Stats: 3,328,819 members, 8,437,539 topics. Date: Thursday, 02 July 2026 at 03:05 AM

Why Some Husbands Slowly Shut Down Emotionally. - Family (2) - Nairaland

Nairaland ForumNairaland GeneralFamilyWhy Some Husbands Slowly Shut Down Emotionally. (14680 Views)

1 2 3 Reply (Go Down)

Re: Why Some Husbands Slowly Shut Down Emotionally. by fitinwell: 11:22am On Dec 27, 2025
Makelele004:
Many wives ask the same question in silence. When did things change. Why does he feel distant. What happened to the connection we had.

Feelings in marriage do not vanish suddenly. They weaken over time. Love fades through habits, not single mistakes. A husband loses feelings when emotional connection breaks down and stays broken.

The most common cause is emotional neglect. This does not mean absence or cruelty. It means a lack of response. Conversations feel one sided. Concerns feel dismissed. Appreciation feels rare. Over time, a husband stops sharing what he thinks and feels. He learns it leads nowhere. Emotional withdrawal starts quietly.

Another cause is repeated conflict without repair. Arguments alone do not damage a marriage. What causes harm is the tone inside those arguments. Sarcasm. Harsh words. Constant criticism. When conflict turns personal, respect erodes. Attraction struggles to survive where respect feels lost. A husband who feels belittled stops leaning in.

Unresolved resentment plays a major role. Issues that never get addressed do not disappear. They build pressure. A husband may stop bringing things up because past attempts failed. He withdraws to protect himself from more disappointment. This distance often gets mistaken for peace. It is not. It is emotional shutdown.

Identity drift also matters. People change after marriage. Responsibilities grow. Priorities shift. Problems start when couples fail to talk about those changes. One partner grows in a new direction. The other feels left behind. The marriage starts feeling out of sync with real life. A husband loses feelings when the relationship no longer reflects who he is now.

Sexual disconnection follows emotional distance. It rarely leads it. When intimacy feels forced, rejected, or avoided, emotional closeness weakens further. A husband who feels unwanted stops trying. Desire fades after connection fades.

Many assume losing feelings means love is gone. That assumption blocks healing. In most cases, emotional detachment follows many failed attempts to reconnect. By the time feelings seem absent, warning signs existed for years.

Marriage does not break because people stop loving. It breaks because they stop repairing. Emotional connection responds to behaviour. Change the pattern and feelings often respond.

This understanding matters. It shifts focus from blame to action. Marriage survives through awareness, effort, and honest repair.
When you complain about something in Marriage Fix it... Don't ignore them.
Re: Why Some Husbands Slowly Shut Down Emotionally. by IyaTola: 11:28am On Dec 27, 2025
Many husbands don’t wake up one day deciding to feel distant. And many wives don’t suddenly become unaware or uncaring. Most marriages drift not because one person failed, but because two people slowly stopped knowing how to reach each other.

Emotional neglect is real—but it often runs both ways. One partner may feel unheard, while the other feels unappreciated or invisible. Each retreats, assuming the other no longer cares. Silence grows where curiosity once lived.

Conflict doesn’t only wound through harsh words. It also hurts when pain goes unspoken. Some husbands withdraw not because they feel disrespected, but because they don’t know how to express hurt without causing more damage. Withdrawal can be confusion, not rejection.

Resentment builds when both partners feel alone in the same marriage. One feels unsupported. The other feels misunderstood. Each believes they’ve tried enough. Neither feels safe enough to try again.
Identity changes don’t have to divide couples—but they often do when growth happens separately instead of together. When one person evolves quietly, the other can feel abandoned even if no one meant to leave.
And intimacy doesn’t disappear because desire dies. It disappears because closeness feels risky. Rejection—real or perceived—teaches both people to stop reaching.
Losing feelings doesn’t always mean love is gone. Sometimes it means love is buried under exhaustion, fear, and unspoken grief.
Many couples don’t stop repairing because they don’t care—they stop because they don’t know how anymore.

