Stats: 3,325,023 members, 8,419,972 topics. Date: Thursday, 04 June 2026 at 08:38 AM

At The NVC Processing Stage Of The U. S Family Based Preference Category. - Travel (218) - Nairaland

Nairaland ForumNairaland GeneralTravelAt The NVC Processing Stage Of The U. S Family Based Preference Category. (539934 Views)

1 2 3 ... 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 Reply (Go Down)

Re: At The NVC Processing Stage Of The U. S Family Based Preference Category. by ecomallchemistt:
stacyadams:
hahahhahhhhahhaa grin grin grin grin person no go know say DL dey important here till u observe say u really need to dey drive grin ;Dcongrats
Omo… for my state public transportation no be am at all , you need #Mobility make you Dey waka around town.

If you no get car for here , e just be like say na handicap you be cause you no fit do anything 🤣🤣
Re: At The NVC Processing Stage Of The U. S Family Based Preference Category. by aestake: 12:52am On Jan 15
More bans for Nigerians in the latest 75 countries.
Re: At The NVC Processing Stage Of The U. S Family Based Preference Category. by vegaz: 12:59am On Jan 15
PD is still couple years away. Hopefully by then, everything has settled down and back to normal. The whole anti migration thing is heartbreaking.
Re: At The NVC Processing Stage Of The U. S Family Based Preference Category. by Helpout12345: 1:39pm On Jan 15
stacyadams:
1..as a minimum wage earner how long should one do the job before moving to other things?
3what career is okay to look into,?
4 i opened an account with BOA,I i never pick up my CC yet..can you expentiate on how to build cc..between BOA and credit union which is better to bank with?
5 how long is cool to stay with your host before finding your way to avoid overstaying ur welcome?
6 are you of the opinion akata gehs are to be avoided ? grin grin grin
7 how una dey take toast woman for here grin grin grin i .
1. If you can, don't stay beyond the time you are using to get more certificate or qualifications for a better job. The more you stay, the more it's becoming your career in the system and more difficult to switch later.

2. That depends on your background and your resolute to explore other fields. There's medical, IT, and many other fields.

4. Regular brick and wall banks like BoA has many charges and offer poor rates compared Credit Unions. Credit unions have fewer locations in case you have business to do in banking hall. For me, I prefer Credit union for most of my banking business and only keep Regular bank for only the purchase of more branches.

To build Credit score, you should get your first CC from any bank or credit union, use it to buy things and MAKE SURE you pay it as soon as it shows up on the account. Leave a very small amount in there unpaid say less than 50 dollars by the last day of the month. So that the system can see that you are using it because it's the last day of month balance that is captured by the credit bureau. If you do this over 6 month to 1 year, your credit score will go up.
Re: At The NVC Processing Stage Of The U. S Family Based Preference Category. by Helpout12345: 1:55pm On Jan 15
stacyadams:
6. My opinion is that you should avoid uneducated akata girls, they are in their own world. Educated akata are better.

7. You meet women and form friendship. If she is interested and likes you, she will respond. The only caveats here is that date girls in your economic class or higher. I can't over emphasize that. Or better still, f.irk only women in lower class and be serious with those in your class or higher. This is because of family laws here. That's a big topic for another day.

AND understand what sexual harassment and other similar offenses are and be very careful while dating. You will not run into women problems in America. Amen.
Re: At The NVC Processing Stage Of The U. S Family Based Preference Category. by internationalman(m):
ecomallchemistt:
Omo… for my state public transportation no be am at all , you need #Mobility make you Dey waka around town.

If you no get car for here , e just be like say na handicap you be cause you no fit do anything 🤣🤣
Owning a car in most part of US is like owing a phone. It's a necessity that your life and well-being depend on.
Re: At The NVC Processing Stage Of The U. S Family Based Preference Category. by stacyadams: 8:37pm On Jan 15
thank you very much for the write up..its very helpful
Helpout12345:
6. My opinion is that you should avoid uneducated akata girls, they are in their own world. Educated akata are better.

7. You meet women and form friendship. If she is interested and likes you, she will respond. The only caveats here is that date girls in your economic class or higher. I can't over emphasize that. Or better still, f.irk only women in lower class and be serious with those in your class or higher. This is because of family laws here. That's a big topic for another day.

