Stats: 3,328,842 members, 8,437,632 topics. Date: Thursday, 02 July 2026 at 08:45 AM

Former President Jonathan Explains Why He Left Guinea Bissau On Ivorian Aircraft - Politics (2) - Nairaland

Nairaland ForumNairaland GeneralPoliticsFormer President Jonathan Explains Why He Left Guinea Bissau On Ivorian Aircraft (20637 Views)

1 2 3 4 Reply (Go Down)

Re: Former President Jonathan Explains Why He Left Guinea Bissau On Ivorian Aircraft by SmartPolician:
[quote mauthor=magoo10 kpost=137631605]then he should man up and stop acting like a weakling.
The people he is dealing with are not anywhere close to being gentle.[/quote]Jonathan is not dealing with anyone. He was elevated from an ordinary school teacher to a president. What else could a man possibly asked of God? He's not running for that office again.
Re: Former President Jonathan Explains Why He Left Guinea Bissau On Ivorian Aircraft by Abee79(m): 6:33am On Nov 29, 2025
Thank God he is safe 🙏
Re: Former President Jonathan Explains Why He Left Guinea Bissau On Ivorian Aircraft by Bar1941(m): 6:37am On Nov 29, 2025
magoo10:
Jonathan hasn't learnt or he just wants to patronize the tinubu government.
If it were the other way round the people in government today will use it to discredit jonathan.
characters in the league of Reno and co will have dished hatred and propaganda to deceive light minded followers.
You think everyone is a dummy! If former president GEJ denies, you think there will not be proofs by the government to back themselves up. As a statesman, he did the right thing. He’s not like Gringory Peteru that plays politics with everything.
Re: Former President Jonathan Explains Why He Left Guinea Bissau On Ivorian Aircraft by magoo10(m): 6:39am On Nov 29, 2025
Bar1941:
You think everyone is a dummy! If former president GEJ denies, you think there will not be proofs by the government to back themselves up. As a statesman, he did the right thing. He’s not like Gringory Peteru that plays politics with everything.
perhaps you want to say Jonathan cleverly averted tinubu's fake and suicidal rescue and only trying to make him and his boys feel good
Re: Former President Jonathan Explains Why He Left Guinea Bissau On Ivorian Aircraft by MaziObinnaokija: 6:41am On Nov 29, 2025
sad Wait for Papa OSELOKA, ALAGULUOFAGULULAND own versionand that of his CONFUSED IPOBIDIENTS yoots
Flangelo12:
“I want to thank my President, President Tinubu, and the Ivorian President, Alassane Ouattara. Both presidents were to send aircraft to lift us.”

Jonathan explained that logistical and diplomatic considerations influenced the decision: “Côte d’Ivoire is closer to Guinea Bissau, and there’s a relationship between Francophone and Lusophone countries, which enabled Côte d’Ivoire to get a landing permit before Nigeria could.”

He added, “So we asked the Nigerian government not to bother since the Ivorian aircraft had already arrived,”

But why are you telling the truth , na?
Re: Former President Jonathan Explains Why He Left Guinea Bissau On Ivorian Aircraft by ozo13(m): 6:42am On Nov 29, 2025
magoo10:
If it were the other way round the people in government today will use it to discredit jonathan.
characters in the league of Reno and co will have dished hatred and propaganda to deceive light minded followers.
so u expect him to be political or seizing the situation to lie against his country than speaking the truth. Make una just move on because even Reno omokri u mentioned there served in Jonathan govt.
He has chosen to be a principled man and refuse to do the bidding of the bittered ones.
It is well with Nigeria.
Re: Former President Jonathan Explains Why He Left Guinea Bissau On Ivorian Aircraft by magoo10(m): 6:47am On Nov 29, 2025
ozo13:
so u expect him to be political or seizing the situation to lie against his country than speaking the truth. Make una just move on because even Reno omokri u mentioned there served in Jonathan govt.
He has chosen to be a principled man and refuse to do the bidding of the bittered ones.
It is well with Nigeria.
lying over which country except you want tell me he cleverly avoided tinubu's Greek gift of fake suicidal help.
Nothing good can come out of evil.
Re: Former President Jonathan Explains Why He Left Guinea Bissau On Ivorian Aircraft by Fiscus105(m): 6:49am On Nov 29, 2025
magoo10:
I think you are the one that is supposed to learn a very great and positive lesson from Jonathan.

Learn how to forgive and leave a life devoid of bitterness, for you to leave a peaceful life and enjoy your afterlife.

The man that forcibly took over from him, not only hated by people afterwards, but now history, while people now regretting rejecting lucky man, not only that, he became a figure, sought after, internationally.

