Stats: 3,327,021 members, 8,429,077 topics. Date: Thursday, 18 June 2026 at 11:48 AM

Reggae Boyz Could Face Nigeria In Play-off After Complaint Against DR Congo - Sports - Nairaland

Nairaland ForumEntertainmentSportsReggae Boyz Could Face Nigeria In Play-off After Complaint Against DR Congo (23356 Views)

1 2 3 4 Reply (Go Down)

Reggae Boyz Could Face Nigeria In Play-off After Complaint Against DR Congo by robosky02(op): 11:10am On Dec 19, 2025
Jamaica’s Reggae Boyz could face Nigeria in a final shot at World Cup 2026 qualification if the Super Eagles are successful in a complaint they filed to Fifa which alleges that the Democratic Republic of Congo fielded ineligible players in last month’s African play-off final.

The Reggae Boyz are set to contest the Fifa Inter-confederation play-off in March to book a ticket to the global showpiece in North America and Mexico next summer. They will face New Caledonia with the winner of that match set to clash with DR Congo for World Cup qualification.

However, the African representative in the three-team playoff group could change depending on the Fifa ruling on Nigeria’s protest against DR Congo, which had beaten the Super Eagles on penalties to book their place in March’s intercontinental qualifier.

According to the BBC, Nigeria’s claim of “fraud” centres on a group of players who recently switched their international allegiance to DR Congo.

The Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) believes players such as Aaron Wan-Bissaka and Axel Tuanzebe, both of whom featured in the match, were ineligible because Congolese law does not allow dual citizenship, the BBC reported.

The article quotes NFF general secretary Mohammed Sanusi saying, “Our contention is that Fifa was deceived into clearing them… The Congolese rule (law) says you cannot have dual nationality, but some of their players have European and French passports. There is what we consider to be a breach of (Fifa’s) regulations. We are saying it was fraudulent.”

The Congolese Football Federation (Fecofa) has rejected the NFF’s challenge as an attempt to “win via the back door”.

“If you can’t win on the pitch don’t try to win from the back door. The world Cup has to be played with dignity and confidence. Not with lawyers tricks. Bring it on,” Fecofa said in a post on social media.
https://www.jamaicaobserver.com/2025/12/18/reggae-boyz-face-nigeria-play-off-super-eagles-complaint-dr-congo/

Re: Reggae Boyz Could Face Nigeria In Play-off After Complaint Against DR Congo by vecman22(m): 11:18am On Dec 19, 2025
As we no con sabi raggae like this, wahala go dey oooo

If it was amapiano boys now, body for tell them😂😂😂
Re: Reggae Boyz Could Face Nigeria In Play-off After Complaint Against DR Congo by oluwaseyi0: 11:19am On Dec 19, 2025
We don't deserve to go to world cup
Re: Reggae Boyz Could Face Nigeria In Play-off After Complaint Against DR Congo by Ojemedad: 11:20am On Dec 19, 2025
No need, we go still lose.Better we nor disgrace ourselves more
Re: Reggae Boyz Could Face Nigeria In Play-off After Complaint Against DR Congo by LagosOrigin: 11:20am On Dec 19, 2025
Congratulations in advance to the super eagles
Re: Reggae Boyz Could Face Nigeria In Play-off After Complaint Against DR Congo by SmartPolician: 11:20am On Dec 19, 2025
A big-for-nothing country that couldn't qualify for the World Cup is looking to get there through the backdoor. Una wan rig FIFA results, thinking that FIFA is INEC!
Re: Reggae Boyz Could Face Nigeria In Play-off After Complaint Against DR Congo by Zaphnath1(m): 11:20am On Dec 19, 2025
Let's this favor us all. If the door won't open, we will pass through the windows or rather break the door
Re: Reggae Boyz Could Face Nigeria In Play-off After Complaint Against DR Congo by cathodekazim: 11:20am On Dec 19, 2025
Eagles should STFU. We lost we lost. Stop giving people false hope. Concentrate on your AFCON and exit as soon as possible. Toothless golden generation that can't win a spoon
Re: Reggae Boyz Could Face Nigeria In Play-off After Complaint Against DR Congo by slimstanakacns(m): 11:21am On Dec 19, 2025
Booked, see u guys in the world cup, back door or front door all way na way
Re: Reggae Boyz Could Face Nigeria In Play-off After Complaint Against DR Congo by easygadget45: 11:21am On Dec 19, 2025
lets see what fifa has to say
Re: Reggae Boyz Could Face Nigeria In Play-off After Complaint Against DR Congo by mikeapollo: 11:21am On Dec 19, 2025
Please drop and stop this nonsense! Nigeria is not the only country in Africa or the world and CAF/FIFA was not established because of only Nigeria. This silly, disgusting sense of entitlement must stop! The 2026 world cup should go ahead without Nigeria. To hell with incompetent NFF and clueless, barely average players who want to use the back door to go to the WC.
You win some, you lose some.
Re: Reggae Boyz Could Face Nigeria In Play-off After Complaint Against DR Congo by Winterhaven(m): 11:21am On Dec 19, 2025
Are the ineligible players the reason the super chickens were outplayed and dumped out of the playoffs?
Re: Reggae Boyz Could Face Nigeria In Play-off After Complaint Against DR Congo by Iran2025: 11:21am On Dec 19, 2025
DR Congo is better representative in world cup than Nigeria. Make dem allow DR Congo go world abeg.
Re: Reggae Boyz Could Face Nigeria In Play-off After Complaint Against DR Congo by Gemini86: 11:21am On Dec 19, 2025
NFF should just let dis case lie low and prepare adequately in four years time, make Super Chickens no go disgrace Naija for World cup
Re: Reggae Boyz Could Face Nigeria In Play-off After Complaint Against DR Congo by bro4u: 11:22am On Dec 19, 2025
Ok, I don't understand all these but Congo is a better representative
Re: Reggae Boyz Could Face Nigeria In Play-off After Complaint Against DR Congo by gtrust: 11:22am On Dec 19, 2025
That would be a forfeiture (usually scored as 3-0) and Reggae Boys proceed to the World Cup

