Stats: 3,328,987 members, 8,438,293 topics. Date: Friday, 03 July 2026 at 09:04 AM

Chimamanda Adichie Gives Euracare 1 Week To Release Son’s Medical Records - Literature - Nairaland

Nairaland ForumEntertainmentLiteratureChimamanda Adichie Gives Euracare 1 Week To Release Son’s Medical Records (15396 Views)

1 2 3 Reply (Go Down)

Chimamanda Adichie Gives Euracare 1 Week To Release Son’s Medical Records by OLAADEGBU(op): 12:01pm On Jan 12
Chimamanda Adichie, Husband Give Euracare Hospital One Week To Release Deceased Son’s Medical Records, Warn Against Evidence Tampering

Renowned Nigerian author Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie and her husband, Ivara Esege, have formally demanded that Euracare Multi-Specialist Hospital, Lagos, release complete medical records and preserve all evidence connected to the death of their 21-month-old son, Nkanu Adichie-Esege.

The demand was contained in a four-page letter dated January 10, 2026, written by the law firm Pinheiro LP and signed by its founding partner, Kemi Pinheiro (SAN).

The letter gives the hospital seven days to comply.

Nkanu, who was born on March 25, 2024, died on January 7, 2026, while undergoing medical procedures at the private hospital.

Allegations of Medical Negligence

In the letter addressed to Euracare’s Medical Director, Dr. Tosin Majekodunmi, the lawyers accused the hospital of “prima facie breaches of the duty of care” in its treatment of the child on January 6 and 7, 2026.

According to the letter, the child had been referred to Euracare from Atlantis Pediatric Hospital for a series of diagnostic and preparatory procedures, including an echocardiogram, brain MRI, PICC line insertion, and lumbar puncture, ahead of a planned transfer to Johns Hopkins Hospital in Baltimore, United States, where a specialist medical team was reportedly awaiting him.

The lawyers stated that the child was sedated with propofol at Euracare. However, during transfer following the MRI procedure, he reportedly developed sudden complications that led to his death.

Specific Concerns Raised

Pinheiro LP said a preliminary assessment of the circumstances surrounding the child’s death revealed serious concerns when measured against established standards of pediatric anesthetic and procedural care.

The letter outlined 12 specific issues, including: "The appropriateness of using propofol on a child of that age; Dosage administration; Airway protection during sedation; Alleged lack of oxygen during transfer; Absence of adequate monitoring; and Failure to follow established pediatric anesthesia and patient safety protocols.”

“These matters disclose prima facie breaches of the duty of care owed to the deceased child,” the lawyers stated, adding that the hospital, the anesthesiologist, and all attending medical personnel may be liable for medical negligence resulting in the child’s death.

The lawyers demanded that Euracare provide certified copies of all records relating to the child’s care within seven days. These include admission notes, consent forms, drug charts, anesthesia and monitoring records, procedural and ICU reports, incident reports, and a full list of all medical personnel involved.

The hospital was also formally instructed to preserve all evidence relevant to the matter, physical, electronic, and digital, including CCTV footage, electronic monitoring data, pharmacy records, internal reviews, and audit trails.

The letter warned that any destruction, alteration, or tampering with evidence after receipt of the notice would be regarded as obstruction of justice, attracting legal consequences.

Possible Legal Action

The lawyers cautioned that failure to comply within the stipulated seven-day period would trigger “all available legal, regulatory, and judicial remedies” against the hospital and its personnel.

The letter was issued, the firm noted, “without prejudice to our clients’ rights, claims, and remedies, all of which are hereby expressly reserved.”

As of the time of filing this report, Euracare Multi-Specialist Hospital had not issued a public response to the allegations or the demands contained in the letter.
SaharaReporters

The demand was contained in a four-page letter dated January 10, 2026, written by the law firm Pinheiro LP and signed by its founding partner, Kemi Pinheiro (SAN).

Re: Chimamanda Adichie Gives Euracare 1 Week To Release Son’s Medical Records by Babangidapikin: 12:10pm On Jan 12
hmmm my Condolences o, didn't know it was true.
Re: Chimamanda Adichie Gives Euracare 1 Week To Release Son’s Medical Records by lekky1: 12:18pm On Jan 12
OLAADEGBU:
This is sad. May God comfort our dear Chimamanda for the loss of her child. The government needs to overhaul the health sector.

Please pay attention to your brain health.
👉brainhealthhaven..com

#ProtectYourBrainProtectWhoYouAre
Re: Chimamanda Adichie Gives Euracare 1 Week To Release Son’s Medical Records by OLAADEGBU(op): 1:35pm On Jan 12
Nigerian Anaesthetists’ Society Seeks Involvement In Lagos Probe Of Chimamanda Adichie Son’s Death
January 12, 2026
NEWS

The Nigerian Society of Anaesthetists (NSA) has stressed the need for specialist input as the Lagos State Government probes allegations of medical negligence linked to the death of the son of renowned author Chimamanda Adichie.

The call comes amid public attention generated by Adichie’s accusation that Euracare Multispecialist Hospital, where her son died, acted negligently.

