Stats: 3,328,959 members, 8,438,135 topics. Date: Friday, 03 July 2026 at 12:40 AM

Top 10 Poorest States In Nigeria - Politics (3) - Nairaland

Nairaland ForumNairaland GeneralPoliticsTop 10 Poorest States In Nigeria (41187 Views)

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Reply (Go Down)

Re: Top 10 Poorest States In Nigeria by Heavensake1: 9:48am On May 04, 2025
immortalcrown:
Keep denying the obvious reality. Ebonyi State is poor.
Poor,doesn't mean it should be among the poorest. Ekiti, not on the list, doesn't mean it is not poor. It only means it is not on the pooreat list.😎
Re: Top 10 Poorest States In Nigeria by Odetokun3(m): 9:48am On May 04, 2025
tolu4you:
Oga ooo
That number 6 has one of the highest number of Rolls Royce in Nigeria.
Re: Top 10 Poorest States In Nigeria by zeyt: 9:49am On May 04, 2025
This his blatant fabrication based of personal opinion. Most of those states are not as poor as portrayed. This totally unfair. Just because the people are not in the formal sector you have no good reason to call them poorest states. Most people in those states have very high income than average southerner. Most people are traders, businessmen and farmers but not working in the formal sector that why they are always counted out. The only problem with most of these states are insecurity. What infrastructure is missing in those states's urban areas. Most of those states are making giant stride in human capital development and state of art education system.
Re: Top 10 Poorest States In Nigeria by Ijoba85: 9:50am On May 04, 2025
If I were a leader , none of my followers would be subjected to hardship . it is never a rocket science to free people from hardship, I don't understand how our leaders think
Re: Top 10 Poorest States In Nigeria by Natbrowny: 9:50am On May 04, 2025
Thats a 9/10 pass mark

Thats an A grade.
Re: Top 10 Poorest States In Nigeria by Pickieox(m): 9:50am On May 04, 2025
mu2sa2:
The problem is how to identify those who are truly poor. There are people in Nigeria who are classified as poor, that is, living on less than a dollar daily. But some of these people may have much more money at their disposal. Ordinarily you'd classify beggars as poor, but believe me many of them aren't poor at all, they're just preying on other people's generosity. A man recently narrated how he'd been giving a certain beggar 2k on Fridays, but later discovered that the beggar owns three keke that he's hiring out. The method they are using in assessing the poverty level is misleading and wrong.
This popular quote comes to mind, some people are poor, all they have is money.
Re: Top 10 Poorest States In Nigeria by Image123(m): 9:51am On May 04, 2025
immortalcrown:
Ebonyi is actually poor. But I have two questions.

What percentage of poverty alleviation funds or programmes by the federal government gets to Ebonyi State?

What is the Common Entrance Examination cut-off mark for Ebonyi State?

Do the comparisons if you still doubt the glaring tribalism and marginalisation that the East faces in Nigeria.

Meanwhile, those who use Monday sit-at-home order to mock the East are disappointed here as Enugu, Anambra, Abia and Imo are not on the list. They even published that the sit-at-home order has crippled the economy of the East.

Be realistic. Ebonyi is a very young State. Ebonyi, Enugu and Anambra were together as one State. During that period, development was focused more on Enugu as the state capital. This also explains why Enugu is more developed than Anambra despite the fact that Anambra has richer people. Anambra was later carved out. Enugu and Ebonyi remained together as one State for some years before Ebonyi was carved out.
What kind of mindset is this, please drop this victim mentality. You have 9 Northern states in that list of 10. Northerners are not going to come and blame anyone, except politics. The list could easily contain states like Ekiti and Osun and nobody will bate an eyelid. Try to live free from victimhood.
Re: Top 10 Poorest States In Nigeria by penearth(m): 9:52am On May 04, 2025
So Imo is now rich. The last time I checked, these state mentioned here have d higher GDP than imo. So, what's ur statistics or analysisof measure
Re: Top 10 Poorest States In Nigeria by Pickieox(m): 9:53am On May 04, 2025
bergs2:
Somehow, some poor people in unmentioned states will be licking their tongues and be smiling quietly while muttering, "atleast am richer than some people"
You don sabi your people, typical Nigerians with the quest to get rich at all cost in order to pepper others😂😂😂
Re: Top 10 Poorest States In Nigeria by Aether(m): 9:54am On May 04, 2025
A whole 'seat of the caliphate'?

The poorest?
What is he teaching his subjects?
That place should be a paradise realistically speaking.

