Stats: 3,330,859 members, 8,447,405 topics. Date: Saturday, 18 July 2026 at 09:24 AM

Raising A Gosling - Agriculture - Nairaland

Nairaland ForumNairaland GeneralAgricultureRaising A Gosling (1178 Views)

1 Reply (Go Down)

Raising A Gosling by jidestroud(op): 6:04pm On Feb 25, 2025
It's official, she's here. Unfortunately, I was going to get a pair but one came instead. It's still something to be glad about. Now, as the tradition demands, a befitting name is to be assigned to the gosling and no other name fits perfectly as much as Dumebi.

Dumebi Stroud, my precious gosling

Animal: Gosling - a Baby Goose
Gender: A female gosling (after carefully inspecting the vent)

To my surprise, she integrated well with Qasa (A female Mallard duckling) on the farm. Qasa is about 3weeks plus; that's a week older than Dumebi. I had expected the worse possible outcome initially cos I was told goslings were kind of aggressive. Immediately I introduced her to Qasa, they automatically became inseparable.

Feeding
I will be placing her on same feed as Qasa, that's the pelleted Broiler started feed. Qasa has been doing well on it, so I expect nothing less from Dumebi. Likewise, other treats such as worms, insects & flies will be given as treats from time to time.

Medication
Everything presently on the farm is organic, so same applies to Dumebi.

Pic 1: Unboxing Dumebi
Pic 2: Qasa Inspecting Dumebi
Pic 3: Final Approval from Qasa

Re: Raising A Gosling by jidestroud(op): 6:09pm On Feb 25, 2025
At this point, it will be unwise and unfair for me not to mention my sure plug for my ducklings & goslings @Kehfie. Thanks for making this possible. She made Dumebi happen.
Re: Raising A Gosling by jidestroud(op): 6:11pm On Feb 25, 2025
It's time to explore the profitability of raising a Gosling. Stay tuned!!!
Re: Raising A Gosling by Iamsane: 9:38pm On Feb 25, 2025
@Kehfie What other things are you selling madam?
Re: Raising A Gosling by jidestroud(op): 7:39pm On Feb 26, 2025
Dumebi & Her Bullying Tendencies

It's just a day in and she's already pecking the Hel.l out of Qasa the other Duckling. I had to increase the confined spacing so as to enable Qasa run around if the harassment became unbearable grin angry. She's quite a big one compared to the Duckling, and I have been told her size (goslings in general) doubles weekly. If the harassment continues, then I will have to bring in the bigger ducks to help restraint her gra-gra cheesy cool.

Re: Raising A Gosling by safarifarms(m): 7:32pm On Feb 27, 2025
What breed of gooseling is this? And how much did you get it?
Re: Raising A Gosling by jidestroud(op): 9:44pm On Feb 27, 2025
safarifarms:
What breed of gooseling is this? And how much did you get it?
It's the embden goose (I just hope I'm correct).

My source?
I already stated that. @Kehfie is the source.
Re: Raising A Gosling by safarifarms(m): 11:18am On Feb 28, 2025
jidestroud:
It's the embden goose (I just hope I'm correct).

My source?
I already stated that. @Kehfie is the source.
Thanks. But the 2nd question was about the price not source which I'd already seen.
Re: Raising A Gosling by jidestroud(op): 7:25pm On Mar 03, 2025
Dumebi @ a Week

I must confess, Dumebi is growing at an incredibly fast rate. She's doing very well cohabitating with her step-sister Qasa the duckling & the step cousins, the poults.

She's a lover of my vegetables. Always running towards me whenever she sees me coming towards them vegetables in hand.

Re: Raising A Gosling by jidestroud(op): 7:35pm On Mar 03, 2025
Facts about Dumebi - Embden Goose

In general,

They have white feathering and an orange bill.
N.B: Not all white geese are Embden ooo

Pure Embden geese are taller than all other geese.

They have blue eyes. If not, it is not a pure Embden.

