Stats: 3,329,950 members, 8,443,144 topics. Date: Saturday, 11 July 2026 at 09:40 AM

Peter Obi Celebrates Yakubu Gowon On His 90th Birthday - Politics (2) - Nairaland

Nairaland ForumNairaland GeneralPoliticsPeter Obi Celebrates Yakubu Gowon On His 90th Birthday (8140 Views)

1 2 3 Reply (Go Down)

Re: Peter Obi Celebrates Yakubu Gowon On His 90th Birthday by Rossikk(m): 8:47am On Oct 20, 2024
God1000:
Happy birthday to Yakubu Gowon
Oh, he’s a proper statesman and nationalist.

His policy of ‘No Victor, No Vanquished’ after the war was praised across the world at the time.

The entire world was shocked by his magnanimity after the conflict, and it became a reference point for conflict resolution across the world for many years afterwards.
Re: Peter Obi Celebrates Yakubu Gowon On His 90th Birthday by Sirianese: 8:49am On Oct 20, 2024
Cursed Gowon
Re: Peter Obi Celebrates Yakubu Gowon On His 90th Birthday by Neddyogu(m): 9:00am On Oct 20, 2024
nony43:
Happy birthday Gowon, it is a shame a war was fought during your regime.
Because of Biafran war Steve Jobs ( Apple founder) became an Atheist. He said “ How can British and a Christian leader be fighting war on Christians..

It was during Gowon’s regime that he said that Nigeria was too rich and doesn’t know what to do with money hence some civil servants got double pay

It was during his regime that we had the Cement Amanda saga

Thank God for keeping you and you are seeing the one Nigeria you fought for you can’t even celebrate your old age in your village because herdsmen. More years in good health.
No be lie. Thank God Himself and TY Danjuma are witnesses and can see for themselves what their northern brothers are doing to their kinsmen. Happy birthday to him
Re: Peter Obi Celebrates Yakubu Gowon On His 90th Birthday by BreconHills(m): 9:02am On Oct 20, 2024
This is going to be an ignorance revealing thread. 🍿🧋
Re: Peter Obi Celebrates Yakubu Gowon On His 90th Birthday by ehikwe22: 9:03am On Oct 20, 2024
Obi is becoming desperate. I doubt he'll do anything positive if he's able to get the presidency because he'll have so many entanglements by then.

How can you say this about someone that was used by the British and America to wage a war that killed millions of Africans?
Re: Peter Obi Celebrates Yakubu Gowon On His 90th Birthday by anonimi: 9:20am On Oct 20, 2024
Rossikk:
I’m impressed with Obi for doing this.

Gowon is a nationalist to the core.

Very good from Peter Obi.

This is how you become President of Nigeria, by showing that you are a nationalist like Zik, Awo, Obasanjo, Yar’Adua, etc, who believe in One Nigeria.
How he will become president to do worse than the incumbent huh

[quote author=NLCreator post=126854133]Peter Obi, presidential candidate of the Labour Party (LP) in the 2023 elections, has defended the purchase of sports utility vehicles (SUVs) for members of the national assembly.

There have been reports that the leadership of the 10th national assembly has bought SUVs for all lawmakers.

Each SUV is said to be valued at N160 million.

The LP had asked members of the party in the national assembly to kick against “wastage”.

While responding to questions during a press conference in Abuja on Monday, the former governor of Anambra said the SUVs are not personal cars of the lawmakers, noting that they are for official use.

“Let me start with the issue of Labour Party members in the house. I have actually discussed this issue with them,” Obi said.

“Surprisingly, I can tell you I heard that these vehicles are official cars. They have to use it. It is meant for office.

“So it is not as if it is their vehicle. They said it is official cars and you are meant to use it while you are in the senate.”

Obi also hinted at contesting for the country’s number one position in 2027, adding that Nigeria deserves dedicated and visionary leaders who will lead the country towards a brighter future.

https://www.thecable.ng/theyre-for-official-use-obi-defends-purchase-of-n160m-suv-for-lawmakers/amp

]
Re: Peter Obi Celebrates Yakubu Gowon On His 90th Birthday by nony43(m): 9:25am On Oct 20, 2024
Rossikk:
You are a VILE human being and a criminal.

Nigeria will get better and stronger, and YOU are irrelevant in the scheme of things.

Secessionist, tribalistic traitor.
Phul. Counter all said . Bitter pig
Re: Peter Obi Celebrates Yakubu Gowon On His 90th Birthday by gidgiddy: 10:05am On Oct 20, 2024
Honestey:
Thank you Pitobi for congratulating a good general who helped Nigeria smash those secessionists in 1964.
Considering what Nigeria turned out to be today, the secessionists turned out to be right

They knew that Nigeria would be a disaster, and tried to fight their way out while they still could
Re: Peter Obi Celebrates Yakubu Gowon On His 90th Birthday by Menclothing1: 10:08am On Oct 20, 2024
People wey Dey curse tbis people don’t even see 90
Re: Peter Obi Celebrates Yakubu Gowon On His 90th Birthday by chopnaira: 10:09am On Oct 20, 2024
Lots of Ibos are angry on twitter that he congratulated the guy that ensured they starve during the war by his sir blockade 😁
Re: Peter Obi Celebrates Yakubu Gowon On His 90th Birthday by OneCandleAway(f): 10:34am On Oct 20, 2024
slaawomirr:
Damnnn niggar

Obi my niggar...