Where's the love, productivity, advancement and improvement that are fostered by peace?
Re: Top 10 Poorest States In Nigeria by amaridigital(m): 9:55am On May 04, 2025
oluwaseunamos33:
What of kogi?
Maybe in number 12
Re: Top 10 Poorest States In Nigeria by Larrydollarz(m): 9:57am On May 04, 2025
Let's just say the north is poor shikena!🤷🏼‍♂️
Re: Top 10 Poorest States In Nigeria by immortalcrown(m): 9:58am On May 04, 2025
Image123:
What kind of mindset is this, please drop this victim mentality. You have 9 Northern states in that list of 10. Northerners are not going to come and blame anyone, except politics. The list could easily contain states like Ekiti and Osun and nobody will bate an eyelid. Try to live free from victimhood.
You are just a hater of truth. Ebonyi is poor and being denied what other poor States get from the federal government. Counter my claim or admit your hatred for the truth.
Re: Top 10 Poorest States In Nigeria by Agugbadin: 10:01am On May 04, 2025
malali:
Please re-caption these caption.

These states are not poor, the wealth is held by a few people.
In Taraba state theophilus Danjuma is worth over 2 billion dollars,
In Sokoto state Ahmed Dasuki is worth over 1 billion dollars.
In Adamawa state Atiku and Indimi are worth atleast 8 billion dollars
In Ebonyi we have High Chief Ifeanyi Odii
In Zamfara Gen. Aliyu Gusau has over a billion dollars
In Kebbi Shehu Malami is worth a billion dollars

The wealth is concentrated by a few people. Its the governments responsibility to enforce that the wealth is spread.Since Lagos has a high GDP.The government should set up cooperatives boards in these places. Buy animals from local families, goats and cows, chickens and then arrange for them to be transported to Lagos.

These will help the small mom and pop families that raise animals as a means of livelihood. The bourgeoisie in these states do not care about the indigents, they are using their wealth to enslave them and guarantee servitude.

Nigerian government have not yet figured out how to get money to the grassroots. The wealth of a whole state is sometimes hijacked by 2-3 people in that whole state. The governor, his Godfather and a few other power-brokers.
You made a valid point so I agree with you absolutely.
Re: Top 10 Poorest States In Nigeria by iLoveYouToo(m): 10:04am On May 04, 2025
immortalcrown:

What percentage of poverty alleviation funds or programmes by the federal government gets to Ebonyi State?

Do the comparisons if you still doubt the glaring tribalism and marginalisation that the East faces in Nigeria.

Meanwhile, those who use Monday sit-at-home order to mock the East are disappointed here as Enugu, Anambra, Abia and Imo are not on the list. They even published that the sit-at-home order has crippled the economy of the East.

Be realistic. Ebonyi is a very young State. Ebonyi, Enugu and Anambra were together as one State. During that period, development was focused more on Enugu as the state capital. This also explains why Enugu is more developed than Anambra despite the fact that Anambra has richer people. Anambra was later carved out. Enugu and Ebonyi remained together as one State for some years before Ebonyi was carved out.
I don't really believe these reports but it's interesting to read. Almost 80% poverty rate in Ebonyi? 🤔
Re: Top 10 Poorest States In Nigeria by jrobbins: 10:04am On May 04, 2025
oluwaseunamos33:
What of kogi?
Kogi is not poor o
Re: Top 10 Poorest States In Nigeria by NotProphet: 10:05am On May 04, 2025
Ofemannnu:
SW has been the richest region in Nigeria even without Lagos.It has been so since the inception of Nigeria.
We should take another look at regionalism,biko.
How is SW the richest region?
Re: Top 10 Poorest States In Nigeria by malali: 10:07am On May 04, 2025
Ruke1990:
Release the list of top 10 under performing governors instead because brainless governors made these people or states poor.

Let's highlight the underperformers for people to be educated about what their problems really are rather than pitch one tribe against another or one state against another. We can have:

List of top 10 most corrupt governors
List of top 50 under performing lawmakers
List of top 10 misfits amongst the ministers
List of senators who proposed zero bills in 4 years
List of 50 most under performing government agencies
Very good idea.
Re: Top 10 Poorest States In Nigeria by immortalcrown(m): 10:07am On May 04, 2025
iLoveYouToo:
I don't really believe these reports but it's interesting to read. Almost 80% poverty rate in Ebonyi? 🤔
Ebonyi is poor. It is the reason I occasionally questioned why the airport project was hyped. Airport is not among the most pressing needs of the State.
Re: Top 10 Poorest States In Nigeria by blingxx(m): 10:07am On May 04, 2025
Ikaeniyan0:
It's a lie, Ebonyi is filled with billionaires
🤡🤡🤡🤡🤡
Re: Top 10 Poorest States In Nigeria by mrkings84(m): 10:08am On May 04, 2025
Now the north leads in everything.

