My Experience When I Went To Check My HIV Status - Health - Nairaland
Nairaland Forum › Nairaland General › Health › My Experience When I Went To Check My HIV Status (30156 Views)
| My Experience When I Went To Check My HIV Status by Intent247(op): 1:28pm On Jul 14, 2025 |
So I met this new girl and all our conversation she has been more emphatic about knowing my health status. I told her I am okay that we always conduct periodic test in my office every year and that they don't give us the results. So we had a near sex experience that didn't last for 1 minutes cos she was scared. The following day she brought up the topic of my health status again and that since our near sex experience she has been restless. Omoh at that point I even became scare myself. As a sexually active man that has gone into the legs of many ladies . Some with condoms and others without I was visibly scare . The last time I checked my status was in 2020. The last time I had raw sex was October last year with my ex. Sex with condom was Feburary this year. I became restless. Had to go out immediately to conduct a test even though it was Saturday. I asked how long ye test will be ready and was told a minimum of 30 minutes . Omoh I was relieved cos if I was told to come on Monday I don't think I would have survived the anxiety. Well I did the test and it came out Negative . Also did Syphilis, Hepatitis. I will submit sample for my urine culture test tomorrow morning. This one money fear me shaa. Just checking for any hidden infection. I am so relieved and will be careful going forward
| Re: My Experience When I Went To Check My HIV Status by muyico(m): 1:35pm On Jul 14, 2025 |
I need to check my HIV status |
| Re: My Experience When I Went To Check My HIV Status by captainking(m): 1:57pm On Jul 14, 2025 |
Intent247:You can buy hiv/hep test kit and do yourself at home...its quite cheap...congrats on your hep b negative status, now go and get vaccinated !! |
| Re: My Experience When I Went To Check My HIV Status by Intent247(op): 2:00pm On Jul 14, 2025 |
captainking:What kind of vaccination please ?. And how often will I do that . For the test kit , can it be ordered online from Jumia or temu.? |
| Re: My Experience When I Went To Check My HIV Status by Intent247(op): 2:01pm On Jul 14, 2025 |
| Re: My Experience When I Went To Check My HIV Status by captainking(m): 2:04pm On Jul 14, 2025 |
Intent247:walk down to any standard pharmacy and ask hiv test kit,, easy to do..its same kit used by hospitals...i buy mine for 2500...the one that checks hiv and hep b and c is like 5k or so... The hep b vaccine is taken 3 times on different occasions from any hospital or health centre and its cheap,..less than 3k per shot |
| Re: My Experience When I Went To Check My HIV Status by Koppaguard(m): 6:10pm On Jul 14, 2025 |
captainking:So they have decided to use human beings as guinea pigs just to keep enriching themselves, produce a virus, make it a global issue, then produce vaccines to manage it at a cost. I pray we don't spoil this world one day. |
| Re: My Experience When I Went To Check My HIV Status by KingDashx(m): 7:03pm On Jul 14, 2025 |
Intent247:them don remove wetin dey kill for HIV HIV no dey kill again, na WHO talk am. Don't be scared bro. |
| Re: My Experience When I Went To Check My HIV Status by Intent247(op): 7:38pm On Jul 14, 2025 |
KingDashx:They play. Until you get am, your mind no go touch ground |
| Re: My Experience When I Went To Check My HIV Status by Nobody: 8:04pm On Jul 14, 2025 |
You are lucky your test result lasted just 30 minutes. I did mine some time ago and was waiting for my result only for the werey in charge of the result to leave her office for a home emergency without prior notice. You can imagine how long I was in a self imposed anxiety. Another experience. We did the test in school after admission and results were scattered in the floor. If you did not see yours, the nurse would call you inside her office for the bad news. I looked for mine for over 10 minutes and she was already beckoning on me to follow her not knowing my friend picked mine up and instead of letting me know, he was busy talking with someone. I died on my way to her office with tears rolling down my cheek because this was when HIV was like death sentence. She gave me one of the best news I've ever received in this life. 'Iheanyi, go back and look for your result again, your name is not in the list I have here.' |
| Re: My Experience When I Went To Check My HIV Status by stanvesco(m): 9:46pm On Jul 14, 2025 |
Intent247:.you know if you think you have risky sex you should plan on taking prep HIV medication. It prevents you from contracting HIV! If you need more information mention me |
| Re: My Experience When I Went To Check My HIV Status by derico(m): 4:24am On Jul 15, 2025 |
Anytime you do the test and hear negative, you'll always swear that you will never have unprotected sex again. Your dikk now has higher value. That's how I do see myself. I become selective with the kind of ladies I mingle with. |
| Re: My Experience When I Went To Check My HIV Status by derico(m): 4:31am On Jul 15, 2025 |
stanvesco:Have you heard of False Negative? I think medical practitioners do give false Negative, if your viral load is really low. That's also what PrEP does. The virus might be there, but not significant enough to cause panic. So instead of spreading fear, they manage it. ...and advice you to be more careful with your life. |
