Ondo Signs $50bn Refinery And Free Trade Zone Deal - Politics (2) - Nairaland
Nairaland Forum › Nairaland General › Politics › Ondo Signs $50bn Refinery And Free Trade Zone Deal (10914 Views)
| Re: Ondo Signs $50bn Refinery And Free Trade Zone Deal by dododawa1: 10:57am On Nov 08, 2025 |
INSIDE NIGERIA INSIDE LIFE LIFE GOES ON |
| Re: Ondo Signs $50bn Refinery And Free Trade Zone Deal by Druss(m): 10:58am On Nov 08, 2025 |
TimeManager:This post has been spoilt by the political sycophancy enclosed within. There is a reason why people are not happy with Tinubu. Those reasons are not false. |
| Re: Ondo Signs $50bn Refinery And Free Trade Zone Deal by Jaylord12(m): 11:00am On Nov 08, 2025 |
DomPerignon:When u make sense at first and use tribalistic comment to spoil your comment... Drive home your point without all these senseless comment....I was already thinking about the investment until I read about the other statement. Haba,u are more intelligent than all these abeg |
| Re: Ondo Signs $50bn Refinery And Free Trade Zone Deal by Chucks13: 11:06am On Nov 08, 2025 |
And one confused moniker called "AquillasXYZ" say no oil in SW? Back to the topic I can see some state in Nigeria are doing their best to do better for their citizen and grows development. Good one from Ondo State. That as where I was born as non-indegene I love dem and Ekiti people too much. |
| Re: Ondo Signs $50bn Refinery And Free Trade Zone Deal by Pat081: 11:08am On Nov 08, 2025 |
One of the most useless governor in southwest, we are not going to hear anything from this again in two months time |
| Re: Ondo Signs $50bn Refinery And Free Trade Zone Deal by professorPABX: 11:20am On Nov 08, 2025*. Modified: 11:45am On Nov 08, 2025 |
DomPerignon:Ondo State is always signing MOU to develop FTZ without any success. More than 10 MOU were signed by different governors to develop Bitumen without anything to show for it. Is it now that we are facing threat from US that a struggling Honeywell Group and other consortium secured $50 billion funding? This is a pure political propaganda. |
| Re: Ondo Signs $50bn Refinery And Free Trade Zone Deal by sammyscholar(m): 11:29am On Nov 08, 2025 |
Story! Don't inform us all these MOUs. Only let us know when real investment (construction) start. |
| Re: Ondo Signs $50bn Refinery And Free Trade Zone Deal by holluwizzy: 11:32am On Nov 08, 2025 |
Money will change hands Middle man still dey Aza man still dey Ear wey hear must still chop. Kworuption have finished the country, even if Trump does not act, when its time, Nigerians will themselves act. SmartPolician: |
| Re: Ondo Signs $50bn Refinery And Free Trade Zone Deal by Iran2025: 11:33am On Nov 08, 2025 |
TimeManager:WHAT'S THIS ONE SAYING? NIGERIANS HAVE OUTGROWN PROPAGANDA... NIGERIANS WANT REALITY NOT AUDIO. |
| Re: Ondo Signs $50bn Refinery And Free Trade Zone Deal by jmoore(m): 11:40am On Nov 08, 2025 |
Jaylord12:Go to his profile and check his topics before you conclude that he is intelligent. |
| Re: Ondo Signs $50bn Refinery And Free Trade Zone Deal by Reference(m): 11:41am On Nov 08, 2025 |
Quite commendable. But please Mr. Governor spend more time with what is really, really possible. Many have dreamt but few have done. Size doesn't matter. Industrialization is not an athletic competition. As you dream big, dream possible, dream for all, which means seek to attract and invest in cottage/small scale industries, medium size industries in addition to the big ones. Just like concrete cannot be made with a single aggregate size so an economy indeed an ecosystem needs the smaller fish to feed the bigger ones and the bigger ones to feed the whales. With the skills sets your people have, the resources at your disposal and the capacity of your governance to secure and promote certain enterprises, use those tools to create immediate value in jobs, incomes and productivity. Someone on another thread scoffed at the Borno government establishing a plastics factory. Well that plant maybe getting it's feedstock from Dangote Petrochem as a cost efficiency strategy instead of imports. So it is only wise that as you think big, think small to care for all. |
| Re: Ondo Signs $50bn Refinery And Free Trade Zone Deal by Zocalite: 11:42am On Nov 08, 2025 |
Another Lamba! |
| Re: Ondo Signs $50bn Refinery And Free Trade Zone Deal by sulaak(m): 11:44am On Nov 08, 2025*. Modified: 12:05pm On Nov 08, 2025 |
Before you start praising the project, is Backbone Infrastructure Nigeria Limited a viable organisation? Their website doesn't provide any evidence that they have delivered a $1 million project before we praise these useless governors for some due diligence on the project and its viability. The entire NNPC are trying to acquire $20 billion to boost gas and oil deals between 2025 -2029. Yet, these ineffective governors can secure an investment of $50 billion. Nigerians learn from Governor Amosun's scam with the Chinese on the Ogun FTZ, the P&ID scam, and the Ajaokuta scam with Indians that have cost Nigeria billions. A former Governor of Ogun State, Senator Ibikunle Amosun, has said he will not allow a Chinese company, Zhongshan Fucheng Industrial Investment Co. Limited, |
| Re: Ondo Signs $50bn Refinery And Free Trade Zone Deal by Originalsly: 11:54am On Nov 08, 2025 |