They are born to rule.
They are burn to be poor.
Re: Top 10 Poorest States In Nigeria by oluwaseunamos33(m): 10:09am On May 04, 2025
jrobbins:
Kogi is not poor o
lol. After yahaya Bello(barao) packed all their money abroad to pay school fees in advance
Re: Top 10 Poorest States In Nigeria by ogbenimax007: 10:13am On May 04, 2025
Ebonyi ke iro oooo
Re: Top 10 Poorest States In Nigeria by iLoveYouToo(m): 10:13am On May 04, 2025
immortalcrown:
Ebonyi is poor. It is the reason I occasionally questioned why the airport project was hyped. Airport is not among the most pressing needs of the State.
Agreed, but people need to move. There's huge potential in mechanized agriculture, including livestock.

Salaries must be paid while other sectors like public infrastructure, health and education must be maintained but they need the governor to focus at least 50% of their resources on building one sector (agric hopefully). We just might see real growth come up.

The central government needs to be serious about security, the seems to be a recurring problem for the past 8-12 years
Re: Top 10 Poorest States In Nigeria by Amah70: 10:14am On May 04, 2025
immortalcrown:

Be realistic. Ebonyi is a very young State. Ebonyi[b], Enugu and Anambra were together as one State. During that period, development was focused more on Enugu as the state capital. This also explains why Enugu is more developed than Anambra despite the fact that Anambra has richer people. Anambra was later carved out. Enugu and Ebonyi remained together as one State for some years before Ebonyi was carved out.[/b]
Poverty in Ebonyi is like in the Imo/Anambra area of Njaba/Orlu/Anim state proposal that was not created.
Concentration on devt of Enugu as capital city left present Ebonyi area impoverished.
Concentration on devt of Owerri as capital city left the Orlu area impoverished.
Re: Top 10 Poorest States In Nigeria by Ceemanny(m): 10:17am On May 04, 2025
WBman:
religion is the one factor taking d north downwards. They practise religion that is against progress and civilization
I won’t accept that I’m a Christian tho. we have many Arab countries there doing very fine better than Nigeria 10tines even in Africa Morocco Egypt are Arab countries but they’re doing very fine. Just that this northerners brain Dey their leg
Re: Top 10 Poorest States In Nigeria by aswani(m): 10:18am On May 04, 2025
AmazingGenius:
[b]Most of the poorest states are concentrated in the northern region.

Source: https://www.pulse.ng/articles/lifestyle/poorest-state-in-nigeria-2025050209332442160
Tax Reforms now please!
Re: Top 10 Poorest States In Nigeria by jamafa: 10:19am On May 04, 2025
ucheemmadu18:
Where is Ekiti?
EKiti is not poor as U think
Re: Top 10 Poorest States In Nigeria by DMerciful(m): 10:20am On May 04, 2025
APC is the party ruling Ebonyi and the Umahi you guys love to praise couldn't do what Peter Obi did for Anambra
immortalcrown:

Re: Top 10 Poorest States In Nigeria by Whiteshield: 10:21am On May 04, 2025
Cruzmaster:
Ebonyi keep painting us black
Look at how an Igbo is referring to another Igbo. But you want Anioma to join you.
Re: Top 10 Poorest States In Nigeria by temitope27(m): 10:22am On May 04, 2025
ucheemmadu18:
Where is Ekiti?
Ekiti may not be that develop in terms of infrastructure, but I can tell you over 80% of Ekiti population are not poor, likewise ondo state
Re: Top 10 Poorest States In Nigeria by Whiteshield: 10:22am On May 04, 2025
immortalcrown:
Bla bla bla.
Ebonyi was formed the same day with Ekiti and Bayelsa.
Yet, it is on this list.
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Reply

Top 10 Poorest States In Nigeria (2021 Updated)Sokoto Poorest State In Nigeria - NBS (Full Statistics)Top 10 Poorest States In Nigeria By GDP (2020)234

Pictures Of Obasanjo's Surprise Visit To Aso RockNNPC Subsidiary NPDC Benin Head Office Construction (photos)Senate Approves Establishment Of Nigerian Peace Corps