FIFA has tried
Next time Nigeria should be interested from the beginning and show some interest and seriousness required.

robosky02:
https://www.jamaicaobserver.com/2025/12/18/reggae-boyz-face-nigeria-play-off-super-eagles-complaint-dr-congo/
Re: Reggae Boyz Could Face Nigeria In Play-off After Complaint Against DR Congo by oyeb15:
If u want to defeat Nigeria, allow them to win first half. The half time break will be party and show of pride.Music etc

Equalize in the 60+ minutes. They will start pointing fingers at themselves, warning themselves. The captain will be telling d coach to remove someone etc.

Any goal against super eagles again, confusion has entered the team. Plenty fouls, nobody will chase ball again. Our boys will start looking down. Nobody will look at d big screen again.

Our coaches at viewing centers will be shouting and raining curses ...
Odiegu
Re: Reggae Boyz Could Face Nigeria In Play-off After Complaint Against DR Congo by dibusnotion: 11:23am On Dec 19, 2025
Afrobeats boys vs Reggae boys
Re: Reggae Boyz Could Face Nigeria In Play-off After Complaint Against DR Congo by ngmgeek(m): 11:23am On Dec 19, 2025
Something times pushing and pushing when you're rejected is dangerous. Not when the players are jokes 🤣
Re: Reggae Boyz Could Face Nigeria In Play-off After Complaint Against DR Congo by GanagiBitrus: 11:23am On Dec 19, 2025
Iran2025:
DR Congo is better representative in world cup than Nigeria. Make dem allow DR Congo go world abeg.
Inasmuch as I don't like the idea of S/Eagles "qualifying via the backdoor", Rules are Rules, &Congo would have exploited same backdoor opportunity against Nigeria, if the tables were turned.
Re: Reggae Boyz Could Face Nigeria In Play-off After Complaint Against DR Congo by Osariemen12: 11:24am On Dec 19, 2025
Balderdash.

A team that played draw in its home and away qualifying matches against Zimbabwe is not a team to feature in the world cup main events. The super eagles messed their chances of playing in the world cup.

Kiss the truth.
Re: Reggae Boyz Could Face Nigeria In Play-off After Complaint Against DR Congo by Babatunjo: 11:24am On Dec 19, 2025
I see the hand of the powerful Amaju Pinnick in this
Re: Reggae Boyz Could Face Nigeria In Play-off After Complaint Against DR Congo by ngmgeek(m): 11:24am On Dec 19, 2025
King Bulaba boys versus Reggae Boys cheesy
Re: Reggae Boyz Could Face Nigeria In Play-off After Complaint Against DR Congo by bestman09(m): 11:25am On Dec 19, 2025
Assuming if we enter through the back door?
Re: Reggae Boyz Could Face Nigeria In Play-off After Complaint Against DR Congo by Josywhyte: 11:26am On Dec 19, 2025
NFF, if naija had qualified would you have said all these? Una underrate DRC and them knack una out of the tournament and you're here making noise. Just stick to AFCON cause WC is not for you till you stop all that una corruption of looting sports money
Re: Reggae Boyz Could Face Nigeria In Play-off After Complaint Against DR Congo by mikeapollo: 11:26am On Dec 19, 2025
Babatunjo:
I see the hand of the powerful Amaju Pinnick in this
''Powerful'' where? This Amaju Pinnick qualify Nigeria for 2022 World Cup when he was the head of NFF?
Re: Reggae Boyz Could Face Nigeria In Play-off After Complaint Against DR Congo by adioolayi(m): 11:26am On Dec 19, 2025
Even, if the petition eventually scale through and it's positive for Nigeria...can we even beat Jamaicahuh

grin grin grin grin grin
Re: Reggae Boyz Could Face Nigeria In Play-off After Complaint Against DR Congo by GasAndOilTheory(m): 11:27am On Dec 19, 2025
Imagine Jamaica trash Nigeria after all the twist and turns to qualify 😂😂🤣
Re: Reggae Boyz Could Face Nigeria In Play-off After Complaint Against DR Congo by GasAndOilTheory(m): 11:27am On Dec 19, 2025
adioolayi:
Can we even beat Jamaicahuh

grin grin grin grin grin
This will be a very rough call
Re: Reggae Boyz Could Face Nigeria In Play-off After Complaint Against DR Congo by Putindbutt(m): 11:29am On Dec 19, 2025
Finally Oshimen will be at the world cup. This will be his last chance, a good player like that should not be denied an appearance at the world cup in his career.
Re: Reggae Boyz Could Face Nigeria In Play-off After Complaint Against DR Congo by dominique(mod): 11:29am On Dec 19, 2025
Already counting your chickens before they hatch. If Congo is found guilty, I hope they're fined and they get to continue with playoffs.
1 2 3 4 Reply

Nigeria To Face DR Congo In Play-off Final For 2026 World CupUSA Face Nigeria In Olympic Women’s Basketball Knockouts2022 World Cup: Nigeria To Face Any Of Egypt, Ghana, Cameroon In Play-Offs234

Portugal Will Play North Macedonia For A Place At The 2022 World CupWhich Of These Coaches Had The Greatest Legacy?"Lose To Liverpool And Title Race Is Over" - Guardiola Warns Man. City Players