Stats: 3,330,417 members, 8,445,404 topics. Date: Wednesday, 15 July 2026 at 12:26 AM

Tinubu Should Put Wike In Charge Of Ministry Of Power. - Politics (3) - Nairaland

Nairaland ForumNairaland GeneralPoliticsTinubu Should Put Wike In Charge Of Ministry Of Power. (12898 Views)

1 2 3 4 Reply (Go Down)

Re: Tinubu Should Put Wike In Charge Of Ministry Of Power. by Paramount01(m): 12:25pm On Apr 22, 2025
yusufu16:
Honestly if we solve power problem in Nigeria, over 80% of our economic problem is solved.

Just give Nigerians 24/7 light and you will see wonders in the economy.
Are Nigeria ready to pay? Can they pay?
Re: Tinubu Should Put Wike In Charge Of Ministry Of Power. by SisterAnn(f): 12:28pm On Apr 22, 2025
MEGA4BILLION:
His failure in the ministry of power would be loud like thunder strike, it is not moulding of blocks. If you doubt go and ask Babatunde Fashola
Fashola don jejely go back to school, tails tucked in, to go learn rocket science.
Re: Tinubu Should Put Wike In Charge Of Ministry Of Power. by sukar886: 12:40pm On Apr 22, 2025
That's the honest truth
Re: Tinubu Should Put Wike In Charge Of Ministry Of Power. by Arambetimofeda: 12:44pm On Apr 22, 2025
THANK YOU, I HAVE BEEN SAYING THIS FOR A LONG TIME TO PEOPLE AROUND ME. I HOPE THIS CAN GET TO THE PRESIDENT
Re: Tinubu Should Put Wike In Charge Of Ministry Of Power. by Henjor48(m): 1:01pm On Apr 22, 2025
The power sector holds the keys to Nigerian industrial and economic development. Unfortunately, successive governments have not been able to make it work.

Tinubu Should save Nigeria by putting Wike in Charge of the power sector. It Appears that Wike knows how to get the job done, there's no argument about that.[/quote]I prefer the President put him in Ministry of Defense to eradicate INSECURITY in Nigeria. I am confident has what it takes to put an end to INSECURITY in Nigeria for development to thrive and to enable farmers and potential farmers return to their farms. This will enhance massive food production and guarantee food security.
Re: Tinubu Should Put Wike In Charge Of Ministry Of Power. by zoedew: 1:14pm On Apr 22, 2025
Eteka1:
The power sector holds the keys to Nigerian industrial and economic development. Unfortunately, successive governments have not been able to make it work.

Tinubu Should save Nigeria by putting Wike in Charge of the power sector. It Appears that Wike knows how to get the job done, there's no argument about that.
Love him or hate him Wike is a performer!
Re: Tinubu Should Put Wike In Charge Of Ministry Of Power. by Nobody: 1:16pm On Apr 22, 2025
So, he should leave repairing our dear Abj? 😅

Wike can run the 2 though, but never should he leave Abuja abeg... We don't know who'll ever dare to continue this infrastructure & development
Re: Tinubu Should Put Wike In Charge Of Ministry Of Power. by alizma: 1:21pm On Apr 22, 2025
SmartPolician:
The problem of power is not by gragra. It's a function of lack of innovative strategy and investment in the industry.

Tinubu cannot tell states to start generating power and go to sleep. There must a strong legislation that compels them to devote a significant fraction of their budget to power generation, transmission and distribution.

The federal ministry of power must work with state commissioners of power to see to it that states are steadily making efforts to take charge of their own power dynamics.

I always say that running a country is no rocket science. We just have the worst of us running this country. Nigeria doesn't have a long way to go; Nigeria hasn't even started at all.
One simple step will change everything and that step is by ensuring every household is mattered. The reason why you don't have to call MTN to come and repair their broke down mast is because it is pay as you go, you give me light, I give you money, no light, no money. It is as simple as that. Then bypass should attract not less than 6months in prison without option of fine.
Re: Tinubu Should Put Wike In Charge Of Ministry Of Power. by authority2006(m): 1:22pm On Apr 22, 2025
He will perform fairly well
Re: Tinubu Should Put Wike In Charge Of Ministry Of Power. by authority2006(m): 1:24pm On Apr 22, 2025
Philipponzaghi:
Wike is in charge of the minister of FCT position. Let him focus on that for now
He can be reassigned if the president is thinking what people are thinking. It is just like being discovered
Re: Tinubu Should Put Wike In Charge Of Ministry Of Power. by naijapikin2(m): 1:24pm On Apr 22, 2025
This comment of mine may probably land on page 4... But I have to lend my voice of support.

