Stats: 3,330,503 members, 8,445,766 topics. Date: Wednesday, 15 July 2026 at 01:56 PM

Lagos Becomes Africa's 2nd-largest City Economy As GDP Hits $259 Billion - Politics (7) - Nairaland

Nairaland ForumNairaland GeneralPoliticsLagos Becomes Africa's 2nd-largest City Economy As GDP Hits $259 Billion (15753 Views)

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Reply (Go Down)

Re: Lagos Becomes Africa's 2nd-largest City Economy As GDP Hits $259 Billion by Obaaderemi2: 10:44pm On Mar 13, 2025
obyno82:
Oga you are paid to laundering their image stop deceiving yourself.
Not everyone has given up on Nigeria like you.
Re: Lagos Becomes Africa's 2nd-largest City Economy As GDP Hits $259 Billion by AndroBlaze: 10:56pm On Mar 13, 2025
obyno82:
Oga it was not based on that. You guys are just desperately looking for a way to justify your gaffes.
It is clearly stated in the very first sentence of the writeup or does hate & jealousy not enable you to be literate again?

Goodvibes007:
Nigeria's commercial capital, Lagos, has made another economic leap, as its Gross Domestic Product (GDP) rose to US$259.75 billion based on Purchasing Power Parity (PPP), cementing the state's position as one of Africa's economic forces.

https://www.pulse.ng/articles/news/local/lagos-becomes-africas-2nd-largest-city-economy-as-gdp-hits-dollar259-billion-2025031218125946368
Re: Lagos Becomes Africa's 2nd-largest City Economy As GDP Hits $259 Billion by Enemyofpeace: 11:08pm On Mar 13, 2025
obyno82:
I understand you are afraid to bring the numbers to prove your statement.
No wonder our brothers from the east see it as their small London. It's the prayer and dream of every igbo man/woman to visit Lagos before they die
Re: Lagos Becomes Africa's 2nd-largest City Economy As GDP Hits $259 Billion by Smartcitizen: 1:07am On Mar 14, 2025
Obaaderemi2:
You See why I labeled you incoherent. No points whatsoever
Yes because hypocrisy is a normal way of life for you people.
Re: Lagos Becomes Africa's 2nd-largest City Economy As GDP Hits $259 Billion by Brendaniel: 2:23am On Mar 14, 2025
Obaaderemi2:
For projects such as the ones below which are more sustainable and more effective than paying subsidies and propping up the naira with dollars which leads to round tripping and wild exchange rate differential

And what's more debts are being paid but not with about 90% of revenue as the case used to be
And how has all the projects improved the standard of living in Nigeria, and yet increasing inflation and cost of goods and services?

is that what Tinubu is taking loans for?

and Tinubu is still paying subsidy more than even every other previous government.....

So what has Tinubu achieved other than growing poverty ?
Re: Lagos Becomes Africa's 2nd-largest City Economy As GDP Hits $259 Billion by obyno82: 4:27am On Mar 14, 2025
Enemyofpeace:
No wonder our brothers from the east see it as their small London. It's the prayer and dream of every igbo man/woman to visit Lagos before they die
Oga this repetitive games no go work. Bring the numbers naaaa
Re: Lagos Becomes Africa's 2nd-largest City Economy As GDP Hits $259 Billion by obyno82: 4:28am On Mar 14, 2025
AndroBlaze:
It is clearly stated in the very first sentence of the writeup or does hate & jealousy not enable you to be literate again?
You are actually dense not to know that the original writeup from nairametrics never made mention of ppp
Re: Lagos Becomes Africa's 2nd-largest City Economy As GDP Hits $259 Billion by Enemyofpeace: 7:44am On Mar 14, 2025
obyno82:
Oga this repetitive games no go work. Bring the numbers naaaa
Re: Lagos Becomes Africa's 2nd-largest City Economy As GDP Hits $259 Billion by Owontime: 7:46am On Mar 14, 2025
Lagos? No way,Aba is the best.
Re: Lagos Becomes Africa's 2nd-largest City Economy As GDP Hits $259 Billion by obyno82: 9:34am On Mar 14, 2025
Enemyofpeace:
😆 🤣 bring statistics...... this repetition you are doing like a robot are you a bot
Re: Lagos Becomes Africa's 2nd-largest City Economy As GDP Hits $259 Billion by Okoroawusa: 9:38am On Mar 14, 2025
mrvitalis:
Nigeria's GDP is 199 billion dollars
But someone want me to believe Lagos GDP is 256 billion dollars? Lmaooo

The propaganda is now too childish no effort again
Nwannem if you manage to be happy for a good news will it be a bad day for you?