Which glory is more than that?
Re: Former President Jonathan Explains Why He Left Guinea Bissau On Ivorian Aircraft by McLizbae:
Rufai believes he knows everything. Ask him, and he will still tell you he has his facts and proofs. Yeye...
Re: Former President Jonathan Explains Why He Left Guinea Bissau On Ivorian Aircraft by magoo10(m): 6:51am On Nov 29, 2025
Fiscus105:
I think you are the one that is supposed to learn a very great lesson from Jonathan.

Learn how to forgive and leave a life devoid of bitterness, for you to leave a peaceful life and enjoy your afterlife.

The man that forcibly took over from him, not only hated by people afterwards, but now history, while people now regretting rejecting Goodluck. Meanwhile, Jonathan became a figure sought after internationally.

What glory is more than that?
and how does that make him relevant in the issues of Nigeria today?
Good man outside but useless to his people and democracy at home .man should stop being a weakling that is why Nigeria is where it is today in the first place
Re: Former President Jonathan Explains Why He Left Guinea Bissau On Ivorian Aircraft by Greattha: 6:52am On Nov 29, 2025
You really know them.

GEJ is just being diplomatic with this response. You know he's not like them.

magoo10:
Re: Former President Jonathan Explains Why He Left Guinea Bissau On Ivorian Aircraft by magoo10(m): 6:54am On Nov 29, 2025
Greattha:
You really know them.

GEJ is just being diplomatic with this response. You know he's not like them.
but that his style of diplomacy is why Nigeria is where it is today.
Re: Former President Jonathan Explains Why He Left Guinea Bissau On Ivorian Aircraft by Fiscus105(m): 6:57am On Nov 29, 2025
magoo10:
and how does that make him relevant in the issues of Nigeria today?
Good man outside but useless to his people and democracy at home .man should stop being a weakling that is why Nigeria is where it is today in the first place
Are you not human being like him? Rise up to the occasion and become useful to your people ok.

Don't only be wailing all day, on all social media.

At least, he took one university to his home town, when are you going to donate a bag of rice to your people?
Re: Former President Jonathan Explains Why He Left Guinea Bissau On Ivorian Aircraft by ibrahimsalam: 7:01am On Nov 29, 2025
Fiscus105:
Are you not human being like him? Rise up to the occasion and become useful to your people ok.

At least, he took one university to his home town, when are you going to donate a bag of rice to your people?
bush man he took university to his home oya go and lick his boots.
we his supporters in the north are disappointed in him
Re: Former President Jonathan Explains Why He Left Guinea Bissau On Ivorian Aircraft by Allogic: 7:02am On Nov 29, 2025
Christmyhope:
And some depraved people were heaping insults on each other with so much bitterness and hatred in the name of politics. Thanks, Goodluck Jonathan for providing clarification.
You Tinubu worshiper, no matter how bad our government acted GEJ would still be diplomatic not exposed the lacking of FG to outside ,on matters like this. But he still showed FG was slow to get to his team , which shows FG lacking in proactiveness , diplomatic savvy and information handling. Tinubu doesn't about what this country becomes, he is raping the land silly. Three years no Ambassadors , what do you expect!!
Re: Former President Jonathan Explains Why He Left Guinea Bissau On Ivorian Aircraft by reddingtonblack: 7:03am On Nov 29, 2025
Christmyhope:
And some depraved people were heaping insults on each other with so much bitterness and hatred in the name of politics. Thanks, Goodluck Jonathan for providing clarification.
When you have nothing to say you keep quiet ... Apparently GEJ is a gentleman ....the statement released is nothing but courtesy to the presidency

IT is the same STORY, Nig. govt will fail Nigerians
Re: Former President Jonathan Explains Why He Left Guinea Bissau On Ivorian Aircraft by magoo10(m): 7:06am On Nov 29, 2025
Fiscus105:

then he should stop jumping around and disturbing people.oga should stay in otuoke or better relocate to the university he took to his state .
Nigeria at this point of history needs bold men not weaklings.
Imagine everyone in the opposition today are in the character of Jonathan even you speaking will not be able to be doing so.
Re: Former President Jonathan Explains Why He Left Guinea Bissau On Ivorian Aircraft by BlessedGift: 7:09am On Nov 29, 2025
Re: Former President Jonathan Explains Why He Left Guinea Bissau On Ivorian Aircraft by Greattha: 7:09am On Nov 29, 2025
You're very right. GEJ truly messed up for allowing them takeover the way they did..he should have stood his ground and heaven won't fall.
Now they have the power but they're clueless, running around like a headless chicken
It is what it is🤷‍♂️

magoo10:
but that his style of diplomacy is why Nigeria is where it is today.
Re: Former President Jonathan Explains Why He Left Guinea Bissau On Ivorian Aircraft by reddingtonblack: 7:11am On Nov 29, 2025
Burob:
Even after the truth, u still choose to deny the facts.
which facts, coming from GEJ we know he is a gentleman, he wil say anything just for " Peace" ..

