Stats: 3,330,721 members, 8,446,808 topics. Date: Friday, 17 July 2026 at 09:07 AM

Surviving In Nigeria- Share Your Strategy Here - Politics (3) - Nairaland

Nairaland ForumNairaland GeneralPoliticsSurviving In Nigeria- Share Your Strategy Here (21479 Views)

1 2 3 4 Reply (Go Down)

Re: Surviving In Nigeria- Share Your Strategy Here by meobizy(m): 2:19pm On Nov 27, 2024
Live with your parents so everyone can pool money towards resources. I for don die since if to say I dey single housing. God forbid I live hand to mouth in a bid to keep up appearances.
Re: Surviving In Nigeria- Share Your Strategy Here by nams77: 2:27pm On Nov 27, 2024
DrDoc:
Hit me up on WhatsApp. Check the siggy. SW is my domain
Oh Im in South south
Re: Surviving In Nigeria- Share Your Strategy Here by IcekoolNG: 2:31pm On Nov 27, 2024
DrDoc:
I buy foods in bulk. I noticed that at bull pricing, commodities sold on retail basis at 4,000 Naira per weight, sells at 2,200 on wholesale.

I use Solar and hardly have need for feul for devices.

I have my own motorcycle so rural.movements is cheaper and easier. Buying a Solar motorcycle is next on my agenda

I grow my own foods. I fact as i write, I am.planning on starting my dry season farming December/January

Throughout 2025, I am growing :

Maize for various foods and income

Cassava for flour and other foods

Soya Beans for my oils

Beans for food

Yams and Potatoes

Pepper for dried pepper production

Tomatoes with option to explore making my own preservable tomatoes

The plan is to have long term zero/minimal food expenditure and to exponentially increase my income at the same time. Also noteworthy to say, I am close to varieties of wholesale food markets, as a result i buy my foods super discounted.

I am fully determined to not spend money at all while multiplying whatever earnings I get

God designed agroculture to multiply whatever hardwork, finances put into it. If you can not go to the rurals, partner with people to farm from you, my fellow country men and women. You have all left agriculture for office jobs. How won't there be hunger ?

Ask me questions about anything related to agriculture and I'll be glad to be of help.

Boss good day..I intend on doing this dry season agriculture but am a novice on this area..I would appreciate key guidelines and precautions from u thanks....I sent u an email though
Re: Surviving In Nigeria- Share Your Strategy Here by ufotunang: 2:32pm On Nov 27, 2024
cremedelacreme:
See wetin Tinubu has reduced Nigeria to. People are now doing 'barb me this week, I barb you next week' just to save cost grin
.. nawaoooo...see what Tinubu renewed shege economy has caused 🙄
Re: Surviving In Nigeria- Share Your Strategy Here by Love800(m): 2:36pm On Nov 27, 2024
How can i plant healthy robust yams?
DrDoc:
I buy foods in bulk. I noticed that at bull pricing, commodities sold on retail basis at 4,000 Naira per weight, sells at 2,200 on wholesale.

I have my own motorcycle so rural.movements is cheaper and easier. Buying a Solar motorcycle is next on my agenda

I grow my own foods. I fact as i write, I am.planning on starting my dry season farming December/January

Soya Beans for my oils

Beans for food

Yams and Potatoes

The plan is to have long term zero/minimal food expenditure and to exponentially increase my income at the same time. Also noteworthy to say, I am close to varieties of wholesale food markets, as a result i buy my foods super discounted.

I am fully determined to not spend money at all while multiplying whatever earnings I get

God designed agroculture to multiply whatever hardwork, finances put into it. If you can not go to the rurals, partner with people to farm from you, my fellow country men and women. You have all left agriculture for office jobs. How won't there be hunger ?

Ask me questions about anything related to agriculture and I'll be glad to be of help.
Re: Surviving In Nigeria- Share Your Strategy Here by Love800(m): 2:42pm On Nov 27, 2024
Pls, what do i take to prevent me from having malaria(fever)?
I always fall ill(sick) twice every year!
A305:
Hack to live as a Nigerian in Nigeria.

