Stats: 3,327,064 members, 8,429,203 topics. Date: Thursday, 18 June 2026 at 02:59 PM

Inside Lagos’ Yahoo Joint: The New Face Of Internet Fraud In Surulere & Lekki - Crime (2) - Nairaland

Nairaland ForumNairaland GeneralCrimeInside Lagos’ Yahoo Joint: The New Face Of Internet Fraud In Surulere & Lekki (31967 Views)

1 2 3 4 Reply (Go Down)

Re: Inside Lagos’ Yahoo Joint: The New Face Of Internet Fraud In Surulere & Lekki by motymop: 12:55pm On Aug 21, 2025
Babalegba:
Lol, cursed money will never do anything good and long lasting.
that is not true... many jews steal money from people and live a good life except when they are caught.

your politician steal from you and live a good life.

there is nothing like cursed money just good and bad people

to be sincere with you, the concept of the end justify the means when it comes to money is how the world works

many bank steal from people, did those bank collaspe??
Re: Inside Lagos’ Yahoo Joint: The New Face Of Internet Fraud In Surulere & Lekki by SGgammer: 12:56pm On Aug 21, 2025
So pathetic

But here we are.. joblessness everywhere
Re: Inside Lagos’ Yahoo Joint: The New Face Of Internet Fraud In Surulere & Lekki by ufotunang: 1:00pm On Aug 21, 2025
blingxx:
Bro yahoo cant be abolished they can only pick up the naive and unintelligent ones do you think it is only Nigerian that are into this things ? Even first world countries like china can’t get rid of it
.. even if it cannot be abolished but yahoo yahoo can be reduced to a certain limit if government implement what I listed above
Re: Inside Lagos’ Yahoo Joint: The New Face Of Internet Fraud In Surulere & Lekki by LadyMag: 1:01pm On Aug 21, 2025
Czarugo007:
I thought it is only in southeastern part of the country
That's a funny statement to make. In which hole do you live? When was it ever not known that Yahoo has spread throughout the country and not just within tribes? Who doesn't know about the HKs in the West, South, East, and North? Bold of people to quickly point a finger of blame at a particular demographic rather than address the matter at hand.

This issue is becoming a norm in society, and it gives a bad name to our people, whether they're Yorubas, Igbos, or Hausas. Still doesn't change the fact that they are our people.

On the bright side, I see platforms every day that are trying to tackle this issue we Nigerians and Africans face in wealth generation, and I'm sure if people know about these types of applications, they can generate wealth legally rather than having to Fraud or scam people. The Circo App is one of them
Re: Inside Lagos’ Yahoo Joint: The New Face Of Internet Fraud In Surulere & Lekki by Mistersolar: 1:02pm On Aug 21, 2025
av you check there debt..USA is fighting for dollar to always be world currency, anyday e burst wahala go dey
PulaPower:
If your point is true, then how come USA and Uk etc were able to developed and do good for themselves? You know how many curse money they harnessed all around the world and still harnessing?
Re: Inside Lagos’ Yahoo Joint: The New Face Of Internet Fraud In Surulere & Lekki by Adesina18111(m): 1:03pm On Aug 21, 2025
Cho cho cho... U just dey cast boys anyhow undecided lipsrsealed embarassed
Re: Inside Lagos’ Yahoo Joint: The New Face Of Internet Fraud In Surulere & Lekki by ScamDemicEra: 1:03pm On Aug 21, 2025
Babalegba:
.... it's all in the mind !!!!

is Tinubu, Obasanjo, Fayose, Ibori, Emefiele, Buhari, Babangida's money cursed money ?
Re: Inside Lagos’ Yahoo Joint: The New Face Of Internet Fraud In Surulere & Lekki by motymop: 1:04pm On Aug 21, 2025
ufotunang:

There are things the government can do...
The solution is for the government to address and tackle the bad economy, poverty, hunger, hardship, inflation, high costs of living, high rate of unemployment... For high rate of unemployment for they say an idle mind is the devil's workshop.. because when the youths are not engaged they will go into negative or illegal things and activities..an hungry man is an angry man ..if this are addressed and tackled yahoo yahoo will reduce and stop gradually
people miss the point, it is not about tackling proverty

There are Nigerians in the US and UK still doing fraud... so are you going to say it is because of unemployment.

The issue is some nigerians are extremely ambitious and want the good life through fraud. they have lot of greed and are not ready to settle for less.
Re: Inside Lagos’ Yahoo Joint: The New Face Of Internet Fraud In Surulere & Lekki by thomas2024: 1:05pm On Aug 21, 2025
Babalegba:
Dey play, you should have said the same for politicians in Nigeria, lol
Re: Inside Lagos’ Yahoo Joint: The New Face Of Internet Fraud In Surulere & Lekki by Jakarta: 1:08pm On Aug 21, 2025
ufotunang:

