Stats: 3,330,997 members, 8,448,145 topics. Date: Sunday, 19 July 2026 at 08:26 PM

'Bushy beards are proscribed': Delta Govt reviews dress code for civil servants - Politics - Nairaland

Nairaland ForumNairaland GeneralPolitics'Bushy beards are proscribed': Delta Govt reviews dress code for civil servants (16614 Views)

1 2 Reply (Go Down)

'Bushy beards are proscribed': Delta Govt reviews dress code for civil servants by adenigga(op): 5:50pm On Sep 11, 2025
@DeltaGovernment

In an effort to address the unpleasant practice of improper dressing that has become commonplace in the State Public Service, it is instructive to announce a review of the existing dress code contained in circular Letter No. HOS. 15/13/74 of 12th March, 2009; for the purpose of upholding decency in the appearance of Public Servants across the State.

2. It is also very important to underscore the vital role expected of senior public servants in revising the said anomaly through leading examples of appropriate dressing culture that demonstrates decorum to guide and correct subordinates; and whenever lapses are observed, sanctions maybe invoked towards checkmating the ugly trend, based on the Public Service Rule No .04314, which states inter-alia: "No Officer shall appear in the office or anywhere in his official capacity attired in a manner deemed inappropriate or immodest".

3. In consideration of the foregoing; and in cognizance of or diverse cultural backgrounds, the following dress codes are therefore approved as the minimum acceptable official standard, deemed corporate, modest and fashionable for the discharge of official duties:

A. MALE PUBLIC SERVANTS
(i). All officers on GLs 13 and above should appear at work in Complete suits, except for uniform officers as given;

(ii). All officers on SGLs 07-12 should appear as in (i) above or in a pair of trousers, Shirt and Tie, except all Administrative Officers who should always be in Suit;

(iii). All officers on SGLs 01-06 should appear as in A(i) or A(ii) above, except for uniformed staff e.g. Drivers, Plant Operators etc; who should always be in their Uniforms; and in the absence of uniforms, should put on trousers and Shirts to work;

(iv). Also, traditional attire for male officers shall be permissible only on Fridays and on special occasions; and such includes Smart Senator Suits, modern Caftans or Native Shirts with matching Trousers, complemented by the appropriate Traditional Cap.

• Note: Resource Control and Papas Caps are prohibited; while Bushy beards are proscribed.

B. FEMALE PUBLIC SERVANTS
(i). All officers on SGLs 13 and above should appear at work on Trouser suits, Skirt Suits or Corporate Gowns below the knee level (No habs); andall Trousers Must come in Suits;

(ii). All officers on SGLs 07-12 should appear either as in B(i) above or in Free gowns below the knee level with Sleeves, or Skirts below the knee level and Blouse with sleeves to match (sleeveless or spaghetti hands are prohibited);

(iii). All officers on SGLs 01-06 should appear as in free Gowns with Sleeves, or Skirt and Blouse as described in B(ii) above:

(iv). Also, traditional attire for female officers shall be permissible only on Fridays and on special occasions; and such includes:

Traditional costumes such as Buba and Wrapper, Skirts with Blouses, or Gowns fashioned from African fabrics, provided such garments have proper sleeves;

• Nobe that all female dressing should be with decorum devoid of any provocative exposure of cleavages. Meanwhile, braided or tainted hair; long eye lashes and artificial nails are prohibited.

4. Suffice it to state that this circular is intended to promote discipline in dressing culture among Public Servants. To enforce strict adherence to the revised dress code therefore, it behooves all Heads of Departments to execute these provisions; and not hesitate in directing any erring office that is inappropriately attired bo return home, dress decently and resume duty promptly; or risk more stringent sanctions from the Accounting Officer forthwith.

5. Accordingly, all Permanent Secretaries and Heads of Extra-Ministerial Departments are enjoined to give the content of this Circular the much-desired publicity for staff guidance and strict adherence, please.
https://www.facebook.com/share/p/1G4KvXcHrh/

Re: 'Bushy beards are proscribed': Delta Govt reviews dress code for civil servants by jerryunit48: 5:54pm On Sep 11, 2025
I hope you will give them enough clothing allowance to meet up your demands …
Re: 'Bushy beards are proscribed': Delta Govt reviews dress code for civil servants by BlackSpanner: 6:06pm On Sep 11, 2025
Oga Govo, just give civil servants the deeper life dress code, make everybody rest.

Is that part of the development he was elected, abi selected to bring to Deltans
Re: 'Bushy beards are proscribed': Delta Govt reviews dress code for civil servants by Ikaeniyan0: 6:07pm On Sep 11, 2025
Muslims with bushy beards nko?

15 more characters needed
Re: 'Bushy beards are proscribed': Delta Govt reviews dress code for civil servants by adenigga(op): 6:15pm On Sep 11, 2025
Ikaeniyan0:

Stylishly telling them to go to Zamfara, where it can be accommodated........

Re: 'Bushy beards are proscribed': Delta Govt reviews dress code for civil servants by ibechris(m): 7:10pm On Sep 11, 2025
That is why this state has never elected a good governor since 1999.

No formular for growth.