We all know Nigeria inflation is rapidly turning to hyper inflation but as the economy woes bites harder, every one feels the impact; like the popular cliche, "when it rains, we all get wet." However, not everyone is totally subjected to the negative effects of the persistent inflation — it is not because they have millions in the bank or steady cash flow, but thier strategy is to live prudently on a budget and untilize scare resource efficiently.

Below are how to live prudently during Inflation:

1 - Live on a budget.

2 - Be a minimalist after making your budget. For instance: sometimes purposely go to bed hungry eventhough you can afford dinner but feed the kid(s) if your have any.

3 - Buy foodstuffs in bulk; failure to do this. You will always pay "Poverty Tax". That little increment you notice when buying food stuff as you go is regarded as poverty tax.

4 - Reduce the use of electricity by putting on heavily home appliances at night only. Kill the bulb during the day. It would be wise to get solar, the size/capacity you can afford.

5 - Avoid black tax — Those money that family and friends call you for and you never get back are regarded as black tax.

6 - Never appear to live better than you neighbors. If you do, hide everything you bring to the house till it's inside your house before you unbox.

7 - When people around you complain about finances, join them to complain too and inflate your problems to make it seem theirs is still better.

8 - If you own a car, you don't need to take it every where. Sometimes it cheaper to pay for transportation than spend excessively to buy fuel to cover the same distance.

9 - Reduce the risk of falling ill by always taking things that fight off infections before your immune system gets overwhelmed and full blown sickness appears. For instance — eating garlic weekly helps or blending tumeric, Ginger and cloves helps. Doing this will save you money. I haven't had malaria/fever in years

10 - Never leave your money in the bank, especially in the period of inflation. No matter how small it is. Invest in whatever gives you compound interest NOT simple interest.

11 - Switch your Dstv decoder to Android box or Fire stick. Monitor your data consumption when using Android box. If you can afford data, another option is to go for free to air dish/decoder. No need for data when you get free to air decoder/dish.

12 - No matter how old you are, try learn any online skill that will enable you earn in foreign currency as a side hustle.

13 - You are danger if your folks/friends senses you to have money. Always deny.
Re: Surviving In Nigeria- Share Your Strategy Here by Love800(m): 2:44pm On Nov 27, 2024
What is the message you just pass now in this your post? I nor even understand your write-up!
Obito555:
Most of our stew is vegetables my wife cook now with kpomo and roasted fish which is cheaper than the soup cooked b4, I work from home and if going out won't bring any money I stay and do my stuff. To fuel the car no be beans now, danfo and brt is a goal
Re: Surviving In Nigeria- Share Your Strategy Here by Love800(m): 2:47pm On Nov 27, 2024
List the process of preparing it pls?

But cucumber expensive na!
criuze:
My mother made a cucumber stew and it changed everything

So cheap, easy and delicious
Re: Surviving In Nigeria- Share Your Strategy Here by Love800(m): 2:49pm On Nov 27, 2024
How can one do this?
Am interested in it.
doncartel:
Night scavenging. You need a big sack and a stick. Also known as baban bowler, you move from rubbish dump to rubbish dump picking items which can be sold to recycling agents.

It’s better than going into armed robbery.
Re: Surviving In Nigeria- Share Your Strategy Here by Love800(m): 2:51pm On Nov 27, 2024
1300 for big family bread!
Are you playing? Am not mocking you. Just surprised!
SmartPolician:
If you are in Lagos, go for Bokku bread.

Bakers of Shoprite bread are supposed to be taking lectures from them.