Marriage heals when both people feel seen again. Not blamed. Not analyzed. Just understood.
And sometimes, the most powerful repair begins with one brave, honest moment of reconnection.
Makelele004:
Many wives ask the same question in silence. When did things change. Why does he feel distant. What happened to the connection we had.

Feelings in marriage do not vanish suddenly. They weaken over time. Love fades through habits, not single mistakes. A husband loses feelings when emotional connection breaks down and stays broken.

The most common cause is emotional neglect. This does not mean absence or cruelty. It means a lack of response. Conversations feel one sided. Concerns feel dismissed. Appreciation feels rare. Over time, a husband stops sharing what he thinks and feels. He learns it leads nowhere. Emotional withdrawal starts quietly.

Another cause is repeated conflict without repair. Arguments alone do not damage a marriage. What causes harm is the tone inside those arguments. Sarcasm. Harsh words. Constant criticism. When conflict turns personal, respect erodes. Attraction struggles to survive where respect feels lost. A husband who feels belittled stops leaning in.

Unresolved resentment plays a major role. Issues that never get addressed do not disappear. They build pressure. A husband may stop bringing things up because past attempts failed. He withdraws to protect himself from more disappointment. This distance often gets mistaken for peace. It is not. It is emotional shutdown.

Identity drift also matters. People change after marriage. Responsibilities grow. Priorities shift. Problems start when couples fail to talk about those changes. One partner grows in a new direction. The other feels left behind. The marriage starts feeling out of sync with real life. A husband loses feelings when the relationship no longer reflects who he is now.

Sexual disconnection follows emotional distance. It rarely leads it. When intimacy feels forced, rejected, or avoided, emotional closeness weakens further. A husband who feels unwanted stops trying. Desire fades after connection fades.

Many assume losing feelings means love is gone. That assumption blocks healing. In most cases, emotional detachment follows many failed attempts to reconnect. By the time feelings seem absent, warning signs existed for years.

Marriage does not break because people stop loving. It breaks because they stop repairing. Emotional connection responds to behaviour. Change the pattern and feelings often respond.

This understanding matters. It shifts focus from blame to action. Marriage survives through awareness, effort, and honest repair.
Re: Why Some Husbands Slowly Shut Down Emotionally. by Checkwell: 11:32am On Dec 27, 2025
essentialone:
A Lady is a:

L - Lazy
A - And
D - Disgusting
Y - Yanch

But as for Ladies, it is:

L - Lazy
A - And
D - Disgusting
I - Irritants
E - Emotionally
S - Sick
Makes no sense. Lame.
Re: Why Some Husbands Slowly Shut Down Emotionally. by Adakintroy: 11:33am On Dec 27, 2025
Many lady get too comfortable with a man provision..as some point they hide their disrespect under arrogance of " it's a man's duty to provide

Even if it's your father duty to provide, what kind of a child will you be if you don't respect him in return?

You can't love a man. You can only respect him
Re: Why Some Husbands Slowly Shut Down Emotionally. by davidtemi(m): 11:37am On Dec 27, 2025
Kobojunkie:
you ain't even half as smart as you think yourself to be if you were not able to figure that instead of OPs suggestions that women labor in vain/suffer in marriage with such obviously immature specimens, I would rather women be encouraged to seek divorce from such marriages. 🥱🥱

2026 is a brand new opportunity to prioritize acquisition of language comprehension skills.🥱🥱🥱
You are not making sense at all
Re: Why Some Husbands Slowly Shut Down Emotionally. by ayoncox: 11:38am On Dec 27, 2025
Kobojunkie:
Nonsense! Why should it be the wife's responsibility to police a grown- arsed man's emotions for him? If a man emotionally disconnects from his marriage, it should be his responsibility to detect and immediately correct himself. undecided

Abeg normalize divorce and stop pretending men are adult children women need to take care of in marriage...the same marriage these men are supposedly leaders/heads of. No wonder sex goes out the door after a while with women eventually realizing their husbands are no different from their own children in that they too need raising.😩😩😩😩

