Stats: 3,326,997 members, 8,428,959 topics. Date: Thursday, 18 June 2026 at 09:22 AM

Wike To Oshiomhole, Okpebholo: Stop Any Planned Probe Of Godwin Obaseki - Politics - Nairaland

Nairaland ForumNairaland GeneralPoliticsWike To Oshiomhole, Okpebholo: Stop Any Planned Probe Of Godwin Obaseki (16263 Views)

1 2 Reply (Go Down)

Wike To Oshiomhole, Okpebholo: Stop Any Planned Probe Of Godwin Obaseki by Lifestylecom(op): 6:31pm On Jul 14, 2025

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s532VjMX1No

Minister of the Federal Capital Territory, Nyesom Wike, has advised Edo State Governor, Senator Monday Okpebholo, against launching any probe into the administration of his predecessor, Godwin Obaseki, urging him instead to prioritize the development of the state.

Wike gave the advice during his visit to Benin City, as captured in a statement issued on Monday by his spokesperson, Mr. Lere Olayinka.

While acknowledging his own personal grievances with Obaseki, the former Rivers State Governor said probing the past would yield little benefit and distract the new administration from delivering meaningful governance to the people of Edo.

“If there is someone who would have encouraged Okpebholo to probe and prosecute Obaseki, that person should be me,” Wike admitted.

Re: Wike To Oshiomhole, Okpebholo: Stop Any Planned Probe Of Godwin Obaseki by LagosOrigin: 7:28pm On Jul 14, 2025
So this is how Wike wants to fight corruption if he becomes president ?
Re: Wike To Oshiomhole, Okpebholo: Stop Any Planned Probe Of Godwin Obaseki by bolaayenimo: 7:31pm On Jul 14, 2025
Aproko. Wetin be ya business for Edo matterhuhhuhhuhhuhhuh?
Re: Wike To Oshiomhole, Okpebholo: Stop Any Planned Probe Of Godwin Obaseki by OneCandleAway(f): 7:32pm On Jul 14, 2025
bolaayenimo:
Aproko. Wetin be ya business for Edo matterhuhhuhhuhhuhhuh?
He thinks he's the Lord of the south south
Re: Wike To Oshiomhole, Okpebholo: Stop Any Planned Probe Of Godwin Obaseki by samwash(m): 9:15pm On Jul 14, 2025
If Obaseki is been probe, maybe it will Rob on Wike, remember Wike was very instrumental in the bid to Obaseki second term election.
Brown envelope don pass hand.
Obaseki really settle PDP caucus before decamping, that was what gave him the edge to brake PDP structure and infiltrate it with his own loyal candidates.
Re: Wike To Oshiomhole, Okpebholo: Stop Any Planned Probe Of Godwin Obaseki by Dalohad: 10:56pm On Jul 14, 2025
If Wike doesn't want Obaseki it means he wants to hide something.

Obaseki use to be his ally, and they did a lot of shady deals in G5. We know. grin

Do not be deceived,Wike is trying to save his own neck here. grin
Re: Wike To Oshiomhole, Okpebholo: Stop Any Planned Probe Of Godwin Obaseki by WebsiteMaster(m): 5:58am On Jul 15, 2025

While acknowledging his own personal grievances with Obaseki, the former Rivers State Governor said probing the past would yield little benefit and distract the new administration from delivering meaningful governance to the people of Edo.
Re: Wike To Oshiomhole, Okpebholo: Stop Any Planned Probe Of Godwin Obaseki by BlackPantherxXx: 6:01am On Jul 15, 2025
This is why Africa, Nigeria especially lags behind.

Don't understand the blanket immunity/ respect for predecessors.

That's how Saraki was "forgiven" by current Kwara Governor, AA Abdulrazaq and Buhari wasn't probed by Tinubu despite his cabinet looting trillions except CBN Governor that Tinubu had a personal issue with. Even Buhari didn't probe GEJ just some select members of his cabinet.

They don't probe previous administrations because of their own intentions to steal.
Re: Wike To Oshiomhole, Okpebholo: Stop Any Planned Probe Of Godwin Obaseki by Pk01(m): 6:02am On Jul 15, 2025
LagosOrigin:
yes .we are happy with wike form of politics .. yeah ..we love love wike ,wike na man you be
Re: Wike To Oshiomhole, Okpebholo: Stop Any Planned Probe Of Godwin Obaseki by kennisman(m): 6:05am On Jul 15, 2025
Dalohad:

Obaseki use to be his ally, and they did a lot of shady deals in G5. We know. grin

Was Obaseki part of the called G5 for God's sake pls?
Re: Wike To Oshiomhole, Okpebholo: Stop Any Planned Probe Of Godwin Obaseki by Omalicious1: 6:15am On Jul 15, 2025
Lifestylecom:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s532VjMX1No

Minister of the Federal Capital Territory, Nyesom Wike, has advised Edo State Governor, Senator Monday Okpebholo, against launching any probe into the administration of his predecessor, Godwin Obaseki, urging him instead to prioritize the development of the state.

Wike gave the advice during his visit to Benin City, as captured in a statement issued on Monday by his spokesperson, Mr. Lere Olayinka.

“If there is someone who would have encouraged Okpebholo to probe and prosecute Obaseki, that person should be me,” Wike admitted.
The man that speaks from both sides of the mouth...I think he deserves an award.
Re: Wike To Oshiomhole, Okpebholo: Stop Any Planned Probe Of Godwin Obaseki by jamafa: 6:16am On Jul 15, 2025
Dalohad:

Obasenki isn't part of G-5 brother.