If this is not amaosu I don't know what else to call it o!
Re: Lagos Becomes Africa's 2nd-largest City Economy As GDP Hits $259 Billion by Obaaderemi2: 10:51am On Mar 14, 2025
Brendaniel:
And how has all the projects improved the standard of living in Nigeria, and yet increasing inflation and cost of goods and services?

is that what Tinubu is taking loans for?

and Tinubu is still paying subsidy more than even every other previous government.....

So what has Tinubu achieved other than growing poverty ?
These are long term projects with far reaching effects. Unlike fuel subsidies which eventually wrecks the finances of nations. Lebanon is an example

And which subsidy is Tinubu paying and to who? Can you show us evidence?
Re: Lagos Becomes Africa's 2nd-largest City Economy As GDP Hits $259 Billion by Obaaderemi2: 10:52am On Mar 14, 2025
Okoroawusa:
Nwannem if you manage to be happy for a good news will it be a bad day for you?

If this is not amaosu I don't know what else to call it o!
Re: Lagos Becomes Africa's 2nd-largest City Economy As GDP Hits $259 Billion by Enemyofpeace: 11:21am On Mar 14, 2025
obyno82:
😆 🤣 bring statistics...... this repetition you are doing like a robot are you a bot
Re: Lagos Becomes Africa's 2nd-largest City Economy As GDP Hits $259 Billion by AndroBlaze: 11:41am On Mar 14, 2025
obyno82:
You are actually dense not to know that the original writeup from nairametrics never made mention of ppp
You are clearly an unrepentant liar and a base fellow, was nairametrics what the original poster posted?

Your shamelessness and empty pride ( which is common among your people) is why you cannot admit you were wrong when people have already graciously told you it is not a crime for you not to understand GDP based on PPP as it is a bit of expert jargon.

Anyway since your pride means you want to pull all your other brothers down with you, here is a link from Nairametrics proving your brother knew what he was published and was not cut from the same cloth as you. This is my last engagement with such a shameless fellow as you as I was trained not to freely frolic with pigs once they have been identified.

https://www.nairametrics.com/2025/03/12/lagos-gdp-hits-259-billion-ranks-as-africas-second-largest-city-economy/%3famp=1
Re: Lagos Becomes Africa's 2nd-largest City Economy As GDP Hits $259 Billion by obyno82: 1:55pm On Mar 14, 2025
AndroBlaze:
You are clearly an unrepentant liar and a base fellow, was nairametrics what the original poster posted?

Your shamelessness and empty pride ( which is common among your people) is why you cannot admit you were wrong when people have already graciously told you it is not a crime for you not to understand GDP based on PPP as it is a bit of expert jargon.

Anyway since your pride means you want to pull all your other brothers down with you, here is a link from Nairametrics proving your brother knew what he was published and was not cut from the same cloth as you. This is my last engagement with such a shameless fellow as you as I was trained not to freely frolic with pigs once they have been identified.

https://www.nairametrics.com/2025/03/12/lagos-gdp-hits-259-billion-ranks-as-africas-second-largest-city-economy/%3famp=1
Oga please you cannot change my stand. This is pure lies on the GDP of Lagos.
Re: Lagos Becomes Africa's 2nd-largest City Economy As GDP Hits $259 Billion by obyno82: 1:55pm On Mar 14, 2025
Enemyofpeace:
Bring Statistics
Re: Lagos Becomes Africa's 2nd-largest City Economy As GDP Hits $259 Billion by Brendaniel: 2:02pm On Mar 14, 2025
Obaaderemi2:
These are long term projects with far reaching effects. Unlike fuel subsidies which eventually wrecks the finances of nations. Lebanon is an example

And which subsidy is Tinubu paying and to who? Can you show us evidence?
You mean long term projects that loans are being taken into the future?

Long term projects that crude oil are being sold in millions of barrels into the future for loans? Same thing Buhari did that Nigeria hasn't regained anything after 8 years?

Please tell me another thing, just a reminder that OBJ became president when Nigeria was owing more than 44 billion dollars external debts accumulated by corrupt military regimes, he cleared it and still saved more than 40 billion dollars in ECA which is different from external reserve while still growing the external reserve to over 50 billion dollars in a space of 8 years while price of crude oil averaged around 40$ per barrel throughout his tenure, and yet still paid subsidies...

So what is Tinubu's excuse ?

For the subsidy issue, Tinubu has paid the highest subsidy ever in the history of Nigeria...

https://www.nairaland.com/8358255/fg-confirms-plan-pay-7.7
Re: Lagos Becomes Africa's 2nd-largest City Economy As GDP Hits $259 Billion by Obaaderemi2: 4:31pm On Mar 14, 2025
Brendaniel:
You mean long term projects that loans are being taken into the future?