Normalize divorce make women freely exit such relationships. A grown man still unable to do the basic inner work required of all adult humans needs a mother and not a wife and no woman's child should be burdened with such nonsense. 😩😩😩
You don come with your confused mind again
Re: Why Some Husbands Slowly Shut Down Emotionally. by Weathered: 11:38am On Dec 27, 2025
Makelele004:

the problem of the modern liberal marriage where they believe men and women are equals. They are not

If the writer is a man, he is an emotional simp who cries and complains like a woman
Re: Why Some Husbands Slowly Shut Down Emotionally. by GaskiyaTV: 11:39am On Dec 27, 2025
essentialone:
A Lady is a:

L - Lazy
A - And
D - Disgusting
Y - Yanch

L - Lazy
A - And
D - Disgusting
I - Irritants
E - Emotionally
S - Sick
Are you not born of a woman. Anonymity is not a licence to act like a jerk. If your real photo and full name were on display na your type dey turn motivational speaker.
Re: Why Some Husbands Slowly Shut Down Emotionally. by fyneboi79(m): 11:41am On Dec 27, 2025
essentialone:
A Lady is a:

L - Lazy
A - And
D - Disgusting
Y - Yanch

L - Lazy
A - And
D - Disgusting
I - Irritants
E - Emotionally
S - Sick
How old are you?
Re: Why Some Husbands Slowly Shut Down Emotionally. by Lush100(m): 11:58am On Dec 27, 2025
No-need-to-read thread.

The wisdom of valued contributor will not be adhered to.
Re: Why Some Husbands Slowly Shut Down Emotionally. by babztee(m): 11:59am On Dec 27, 2025
Women are selfish beings.They are also insatiable as they think a relationship/marriage revolves around them.

Once they stop getting things that are beneficial to them,they don’t bother to ask what the problem is.

And while you’re still figuring out things as a man,women begin to drift away and eventually vanish.

As a man,put yourself first ,and don’t over-play your role in a woman’s life.

Whatever you did for a woman on Monday is not remembered on Tuesday.Once it finishes,they move on to the next available provider after they must have manipulated your brain.

Fear woman !
Re: Why Some Husbands Slowly Shut Down Emotionally. by Lovit(m): 12:01pm On Dec 27, 2025
Kobojunkie:
Nonsense! Why should it be the wife's responsibility to police a grown- arsed man's emotions for him? If a man emotionally disconnects from his marriage, it should be his responsibility to detect and immediately correct himself. undecided

Abeg normalize divorce and stop pretending men are adult children women need to take care of in marriage...the same marriage these men are supposedly leaders/heads of. No wonder sex goes out the door after a while with women eventually realizing their husbands are no different from their own children in that they too need raising.😩😩😩😩

Normalize divorce make women freely exit such relationships. A grown man still unable to do the basic inner work required of all adult humans needs a mother and not a wife and no woman's child should be burdened with such nonsense. 😩😩😩
As usual you don't fail to disappoint, to you everything is about gender war and we versus them
When a marriage fails it could be the fault of one or both of the parties
Do not forget that there are good women and there are bad women, vice versal
maturity means you are able to see things objectively and discuss it without biases
a woman's behavior could make his man withdrawn and thereby leading to the collapse of a marriage, please note this!
Re: Why Some Husbands Slowly Shut Down Emotionally. by bentenny(m): 12:06pm On Dec 27, 2025
davidtemi:
You are not making sense at all
What do you expect from someone who consistently types as if it's an AI
Re: Why Some Husbands Slowly Shut Down Emotionally. by Kobojunkie: 12:11pm On Dec 27, 2025
Lovit:
As usual you don't fail to disappoint, to you everything is about gender war and we versus them
When a marriage fails it could be the fault of one or both of the parties. Do not forget that there are good women and there are bad women, vice versal
maturity means you are able to see things objectively and discuss it without biases
a woman's behavior could make his man withdrawn and thereby leading to the collapse of a marriage, please note this!
I never made this about gender...OP did. undecided

Also pretend marriage counselor shouldn't need to step in to gaslight women into holding on to such men in marriage. Counselors are meant to be neutral parties, not take the sides of husbands over wives in the name of keeping the marriage. undecided
Re: Why Some Husbands Slowly Shut Down Emotionally. by Darkmode64:
Kobojunkie:
1. Children date too, does that make them capable? Come on now! 🥱🥱🥱