Bokku is better and cheaper = 1300 only.
Re: Surviving In Nigeria- Share Your Strategy Here by Morris511: 3:09pm On Nov 27, 2024
PexinPikin:
Please guys my uncle's son who happens to b my senior z hepatitis b positive, he has been on medication for over a year now but nothing seem to be changing. He always complain of hotness of d body, irregular heart beat, joint pains, weakness n so on. Please family z dia any one dat know or av remedy for diz sickness. Please help us out. It breaks my heart seeing him go through all these. He's too nice n young for this.
Firstly he needs to visit the hospital for a proper medical check up, then they can determine the type of medication to prescribe. Secondly, he needs to stop eat oil(either palm oil or groundnut, or olive oil), he should eat more of fiber fruits on a daily basis orange, pineapple, or garden eggs are out of it. No meat or fish, he should eat more of vegetables. This is the little I can advice for now but that medication is very important and essential.
Re: Surviving In Nigeria- Share Your Strategy Here by Drsnives(m): 3:11pm On Nov 27, 2024
DrDoc:

Soya Beans for my oils

Beans for food

Yams and Potatoes

Am planning in going into small agriculture on my 50 by 100ft plot.. which crop will you advice me. I love in Delta state
Re: Surviving In Nigeria- Share Your Strategy Here by phemray(m): 3:11pm On Nov 27, 2024
cremedelacreme:
See wetin Tinubu has reduced Nigeria to. People are now doing 'barb me this week, I barb you next week' just to save cost grin
It's funny but, We need to face reality at times, am glad to adjust a lot of things in my doings. I seriously regulates power consumption in my house now and To attend any occasion now, I prefer sending my transport to and fro to the celebrants that deserves it especially outside Lagos. One thing I realised is that those celebrants did not die or get angry but rather appreciate unlike before the I will go with friends to catch fun on a journey not considering risks and expenses.
Re: Surviving In Nigeria- Share Your Strategy Here by criuze(m): 3:22pm On Nov 27, 2024
Love800:
List the process of preparing it pls?

But cucumber expensive na!
Cucumber is cheap compared to tommatoe

By like 2 or 4 pieces depends on size of cooked rice

5 pieces of cucumber is sold for 1k in onitsha
Shombo like N500

Like 4 pieces for 10 - 12cups of I rice

Step 1 grind it

2. put it inside sievers, the green water will go out( you don't need the water )

3. Grind shombo, the long pepper separately , this will get the colour to red

4. Add the sieved grinded cucumber and grinded shombo in the pot

Cook for a while then add water

Add groundnut/ vagetable oil followed by other ingredients you use to cook stew

you don't need frying because it doesn't have sour taste like tommatoes

Add water as it thicken and increase

Cook as normal, just the way you cook your normal stew

Of course you'll know when your stew is done
Re: Surviving In Nigeria- Share Your Strategy Here by Shevchenkko: 3:42pm On Nov 27, 2024
richmond500:
them don on hotspot for u again?
Lol...You all Tinubu urchins think everyone is living in a mesh like yourselves. I'm a Business owner that controls some millions of naira..Thank you
Re: Surviving In Nigeria- Share Your Strategy Here by richmond500: 3:46pm On Nov 27, 2024
Shevchenkko:
Lol...You all Tinubu urchins think everyone is living in a mesh like yourselves. I'm a Business owner that controls some millions of naira..Thank you
Because of that Okpa and coke joint weh u open recently nai make u deh brag?
Re: Surviving In Nigeria- Share Your Strategy Here by trumpcoat(m): 3:51pm On Nov 27, 2024
[quote author=PexinPikin post=133058461]Please guys my uncle's son who happens to b my senior z hepatitis b positive, he has been on medication for over a year now but nothing seem to be changing. He always complain of hotness of d body, irregular heart beat, joint pains, weakness n so on. Please family z dia any one dat know or av remedy for diz sickness. Please help us out. It breaks my heart seeing him go through all these. He's too nice n young for this.[/quote