The state with highest keke riders in Nigeria.
Re: 'Bushy beards are proscribed': Delta Govt reviews dress code for civil servants by Larryfest(m): 7:26pm On Sep 11, 2025
When govt leaves the important issues on ground and start facing what is not or what has bushy beards got to do with work productivity nahuh

As long as the workers aren't dressing like porn stars to work I see no reason for all this at all.
Re: 'Bushy beards are proscribed': Delta Govt reviews dress code for civil servants by tollyboy5(m): 7:46pm On Sep 11, 2025
The people will not see their governor as the problem.
What kind of this bedis?
Re: 'Bushy beards are proscribed': Delta Govt reviews dress code for civil servants by Apus: 7:46pm On Sep 11, 2025
Gen-Zs left the group chat 💃

But sincerely this is a case of misplaced priority where there is hunger everywhere.
Re: 'Bushy beards are proscribed': Delta Govt reviews dress code for civil servants by datola: 7:49pm On Sep 11, 2025
Supported. No.more dirty dirty bia bia again I'm that state
Re: 'Bushy beards are proscribed': Delta Govt reviews dress code for civil servants by highchief1: 7:49pm On Sep 11, 2025
adenigga:
@DeltaGovernment

https://www.facebook.com/share/p/1G4KvXcHrh/
how much salary them want take Dey look this good.why can’t we be realistic for once.
Re: 'Bushy beards are proscribed': Delta Govt reviews dress code for civil servants by TimiofAbuja: 7:50pm On Sep 11, 2025
rubbish nonsense

on top how much

dressing politely and presentable is enough
Re: 'Bushy beards are proscribed': Delta Govt reviews dress code for civil servants by Lanruze: 7:55pm On Sep 11, 2025
in a saner clime, they should reduce the powers of Governors in Nigeria by removing the immunity clause.

This particular Governor should be ashamed to make such public statements. This Governor earns the highest allocation in the whole country and has done next to nothing in his state to show the humongous volume of funds through FAAC, Ecological Fund and 13% derivation that he receives.

He is talking about beards.

What a joke !
Re: 'Bushy beards are proscribed': Delta Govt reviews dress code for civil servants by Efuaye(m): 7:55pm On Sep 11, 2025
Very funny crop of leaders.
They should ban all the “banable” if you permit me.
Re: 'Bushy beards are proscribed': Delta Govt reviews dress code for civil servants by Kingray10: 7:56pm On Sep 11, 2025
Sheriff should do something about security. No be dress code be delta State problem at the moment.
Re: 'Bushy beards are proscribed': Delta Govt reviews dress code for civil servants by Softmirror: 7:58pm On Sep 11, 2025
Ikaeniyan0:

The man fear lol 😂. Retract sharp-sharp when him remember bear-bear wey full face. 😁

Re: 'Bushy beards are proscribed': Delta Govt reviews dress code for civil servants by franchasng: 7:59pm On Sep 11, 2025
Very good.

Well done Delta state.

If you want to carry bushy beared, then resign and head towards Gaza or Yemen or Afghanistan grin
Re: 'Bushy beards are proscribed': Delta Govt reviews dress code for civil servants by In4matic: 8:00pm On Sep 11, 2025
A most welcome development. Public servants should dress soberly. If you rather not, then resign and face the informal sector.
Re: 'Bushy beards are proscribed': Delta Govt reviews dress code for civil servants by geoworldedu: 8:03pm On Sep 11, 2025
Original content for what? Are my contents fake. 1 more characters needed.
Re: 'Bushy beards are proscribed': Delta Govt reviews dress code for civil servants by correctguy101(m): 8:03pm On Sep 11, 2025
jerryunit48:
I hope you will give them enough clothing allowance to meet up your demands …
Precisement..

Don't worry, that will be taken care of...

Maybe.....
Re: 'Bushy beards are proscribed': Delta Govt reviews dress code for civil servants by GadoosGadoo(f): 8:04pm On Sep 11, 2025
Wooow I will love to date their women so i won't be able to buy hair
Re: 'Bushy beards are proscribed': Delta Govt reviews dress code for civil servants by lordm(m): 8:04pm On Sep 11, 2025
It's well o. Let's keep pushing. Probably he is about to increase salary
Re: 'Bushy beards are proscribed': Delta Govt reviews dress code for civil servants by Softmirror: 8:05pm On Sep 11, 2025
franchasng:
Very good.

Well done Delta state.

If you want to carry bushy beared, then resign and head towards Gaza or Yemen or Afghanistan grin
Ojukwu carry big beard put for face lol. Shey you know. 😁
Re: 'Bushy beards are proscribed': Delta Govt reviews dress code for civil servants by dammyco(m): 8:06pm On Sep 11, 2025
With bushy beards no salary oooooooooooooooooo.

Go shave that beards make you fit collect salary.
Re: 'Bushy beards are proscribed': Delta Govt reviews dress code for civil servants by clockwisereport: 8:07pm On Sep 11, 2025
A welcome development. I remember a senior lecturer back then when I was in school who came to class with rubber slippers. The thing dey shock me then.

Omo, you are an image maker and your dressing discourages people that are looking up to you.
Re: 'Bushy beards are proscribed': Delta Govt reviews dress code for civil servants by Wasky101: 8:10pm On Sep 11, 2025
Lol, for the most corrupt part of the government in Nigeria.

Worry about bushy beards but not about billions of Naira.

Before u come and say tinubu this sheriff that, nah una papa, mama, uncle and aunties dey civil service ooo.
Re: 'Bushy beards are proscribed': Delta Govt reviews dress code for civil servants by Thephilosopher1: 8:11pm On Sep 11, 2025
It is in the nature of every Man to grow beard. It's totally absurd to attach decency to shaving off the beard that grows naturally. If what they mean by bushy beard is the ones that are not trimmed, then it's okay, but asking men to shave completely is senseless.
1 2 Reply

Proscribed Yan Sakai Vigilante Group Kills 11 Fulanis In Sokoto MarketNorthern Coalition Wants Afenifere Proscribed As TerroristsNigerian Army Gets New Dress Code234

Jonathan Replaces Police Boss And Service ChiefsOPC Member Mistakenly Kill A 72-year-old Man During Gun SaluteObaseki Presented With Certificate Of Return By INEC Photos