Stats: 3,152,446 members, 7,816,028 topics. Date: Thursday, 02 May 2024 at 11:57 PM

FG Orders Linking Of Rail Line To Port Harcourt, Onne Ports - Politics - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / FG Orders Linking Of Rail Line To Port Harcourt, Onne Ports (11457 Views)

Lagos, Onne Ports To Get Scanners In 2 Weeks – Customs / Why Linking Of NIN To Phone Numbers Should Be Scrapped / Clark To FG: Withdraw Naming Of Rail Stations After Jonathan, Awolowo. (2) (3) (4)

FG Orders Linking Of Rail Line To Port Harcourt, Onne Ports by Paraman: 10:48am On Mar 30
The Federal Government, on Friday, ordered the linking of the Port Harcourt-Aba rail line, which construction has reached an advanced stage of completion to the Port Harcourt and Onne Ports in Rivers State for freight operations to begin.

The Minister of Transportation, Senator Saidu Alkali, disclosed this while speaking to newsmen in Port Harcourt on Friday shortly after inspecting the Port Harcourt-Aba Railway track reconstruction.

This is as he said the commencement of train operation within the route earlier scheduled for March 2024 would be shifted to April due to some technical issues.

Alkali stated, This is the second time I have come to Port Harcourt for the inspection of the rail line since I assumed office as the Minister of Transportation.

“Off course, they gave us March but I’m sure while they are doing the inspection, you witnessed when I was trying to extract a commitment from the consultant and the contractor because the last time I was here, they said March, but because of some exigencies and technicalities of the work, they may extend it to April.”

While expressing dismay at the failure of the contractors to deliver the work in March as promised, he stated, “They (contractors) have given us a definite commitment that by March 6 they will be able to put Port Harcourt to Aba to use.

“When somebody has given you a deadline and the deadline didn’t work, of course, you will have a dismay why he has failed, but if somebody promise you to deliver in March if for any reason he is able to deliver in April I think it’s fine we can manage with that.”

The minister explained that though finance is a major challenge, the Federal Government is committed to completing all rail line projects, including standard and narrow gauge across the country.

He stated, “Contract for the standard gauge was awarded by the past administration so when we took over we were trying to sort out the financing there is no way you can start a project without making all the arrangements the finances so as soon as the finances is ready fine we are going to start.

“Government is serious and committed to developing all the projects in the country. We have just finished the inspection of the Port Harcourt-Aba rail line and are trying to start the operation in April.

“I have directed the contractor to link Port Harcourt rail to Port Harcourt Port and Port Harcourt to Onne Port for freight operations to start.”

https://punchng.com/fg-orders-linking-of-rail-line-to-port-harcourt-onne-ports/?utm_source=telegram&utm_medium=social

19 Likes 4 Shares

Re: FG Orders Linking Of Rail Line To Port Harcourt, Onne Ports by Paraman: 10:49am On Mar 30
A Yoruba muslim from the south west is doing what an Ogbia christian from the south south refuse to do for his people

77 Likes 13 Shares

Re: FG Orders Linking Of Rail Line To Port Harcourt, Onne Ports by Aboks(m): 10:54am On Mar 30
Paraman:
A Yoruba muslim from the south west is doing what an epie christian from the south south refuse to do for his people

U mean jona

18 Likes 2 Shares

Re: FG Orders Linking Of Rail Line To Port Harcourt, Onne Ports by EmperorCaesar(m): 10:55am On Mar 30
cheesy cheesy

We thought we elected only an accountant but then,it seems like he's equally an architect too

The way Naija go too fine when PBAT go comot for 2031 ehn....just imagine replicating the beauty and grand design of Lagos island 🏝️ in every part of the country 🔥🔥🔥

73 Likes 12 Shares

Re: FG Orders Linking Of Rail Line To Port Harcourt, Onne Ports by Gentino(m): 11:38am On Mar 30
This is commendable. Bulaba is spot on this one.

19 Likes 1 Share

Re: FG Orders Linking Of Rail Line To Port Harcourt, Onne Ports by nony43(m): 1:37pm On Mar 30
I am not a fan of BAT but when good things are been done I will appreciate it. I love this, because those customs officers that are stationed between PH and Aba will not see food to chop.

Those guys showed me shege 8 years ago . We go settle everything in Onne , settle and their gate, when you enter express Customs go hold that they want their own , and if no gree them go carry your container to their office in Owerri.

45 Likes 5 Shares

Re: FG Orders Linking Of Rail Line To Port Harcourt, Onne Ports by ngwaIgbo223: 1:37pm On Mar 30
With our oil money it's not News.

Piter Obi is coming. Deadbeat minister from North coming to my backyard to talk trash.. when I'm governor no room for aliens to visit Niger Delta.
Re: FG Orders Linking Of Rail Line To Port Harcourt, Onne Ports by omoredia: 1:38pm On Mar 30
Nothing will come out of it. It is all to loot money and then give excuses later.

Re: FG Orders Linking Of Rail Line To Port Harcourt, Onne Ports by londonerr: 1:38pm On Mar 30
omoredia:
Nothing will come out of it. It is all to loot money and then give excuses later.