2. Children need caregivers to raise them so they can become capable adults. It's not the children being deadset on having their caregivers to give them these needed training but a responsibility on the part of the caregivers to do this for those children. 🥱🥱

It is however not a wife's place to help regulate the emotions of her husband. That there is indicative of foundational problems in that union that can only be resolved if and when the husband becomes an adult. 🥱🥱

3. A wife should have no hand in helping guide or regulating her husbands emotions for him. One of the signs of maturity is ability to regulate ones own emotions and properly guide oneself into managing emotional energy in the right direction. Being an adult is more than simply meeting set age requirement. 🥱🥱

4. So because she made a mistake in marrying an immature man, she shouldn't them divorce him? What you are telling us is that when you realize you are lost, rather than accept the mistake and then work towards retracing your steps so as to get yourself back on the right track, you will instead continue on on into the wilderness wherever it will take you? 🥱🥱🥱

5. Train another woman's child who happens to be "head over you" because you believe this adult child will one day change to begin pleasing you like children do their mother's, abi? 🥱🥱🥱

6. Wrong! There is no such thing as your deadset husband. Any man who does not realize he has to always put his best foot forward for the women he supposedly loves is a man who does not love that woman but is around her for what he benefits from her. 🥱🥱🥱
People like you on Nairaland always amuse you. If only you can channel the same efforts towards bettering yourself, maybe you'll leave this position you're in. cheesy grin

It's always talk talk talk so that they appear somewhat smart. Nothing more.
Re: Why Some Husbands Slowly Shut Down Emotionally. by FashionCookie(f): 12:25pm On Dec 27, 2025
Occupation...writing articles on women.
Una mind go dey. Na 2026 we dey enter so.
Re: Why Some Husbands Slowly Shut Down Emotionally. by PDJT: 12:30pm On Dec 27, 2025
- Hence, why Ned said he pity men that married only one woman. Men don't die in silence, marry more wives for your own good and well-being.
Re: Why Some Husbands Slowly Shut Down Emotionally. by Chefinnocent(m): 12:31pm On Dec 27, 2025
Who ever that wrote this God will bless you, this is exactly what I'm facing right now in my marriage, as I'm typing this I'm in tears and confused, I wish this will get to the front page , when I married my wife she was so humble and respectful, I could even remember when she knelt down to give me water, this is a long story because things has changed, I don't even know where to start I'm confused, since our marriage I have been working outside the city we leave I only come home 2twice in a week , but since I now have 3 daughters I think it wise to get a job in the same city we live to enable me be a father figure to my daughters, it is doing this period that I notice the real character of my wife , since this month I haven't eaten the food she cooked because I don't trust her again, I'm someone that hate noise I like quietness I don't have friends I have never smoke or drink in my life, I like meditating but each time I want to do all this things my wife and my children will start making noise , the recent one that happened was last week Sunday we were inside the church and sermon was going on everywhere was quite but my wife and my last daughter was playing and laughing out loud, that even the usher came to caution her but still she didn't stop then I caution her also you can't imagine how my wife shouted at me in the congregation, due to what is happening in my marriage I will never advice anyone to get married but before now I'm an ambassador of marriage, my wife has changed who I'm and who I vision to be , I provide 100% for her and the daughter, I don't know what her excuse is , I do 3 type of job in a day just to make up the expenses, I do buy half bag of rice every month and other foodstuffs imagine my wife was abusing me that my mate is buying one bag but what I can buy us only half bag ,pls what should I do , the only thing in my mind is to leave the marriage but I'm afraid of my children cuz she can't take care of them , I mean she can't train them the way I wish, my daughters listen to me than her, when I'm around the behave normal,
Re: Why Some Husbands Slowly Shut Down Emotionally. by judewrites: 12:46pm On Dec 27, 2025
Passive men tend to be attracted to and marry aggressive women, quiet men as well to talkative women.