Long term projects that crude oil are being sold in millions of barrels into the future for loans? Same thing Buhari did that Nigeria hasn't regained anything after 8 years?

Please tell me another thing, just a reminder that OBJ became president when Nigeria was owing more than 44 billion dollars external debts accumulated by corrupt military regimes, he cleared it and still saved more than 40 billion dollars in ECA which is different from external reserve while still growing the external reserve to over 50 billion dollars in a space of 8 years while price of crude oil averaged around 40$ per barrel throughout his tenure, and yet still paid subsidies...

So what is Tinubu's excuse ?

For the subsidy issue, Tinubu has paid the highest subsidy ever in the history of Nigeria...

https://www.nairaland.com/8358255/fg-confirms-plan-pay-7.7
Can you please show us evidence of this government selling oil for loans? Thanks

Obasanjo didn't like to pay subsidies, even Jonathan and Buhari hated it but all of them could not handle the cabal behind it and the angry reactions of the ignorant masses who thought fuel subsidies were helpful

As to your claims of subsidy payment by this government, I'm not sure you read the link you posted, you just ran with the headline like the average hateful Nigerian. The link said the subsidy debts initially stood at #10tr as at 2023 and that by end of that year #2tr was recovered, leaving #7tr. It became that much due to forex differential. Are you telling me Tinubu already accrued #10tr subsidy debt by middle of 2023? Don't let hatred blind you
Re: Lagos Becomes Africa's 2nd-largest City Economy As GDP Hits $259 Billion by Brendaniel: 5:48pm On Mar 14, 2025
Obaaderemi2:
Can you please show us evidence of this government selling oil for loans? Thanks

https://leadership.ng/nnpcl-deal-repaying-3-3bn-loan-with-12bn-crude-oil-by-tinubu-govt-puzzling-atiku

Obasanjo didn't like to pay subsidies, even Jonathan and Buhari hated it but all of them could not handle the cabal behind it and the angry reactions of the ignorant masses who thought fuel subsidies were helpful

As to your claims of subsidy payment by this government, I'm not sure you read the link you posted, you just ran with the headline like the average hateful Nigerian. The link said the subsidy debts initially stood at #10tr as at 2023 and that by end of that year #2tr was recovered, leaving #7tr. It became that much due to forex differential. Are you telling me Tinubu already accrued #10tr subsidy debt by middle of 2023? Don't let hatred blind you

A month-by-month breakdown showed how the debt steadily increased: June 2023 – N1.402 trillion; July 2023 – N1.48 trillion; October 2023 – N1.81 trillion; March 2024 – N4.68 trillion; June 2024 – N6.97 trillion, and September 2024 – N7.74 trillion.

“If NNPCL sells oil on behalf of the government and gives it the dollar revenue, why should the government pay back any money? NNPCL should be remitting funds like other oil companies,” Iledare argued.

Despite President Bola Tinubu’s declaration in May 2023 that the fuel subsidy had been removed, reports from the International Monetary Fund (IMF) and World Bank suggest that the subsidy was quietly reintroduced through price stabilization measures
Re: Lagos Becomes Africa's 2nd-largest City Economy As GDP Hits $259 Billion by Obaaderemi2: 6:12pm On Mar 14, 2025
[quote author=Brendaniel post=134539467][/quote]So how much is the debt? #7tr because #3tr has been paid out of #10tr.
That's to tell you it's old debt. But because the debt is in dollars it keeps going up because of forex differential. That's what your report said. On a monthly basis it was increasing because the forex rate was volatile. But now that has been brought under control somewhat.
Abi Dangote that's not importing but keeps bringing prices down is also receiving subsidy? grin grin
Re: Lagos Becomes Africa's 2nd-largest City Economy As GDP Hits $259 Billion by Brendaniel: 6:50pm On Mar 14, 2025
Obaaderemi2:
So how much is the debt? #7tr because #3tr has been paid out of #10tr.
That's to tell you it's old debt. But because the debt is in dollars it keeps going up because of forex differential. That's what your report said. On a monthly basis it was increasing because the forex rate was volatile. But now that has been brought under control somewhat.
Abi Dangote that's not importing but keeps bringing prices down is also receiving subsidy? grin grin
The major problem here is why is NNPC asking for the difference to be paid if the same NNPC sells crude on behalf of Nigeria in the same FX?

And are you also saying that the difference only kept on rising and at no point ever reduced based on the exchange rate difference because the exchange rate at various points came down and went up but the exchange rate debt never reflected any of that but only went up and is still going up...