| Re: My Experience When I Went To Check My HIV Status by AntichristXXX: 6:17am On Jul 15, 2025 |
Nonexisting1:Why you dey fear sef? You do anything wey fit make you get HIV? 🤣🤣🤣 |
| Re: My Experience When I Went To Check My HIV Status by Samueltemi337(m): 7:48am On Jul 15, 2025 |
Intent247:And have you seen the girl's test results? Or you will still dive in raw without seeing hers when she demanded for yours |
| Re: My Experience When I Went To Check My HIV Status by OKOATA(m): 10:08am On Jul 15, 2025 |
Sometimes going to school doesn't mean you are educated. You are afraid of HIV whereas it's written everywhere for you to see that HIV symptoms begins to show within 2-6 weeks. Soar throat, fever, etc. Are you showing signs of any of that? If not then what are you startled about? Don't make people think your education was a waste. |
| Re: My Experience When I Went To Check My HIV Status by Oluwatobiloba07(m): 11:14am On Jul 15, 2025 |
More information please stanvesco: |
| Re: My Experience When I Went To Check My HIV Status by jmoore(m): 11:30am On Jul 15, 2025 |
Thank God I am still a virgin. I don't understand how you guys feel so secured to allow someone you are not married to have access to your private part and be drilling up and down. |
| Re: My Experience When I Went To Check My HIV Status by Intent247(op): 11:45am On Jul 15, 2025 |
Nonexisting1:Bro I perfectly understand what you went through. I am happy I am negative. Omoh I gat be very careful going forward |
| Re: My Experience When I Went To Check My HIV Status by Intent247(op): 11:46am On Jul 15, 2025 |
stanvesco:Omoh please give us the information. Even sex with condom is risky |
| Re: My Experience When I Went To Check My HIV Status by Intent247(op): 11:49am On Jul 15, 2025 |
Samueltemi337:Yea. She sent it to me. Negative |
| Re: My Experience When I Went To Check My HIV Status by obinnazy(m): 1:08pm On Jul 15, 2025 |
captainking:I saw the kits but I didn't know it was cheap, I did Hiv test last 2weeks, waited for over 30mins for the results which later came out Negative.... I'm relieved, as a guy, don't live a reckless life. |
| Re: My Experience When I Went To Check My HIV Status by obinnazy(m): 1:11pm On Jul 15, 2025 |
derico: |
| Re: My Experience When I Went To Check My HIV Status by captainking(m): 2:11pm On Jul 15, 2025 |
obinnazy:The test is normally in like 15 mins but in 5 mins you should know your result .. |
| Re: My Experience When I Went To Check My HIV Status by Holluwhakemmy(f): 2:22pm On Jul 15, 2025 |
I have done the Hiv test 3times. I need to do my genotype too, I don't know how much it will cost. |
| Re: My Experience When I Went To Check My HIV Status by Vintage9999: 5:33pm On Jul 15, 2025 |
captainking:how much are the test kits |
| Re: My Experience When I Went To Check My HIV Status by stanvesco(m): 8:10pm On Jul 15, 2025 |
Intent247:Prep is a retroviral drug that is taken to prevent HIV. It's for negative people who are have a high risk of contracting HIV e.g multiple sexual partners, those who have partners who have multiple sex partners, those who patronize people who may have high sex partners. The PrEP drugs can sometimes be gotten for free from hospitals. |
| Re: My Experience When I Went To Check My HIV Status by stanvesco(m): 8:17pm On Jul 15, 2025 |
derico:Thanks for the advice and the tip. Actually,I am a medical doctor and a public health expert. PrEP is pre exposure prophylaxis which is a combination of drugs that's used to protect a negative person from contracting HIV from a positive person. Its quite efficient when combined with condom! Before we administer prep drugs,we test the person and ensure he or she is negative. We also check for signs of acute HIV infection, we also screen the client with a risk assessment tool to ensure the client haven't had a high risk sex very recently. It's slightly different from PEP post exposure drugs that prevent HIV infection in a person who might have being acutely exposed to HIV |
| Re: My Experience When I Went To Check My HIV Status by stanvesco(m): 8:19pm On Jul 15, 2025 |
OKOATA:You can still make your point with much love! We can all soar to the sky without causing sore on others please. Kudos to you. Winks! |
| Re: My Experience When I Went To Check My HIV Status by Mindlog: 5:54pm On Jul 20, 2025 |
I did mine during my undergraduate level as it was a requirement for the course: HIV/AIDS Counselling . Each student must go for test at the clinic/hospital and the result wasn't the focus but to codedly understudy their pre-test and post test counselling methods, it was traumatic! |
| Re: My Experience When I Went To Check My HIV Status by ebubeson: 5:56pm On Jul 20, 2025 |
Avoid sexual immorality. That fresh-looking person with fine shape, broad chest, fine skin e.t.c may be infected with a sexual disease. |
My Girlfriend After Checking Her HIV Status Told Me This • My HIV Test Result - The Shock Of My Life • Sex With Prostitute: My HIV/AIDS Test And Result Experience • 2 • 3 • 4
Share Your Experience(s) With Nigerian Nurses • 2 Co-Wives Hospitalised In FCT After Taking Herb To Arouse Husband (Pic) • 3 Reasons Why You Should Drink More Water During Meals