30 Likes 5 Shares

Re: FG Orders Linking Of Rail Line To Port Harcourt, Onne Ports by Evergreen4(m): 1:38pm On Mar 30
Aboks:

U mean jona
Rotimi Amechi

Re: FG Orders Linking Of Rail Line To Port Harcourt, Onne Ports by NaijaGoBetter2: 1:38pm On Mar 30
EmperorCaesar:
cheesy cheesy

We thought we elected only an accountant but then,it seems like he's equally an architect too

The way Naija go too fine when PBAT go comot for 2031 ehn....just imagine replicating the beauty and grand design of Lagos island 🏝️ in every part of the country 🔥🔥🔥

Let him finish this first.. APC like beatification project
Re: FG Orders Linking Of Rail Line To Port Harcourt, Onne Ports by Elvis2kay: 1:38pm On Mar 30
Re: FG Orders Linking Of Rail Line To Port Harcourt, Onne Ports by Antoeni(m): 1:39pm On Mar 30
Does this man know what “Mandate” truly means?

“Grab it, snatch it and run away with it” don’t sound like mandate to me!

Or what do you think?h

Re: FG Orders Linking Of Rail Line To Port Harcourt, Onne Ports by Kingpele(m): 1:40pm On Mar 30
I praise FG for even thinking in this direction but then when completed we will thank them more

Re: FG Orders Linking Of Rail Line To Port Harcourt, Onne Ports by Nigercity: 1:40pm On Mar 30
Nice one from f.G
Another Win for Aba People
Containers coming in from onne to ABA
Have kiled alot of people due to road accident caused by bad roads, now the road is being fixed
Also with the rail you don't necessarily need to choose transportation by road you can use rail

Considered the fact that over 80% of the goods coming into onne ports ends up in ABA
This is a good initiative by F.G

14 Likes 1 Share

Re: FG Orders Linking Of Rail Line To Port Harcourt, Onne Ports by Obakoolex(m): 1:40pm On Mar 30
Type of news we expected to hear during Ameachi regime as the minister of transportation but NO!
He was busy asslickin the calphate thinking they will hand over presidency to him on a silver plate grin

49 Likes 5 Shares

Re: FG Orders Linking Of Rail Line To Port Harcourt, Onne Ports by richiemcgold: 1:40pm On Mar 30
Yet, they'll still blame FG of neglecting other ports

12 Likes 2 Shares

Re: FG Orders Linking Of Rail Line To Port Harcourt, Onne Ports by RecentHistory: 1:41pm On Mar 30
omoredia:

Your generations will never benefit from this. If they ever enter this train, sudden death will fall on them.

10 Likes 4 Shares

Re: FG Orders Linking Of Rail Line To Port Harcourt, Onne Ports by FourQu: 1:41pm On Mar 30
Na so, and after linking the rail lines that will be the end of that project till his second term when he will give new contract to install the rail tracks themselves undecided

naptu2, please see my moniker for more insights on this matter cool
Re: FG Orders Linking Of Rail Line To Port Harcourt, Onne Ports by jaxin119: 1:41pm On Mar 30
This is commendable. This is what was expected of Rotimi Amaechi, but he would rather invest in Daura.

11 Likes 1 Share

Re: FG Orders Linking Of Rail Line To Port Harcourt, Onne Ports by broadman20: 1:41pm On Mar 30
For those typing nonsense, this project was initiated by Chibike Amechi to 99 percent completion.

Re: FG Orders Linking Of Rail Line To Port Harcourt, Onne Ports by Funflipper: 1:42pm On Mar 30
Aboks:

U mean jona

Amaechi the lizard of ubima.

Re: FG Orders Linking Of Rail Line To Port Harcourt, Onne Ports by ngwaIgbo223: 1:44pm On Mar 30
RecentHistory:

Your generations will never benefit from this. If they ever enter this train, sudden death will fall on them.

And the oli money from eastern Nigeria you benefit the bridge will collapse when you are there.

Re: FG Orders Linking Of Rail Line To Port Harcourt, Onne Ports by Festusse(m): 1:44pm On Mar 30
Alright cool
Re: FG Orders Linking Of Rail Line To Port Harcourt, Onne Ports by mrvitalis(m): 1:44pm On Mar 30
That's good but allow onne full port status

Allow onne to be used to import everything... That's the Koko

Re: FG Orders Linking Of Rail Line To Port Harcourt, Onne Ports by TheLastProphet: 1:45pm On Mar 30
Paraman:
A Yoruba muslim from the south west is doing what an epie christian from the south south refuse to do for his people
the whole Muslim ummah is slamming their head on the ground praying to Allah for the release of their terrorist Islamic brother who went on war and killed Russian infidels but here you are taking nonsense.
Shame on you for wasting your fasting.instead of praying for the release of your terrorist brother held by infidel Russians you are fixed on south south

Re: FG Orders Linking Of Rail Line To Port Harcourt, Onne Ports by RecentHistory: 1:45pm On Mar 30
ngwaIgbo223:

And the oli money from eastern Nigeria you benefit the bridge will collapse when you are there.

The oil in your barren region is not enough to fry egg. Are you not the ones who Ikwerre people are beating like dogs and Opobo people are banning like poison.
The day you step your foot in our region, you will die of epilepsy.

17 Likes 4 Shares

Secondus Vs PDP: Court Defers Judgement On Convention Until Friday / Inflation To Fall In 2024 — CBN Governor, Cardoso / Boko Haram Says "We Have Closed All Doors For Dialogue With Government"

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 47