Embden geese are active foragers and graze on grass and other plants. They are true herbivores.
Re: Raising A Gosling by JJacko: 7:52pm On Mar 04, 2025
safarifarms:
Thanks. But the 2nd question was about the price not source which I'd already seen.
I don't know why Nigerians feel reluctant to disclose prices. What then is the essence of the thread?
Re: Raising A Gosling by jidestroud(op):
Dumebi the Goliath

True to the reports in the public domain, it's has been a weekly increase in size. Qasa her cousin sees her as an imposter and keeps wondering; is this Dumebi my younger cousin? huh. She grown big in size and even the turkeys are nowhere a match for her now. She bullies everyone except for me sha grin angry.

Yes, she is a heavy consumer Biko. She eats double the ration of the others.

Pic 1. Her current size
Pic 2. In comparison to the box she came with barely 2 weeks back.

Re: Raising A Gosling by dammysholove(m): 6:10pm On Mar 10, 2025
Nice

jidestroud:
Dumebi the Goliath

True to the reports in the public domain, it's has been a weekly increase in size. Qasa her cousin sees her as an imposter and keeps wondering; is this Dumebi my younger cousin? huh. She grown big in size and even the turkeys are nowhere a match for her now. She bullies everyone except for me sha grin angry.

Yes, she is a heavy consumer Biko. She eats double the ration of the others.

Pic 1. Her current size
Pic 2. In comparison to the box she came with barely 2 weeks back.
Re: Raising A Gosling by jidestroud(op): 6:36pm On Mar 10, 2025
dammysholove:
Nice
Thanks.

Pics uploaded for clarity.
Re: Raising A Gosling by jidestroud(op): 9:34pm On Apr 27, 2025
Dumebi is a beautiful Goose I must confess. grin cheesy.

Re: Raising A Gosling by jidestroud(op): 9:37pm On Apr 27, 2025
Pic 1. Dumebi

Pic 2. Dumebi, Qasa and the turkeys.

Pic. 3. Introduction of the Step- brothers.
(Newly Acquired Goslings)
Re: Raising A Gosling by jidestroud(op):
Update on my Goslings

It took a while for me to come up with names for my newly acquired Goslings. I needed to give them names to captures everything about them, and I have kept them for some days now, I've got the perfect names for both.

Ali & Ambali

I hereby bestow the names ALI and Ambali to them. But wait o, these goslings ugly sha!!! grin. Let's see what they look like in two week's to come.

Re: Raising A Gosling by Kehfie(f): 9:18pm On May 02, 2025
jidestroud:
Pic 1. Dumebi

Pic 2. Dumebi, Qasa and the turkeys.

Pic. 3. Introduction of the Step- brothers.
(Newly Acquired Goslings)
The turkeys are not doing badly
Re: Raising A Gosling by Kehfie(f): 9:19pm On May 02, 2025
grin grin grin grin grin grin grin grin grin grin
Re: Raising A Gosling by jidestroud(op): 9:52pm On May 02, 2025
Kehfie:
The turkeys are not doing badly
Yes ooo!!! Powa & Nengi, they are doing absolutely wonderful. Unfortunately, they are just side attractions.
Re: Raising A Gosling by Redman44(m): 5:59am On May 03, 2025
Interesting. You seem to have a lot going on in your farm cool cool. I like this thread.
Re: Raising A Gosling by Balloa1(m): 5:14pm On May 20, 2025
jidestroud:
Yes ooo!!! Powa & Nengi, they are doing absolutely wonderful. Unfortunately, they are just side attractions.
Could you please link me up with the seller Bro!
Re: Raising A Gosling by Balloa1(m): 5:15pm On May 20, 2025
I need the goslings for rearing
1 Reply

Is Raising Chickens For Eggs Cheaper Than Buying Them In Nigeria (2025)? My BreaRaising A Sample Breed Of 50 Broiler Chickens (Marshall Breed)Raising 52 Zartech Broilers With My Formulated Feed.. Good Or Bad?234

Palm Kernels Shells(pks) Exporters Needed To Supply 20,000MT Of PKSFarm Land With Cofo Available For Sale At Affordable PriceWe Supply Palm Kernel In Large Quantity,palm Oil Etc