The hospital has since denied the claim. In response, the Lagos State Health Facility Monitoring and Accreditation Agency has begun an investigation following directives from Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu.

In a statement issued on Monday, the national president of the NSA, Alhassan Mohammed, welcomed the government’s intervention but emphasised that the circumstances of the case require the direct involvement of a senior anaesthesia specialist, given the nature of the medical procedure involved, according to the News Agency of Nigeria.

“The alleged medical negligence appears to have centred around the physician anaesthetist, who is a member of the team that carried out the procedure to facilitate MRI,” the NSA said.

“In this regard, the NSA recommends very strongly that a senior and experienced physician anaesthetist should be co-opted into the investigative panel for a comprehensive review of the incident.”

The NSA described the incident as a “sad one indeed,” adding that ”we have an opportunity to reflect on the practice of Anaesthesia in Lagos state and Nigeria by diligently implementing the recommendations of the investigative panel.”

Mr Mohammed noted that beyond determining culpability, the investigation presents a broader opportunity to review clinical standards and strengthen anaesthesia practice across Lagos State and the country, particularly in high-risk diagnostic procedures requiring sedation.

Last Thursday, SaharaReporters reported that Adichie and her husband, Dr Ivara Esege, lost a 21-month-old son, Nkanu Nnamdi.

The child died last Wednesday, following a brief illness.

The family confirmed the loss in a statement issued on Thursday by Omawumi Ogbe and asked for privacy during the difficult time.

SaharaReporters
The hospital has since denied the claim. In response, the Lagos State Health Facility Monitoring and Accreditation Agency has begun an investigation following directives from Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu.

Re: Chimamanda Adichie Gives Euracare 1 Week To Release Son’s Medical Records by SixSeven: 2:42pm On Jan 12
Losing father, mother and child isn't easy for Chimamanda. It's not easy to lose your loved ones. I read her book where she wrote about her loss and I don't expect her to write for a few years to come but maybe life has a message for us.... And we put them to words.

Re: Chimamanda Adichie Gives Euracare 1 Week To Release Son’s Medical Records by nairalanda1(m): 2:42pm On Jan 12
So for now, no speculations until the investigation is over
Re: Chimamanda Adichie Gives Euracare 1 Week To Release Son’s Medical Records by GloriousGbola: 2:45pm On Jan 12
Them don enter one chance
Re: Chimamanda Adichie Gives Euracare 1 Week To Release Son’s Medical Records by jojo1415: 2:46pm On Jan 12
May Nigeria never happen to us 🙏
Re: Chimamanda Adichie Gives Euracare 1 Week To Release Son’s Medical Records by bravehost4u(m):
Chai! Nigeria Medical Personels and their gross incompetence. It's a pity. May Almighty comfort Chimamanda and her family. It is well
Re: Chimamanda Adichie Gives Euracare 1 Week To Release Son’s Medical Records by Tenrack: 2:46pm On Jan 12
I don't mean to sound insensitive but if na poor man pikin wey no get anyone or Sabi anybody shey dem go send?
Re: Chimamanda Adichie Gives Euracare 1 Week To Release Son’s Medical Records by Nwaikpe: 2:47pm On Jan 12
To those who finish studying outside the country and still run back home, I have this to tell you:

Goodluck.
Re: Chimamanda Adichie Gives Euracare 1 Week To Release Son’s Medical Records by delzbaba(m): 2:47pm On Jan 12
Thank God they've stepped on big toes, all these rubbish from medical practitioners must stop, they have been doing it for so long, that is why our politicians prefer to run abroad at the slightest headache. Justice must prevail.
14 Likes
Re: Chimamanda Adichie Gives Euracare 1 Week To Release Son’s Medical Records by Edu3Again: 2:49pm On Jan 12
OLAADEGBU:
SaharaReporters

This should be done for every death in hospital
Re: Chimamanda Adichie Gives Euracare 1 Week To Release Son’s Medical Records by LabStores: 2:50pm On Jan 12
Good

Those careless lots needs to be held responsible and accountable
Re: Chimamanda Adichie Gives Euracare 1 Week To Release Son’s Medical Records by thatigboman: 2:52pm On Jan 12
Tenrack:
I don't mean to sound insensitive but if na poor man pikin wey no get anyone or Sabi anybody shey dem go send?
they wount. na general hospital poor man bikin go and diedie. and they will carry the corpse and go and bury and say that's how God wants it.
That's how my brother's son was killed at Minna General Hospital. A child that was given birth to healthy at the hospital. but because the nurses didnt tie his umbilical cord well, the child bled to death. and my brother now has 5 daughters and no son. and nobody or institution was sued.
Re: Chimamanda Adichie Gives Euracare 1 Week To Release Son’s Medical Records by Henix(m): 2:52pm On Jan 12
They have met their match. I still remember vividly how my brother died in a specialist hospital 3 years ago, there was no single doctor on ground to attend to him at that critical moment. It was horrible witnessing my brother struggling on hospital bed that midnight before he eventually died
14 Likes
Re: Chimamanda Adichie Gives Euracare 1 Week To Release Son’s Medical Records by DeepSight(m): 2:56pm On Jan 12
Sad.

