Stats: 3,327,065 members, 8,429,214 topics. Date: Thursday, 18 June 2026 at 03:15 PM

Morotoluwa Ojomo Leads Philadelphia Eagles To Super Bowl Triumph - Sports - Nairaland

Nairaland ForumEntertainmentSportsMorotoluwa Ojomo Leads Philadelphia Eagles To Super Bowl Triumph (12265 Views)

1 2 Reply (Go Down)

Morotoluwa Ojomo Leads Philadelphia Eagles To Super Bowl Triumph by NewDigitalWorld(op): 6:00am On Feb 11, 2025
From the bustling streets of Lagos to the grand stage of the Super Bowl, Moro Ojomo has written his name in history after leading Philadelphia Eagles to a Super Bowl triumph.

On February 9, 2025, before a roaring crowd, Ojomo and his Philadelphia Eagles soared to victory, defeating the Kansas City Chiefs 40-22 in Super Bowl LIX.

Though a hard-fought win, it secured the Eagles’ fifth NFL title but also served as sweet revenge for their Super Bowl LVII defeat at the hands of the same opponent.

Moro Ojomo’s journey to stardom

Ojomo’s story is one of astounding transition. Born in Lagos, Nigeria, he crossed the Atlantic at the age of seven, as his family relocated to California in 2009. His father served as a pastor, while his mother worked in the information technology sector. During his seventh-grade year, the family moved again, settling in Houston, Texas.

Attending Katy High School, Moro Ojomo was two years younger than most of his classmates, having begun his education at the age of three in his home country. He did not participate in varsity football during his freshman or sophomore years and admitted that, at the time, he had yet to develop a proper workout routine. However, after his sophomore year, he became dedicated to weight training and running, eventually securing a spot on the varsity team as a junior. His efforts paid off, as he earned All-District honors as a defensive lineman by the end of the season.

After starting the fall as a third-stringer, he gained confidence with more time on the field. He worked his way into a starting role and ended the season earning all-district honors. Then, in his senior year, he became one of the most dominant defensive linemen in the state.

“Nothing comes in life without hard work. I know that,” Ojomo said then as quoted by JokersMag.

“That’s why my story is a lot different than a lot of these kids who’ve been good all their years in high school. They’ve been ‘The Guy’ ever since junior high. I know what it’s like to compete for a starting spot. A lot of these kids don’t know that.”

During his five-year tenure with the Longhorns—a journey that spanned the challenges of the COVID-19 pandemic—Moro Ojomo amassed 95 tackles, 13.5 tackles for loss, and five sacks.

In January 2023, when he declared for the NFL Draft, he expressed his enthusiasm for the road ahead.

“I am incredibly excited about what the future holds,” he wrote.

However, as draft day unfolded, his initial optimism gave way to anxiety. By the time the seventh round was halfway through, his name had yet to be called.

“I thought it was over.”

Then, with only 11 picks remaining, his phone finally rang.

On the other end was Philadelphia Eagles GM Howie Roseman—someone well acquainted with the trials of overcoming adversity.

“We’re gonna take you here, man,” Roseman told him.

“We can’t believe you’re here in the seventh round. We know you’re gonna show the world what kind of player you are… and we’re excited to get you.”

In the background of the recorded call, his sister’s joyful shrieks echoed the moment’s significance.

Katy High School head coach Gary Joseph later reflected on the resilience that defined Moro’s journey.

“The kids who you’re really proud of are ones who are self-made football players,” Joseph said.

“They work with what they have, and he’s one of those kids. He worked. It wasn’t a fluke.”

As a rookie, Moro Ojomo played just 6% of the Eagles’ defensive snaps. But in 2024, he earned a more prominent role on the field.

And when the stakes were highest, he delivered—recording his first NFL sack in the fourth quarter of a playoff game against the Los Angeles Rams.

His belief in himself had never wavered, not even years earlier.

“People used to laugh at me in sophomore year when I told ’em I was gonna start,” he had said back in 2018. “They’re gonna realize it when I do what I plan to do… They’re gonna be like, ‘Wow, we really missed on this one.’”

Playing in every regular season game and all four playoff contests, he racked up 20 tackles and etched his name into Eagles’ history with his first career sack during the NFC Divisional clash against the Los Angeles Rams.

Remarkable Super Bowl Performance

In the Super Bowl itself, Ojomo was a force to be reckoned with. His two tackles and a crucial tackle for loss contributed to the Eagles’ defensive dominance, a performance that stifled the usually explosive Patrick Mahomes and kept the Chiefs scoreless for a remarkable stretch of nearly three quarters. He played an important role in the Eagles’ defensive strategy, helping to contain one of the most potent offenses in the league.

Ojomo joins the Hall of Fame

Ojomo’s victory is more than just a personal triumph; it’s a testament to the growing influence of Nigerian athletes in the NFL. He joins a distinguished group of players like C.J. Uzomah, Chukwuebuka Godrick, Chris Oladokun, and Charles Omenihu, all of Nigerian heritage, who are making their mark on the gridiron.