When tables turn in marriage, that is as a man can't provide anymore or the wife takes his responsibility, it's usually passive men that suffer the most emotionally and other wise.
Re: Why Some Husbands Slowly Shut Down Emotionally. by SeriouslySense(m): 12:54pm On Dec 27, 2025
Why are you yawning always grin grin
Kobojunkie:
1. Children date too, does that make them capable? Come on now! 🥱🥱🥱

2. Children need caregivers to raise them so they can become capable adults. It's not the children being deadset on having their caregivers to give them these needed training but a responsibility on the part of the caregivers to do this for those children. 🥱🥱

It is however not a wife's place to help regulate the emotions of her husband. That there is indicative of foundational problems in that union that can only be resolved if and when the husband becomes an adult. 🥱🥱

3. A wife should have no hand in helping guide or regulating her husbands emotions for him. One of the signs of maturity is ability to regulate ones own emotions and properly guide oneself into managing emotional energy in the right direction. Being an adult is more than simply meeting set age requirement. 🥱🥱

4. So because she made a mistake in marrying an immature man, she shouldn't them divorce him? What you are telling us is that when you realize you are lost, rather than accept the mistake and then work towards retracing your steps so as to get yourself back on the right track, you will instead continue on on into the wilderness wherever it will take you? 🥱🥱🥱

5. Train another woman's child who happens to be "head over you" because you believe this adult child will one day change to begin pleasing you like children do their mother's, abi? 🥱🥱🥱

6. Wrong! There is no such thing as your deadset husband. Any man who does not realize he has to always put his best foot forward for the women he supposedly loves is a man who does not love that woman but is around her for what he benefits from her. 🥱🥱🥱
Re: Why Some Husbands Slowly Shut Down Emotionally. by melechpilusof: 1:25pm On Dec 27, 2025
essentialone:
A Lady is a:

L - Lazy
A - And
D - Disgusting
Y - Yanch

L - Lazy
A - And
D - Disgusting
I - Irritants
E - Emotionally
S - Sick
Disgusting for real ooo
Re: Why Some Husbands Slowly Shut Down Emotionally. by IDERAWOLE(m): 1:31pm On Dec 27, 2025
jaszplus12:
The exact point the OP is trying to make is what you have just displayed!! Outsmarted yourself being too smart!
🤣🤣🤣
I no know say you see am o.

Anyway, who dey mind this mindset?
Re: Why Some Husbands Slowly Shut Down Emotionally. by Greattha: 1:35pm On Dec 27, 2025
While it's important for women to prioritize their own well-being, healthy relationships often involve mutual care and support. Emotional connection benefits both partners.

Let's really hope you find peace, healing and forgiveness cos your anger towards men is exhausting.

Remember, every man is a woman's son and every woman is a man's daughter.

Kobojunkie:

Re: Why Some Husbands Slowly Shut Down Emotionally. by Faposky95: 2:24pm On Dec 27, 2025
budaatum:
If men know this, perhaps they, men, wouldn't be asking Why does she feel distant. What happened to the connection we had.

After all, its not only wives who ask the questions you posed, since women too distance themselves from men who lack awareness, and don't put effort in, and who don't honestly repair their relationship with their wives.
A woman is still different from your wife.
Those coming here to mislead or paste the shitty remains if their relationships should if possible, be censored.
Our society is in need of healthy continuation.
Re: Why Some Husbands Slowly Shut Down Emotionally. by Double0h7(f): 2:29pm On Dec 27, 2025
essentialone:
How?
If a lady’s yanch is disgusting to you, then a man’s yanch must be what? I dey suspect you ooo 😏
Re: Why Some Husbands Slowly Shut Down Emotionally. by Double0h7(f): 2:31pm On Dec 27, 2025
melechpilusof:
Disgusting for real ooo
Hmmm so male yanch is your flavour too! We have heard and we respect your taste 🫡 ✊
Re: Why Some Husbands Slowly Shut Down Emotionally. by Double0h7(f): 2:33pm On Dec 27, 2025
FashionCookie:
Occupation...writing articles on women.
Una mind go dey. Na 2026 we dey enter so.
Do you remember when it use to be young ladies writing articles on men 😂 😂 😂