Send a DM on my number for a lasting solution please
Re: Surviving In Nigeria- Share Your Strategy Here by DrDoc: 4:03pm On Nov 27, 2024
Drsnives:
Am planning in going into small agriculture on my 50 by 100ft plot.. which crop will you advice me. I love in Delta state
Ugwu, Sweet Potatoes or Maize
Re: Surviving In Nigeria- Share Your Strategy Here by Super33999: 4:12pm On Nov 27, 2024
richmond500:
I do the withdrawal method.
Thanks to this ability, I don't know the price of Nano milk and pampers
stop wasting your seeds
Re: Surviving In Nigeria- Share Your Strategy Here by Yujin(m): 4:16pm On Nov 27, 2024
The almajirization of Nigeria is now complete. See how men are discussing how to be fasting just to survive. This is just the beginning. I won't reveal the next stage that will befall the evil contraption now. I'll only do so by January when naira will have depreciated to N2000 to $1.
You guys will suffer terribly for the wickedness on the shithole.
Re: Surviving In Nigeria- Share Your Strategy Here by Extra30(m): 4:19pm On Nov 27, 2024
cremedelacreme:
It's not easy bro. I've tried every loan app to grant me loan so I can survive, but no way. I am tired
Re: Surviving In Nigeria- Share Your Strategy Here by NamelessOGBENI(m): 4:21pm On Nov 27, 2024
A305:
You are danger if your folks/friends senses you to have money. Always deny.
Re: Surviving In Nigeria- Share Your Strategy Here by Shevchenkko: 4:39pm On Nov 27, 2024
richmond500:
Because of that Okpa and coke joint weh u open recently nai make u deh brag?
Lol...Who pass you pass you boy. I'm not your mate in all ramifications of life. Leave this zombiee work and strive assiduously to break up the chain of poverty in your life, just an advice to you. Have a great life
Re: Surviving In Nigeria- Share Your Strategy Here by richmond500: 4:55pm On Nov 27, 2024
Shevchenkko:
Lol...Who pass you pass you boy. I'm not your mate in all ramifications of life. Leave this zombiee work and strive assiduously to break up the chain of poverty in your life, just an advice to you. Have a great life
u wan bet am even with all ur Okpa business.
I have money than u do
Re: Surviving In Nigeria- Share Your Strategy Here by Love800(m): 5:01pm On Nov 27, 2024
Thanks so much.
Can i add crayfish?

Shombo is fresh pepper?
criuze:
Cucumber is cheap compared to tommatoe

By like 2 or 4 pieces depends on size of cooked rice

5 pieces of cucumber is sold for 1k in onitsha
Shombo like N500

Like 4 pieces for 10 - 12cups of I rice

Step 1 grind it

2. put it inside sievers, the green water will go out( you don't need the water )

3. Grind shombo, the long pepper separately , this will get the colour to red

4. Add the sieved grinded cucumber and grinded shombo in the pot

Cook for a while then add water

Add groundnut/ vagetable oil followed by other ingredients you use to cook stew

you don't need frying because it doesn't have sour taste like tommatoes

Add water as it thicken and increase

Cook as normal, just the way you cook your normal stew

Of course you'll know when your stew is done
Re: Surviving In Nigeria- Share Your Strategy Here by YoungBTCxchange: 5:10pm On Nov 27, 2024
A305:
Hack to live as a Nigerian in Nigeria.

We all know Nigeria inflation is rapidly turning to hyper inflation but as the economy woes bites harder, every one feels the impact; like the popular cliche, "when it rains, we all get wet." However, not everyone is totally subjected to the negative effects of the persistent inflation — it is not because they have millions in the bank or steady cash flow, but thier strategy is to live prudently on a budget and untilize scare resource efficiently.

Below are how to live prudently during Inflation:

1 - Live on a budget.

2 - Be a minimalist after making your budget. For instance: sometimes purposely go to bed hungry eventhough you can afford dinner but feed the kid(s) if your have any.

3 - Buy foodstuffs in bulk; failure to do this. You will always pay "Poverty Tax". That little increment you notice when buying food stuff as you go is regarded as poverty tax.

