Stats: 3,326,973 members, 8,428,860 topics. Date: Thursday, 18 June 2026 at 06:35 AM

Why Are The Igbos And Yorubas Attacking Each Other On Nairaland - Culture - Nairaland

Nairaland ForumNairaland GeneralCultureWhy Are The Igbos And Yorubas Attacking Each Other On Nairaland (267 Views)

1 Reply (Go Down)

Why Are The Igbos And Yorubas Attacking Each Other On Nairaland by sunnydike1(op): 8:51am On Jul 13, 2024
I still don't know why the Igbos and Yorubas are attacking each other on Nairaland.....
Mind you am not Igbo and from Rivers State
Re: Why Are The Igbos And Yorubas Attacking Each Other On Nairaland by budaatum: 9:20am On Jul 13, 2024
Those attacking each other are ignorant and have yet to learn to stand in brotherhood regardless of their tribe, which is why we have been demoted to learn our National Anthem.

Re: Why Are The Igbos And Yorubas Attacking Each Other On Nairaland by MightySparrow:
They are playmates.
I have never read anywhere where igbos and Yorubas fight physically like what we have in Ibadan and Kétu markets between Hausa and Yorubas.

I am proudly Yoruba, with my children bearing Igbo names. By the nature of my work, which involves constant transfers, I live with igbos because they build nice houses.
Because if this all my children have Igbo names giving to them.

I however attack igbos for the fun of it. I like the competition going on between igbos and Yorubas.
We, each flaunt achievements from WAEC, UTME, Industry, prizes etc.

We decry common crimes also. Most drug pushers are from Igbos and skull mining from Yorubas.

Of all tribes in Nigeria, think, igbos and Yorubas intermarry more than others.
I don't really think we hate ourselves.

I almost married a very beautiful Igbo girl.

I think what binds us together is stronger than things pulling us apart.
Àwọn ọmọ Igbo ajukuta mú omi.gringrin
Yamirin. gringrin
Re: Why Are The Igbos And Yorubas Attacking Each Other On Nairaland by RedboneSmith(m): 11:55am On Jul 13, 2024
Because most Nigerians, without realising it, are pawns of political opportunists who stand to gain by pitting people against one another.

The hate doesn't have much substance to it. In many places across the south today, Igbos are marrying Yorubas.

But there are unscrupulous people behind the scenes and even in plain view churning out narratives and fomenting hate, and pinheads who can't think for themselves are buying into it.
Re: Why Are The Igbos And Yorubas Attacking Each Other On Nairaland by RedboneSmith(m): 12:02pm On Jul 13, 2024
MightySparrow:
They are playmates.
I have never read anywhere where igbos and Yorubas fight physically like what we have in Ibadan and Kétu markets between Hausa and Yorubas
Y'all think it's all fun and games, but we are actually going in the direction where Ìgbò and Yoruba will soon be shedding each other's blood on the streets.

I don't know how you people don't see that the Yoruba-Igbo fight has gone beyond banter, especially in the aftermath of the last election. Violence will follow sooner or later, if Y'all don't snap out of it.
Re: Why Are The Igbos And Yorubas Attacking Each Other On Nairaland by MightySparrow: 1:30pm On Jul 13, 2024
RedboneSmith:
Y'all think it's all fun and games, but we are actually going in the direction where Ìgbò and Yoruba will soon be shedding each other's blood on the streets.

I don't know how you people don't see that the Yoruba-Igbo fight has gone beyond banter, especially in the aftermath of the last election. Violence will follow sooner or later, if Y'all don't snap out of it.
You cannot measure a people's behavior by the politicians. Politicians cause problems even among their own tribes, any tribes.

It is everywhere. But that Yorubas hate Igbos or vice versa, I don't really believe. Yoruba and igbos are in Deeper Life Winners,r RCCG', CAC.,...
We meet in churches, market without any problems.

Like I said, Yorubas can abuse anybody even themselves. The same they will say ọmọ ibo, the call Hausa, aboki. Interestingly, they abuse themselves! There are ways to abuse Òyó, Ijebu, ẹgba, Ondo etc

I don't really see any hatred between the two tribes.
1 Reply

Settlement Pattern Of Igbos And Yorubas Shows Their Different Political CultureNigeria Wil Never Progress Until Igbos And Yorubas Unite-ooni Of IfeIgbos And Yorubas Have Historical Ties – Ooni Of Ife234

How Can I Get A Tour Of The Oba Of Benin PalaceOoni Plotting My Downfall After I Helped Him Mount Throne – OluwoEko’s Soul: Why Lagos’ Indigenous Identity Sparks Debate And Deserves Respect