I TOTALLY AGREE
Re: Tinubu Should Put Wike In Charge Of Ministry Of Power. by authority2006(m): 1:25pm On Apr 22, 2025
SmartPolician:
The problem of power is not by gragra. It's a function of lack of innovative strategy and investment in the industry.

Tinubu cannot tell states to start generating power and go to sleep. There must a strong legislation that compels them to devote a significant fraction of their budget to power generation, transmission and distribution.

The federal ministry of power must work with state commissioners of power to see to it that states are steadily making efforts to take charge of their own power dynamics.

I always say that running a country is no rocket science. We just have the worst of us running this country. Nigeria doesn't have a long way to go; Nigeria hasn't even started at all.
If we haven't tried gragra in the past but the ones we have tried didn't work, nothing bad if we try gragra too
Re: Tinubu Should Put Wike In Charge Of Ministry Of Power. by herkeem: 1:28pm On Apr 22, 2025
Good thing
Re: Tinubu Should Put Wike In Charge Of Ministry Of Power. by Kam2021: 1:29pm On Apr 22, 2025
ddippset:
Wike is working only in one state out of 36.
All other ministers are working in 36 states.

Don't be fooled, he is not getting anything done!

Where are the schools?
Where are the health centers?
How many jobs has he created in FCT?
What is the minimum wage in FCT?

Despite working in one one state, some other silent ministers have performed better.

Like Tunji Ojo, Festus Keyamo, Dave Umahi.

By the time he is expected to show results in 36 states, you will know that handling only FCT is easier..

Even in Rivers he is so overrated because he likes to make carnivals while commissioning flyovers...

Over priced flyovers for that matter!

No health care, No education, No human capital development, Civil servants did not have even 1 naira increment in salaries throughout the 8 years.

Wike sabi fool una sha.
Go and drink ODOGWU bitters
Re: Tinubu Should Put Wike In Charge Of Ministry Of Power. by Nadingo: 1:30pm On Apr 22, 2025
Elrufai would've been the best man for that job. Wonder what went wrong between the duo.
Re: Tinubu Should Put Wike In Charge Of Ministry Of Power. by Kam2021: 1:33pm On Apr 22, 2025
I can't laugh abeg so we are beginning to appreciate why Wike has been tough all along .If you are not tough abi strict as a politician in Nigeria, money will be disappearing but you will not see any work done.
God bless Dr.Nyesom Wike for being himself.
God bless the president for not listening to negative talks.
Re: Tinubu Should Put Wike In Charge Of Ministry Of Power. by SmartPolician: 1:40pm On Apr 22, 2025
alizma:
One simple step will change everything and that step is by ensuring every household is mattered. The reason why you don't have to call MTN to come and repair their broke down mast is because it is pay as you go, you give me light, I give you money, no light, no money. It is as simple as that. Then bypass should attract not less than 6months in prison without option of fine.
Metering has a role, but the problem is way beyond metering. You see, most Nigerians are too poor to afford stable electricity. That's a fact because energy is not cheap.

Back to metering, even if you meter people, they'll still bypass metres to enjoy something they cannot afford. Most homes that cannot fuel their generators cannot pay for stable electricity. The moment you metre them, they will bypass appliances that heavily consume power and connect those that lightly consume electricity.

Part of Nigeria's problem today is that the Discos don't generate enough money to buy power from Gencos due to power theft and losses, leaving a huge deficit that only the government can fill.

That's why I said, we need to unbundle the national grid. States have to step in and start looking for sources of power generation in their localities. If possible, every LGA should have companies that generate, transmit and distribute power. That way, we can reduce losses and theft because these companies that supply power can easily identify users who steal their energy.
Re: Tinubu Should Put Wike In Charge Of Ministry Of Power. by Geometrix(m): 2:01pm On Apr 22, 2025
What are you really saying?
The generation and distribution arm of the power sector has been privatized already. The third arm of the power sector is the transmission which is still under the supervision of the Government and it the transmission arm that is the cause of this inefficiency and constant power failure.
There has been situations where the grid cannot evacuate all the power that was generated in a particular timeframe.
What people like Wike brings to the table is holding people responsible for the job they have agreed to do,that's the bane of our government offices and parastasals.
If the Government can revamp the transmission arm of the power equation, the distribution and generation arm would witness an improved efficiency..
Svoboda:
I hear you. You want to compare fct, where there's seamlessness in administration succession to power ministry that is controlled by people tinubu is even wary of. Those power sector oligarchs will just dust off one leather backed swivel chair and offer wike to sit on. There's where gra GRA will get to and bow to a stone wall. Na today?
Re: Tinubu Should Put Wike In Charge Of Ministry Of Power. by Geometrix(m): 2:06pm On Apr 22, 2025
I like your submission but I want to ask does it that the current Discos do not have the capacity to identify those that steals their power?
SmartPolician:
Metering has a role, but the problem is way beyond metering. You see, most Nigerians are too poor to afford stable electricity. That's a fact because energy is not cheap.

