm On Oct 13, 2012
Bank Sort code and Bank Swift code/BIC are they the same thing?

Binary Options Alertz/strategies Season 5 !!hot!!! / What Is The Maximum Deposit And Balance For A Savings Account? / Forex Trade Alerts: Season 18

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 34