Ojomo’s Super Bowl ring goes beyond being a symbol of his individual achievement, but a beacon of inspiration for aspiring athletes across the globe.
Source: https://www.vanguardngr.com/2025/02/meet-nigerian-born-moro-ojomo-who-led-philadelphia-eagles-to-super-bowl-triumph/

Re: Morotoluwa Ojomo Leads Philadelphia Eagles To Super Bowl Triumph by cenaman(m): 6:14am On Feb 11, 2025
Up naija
Re: Morotoluwa Ojomo Leads Philadelphia Eagles To Super Bowl Triumph by Adenike16(f): 6:46am On Feb 11, 2025
Naija to the world! Wish him greater success.
Re: Morotoluwa Ojomo Leads Philadelphia Eagles To Super Bowl Triumph by shox: 6:49am On Feb 11, 2025
Only for America dem dey play this game .

Boring and dangerous
Re: Morotoluwa Ojomo Leads Philadelphia Eagles To Super Bowl Triumph by teniboss(m): 6:49am On Feb 11, 2025
Bravoo
Re: Morotoluwa Ojomo Leads Philadelphia Eagles To Super Bowl Triumph by InfernoNig: 6:50am On Feb 11, 2025
Hmm. Nice one
Re: Morotoluwa Ojomo Leads Philadelphia Eagles To Super Bowl Triumph by OJEROBIN: 6:52am On Feb 11, 2025
Omo luabi, representing with his full chest
Re: Morotoluwa Ojomo Leads Philadelphia Eagles To Super Bowl Triumph by shivisee: 6:53am On Feb 11, 2025
It’s now official, YORUBA IS THE LIGHT OF NIGERIA”
Re: Morotoluwa Ojomo Leads Philadelphia Eagles To Super Bowl Triumph by Akfrenzy(m): 6:53am On Feb 11, 2025
OMO IBO
Re: Morotoluwa Ojomo Leads Philadelphia Eagles To Super Bowl Triumph by Greenlandz: 6:55am On Feb 11, 2025
Yoruba to the world

Yoruba Amaka 🌟🌟🌟
Re: Morotoluwa Ojomo Leads Philadelphia Eagles To Super Bowl Triumph by cr7lomo: 6:55am On Feb 11, 2025
shivisee:
Look at inferiority complex tribe that always called igbos chest beaters ... so the thing been de hungry una since , instead of to shut up , u Yoruba people started insulting igbos whenever they celebrated one of our own , u called us chest beaters ... person follow play game , u talk say e lead them to victory .... the white man made him , and not any nonsense yoruba demons

Any, small thing , una go de claim...thought u guys have learnt from kemis rejection....the other tim , una claim that basketball superstar that's Greek cos he has a yoruba last name , only for that one sef to reject una , he released a documentary about himself and called it ugo as per e mama na igbo ... he identified as igbo and the thing come pain una die grin grin grin.... bloody hypocrites
Re: Morotoluwa Ojomo Leads Philadelphia Eagles To Super Bowl Triumph by JASONjnr(m): 7:00am On Feb 11, 2025
Congratulations egbon Moro..... You made us proud last night!!😎😎
Re: Morotoluwa Ojomo Leads Philadelphia Eagles To Super Bowl Triumph by Kailalomo(m): 7:06am On Feb 11, 2025
Yet some idiots will be pouring their useless hate to the USA. Can you try this in china or Russian or Korea or Iran ? Say U play for their national sport come dey fly another country flag? Na that hate go kill all of Una. Gbogbo yin Enkr.
Re: Morotoluwa Ojomo Leads Philadelphia Eagles To Super Bowl Triumph by NOETHNICITY(m): 7:09am On Feb 11, 2025
A proud Nigerian
I love Nigeria my country

Anyone angry that I love my country is free to go and hug a transformer
Re: Morotoluwa Ojomo Leads Philadelphia Eagles To Super Bowl Triumph by AbuTwins:
Good!

Omoluabi!

Ọmọre bi iyàn!

Lasgidi! Ìlú Èkó!

Èkó o gba gbẹrẹ!

Centre of excellence!
Re: Morotoluwa Ojomo Leads Philadelphia Eagles To Super Bowl Triumph by agyo(m): 7:17am On Feb 11, 2025
Noooo they said Nigeria is a Zooo.