But for those saying Nigeria Nigeria Nigeria.

Just know that medical malpractice and negligence lawyers make millions abroad as well.

Go figure.
13 Likes
Re: Chimamanda Adichie Gives Euracare 1 Week To Release Son’s Medical Records by Tenrack: 2:58pm On Jan 12
thatigboman:
they wount. na general hospital poor man bikin go and diedie. and they will carry the corpse and go and bury and say that's how God wants it.
That's how my brother's son was killed at Minna General Hospital. A child that was given birth to healthy at the hospital. but because the nurses tie his umbilical cord well, the child bled to death. and my brother now has 5 daughters and no son. and nobody or institution was sued.
imagine. Make she go rest abeg. The child is already dead. Will suing bring him back? Na now day break? Make dem go rest. If she was a nobody, the wouldn't blink an eye.
Re: Chimamanda Adichie Gives Euracare 1 Week To Release Son’s Medical Records by Cmanforall: 2:59pm On Jan 12
If that will be done, it has to be through a lawyer

There are medical ethics and using her fame may not get her what she wants

Sorry for your loss!
Re: Chimamanda Adichie Gives Euracare 1 Week To Release Son’s Medical Records by RollinTNDA: 3:00pm On Jan 12
You people should put respect on Doctors
If you think it's easy go and study medicine
Re: Chimamanda Adichie Gives Euracare 1 Week To Release Son’s Medical Records by TechBaron: 3:01pm On Jan 12
These dudes started their year on the wrong side men.

Lawsuits are hitting their behind from different angles.

But I see some very good reviews about them online.

Well, let the authorities investigate... If they're found culpable of negligence, then let them face the full wrath of the law... (that's if such exists at their level).
Re: Chimamanda Adichie Gives Euracare 1 Week To Release Son’s Medical Records by joseph1832(m):
OLAADEGBU:
SaharaReporters

She and her husband are still grieving. All the same, let them sue that hospital.

To think government hospitals have been demonize to the point, people see them as death traps. Who knows, if she had taken her kid to a government hospital, perhaps the kid would still be alive, because I know they will treat her with kid gloves etc...

Anyway, God knows best. Let her sue them and claim damages.
Re: Chimamanda Adichie Gives Euracare 1 Week To Release Son’s Medical Records by Hmmmmm2024:
I trust the doctors in that hospital did the right thing...you cannot always blame other people for every events. Whether you give them one week or not, you child ( may his soul rest in peace) the incident happened in the same house you were living with him. After the incident, you took the child to the hospital and he died...even the hospital you intend to take the child to abroad, people also die there...if your child had died in the hospital abroad, would you have given them one week ultimatum to produce medical results ? All this nonsense must stop...as a mother, you are suppose to be prosecuted for negligence...
Re: Chimamanda Adichie Gives Euracare 1 Week To Release Son’s Medical Records by Mawin: 3:08pm On Jan 12
I know she is hurt but non these is going to bring the child back.Calling them out is fine but suing them may slowdown her healing in my opnion.
Re: Chimamanda Adichie Gives Euracare 1 Week To Release Son’s Medical Records by TechBaron: 3:08pm On Jan 12
delzbaba:
Thank God they've stepped on big toes, all these rubbish from medical practitioners must stop, they have been doing it for so long, that is why our politicians prefer to run abroad at the slightest headache. Justice must prevail.
Big toes?

Have you checked out the hospital's profile?

Allow investigations to be concluded.
Re: Chimamanda Adichie Gives Euracare 1 Week To Release Son’s Medical Records by Mirasteel: 3:12pm On Jan 12
This Eurocare hospital should be shot down for good, so many complaints about that hospital.
Re: Chimamanda Adichie Gives Euracare 1 Week To Release Son’s Medical Records by Jayce242:
I thought this lady is in the US & her husband is a medical doctor?
Re: Chimamanda Adichie Gives Euracare 1 Week To Release Son’s Medical Records by Switruth: 3:13pm On Jan 12
Tenrack:
imagine. Make she go rest abeg. The child is already dead. Will suing bring him back? Na now day break? Make dem go rest. If she was a nobody, the wouldn't blink an eye.
That's it..... This is Nigeria for you.... She should start lending her voice now to better the Nigerian situation
Re: Chimamanda Adichie Gives Euracare 1 Week To Release Son’s Medical Records by JAMO84: 3:14pm On Jan 12
As a father, I can't even begin to imagine the pains she and hubby are going through. Losing a child at such a young age is probably the worst thing anyone can go through in this life. I pray she has more strength and faith to bear this heavy burden.
1 2 3 Reply

Chimamanda Adichie And Husband, Ivara Esege At Stanel World Awka. PicturesChimamanda Adichie Nearly Cried Seeing Mother, Grace Ifeoma Read Online Comments234

Married Single - A Romance StoryBlack BirdI Did Not Rape Christiana