Back to metering, even if you meter people, they'll still bypass metres to enjoy something they cannot afford. Most homes that cannot fuel their generators cannot pay for stable electricity. The moment you metre them, they will bypass appliances that heavily consume power and connect those that lightly consume electricity.

Part of Nigeria's problem today is that the Discos don't generate enough money to buy power from Gencos due to power theft and losses, leaving a huge deficit that only the government can fill.

That's why I said, we need to unbundle the national grid. States have to step in and start looking for sources of power generation in their localities. If possible, every LGA should have companies that generate, transmit and distribute power. That way, we can reduce losses and theft because these companies that supply power can easily identify users who steal their energy.
Re: Tinubu Should Put Wike In Charge Of Ministry Of Power. by SmartPolician: 2:18pm On Apr 22, 2025
Geometrix:
I like your submission but I want to ask does it that the current Discos do not have the capacity to identify those that steals their power?
Thank you. Well, their workers know those who bypass metres and steal energy. But then, those workers also consider the owners of Discos as very wealthy people. So, all the "bypassers" just have to do is beg them and tip them. Afterwards, everyone is happy and energy theft continues.

However, if it's a smaller company that supplies just one LGA in a state, they can have monitoring teams and the owner of the company can even be going with them because he wants to make profit from his business.
Re: Tinubu Should Put Wike In Charge Of Ministry Of Power. by RexTramadol1: 2:26pm On Apr 22, 2025
Wike in Abuja is strategic.

Let him remain in Abuja.
Re: Tinubu Should Put Wike In Charge Of Ministry Of Power. by Anguldi(m): 2:31pm On Apr 22, 2025
Eteka1:
That his aggressive attitude makes contractors, civil servants, security agencies, citizens etc to avoid clashing with him. That's the only kind of person that can bring Nigeria out of this mess of epileptic power supply, national grid collapse, estimated billing, dilapidated transmission system etc.
Comrade, this is a violent proposal. Machete and body parts go surplus 🔥💯
Re: Tinubu Should Put Wike In Charge Of Ministry Of Power. by gidigbam1: 2:52pm On Apr 22, 2025
KnowAll:
The power sector is highly compromised. We need to go back to the drawing board. Putting unnecessary generated electricity on a compromised line is a recipe for disaster.
Only a Wike can fix Nigeria Power Sector. They have a very strong cabal that will never allow anything to work. Therefore you need a ruthless, minister weho doesn't give a damn like Wike for the sector to succeed.

Someone that has the balls to revoke PDP secretariat building, will not think twice in revoking the license of any Disco or Gencos that are not performing.
Re: Tinubu Should Put Wike In Charge Of Ministry Of Power. by Barcalee: 3:12pm On Apr 22, 2025
Yes I wholly agree to this suggestion a square peg in a square hole even if it meets round holes they will be forced to square. Wike best man for the job
Re: Tinubu Should Put Wike In Charge Of Ministry Of Power. by MIKOLOWISKA: 3:33pm On Apr 22, 2025
Asonaijaaso:
Been to many third world countries with 24hours power supply and the bills are in tune with minimum wage.
[b] [color=#000099] mention 3 of these countries

And believe me i am not talking about Paris or London where the president goes to enjoy uninterrupted AC.

All we have to do is copy their blueprint and replicate it here, tweak it till we get it right.

The administration of Bola Tinubu has not prioritized power supply. If they did Nigerians would have seen results.[/b][/color]

Weeks after Bola Tinubu wa sworn in, he wanted a new Private Jet, less than 2 weeks after, the money manifested, the new Jet was bought and paid for and the old one put on sale.......That was an intentional act.

But issues like power supply, education of the girl child, a lot of out of school Nigerian children, maternal mortality,insecurities. Those are not addressed, When Nigerians voice their frustration, either his handlers gaslight us (its not that bad.) or we get the popular Buhari trope (All that was caused by the Buhari regime)
Re: Tinubu Should Put Wike In Charge Of Ministry Of Power. by MIKOLOWISKA: 3:36pm On Apr 22, 2025
yusufu16:
Honestly if we solve power problem in Nigeria, over 80% of our economic problem is solved.