Akfrenzy:
OMO IBO
Re: Morotoluwa Ojomo Leads Philadelphia Eagles To Super Bowl Triumph by Treasure17(m): 7:18am On Feb 11, 2025
Congratulations
Re: Morotoluwa Ojomo Leads Philadelphia Eagles To Super Bowl Triumph by Olatara(f): 7:18am On Feb 11, 2025
Akfrenzy:
OMO IBO
You wan cause wahala between 2 tribes abii, you like wahala grin
Re: Morotoluwa Ojomo Leads Philadelphia Eagles To Super Bowl Triumph by yuzjet(m): 7:22am On Feb 11, 2025
Bravo!
Re: Morotoluwa Ojomo Leads Philadelphia Eagles To Super Bowl Triumph by Starzo: 7:23am On Feb 11, 2025
We dey rep everywhere

Nobody should bring any tribalistic nonsense here
Re: Morotoluwa Ojomo Leads Philadelphia Eagles To Super Bowl Triumph by YesDaddyTill203: 7:23am On Feb 11, 2025
Fly Eagles fly.
Congratulations to the Philly Eagles.
I sure wish Randy Cunningham and Donovan McNabb had this kind of success too when they played for the Eagles. I used to rout for those guys real bad because their were so few black QBs back then.
Re: Morotoluwa Ojomo Leads Philadelphia Eagles To Super Bowl Triumph by YesDaddyTill203: 7:26am On Feb 11, 2025
Kailalomo:
Yet some idiots will be pouring their useless hate to the USA. Can you try this in china or Russian or Korea or Iran ? Say U play for their national sport come dey fly another country flag? Na that hate go kill all of Una. Gbogbo yin Enkr.
Well, the Felon Trump that some Nigerians are supporting will not like this either.
I can bet you that his pissed that this guy and others displayed other flags.
The village idiot is probably thinking of condemning such act by now.
Trump is trying to turn the US into a dictatorship just like those countries.
Re: Morotoluwa Ojomo Leads Philadelphia Eagles To Super Bowl Triumph by tommy589(m): 7:27am On Feb 11, 2025
Nice
Late starters do come with surprises
Re: Morotoluwa Ojomo Leads Philadelphia Eagles To Super Bowl Triumph by joeyswift(m): 7:33am On Feb 11, 2025
Name checkers left the group discussion
Re: Morotoluwa Ojomo Leads Philadelphia Eagles To Super Bowl Triumph by ATTAH012(m): 7:35am On Feb 11, 2025
Congratulations man for ur achievement.
Bt,, i over heard frm the street of lagos to...
Oga dis person no dy street 4 lagos,, make we no talk wetin we knw..
Asking whelther im knw isale Eko?
Re: Morotoluwa Ojomo Leads Philadelphia Eagles To Super Bowl Triumph by Discountsempai: 7:45am On Feb 11, 2025
shox:
Only for America dem dey play this game .

Boring and dangerous
It's also played in Mexico, Japan and some European countries

Even here in Nigeria, there are a few players.
Re: Morotoluwa Ojomo Leads Philadelphia Eagles To Super Bowl Triumph by Btruth: 7:45am On Feb 11, 2025
Yoruba amaka 😄😄😄😄
Re: Morotoluwa Ojomo Leads Philadelphia Eagles To Super Bowl Triumph by edgecution(m): 7:46am On Feb 11, 2025
cr7lomo:
Look at inferiority complex tribe that always called igbos chest beaters ... so the thing been de hungry una since , instead of to shut up , u Yoruba people started insulting igbos whenever they celebrated one of our own , u called us chest beaters ... person follow play game , u talk say e lead them to victory .... the white man made him , and not any nonsense yoruba demons

Any, small thing , una go de claim...thought u guys have learnt from kemis rejection....the other tim , una claim that basketball superstar that's Greek cos he has a yoruba last name , only for that one sef to reject una , he released a documentary about himself and called it ugo as per e mama na igbo ... he identified as igbo and the thing come pain una die grin grin grin.... bloody hypocrites
Shut up. There is a reason he carried Naija flag. white man made him yen yen yen. He knows white man don't want anything to do with him except to use him to make money while paying him salary. The salary might be big to you but its a drop in the ocean for the owner of Philly Eagles. If you live in USA you will know white people in general are wicked.
Re: Morotoluwa Ojomo Leads Philadelphia Eagles To Super Bowl Triumph by Ewedegubbler: 7:47am On Feb 11, 2025
shivisee:
Igbo Is Transformer whilst the Fulani is the NEPA
Re: Morotoluwa Ojomo Leads Philadelphia Eagles To Super Bowl Triumph by Tjra: 7:50am On Feb 11, 2025
edgecution:
Shut up. There is a reason he carried Naija flag. white man made him yen yen yen. He knows white man don't want anything to do with him except to use him to make money while paying him salary. The salary might be big to you but its a drop in the ocean for the owner of Philly Eagles. If you live in USA you will know white people in general are wicked.
Then we blacks are atrocious.
Re: Morotoluwa Ojomo Leads Philadelphia Eagles To Super Bowl Triumph by shivisee: 7:55am On Feb 11, 2025
Ewedegubbler:
Igbo Is Transgender whilst the Fulani is the NEPA
Fixed
1 2 Reply

Morotoluwa Ojomo: Sanwo-olu Praises Lagos-born Super Bowl ChampionMoro Ojomo Was Born In Lagos, Nigeria Before His Family Moved To California(pix)Lionel Messi Named Football's GOAT During NFL Super Bowl234

I’ll Give Iwobi AFCON Winning Tips – OkochaRussia 2018: FIFA Appoint Brazilian Referee For Croatia Vs Nigeria GameOdion Ighalo Holds A Farewell Match In Honour Of His Late Father