We have passed the baton down to our men 😎
Re: Why Some Husbands Slowly Shut Down Emotionally. by Lovelydaisies: 4:22pm On Dec 27, 2025
Chefinnocent:
Who ever that wrote this God will bless you, this is exactly what I'm facing right now in my marriage, as I'm typing this I'm in tears and confused, I wish this will get to the front page , when I married my wife she was so humble and respectful, I could even remember when she knelt down to give me water, this is a long story because things has changed, I don't even know where to start I'm confused, since our marriage I have been working outside the city we leave I only come home 2twice in a week , but since I now have 3 daughters I think it wise to get a job in the same city we live to enable me be a father figure to my daughters, it is doing this period that I notice the real character of my wife , since this month I haven't eaten the food she cooked because I don't trust her again, I'm someone that hate noise I like quietness I don't have friends I have never smoke or drink in my life, I like meditating but each time I want to do all this things my wife and my children will start making noise , the recent one that happened was last week Sunday we were inside the church and sermon was going on everywhere was quite but my wife and my last daughter was playing and laughing out loud, that even the usher came to caution her but still she didn't stop then I caution her also you can't imagine how my wife shouted at me in the congregation, due to what is happening in my marriage I will never advice anyone to get married but before now I'm an ambassador of marriage, my wife has changed who I'm and who I vision to be , I provide 100% for her and the daughter, I don't know what her excuse is , I do 3 type of job in a day just to make up the expenses, I do buy half bag of rice every month and other foodstuffs imagine my wife was abusing me that my mate is buying one bag but what I can buy us only half bag ,pls what should I do , the only thing in my mind is to leave the marriage but I'm afraid of my children cuz she can't take care of them , I mean she can't train them the way I wish, my daughters listen to me than her, when I'm around the behave normal,
Hmmm, I feel sorry for you and can't imagine myself going so low as to be a burden or sorrow to my partner. But, are you sure you didn't in anyway cause her change in her?
Have you tried to talk to her (again), because I know you must've.

Consider a separation, just for a while. I didn't say divorce o! Go with the kids, or with her on a vacation, if you can.

See a marriage counselor.

Pray a lot.

Talk to her family, if she refuses to give way for peace. She has to state what her problem is. If she wants out, let her tell you.

I really do hope you find joy once again in your marriage. May God bless you.
Re: Why Some Husbands Slowly Shut Down Emotionally. by budaatum: 5:31pm On Dec 27, 2025
Faposky95:
A woman is still different from your wife.
In case you have not noticed, we are talking about husbands and wives, and not just men and women.
Re: Why Some Husbands Slowly Shut Down Emotionally. by lailo: 5:35pm On Dec 27, 2025
budaatum:
If men know this, perhaps they, men, wouldn't be asking Why does she feel distant. What happened to the connection we had.

After all, its not only wives who ask the questions you posed, since women too distance themselves from men who lack awareness, and don't put effort in, and who don't honestly repair their relationship with their wives.
comments I read here shows most of u are not married or kids in adult body. There is nothing u can do to satisfy a woman. The best relationship coach and marriage counsellors have all left their wives bcs despite all they know about strategies to keep a woman, yet they cant satisfy her. No amount of emotional maturity, money or knowledge about marriage can keep a woman. Oyakhilome, Okotie, Dangote, Elon Musk and lots of people we all look up to have stories to tell. If u give her so much money, she will pick u up on emotional neglect. If u satisfy her emotional needs and treat her well, she will pick u up on financial inadequacies. If u have enough money and provide enough emotional needs, she will pick u up on unsatisfactory sex grin. If u provide all of these in marriage, she will yet pick u up on being too good for her. You can never satisfy a woman. Know this and know peace
1 2 3 Reply

How Do I Deal With An Emotionally Cheating HusbandMy Wife Is Slowly Distancing Herself From Me.....My Husband Is Torturing Me Emotionally234

Man Shares Experience With An Entitled Relative Months After Giving Him MillionsShould A Man Have A Gun In His House?Advise Needed For A Young Man About Marriage.