Say another thing abeg 🤣
Re: Wike To Oshiomhole, Okpebholo: Stop Any Planned Probe Of Godwin Obaseki by Moferere: 6:23am On Jul 15, 2025
Seriously, obaseki deserved to be probed. If not for anything, for the way he handled salary payments. Civil servants died out of non payment of salaries
Re: Wike To Oshiomhole, Okpebholo: Stop Any Planned Probe Of Godwin Obaseki by almarthins(m): 6:47am On Jul 15, 2025
LagosOrigin:
Wike understands that it is a case of thief probing thief. Oshomole na Saint, the current bolo na holy man?

Because obaseki no gree bow na why them wan probe am not because he stole more than them all.

The current governor would be remembered for being as worst as lucky igbenedion. Honestly, I never see wetin the guy dey do. Abi u get any thing wey u see say him do right now?
Re: Wike To Oshiomhole, Okpebholo: Stop Any Planned Probe Of Godwin Obaseki by IBB007(m): 6:51am On Jul 15, 2025
lol…but this same Wike administration probed Amaechi…the moment you realise that these guys are friends…that’s when you’ll finally get sense
Re: Wike To Oshiomhole, Okpebholo: Stop Any Planned Probe Of Godwin Obaseki by Starships4u(m): 6:59am On Jul 15, 2025
I hope the title doesn't reflect the post in its actual sense and meaning?

I sense rats and smelly fishes in this careless and unsolicited advice....

Baba fears his name would be all over the corruption ridden OBASEKI REGIME....
Re: Wike To Oshiomhole, Okpebholo: Stop Any Planned Probe Of Godwin Obaseki by Otunskii: 7:01am On Jul 15, 2025
You want to dictate how a sitting governor should run his government in a state that's not yours. Wike is already scared of how his name will come up during the probe exercise as regards to how he collected billions from Obaseki for PDP ticket they gave him to run the Gubernatorial race for a second term.
Re: Wike To Oshiomhole, Okpebholo: Stop Any Planned Probe Of Godwin Obaseki by ezra1990: 7:02am On Jul 15, 2025
Your last sentence summarised it all
..these men are evil...they're intentionally dragging us backwards for their selfish interests...amassing wealth that they cannot finish in centuries to come...no wonder most civilised countries are many years ahead of us...see as them don turn france and London to their deathbed...how i wish there will be a worldwide chaos that will require everyone to return to their country/root...for a long period of time
BlackPantherxXx:

That's how Saraki was "forgiven" by current Kwara Governor, AA Abdulrazaq and Buhari wasn't probed by Tinubu despite his cabinet looting trillions except CBN Governor that Tinubu had a personal issue with. Even Buhari didn't probe GEJ just some select members of his cabinet.

They don't probe previous administrations because of their own intentions to steal.
Re: Wike To Oshiomhole, Okpebholo: Stop Any Planned Probe Of Godwin Obaseki by Atheistan: 7:08am On Jul 15, 2025
Tinubu's mouth piece has spoken so better listen or you face Rivers judgement.
Re: Wike To Oshiomhole, Okpebholo: Stop Any Planned Probe Of Godwin Obaseki by Misterone: 7:09am On Jul 15, 2025
BlackPantherxXx:

You guys think it's easy to probe an ex governor! You think it's easy to prove corruption! You cannot do that through government spendings because the law gives power to the governors to spend money. What has come of the El Rufai's probe where he was accused of siphoning billions? Nothing. The only way you can convict a governor is to prove that his assets after office was gotten by corrupt mean during office.
Re: Wike To Oshiomhole, Okpebholo: Stop Any Planned Probe Of Godwin Obaseki by TheStranger: 7:26am On Jul 15, 2025
But you probed Chibuike Rotimi Amaechi tenure.

E
Re: Wike To Oshiomhole, Okpebholo: Stop Any Planned Probe Of Godwin Obaseki by Dididrumz(m): 7:26am On Jul 15, 2025
Just imagine the nonsense.

So how do we hold these office holders accountable?
Re: Wike To Oshiomhole, Okpebholo: Stop Any Planned Probe Of Godwin Obaseki by TheStranger: 7:29am On Jul 15, 2025
Dalohad:

Obaseki betrayed Wike, he signed the pact to support a Southern presidential candidate but aligned himself to Atiku.
Re: Wike To Oshiomhole, Okpebholo: Stop Any Planned Probe Of Godwin Obaseki by Tareq1105: 7:33am On Jul 15, 2025
Moferere:
Seriously, obaseki deserved to be probed. If not for anything, for the way he handled salary payments. Civil servants died out of non payment of salaries
I thought you guys said obaseki was paying higher salaries than federal government.
1 2 Reply

Video Of Godwin Emefiele In DSS Custody, Being Flown To AbujaVideo Of Godwin Emefiele's House In Abuja Shared By Sahara ReportersObaseki: I Will Show No Mercy To Oshiomhole234

Evidence Of Buhari Been A Religious Fanatic (PHOTO)Buhari To Visit Benue, Taraba, Zamfara And Rivers — Four ‘Troubled’ StatesPresident Buhari Will Address Gap Between Rich And Poor – Aisha Buhari