There are things the government can do...
The solution is for the government to address and tackle the bad economy, poverty, hunger, hardship, inflation, high costs of living, high rate of unemployment... For high rate of unemployment for they say an idle mind is the devil's workshop.. because when the youths are not engaged they will go into negative or illegal things and activities..an hungry man is an angry man ..if this are addressed and tackled yahoo yahoo will reduce and stop gradually
Lol human wants can never be satisfied. There are bankers that are into this yahoo of a thing. Bro it has come to stay.
Re: Inside Lagos’ Yahoo Joint: The New Face Of Internet Fraud In Surulere & Lekki by elitper: 1:09pm On Aug 21, 2025
I still don't get how these guys manage to scam people. All the encounters I have had with themn show they are not so smart. Only the dumb and the greedy would fall for them. Only way they can steal from me is by going into my account and taking my money without my authorization, if that is possible.
Re: Inside Lagos’ Yahoo Joint: The New Face Of Internet Fraud In Surulere & Lekki by Addme: 1:10pm On Aug 21, 2025
oneMalik:
Bliv it or not , Yahoo is a game about to end .

Soon the society will be fully aware of the danger and fight it.

Don't forget this .
Bro, I doubt this.
The menace is over the bar now and it's just getting started.
Every street guys are now into it even young drop outs derive joy in being called a yahoo boy.
Parents even go spiritual for their children for better clients, so tell me, how's it going to end.
Re: Inside Lagos’ Yahoo Joint: The New Face Of Internet Fraud In Surulere & Lekki by omenka(m): 1:14pm On Aug 21, 2025
Jakarta:
Yahoo has come to stay, there is nothing the government or police can do about it. You arrest 10 today 100 will come tommorow. In my area, yahoo is is now regarded as a poorverty elevation program from above. It's unfortunate that most of them squander their money on drugs, clubbing, and other unesecassry frivolities.
"Their money"?

This is one of the phrases that gives them the notion they're doing what's right.
Re: Inside Lagos’ Yahoo Joint: The New Face Of Internet Fraud In Surulere & Lekki by Jakarta: 1:15pm On Aug 21, 2025
LordIsaac:
No, it has not come to stay. Nigeria will get better and the yahoo crime will always be nipped in the bud, just like kidnapping and other crimes.
And has kidnappings stopped. The thing is those yahoo boys are still at a very low level of internet fraud. They don't practice opsec, no tech skill how many Nigeria yahoo boys use deepfake, or even evilgnx, or run wallet drainers? Yahoo is still at the infant level the worst is yet to come.
Re: Inside Lagos’ Yahoo Joint: The New Face Of Internet Fraud In Surulere & Lekki by Gerrard59(m): 1:18pm On Aug 21, 2025
Unfortunately, nothing much can be done about it. Traditional and government officials have been apprehended for the same yahoo yahoo activities. It's a race to the bottom. When the elites and prominent people in the society engage in activities, whether good or bad, don't expect those activities to be curtailed.

The lure of easy and quick money is so strong.
Re: Inside Lagos’ Yahoo Joint: The New Face Of Internet Fraud In Surulere & Lekki by Jakarta: 1:19pm On Aug 21, 2025
omenka:
"Their money"?

This is one of the phrases that gives them the notion they're doing what's right.
Just dey play, na their money. They hustled for it. Do you think yahoo is easy? Convincing a full grown human to give you his money is not an easy job.
Re: Inside Lagos’ Yahoo Joint: The New Face Of Internet Fraud In Surulere & Lekki by Olat4421: 1:19pm On Aug 21, 2025
Babalegba:
lolz cursed money indeed if dat is d case uk 🇬🇧 supposed to be d most curse country in d world if u look at what Dey do to our forefathers and others countries during d colonial era,but guess what Dey are among top 3 best countries in d world, and what of our politicians
Re: Inside Lagos’ Yahoo Joint: The New Face Of Internet Fraud In Surulere & Lekki by Gerrard59(m): 1:20pm On Aug 21, 2025
motymop:
The government does not create jobs for its youth. What do you expect to happen?

The elite do not invest in education or opportunities; they only extract from the poor and give nothing back. Everyone in government, from politicians downwards, is stealing and these are the role models for many young people.

Musicians now glorify yahoo boys, with their entire industry partly funded by yahoo money. Pastors bless them openly. Parents even encourage their children to go into it.

Even startup founders aren’t exempt. Many were once yahoo boys, and now they sweet-talk investors with stories of “huge markets,” securing funds they partly use to fund a lifestyle.

Our society is deeply corrupt, even while pretending to be very religious. So it’s no surprise that yahoo has become an accepted way of life in Nigeria.
The summary.

