Struggling Between My Passion And My Degree: Need Advice - Career - Nairaland
Nairaland Forum › Nairaland General › Career › Struggling Between My Passion And My Degree: Need Advice (218 Views)
| Struggling Between My Passion And My Degree: Need Advice by Engr123(op): 10:11pm On Jan 24, 2025 |
I hope this message finds you all well. I’m seeking advice regarding a career decision that has been weighing on my mind. I graduated with a degree in mechanical engineering late last year. However, since my second year in university, I’ve developed a strong passion for web design and app design (product design). Over time, I’ve grown to love product design much more than mechanical engineering, and I’ve been actively building my skills and portfolio in this field. The challenge I’m facing is that my family and friends keep encouraging me to pursue a career in mechanical engineering and even send me job internships despite me explaining my lack of interest. While I appreciate their concern, it has caused me to doubt my decision. I’m now stuck between pursuing my passion for product design or considering a career in mechanical engineering. I’m curious, has anyone here faced a similar situation—where you chose not to use your degree to make a living? What was it like for you, and how did you navigate the doubts and challenges? and I’d love to hear from anyone who has faced a similar situation or has advice on how to approach this. How do you balance family expectations with personal interests? How do you know you’re on the right path? p.s. don't mind my *username* I created the acct wey back😂 |
| Re: Struggling Between My Passion And My Degree: Need Advice by shortgun(m): 10:21pm On Jan 24, 2025 |
Is anyone stopping you from doing both? You can pursue a career in mechanical engineering while keeping web design as a side hustle. Over time, you’ll naturally gravitate toward the one that's more financially rewarding. |
| Re: Struggling Between My Passion And My Degree: Need Advice by Engr123(op): 10:25pm On Jan 24, 2025 |
shortgun:To be honest I don't feel like pursuing anything mechanical for now buh because school go soon post us for nysc pressure don dey much |
| Re: Struggling Between My Passion And My Degree: Need Advice by Free2Fly: 7:18am On Jan 28, 2025 |
Engr123:The big question is whether it's even possible to pursue a successful career in Mech Engineering in Nigeria. I don't know of any Mech Engr in the country that's practising his career, and those include my younger brother and a cousin. Despite over 10yrs of graduation, they're still struggling to get jobs in the field till today. The profession is almost useless in a 3rd world country like Nigeria, and I wouldn't recommend it to anyone I know. So, if you have an alternative, it may be more beneficial to start pursuing it at this early stage. |
Choosing Between My Career As A Boxer Or Graduating For My Degree • Should I Join Police Or Continue With My Degree • Should I Join The Army Or Continue My Degree • 2 • 3 • 4
What To Look For When Buy Airbnb Accounts • Why Are Gen Z Lying On Job Applications • A One-time Opportunity: Israel Tax Authority Voluntary Disclosure Procedure 2025