Don't you see that your claim is flawed?
Re: Lagos Becomes Africa's 2nd-largest City Economy As GDP Hits $259 Billion by Obaaderemi2: 8:42pm On Mar 14, 2025
Brendaniel:
The major problem here is why is NNPC asking for the difference to be paid if the same NNPC sells crude on behalf of Nigeria in the same FX?

And are you also saying that the difference only kept on rising and at no point ever reduced based on the exchange rate difference because the exchange rate at various points came down and went up but the exchange rate debt never reflected any of that but only went up and is still going up...

Don't you see that your claim is flawed?
You failed to see the question I asked you: is Dangote also receiving subsidy for him to be bringing down fuel price? grin
Re: Lagos Becomes Africa's 2nd-largest City Economy As GDP Hits $259 Billion by GetSenseNow: 8:55pm On Mar 14, 2025
Commentor:
You want us to Grok, then you'll later run away when the facts slap you in the face.
Grok has been shattering the numerous propaganda you people have been pushing here and there.
Thank God for AI, we've now proven, once again, that lying is engrained in your DNA

Re: Lagos Becomes Africa's 2nd-largest City Economy As GDP Hits $259 Billion by Brendaniel: 9:11pm On Mar 14, 2025
Obaaderemi2:
You failed to see the question I asked you: is Dangote also receiving subsidy for him to be bringing down fuel price? grin
he might be, did the NNPC ever come out openly to claim they are receiving subsidy?
Re: Lagos Becomes Africa's 2nd-largest City Economy As GDP Hits $259 Billion by Obaaderemi2: 11:21am On Mar 15, 2025
Brendaniel:
he might be, did the NNPC ever come out openly to claim they are receiving subsidy?
Re: Lagos Becomes Africa's 2nd-largest City Economy As GDP Hits $259 Billion by AgroBizSolution(f): 12:12am On Mar 16, 2025
Great! That's a good one!
Re: Lagos Becomes Africa's 2nd-largest City Economy As GDP Hits $259 Billion by CyrusVI(m): 9:28am On Mar 16, 2025
casualobserver:
I suggest you take a refresher course in economics and learn the difference between nominal GDP and GDP ppp. Even our nominal GDP is far above what you quoted.

Nigeria’s GDP (PPP) is over $1.4 trillion according to the world bank’s own figures and other reputable sources.
Sheun, read

See factual figures from World Bank
Re: Lagos Becomes Africa's 2nd-largest City Economy As GDP Hits $259 Billion by XAUBulls: 7:07pm On Aug 16, 2025
Re: Lagos Becomes Africa's 2nd-largest City Economy As GDP Hits $259 Billion by XAUBulls: 7:11pm On Aug 16, 2025
Enugurangers:
Yes o my brother. Tinubu finish work for that state.

Governor Tinubu, now President Tinubu, laid the foundation. I remember when he went to China to hustle for investors for the Lekki Free trade zone. That alone changed the fortunes of Lagos. Same place is where the biggest US embassy in the world is now being built. Same place also houses the deepest sea port in Nigeria.
Re: Lagos Becomes Africa's 2nd-largest City Economy As GDP Hits $259 Billion by XAUBulls: 7:12pm On Aug 16, 2025
Enugurangers:
Nigeria GDP was 363.8 billion USD (2023).
Grew 2.74% by end of 2023.
Grew 3.40% by end of 2024.
And it's still rapidly growing. Just 6 days ago.

https://www.dabafinance.com/en/news/nigeria-gdp-grows-at-fastest-pace-in-three-years-on-services-boom

Let's stay positive.
Re: Lagos Becomes Africa's 2nd-largest City Economy As GDP Hits $259 Billion by XAUBulls: 7:14pm On Aug 16, 2025
Factcheck0001:
the first picture is that of grok disputing Igbos age long lies of developing Lagos

The same Igbos who developed Lagos but once it's turn to develop their region cement finish

The second one is the top 50 companies in Lagos n tribe of its owners n Igbos no dey dere at all

Statistics don lie

So how did Igbos develop Lagos when facts says otherwise
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Reply

Lagos Becomes Africa’s 2nd-largest City Economy As GDP Hits $259 BillionLagos GDP Hits ₦‎41 Trillion, Ranks 7th In AfricaLagos Becomes Africa's Start-Up Capital, Ibadan Takes Nigeri's No 2 Spot234

Ijaw Itsekiri Crisis AgainAPC Is The 'Waste Basket' For PDP's 'Expired Substances' - PDPPENGASSAN : We Support Deregulation, Not N145 Per Litre.