The so-called "good culture" many Nigerians parrot is a farce. The religious folks are largely hypocritical as they don't practice what they preach.
Re: Inside Lagos’ Yahoo Joint: The New Face Of Internet Fraud In Surulere & Lekki by Jakarta: 1:22pm On Aug 21, 2025
Babalegba:
Thats a primitive man's belief. Our politicians are being cursed on daily basis, yet they are still living well.
Re: Inside Lagos’ Yahoo Joint: The New Face Of Internet Fraud In Surulere & Lekki by KingDashx(m): 1:30pm On Aug 21, 2025
Jakarta:
Yahoo has come to stay, there is nothing the government or police can do about it. You arrest 10 today 100 will come tommorow. In my area, yahoo is is now regarded as a poorverty elevation program from above. It's unfortunate that most of them squander their money on drugs, clubbing, and other unesecassry frivolities.
when you collect easy.. it goes out even more easily.
Re: Inside Lagos’ Yahoo Joint: The New Face Of Internet Fraud In Surulere & Lekki by Babalegba(m): 1:30pm On Aug 21, 2025
PulaPower:
If your point is true, then how come USA and Uk etc were able to developed and do good for themselves? You know how many curse money they harnessed all around the world and still harnessing?
The US and the UK did bad things but also did a lot of good things as well.600 thousand Americans died in the American civil war to eradicate slavery and Britain brought civilization to dark places at huge sacrificial cost.When you are defrauding people,you are only doing bad things and the victims would not wish you well.
Re: Inside Lagos’ Yahoo Joint: The New Face Of Internet Fraud In Surulere & Lekki by Antoeni(m): 1:33pm On Aug 21, 2025
What We Have Now is Yahoo Ritualist
Re: Inside Lagos’ Yahoo Joint: The New Face Of Internet Fraud In Surulere & Lekki by Babalegba(m): 1:37pm On Aug 21, 2025
Jakarta:
Thats a primitive man's belief. Our politicians are being cursed on daily basis, yet they are still living well.
Are you sure. Buhari worked like a dog to the very end of his life without rest instead of relaxing with his grand children but still achieved nothing tangible and was cursed by many upon his death. Tinubu is making the same mistake. Working ceaselessly to achieve nothing, only mirages .Everybody has eyes but not everybody really sees.
Re: Inside Lagos’ Yahoo Joint: The New Face Of Internet Fraud In Surulere & Lekki by Hhh4444: 1:43pm On Aug 21, 2025
Gerrard59:
The summary.

The so-called "good culture" many Nigerians parrot is a farce. The religious folks are largely hypocritical as they don't practice what they preach.
You have said it all.
Re: Inside Lagos’ Yahoo Joint: The New Face Of Internet Fraud In Surulere & Lekki by Babalegba(m): 1:43pm On Aug 21, 2025
Myrepublic:
Na lie. Even if you make money legally,if you go paying to stay in hotels, importing prostitutes,and doing drugs,Oga your money will go without investing it.
The problem of these fraudsters is that they don't invest, except for some wise few who today are employers of labor. Some are your leaders today allegedly.
You are actually making my point for me. When you make money legally, you will be highly unlikely to fritter it away on fast living, unscrupulous women and meaningless things but money made in an evil way would drag you to those things whether you like it or not.
Re: Inside Lagos’ Yahoo Joint: The New Face Of Internet Fraud In Surulere & Lekki by SouthSouth1914: 1:45pm On Aug 21, 2025
Czarugo007:
I thought it is only in southeastern part of the country
Lagos is the headquarters! Those real estate scattered everywhere is fraud money. Those highlife in Lagos, especially Lekki axis etc are all fraud.

Politicians, real estate l moguls, car stands, clubs, hotels etc are all proceed from fraud!
Re: Inside Lagos’ Yahoo Joint: The New Face Of Internet Fraud In Surulere & Lekki by theredaddy: 1:49pm On Aug 21, 2025
franchasng:
EFCC monitoring this thread like INEC monitoring the irev in 2023 to check who is winning and when to off the portal completely, ire oh shocked cheesy
Well if they are listening, Naa ogun go kee dem, how does getting rid of yahoo boy solve our national problem which is corruption

one politician will pocket constitutency allowance living people lives in mess ... Efcc turn blind eye But they are carrying armour tank n fighter jets to arrest a boy carrying iphone

it ridiculous the stunts we see Efcc pull up just to arrest boiz carryin laptop, then they see a yahaya bello n start lookin like drenched cat
Re: Inside Lagos’ Yahoo Joint: The New Face Of Internet Fraud In Surulere & Lekki by Hhh4444: 1:51pm On Aug 21, 2025
Babalegba:
You are actually making my point for me. When you make money legally, you will be highly unlikely to fritter it away on fast living, unscrupulous women and meaningless things but money made in an evil way would drag you to those things whether you like it or not.
bros na lie.... it simply has to do with an individual's mindset. One thing I have observed is when someone that always seek external validation makes money,he would spend it lavishly to impress people around him. There are people that don't need to prove themselves with money just to feel good about themselves. It's not even about making money legally or illegally.
Re: Inside Lagos’ Yahoo Joint: The New Face Of Internet Fraud In Surulere & Lekki by goodmuscopi(m): 1:52pm On Aug 21, 2025
Babalegba:
Who cursed the money?

Let he without sin cast the first stone
1 2 3 4 Reply

Police Raid Lagos 'Yahoo School', Free 12-Year-Old Trainee And OthersPolice Officer ‘Rapes’ 17-Year-Old Girl Inside Lagos Police StationAjibawo Lawal & Sunday Akhigbe Die Inside Lagos Studio, Others Hospitalised234

Vietnamese Court Sentences Nigerian To Jail Over Love Scam (Pictured)South African Man Shot Himself After Murdering His Cheating Wife (Graphic Pics)Man Shares Video Of Kidnapped Brother Held Hostage With Human Skull In Edo