4 - Reduce the use of electricity by putting on heavily home appliances at night only. Kill the bulb during the day. It would be wise to get solar, the size/capacity you can afford.

5 - Avoid black tax — Those money that family and friends call you for and you never get back are regarded as black tax.

6 - Never appear to live better than you neighbors. If you do, hide everything you bring to the house till it's inside your house before you unbox.

7 - When people around you complain about finances, join them to complain too and inflate your problems to make it seem theirs is still better.

8 - If you own a car, you don't need to take it every where. Sometimes it cheaper to pay for transportation than spend excessively to buy fuel to cover the same distance.

9 - Reduce the risk of falling ill by always taking things that fight off infections before your immune system gets overwhelmed and full blown sickness appears. For instance — eating garlic weekly helps or blending tumeric, Ginger and cloves helps. Doing this will save you money. I haven't had malaria/fever in years

10 - Never leave your money in the bank, especially in the period of inflation. No matter how small it is. Invest in whatever gives you compound interest NOT simple interest.

11 - Switch your Dstv decoder to Android box or Fire stick. Monitor your data consumption when using Android box. If you can afford data, another option is to go for free to air dish/decoder. No need for data when you get free to air decoder/dish.

12 - No matter how old you are, try learn any online skill that will enable you earn in foreign currency as a side hustle.

13 - You are danger if your folks/friends senses you to have money. Always deny.
you professional bruv
Re: Surviving In Nigeria- Share Your Strategy Here by criuze(m): 5:29pm On Nov 27, 2024
Love800:
Thanks so much.
Can i add crayfish?

Shombo is fresh pepper?
Yes shombo the long fresh pepper, it will give it red colour and to spice

You can put crayfish , curry, ginger, nutmeg, every other thing you use in cooking your stew

It's easy and delicious

Remember you don't have to fry, once you add your ingredients the taste will show up immediately
Re: Surviving In Nigeria- Share Your Strategy Here by RealEmilokan: 5:39pm On Nov 27, 2024
PexinPikin:
Please guys my uncle's son who happens to b my senior z hepatitis b positive, he has been on medication for over a year now but nothing seem to be changing. He always complain of hotness of d body, irregular heart beat, joint pains, weakness n so on. Please family z dia any one dat know or av remedy for diz sickness. Please help us out. It breaks my heart seeing him go through all these. He's too nice n young for this.
Hepatitis is big deal in English medicine.
Go native, be consistent and he'll be clean in 3-6months.
Re: Surviving In Nigeria- Share Your Strategy Here by femi4: 6:21pm On Nov 27, 2024
ibechris:
My only strategy now is to increase my income...and nothing more.
That’s the only working formula right now
Re: Surviving In Nigeria- Share Your Strategy Here by Love800(m): 6:55pm On Nov 27, 2024
Thanks so much.
Appreciate.
criuze:
Yes shombo the long fresh pepper, it will give it red colour and to spice

You can put crayfish , curry, ginger, nutmeg, every other thing you use in cooking your stew

It's easy and delicious

Remember you don't have to fry, once you add your ingredients the taste will show up immediately
Re: Surviving In Nigeria- Share Your Strategy Here by Lordspicy(m): 7:22pm On Nov 27, 2024
Eh eh.
People are now doing "barb me this week,lemme barb you next week "😂😂😂😂
TPain you do this one o
Re: Surviving In Nigeria- Share Your Strategy Here by Abee79(m): 8:36pm On Nov 27, 2024
In addition to all the points mentioned above, try dey avoid all species of ashawøs 😁
1 2 3 4 Reply

How Are You Surviving In NigeriaBuhari Congratulates Guinea Bissau President, Embalo For Surviving CoupOsinbajo Remembers Surviving Helicopter Crash In 2019234

Persecution Of Christians On The Rise, Says OsinbajoFalana To DSS: Release Sowore, Bakare And Stop Exposing Nigeria To RidiculeFEC Approves N654m To Monitor Illegal Radio Frequencies In South-East