The truth is assuming the presidency had made efforts to get GEJ out, Reno, onanuga will be the ones tellin the story

When the presidency broke the news they said it like they when to get GEJ, then GEJ release the 1st authentic clarification it was cote d'ivoire the 2nd statement is just a courtesy GEJ will say anything for peace
Re: Former President Jonathan Explains Why He Left Guinea Bissau On Ivorian Aircraft by magoo10(m): 7:12am On Nov 29, 2025
Greattha:
You're very right. GEJ truly messed up for allowing them takeover the way they did..he should have stood his ground and heaven won't fall.
Now they have the power but they're clueless, running around like a headless chicken
It is what it is🤷‍♂️
my brother you get the point ,the situation on ground is not funny and on top of it these guys are rubbing shit in our faces.
Re: Former President Jonathan Explains Why He Left Guinea Bissau On Ivorian Aircraft by hush15: 7:17am On Nov 29, 2025
Giftimoni:
Jonathan explained that logistical and diplomatic considerations influenced the decision: “Côte d’Ivoire is closer to Guinea Bissau, and there’s a relationship between Francophone and Lusophone countries, which enabled Côte d’Ivoire to get a landing permit before Nigeria could.”
Nigeria couldn't get a landing permit and Nigeria still refers to itself as giant of Africa. If na US or Russia or any other world nation, the story would be different. Nigeria needs to work on its reputation.

If US or France wan evacuate its citizens, which permit go delay?
Re: Former President Jonathan Explains Why He Left Guinea Bissau On Ivorian Aircraft by reddingtonblack: 7:18am On Nov 29, 2025
richiemcgold:
Thank you GEJ for this clarification. Shame on those lowlifes who have been exchanging blows over a misleading/fake news. Ignorance is truly a disease
it is shame on you that chose to be gullible, we are not kids

Get hold of the 1st statement GEJ released ..that is the truth, he didnt just forget to thank Tinubu in the 1st release .. their was nothing to thank the presidency for

Why is the presidency quiet ... after they almost stole the credit why cant they tell us there effort ... good they know we dont trust their lies anymore Dj yk mulè
Re: Former President Jonathan Explains Why He Left Guinea Bissau On Ivorian Aircraft by KonTagiousBull: 7:24am On Nov 29, 2025
Christmyhope:
Some people here are humdrums....
Re: Former President Jonathan Explains Why He Left Guinea Bissau On Ivorian Aircraft by aswani(m): 7:29am On Nov 29, 2025
What a thread, clearly Obidients will never let up, especially now they have Ohamdike's incaeceration to add on to their bitterness at Peter Obí losing elections to President Tinubu.

Wow!
Re: Former President Jonathan Explains Why He Left Guinea Bissau On Ivorian Aircraft by Johnson5258: 7:30am On Nov 29, 2025
Thank God oooo. My friend will not strangle me today. I told his that Ivory Coast is closer to Guinea Bissua than Nigeria and also due to some diplomatic reasons. Jonathan is an international citizen, nothing will happen to him.
Re: Former President Jonathan Explains Why He Left Guinea Bissau On Ivorian Aircraft by Bahamas95(m): 7:30am On Nov 29, 2025
Even though I ain't a fan of Tinubu I know he won't just abandon Jonathan to his fate, a former president for that matter.

When my in-laws wanna ask for something from me they most times come through my wife, it's not as if they can't ask me directly. But using my wife makes it faster and easier......It works that way in all spheres of life so I understand GEJ's explanation.
Re: Former President Jonathan Explains Why He Left Guinea Bissau On Ivorian Aircraft by SamGift0817: 7:34am On Nov 29, 2025

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f5-GpzCSxAg

Giftimoni:
Re: Former President Jonathan Explains Why He Left Guinea Bissau On Ivorian Aircraft by lapintoz: 7:34am On Nov 29, 2025
Our bitterleaf gang for don self-service themselves tire ontop fake news.

I beg who do these people this thing.....

Meanwhile, Ijaw boys that dealth with 15 fulani bandits no beat chest o....they just got the job done.....kudos to our correct south south brothers. I hope my people will stand up and defend our land in kwara!

Christmyhope:
Re: Former President Jonathan Explains Why He Left Guinea Bissau On Ivorian Aircraft by commoditiesnig(m): 7:42am On Nov 29, 2025
Good clarification from GEJ.. Good he's back safely
1 2 3 4 Reply

Guinea Bissau President, Umaro Embaló Visits President Tinubu In LagosNigerian Army Deploys 173 Troops To Guinea Bissau On Peace Keeping MissingBuhari Commissions Road Named After Him In Guinea Bissau (Photos)234

Rivers: Moment Wike Warned APC National Secretary, Others (Video)2019: PDP Flays Buhari, APC Over Alleged Shut Down Of Abuja Campaign Rally VenueXenophobic Attacks: Kalu Meets Mbeki In Johannesburg