DomPerignon:This all sounds nice and promising. Is this really a "good development"? Let's chew on this. Did you notice they have not given much details of the MoU? ... what's in the deal for us? ... they come ..build a refinery... 500K bpd ..up and running... what do we get from that? ..do you know? ..th y haven't stated. Is it we get nothing for the first 25 years for them to recoup their investment? ..then 2% for the following ten years? What about environmental protection? ... what is in the MoU for this? ... air quality?...protection of ground water? .. and water sources? ... how would the industrial waste be managed?..." it would create employment" ... what level of employment? ... what pay? .. . is part of the MoU for locals to be trained in various levels of the operations? ...or foreigners will be employed while locals will be limited to low level unskilled positions? We know nothing about this ... considered no nothing about this ... but hailing it as a good development. Would we be really benefitting from this project? ... or just the investors? We need to know at least some of the details or we can be screwed big time and be worse than we are presently. If we look at the Congo and many other countries ... enormous investments... soooo many industries and projects going on ... billions being made ....but the masses be living in poverty. We need to have a fair deal or this will be an invitation to exploitation. |
| Re: Ondo Signs $50bn Refinery And Free Trade Zone Deal by amaridigital(m): 12:00pm On Nov 08, 2025 |
Chucks13:By the time these investment plus bitumen, the seaport and the coastal highway is ready, i hope Ekiti won't regret leaving Ondo State |
| Re: Ondo Signs $50bn Refinery And Free Trade Zone Deal by VillagePipu: 12:01pm On Nov 08, 2025 |
FreeSpirited:You said this when the Lagos Ibadan rail was being built. You said this when the Coastal road started. You said this when Dangote Refinery started. They will complete that coastal road but you will not live long enough to see it. |
| Re: Ondo Signs $50bn Refinery And Free Trade Zone Deal by DomPerignon: 12:02pm On Nov 08, 2025 |
Originalsly:Go and buy hero beer and sit by the fountain Otto built in Abia and enjoy . |
| Re: Ondo Signs $50bn Refinery And Free Trade Zone Deal by VillagePipu: 12:02pm On Nov 08, 2025 |
Jaylord12:They said "brewery advocates" and you are accusing him of tribalism. Persecution complex has impaired your ability to reason properly. |
| Re: Ondo Signs $50bn Refinery And Free Trade Zone Deal by hotseat: 12:06pm On Nov 08, 2025 |
If only this project could come to actualization, Ondo State would have taken a giant leap into a State amongst States of Nigeria in her industrialization drive. Governor Lucky Aiyedatiwa is a silent and an unassuming achiever of a Governor who would live in the hearts of Ondolites long after leaving office. Truly, Ondo State is the "Sunshine State" not just in words but in deeds! GOVERNOR LUCKY AIYEDATIWA: simply, keep the flag flying! @hotseat |
| Re: Ondo Signs $50bn Refinery And Free Trade Zone Deal by DomPerignon: 12:06pm On Nov 08, 2025 |
VillagePipu:No mind them. They have been opening silly threads since Trump made his empty threat for the disbanding of sharia court and law in northern Nigeria. They want northerners to embrace alcohol, drugs, prostitution and baby factory enterprise. |
| Re: Ondo Signs $50bn Refinery And Free Trade Zone Deal by sulaak(m): 12:09pm On Nov 08, 2025 |
Originalsly:Nigerians are too desperate, that's why a fake pastor can take all their money. There is nothing on the Backbone Infrastructure Nigeria Limited (BINL) website that suggests that they have the organisation or funding for a $1 million project, let alone $50 billion project. https://ngbil.com/the-ilaje-deep-sea-port/ |
| Re: Ondo Signs $50bn Refinery And Free Trade Zone Deal by Originalsly: 12:17pm On Nov 08, 2025 |
sulaak:The hype is too much! ... they know very well how to build castles in the air! |
| Re: Ondo Signs $50bn Refinery And Free Trade Zone Deal by Krankhead: 12:18pm On Nov 08, 2025 |
Useless governor |
| Re: Ondo Signs $50bn Refinery And Free Trade Zone Deal by Jaylord12(m): 12:32pm On Nov 08, 2025 |
VillagePipu:Haaaaaaa....I pity your likes bcus ur shallow mind has caused more harm to Nigeria unity |
| Re: Ondo Signs $50bn Refinery And Free Trade Zone Deal by Jaylord12(m): 12:33pm On Nov 08, 2025 |
jmoore:Thanks |
| Re: Ondo Signs $50bn Refinery And Free Trade Zone Deal by Jaylord12(m): 12:41pm On Nov 08, 2025 |
jmoore:Honestly,if I had done that earlier I will not bother to quote him....I don't engage sensel### individuals on this forum or in anyway....if one will not b reasonable enough to bring up discussions that are productive and educative I will stay away....How can one kill his/her conscience because of money/tribe or religion....If our practice will not mk us better than it's evil.... |
| Re: Ondo Signs $50bn Refinery And Free Trade Zone Deal by WizardOfNG: 12:46pm On Nov 08, 2025 |
SmartPolician:Can't you attempt to read and comprehend? Or is it that you lack the intellect to do that? The Ondo State Government said, on Wednesday, that it had signed a $50bn investment agreement with a consortium of international firms under the Sunshine Infrastructure Joint Venture to establish a major refinery and free trade zone in the state. |
| Re: Ondo Signs $50bn Refinery And Free Trade Zone Deal by WizardOfNG: 12:49pm On Nov 08, 2025 |
SmartPolician:Then you obviously don't understand the additional cost of the bolded is included. |
$50bn Refinery Deal Set To Make Ondo Home To Africa’s 2nd-largest Oil Plant • Pictures And Videos Of The Dangote Refinery And Navy Fleet Review • Udom Emmanuel Inspects Refinery And Plants In Eastern Obolo, Akwa Ibom • 2 • 3 • 4
Would Buhari Have Tackled Boko Haram More Effectively. • Nigeria vows to shut down Radio Biafra • Breaking News : Apc Audu Abubakar Is Dead