Just give Nigerians 24/7 light and you will see wonders in the economy.
Give?
Nobody stopping you from giving yourself light o
Sector Has been privatised since 2005
Re: Tinubu Should Put Wike In Charge Of Ministry Of Power. by KnowAll(m): 3:48pm On Apr 22, 2025
Nadingo:
Elrufai would've been the best man for that job. Wonder what went wrong between the duo.
There is a lot of money to be stolen in that ministry. Any wonder why Tinubu did not give it to El Rufai, empowering a Fulani apologist like El Rufai is digging your own grave with your own hands.
Re: Tinubu Should Put Wike In Charge Of Ministry Of Power. by Eteka1(op): 3:49pm On Apr 22, 2025
gidigbam1:
Only a Wike can fix Nigeria Power Sector. They have a very strong cabal that will never allow anything to work. Therefore you need a ruthless, minister weho doesn't give a damn like Wike for the sector to succeed.

Someone that has the balls to revoke PDP secretariat building, will not think twice in revoking the license of any Disco or Gencos that are not performing.
exactly my point. Government is 100% in charge of transmission, he would have fixed that by now. He would also have whipped those recalcitrant DISCOs into line or revoked their contract or license by now
Re: Tinubu Should Put Wike In Charge Of Ministry Of Power. by alizma: 3:57pm On Apr 22, 2025
SmartPolician:

The suggestion to unbundle is a welcome one but the other points raise do not hold water
1. That Nigerians are poor to afford power, Nigerians are not poor than other countries that enjoy power more than we are currently enjoying.
2. That many who cannot power their house with gen cannot pay for power, these are 2 things you shouldn't bring to compete in this case. To run gen for 8hours, you need about 8 litres regardless the load and that will cost you about 7,300 naira aside maintenance, that same amount can power a 5rooms building in the village that only use bulbs and fan for a whole month.
3. On the aspect of by pass, it is difficult to buy pass when your metre is on the pole and the discos or government can set up task force that track down those who buy pass, there is an instrument for that, once it is hanged on the cable that takes light from your metre on the pole to your house, it will show if the light is on by pass or from the metre
4. The issue of Gencos not generating enough to sell to discos, that is not true, that is because the discos are not pushing the Gencos, imagine you have a product to sell and I have money to buy, you will look for more if what you correctly have in stock is not enough to meet my order. Also, there are cases where the Gencos have accused the discos of not picking all the electricity that they generate, they do that because they are able to raise money from estimated bills at the expense of Nigerians.
Finally, if the discos are not being dubious what stopped them from ensuring that all houses in urban areas where like Abuja, Lagos, port Harcourt city are metred and well light up so that they can now list the challenges preventing them from doing the same in rural area and then call for government and community help to ensure those areas enjoy similar light up?
Re: Tinubu Should Put Wike In Charge Of Ministry Of Power. by gidigbam1: 4:19pm On Apr 22, 2025
Eteka1:
exactly my point. Government is 100% in charge of transmission, he would have fixed that by now. He would also have whipped those recalcitrant DISCOs into line or revoked their contract or license by now
No one else in naija has the ball to do that except Wike! Not even PBAT himself.
Re: Tinubu Should Put Wike In Charge Of Ministry Of Power. by Toktee(m): 4:40pm On Apr 22, 2025
Asonaijaaso:
Been to many third world countries with 24hours power supply and the bills are in tune with minimum wage.

And believe me i am not talking about Paris or London where the president goes to enjoy uninterrupted AC.

All we have to do is copy their blueprint and replicate it here, tweak it till we get it right.

The administration of Bola Tinubu has not prioritized power supply. If they did Nigerians would have seen results.

Weeks after Bola Tinubu wa sworn in, he wanted a new Private Jet, less than 2 weeks after, the money manifested, the new Jet was bought and paid for and the old one put on sale.......That was an intentional act.

But issues like power supply, education of the girl child, a lot of out of school Nigerian children, maternal mortality,insecurities. Those are not addressed, When Nigerians voice their frustration, either his handlers gaslight us (its not that bad.) or we get the popular Buhari trope (All that was caused by the Buhari regime)
Very soon Tinubu supporters will call you obedient.
Re: Tinubu Should Put Wike In Charge Of Ministry Of Power. by Arutan: 5:11pm On Apr 22, 2025
Eteka1:

Tinubu Should save Nigeria by putting Wike in Charge of the power sector. It Appears that Wike knows how to get the job done, there's no argument about that.
Wike is the best we have seen in the country for now.
1 2 3 4 Reply

Atiku Visits Governor Wike In Rivers State (Photos)Donald Duke Commissions Flyover Bridge Built By Wike In Rivers StateIze-Iyamu Complained About Wike In Edo: What Is Governor Of Rivers Doing In Edo?234

Desmond Elliot Rejects Lagos APC Primary Result, Vows To Challenge ProcessThe Myth Of One North? By A Middle Belter. Explosive!Senate Approves N1.5 Billion For Ojukwu, Ex-briafran Soldiers