Light up my morning tie to book some games

For everyday we wake we are faced with more than a hundred ways to become a millionaire of which gambling is among
But gambling is high risk and addictive.
Re: Peter Obi Celebrates Yakubu Gowon On His 90th Birthday by slaawomirr: 10:38am On Oct 20, 2024
OneCandleAway:
But gambling is high risk and addictive.
Damnnn niggar

The life we are living itself is a risk

Our tomorrow is never gambling.

Life itself is gambling
Re: Peter Obi Celebrates Yakubu Gowon On His 90th Birthday by Sleekfingers: 11:02am On Oct 20, 2024
😂🤣🤣🤣🤣
Re: Peter Obi Celebrates Yakubu Gowon On His 90th Birthday by Chikel20000(m): 11:26am On Oct 20, 2024
LandMann:
Peter Obi is not fit to lead Nigeria.

He's just a typical Nigerian politician who would lick any ass to attain power.

Yakubu Gowon is a coup plotter and part of those who destroyed the foundation and planted the seeds of disunity in Nigeria, yet here's Peter Obi licking his ass cos that's what his "bible" says.

What happened to calling a spade a spade or shutting d f up and allowing time blow away this ugly memory from our national space

Peter Obi is a coward
even Tinubu supported coup n yet u voted him ...hypocrite
Re: Peter Obi Celebrates Yakubu Gowon On His 90th Birthday by Chikel20000(m): 11:28am On Oct 20, 2024
muykem:
The destroyer of Biafra tactical formation and slayers of their soldiers deserve celebration from Pete Obi.
Obi try abi?....oya congratulate Obi n say nice things about him
Re: Peter Obi Celebrates Yakubu Gowon On His 90th Birthday by dododawa1: 11:31am On Oct 20, 2024
The same GOWON that kills millions

IGBOS
Re: Peter Obi Celebrates Yakubu Gowon On His 90th Birthday by kay29000(m): 12:04pm On Oct 20, 2024
Panderer Obi.
Re: Peter Obi Celebrates Yakubu Gowon On His 90th Birthday by tishbite42: 12:33pm On Oct 20, 2024
Ebubu:

Celebrating someone who used his people to do fried meat and starved them to death, someone who oversaw Asaba massacre too grin

Someone who antagonised Ojukwu, someone who divided Eastern region into and carved away Ikwerre and Rivers state.

Next he go celebrate murtala muhammed and Asaba massacre
Thank God
Aphonjas are admitting it
Re: Peter Obi Celebrates Yakubu Gowon On His 90th Birthday by yommen: 12:40pm On Oct 20, 2024
tundegan:
Obi wan hypocrite. How you go celebrate Gowon wey lead Nigeria during Biafra war?

You no go celebrate Awo wey plan am?
You no talk about Azikiwe who made secession a treasonable offence in the Nigerian constitution!
Re: Peter Obi Celebrates Yakubu Gowon On His 90th Birthday by Munzy14(m): 12:42pm On Oct 20, 2024
At 90 he must of had his on share of blessings..

Nobody is perfect..Its painful Nigeria went into a genocidal war in his regime..The scars cannever get erased.
Re: Peter Obi Celebrates Yakubu Gowon On His 90th Birthday by Whywhycy: 1:23pm On Oct 20, 2024
Happy belated birthday to you, sir.
We wish you a memorable years with sound health in the years ahead.
Re: Peter Obi Celebrates Yakubu Gowon On His 90th Birthday by Ikaeniyan0: 1:38pm On Oct 20, 2024
BabaHenry:
And if he didn't become the president, your stupid Father will become rich overnight....
That man you thinks you are trolling doesn't even knows you exist and either you like it or not, everything great you are dreaming of becoming is what the security in his house is right now...
Foolish little boy, either as a president or not, he is still going to be more influential, wealthy and we'll respected than all the great men ( if there's any) in your worthless Lineage!!!

Tribalistic he-goat
APC e-rat
Tinubu poo eater

Peter obi will never become the president of Nigeria grin
Re: Peter Obi Celebrates Yakubu Gowon On His 90th Birthday by Scamburster(m): 1:42pm On Oct 20, 2024
Ikaeniyan0:
Seun Mynd44 nlfpmod fergie001

BabaHenry has broken rule 2
Dude didn't break any rules instead he rightfully put you in your place.
Re: Peter Obi Celebrates Yakubu Gowon On His 90th Birthday by rummmy: 1:43pm On Oct 20, 2024
The man that killed my people....
The only man that have led us to war..
I have no happy birthday to waste
Re: Peter Obi Celebrates Yakubu Gowon On His 90th Birthday by tishbite42: 1:55pm On Oct 20, 2024
PO goofed on this one
Silence is golden
No be every trend person dey jump on
Re: Peter Obi Celebrates Yakubu Gowon On His 90th Birthday by Ikaeniyan0: 2:52pm On Oct 20, 2024
Scamburster:
Dude didn't break any rules instead he rightfully put you in your place.
k
Re: Peter Obi Celebrates Yakubu Gowon On His 90th Birthday by Inosky: 4:09pm On Oct 20, 2024
I supported this man in 2023. Now, I know he doesn't have sense for throwing his people under the bus and spitting on the graves of his people this man brutally murdered. He should just say bye-bye to president because many Igbos has lost their respects for him. The worst thing you can do is to through your people to the bus because of ass-licking.
1 2 3 Reply

PAN, Obi, Atiku, Others Pay Tribute To Gowon On His 90th BirthdayPeter Obi Celebrates With the United States of America - PicsPeter Obi Celebrates His Wife, Margaret, On Her Birthday234

Telecoms Tariff Hike: FG Deploys Security Agents As NLC Insists On ProtestNo Plans To Increase Fuel Price - NNPC Says8 Out Of 10 Nigerians Wants The National Assembly To Reconvene