AND understand what sexual harassment and other similar offenses are and be very careful while dating. You will not run into women problems in America. Amen.
Re: At The NVC Processing Stage Of The U. S Family Based Preference Category. by stacyadams: 8:40pm On Jan 15
Helpout12345:

grin grin grin amen at the last sentence grin grin big amen...i dont wanna go down there
Re: At The NVC Processing Stage Of The U. S Family Based Preference Category. by cutedharmee: 10:19pm On Jan 15
Taal17:
Sure, you can go ahead and ask
I also have some questions please.
1. When can I have a credit card and which will you recommend been here for some months now and no one around me is saying anything about it.
2. What's the procedure in getting a credit card? Must I be employed?
Re: At The NVC Processing Stage Of The U. S Family Based Preference Category. by Ashirioluwa: 3:24am On Jan 16
cutedharmee:
1. When can I have a credit card and which will you recommend been here for some months now and no one around me is saying anything about it.
3 key factors that will increase your chances in getting a credit card are

Employment status
Income verification
Credit history

It can sometimes be difficult, but not impossible, for those without a credit history to get a credit card.

Most banks will deny credit card applications or offer what is called a "secured credit card."

Newcomers or those without credit history can get a secured credit card and use it to build a credit history.

For a secured credit card, the bank will ask you to make a deposit, like $200, $300, or $500, and that deposit will serve as the applicant's credit limit if the application is approved.

Another way to get a credit card is if a relative who has a credit card adds you to his or her credit card account as a joint user. In this case, one will be issued a credit card. This scenario works perfect even if you don’t have a job, income, or credit history.

Also, you can open an account with a credit union. Credit unions often make it easier to get a credit card for those with no credit history than conventional banks because they are member-owned and focus on member financial well-being, offering products like secured cards or credit-builder credit cards..
Re: At The NVC Processing Stage Of The U. S Family Based Preference Category. by cutedharmee: 5:41am On Jan 16
Ashirioluwa:
3 key factors that will increase your chances in getting a credit card are

Employment status
Income verification
Credit history

It can sometimes be difficult, but not impossible, for those without a credit history to get a credit card.

Most banks will deny credit card applications or offer what is called a "secured credit card."

Newcomers or those without credit history can get a secured credit card and use it to build a credit history.

For a secured credit card, the bank will ask you to make a deposit, like $200, $300, or $500, and that deposit will serve as the applicant's credit limit if the application is approved.

Another way to get a credit card is if a relative who has a credit card adds you to his or her credit card account as a joint user. In this case, one will be issued a credit card. This scenario works perfect even if you don’t have a job, income, or credit history.

Also, you can open an account with a credit union. Credit unions often make it easier to get a credit card for those with no credit history than conventional banks because they are member-owned and focus on member financial well-being, offering products like secured cards or credit-builder credit cards..
Thank you very much.
Re: At The NVC Processing Stage Of The U. S Family Based Preference Category. by sugaDaddy(m): 10:38am On Jan 16
I understand that many of us have travelled and are finding our way in USA but please, let’s stick to the topic of this forum. For the past few days, there’s been a lot of discussion that has nothing to do with why this thread was created. Please, (I mean no offence but) if you want to discuss about employment, wages, oyinbo women 🤦🏾‍♂️, there are many threads that have been created for that.

Currently, there has been a lot of information concerning Trump’s immigration bans on many countries including Nigeria. We should focus more on this issues, and discuss on how to navigate this by sharing information and updates.

Most people here are at NVC processing stage (more or less) and are going through a lot (especially with all these immigration bans happening) so we should not derail this thread.

Like I said, there are other threads discussing different issues concerning America.

Thanks🙏🏾🙏🏾
Re: At The NVC Processing Stage Of The U. S Family Based Preference Category. by Taal17:
cutedharmee:
As ashiri said, most banks wont offer you a credit card unless you have employment

You can get a secured creidit card though to start. Its basically you putting down say 300 or 500 dollars and the credit card company givies you the equivalent value as your Credit limit. Once you have shown your ability to use it and pay back for i think 6months then you get your money back and they convert it to a regular credit card with a limit.

As you progress pls ensure you first credit cards are 0% Apr for say 6 or 12 months so you can work with no interest. Interest rates and comsumer culture is what gets ppl in debt and limits what you can do in the US.

My first card was from Discover and it was a secured card. I then I eventually qualified from my bank. I watched a youtube video from Graham Stephan and he profiles good credit card options for beginners.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g8KqZuOybds&pp=ygUgZ3JhaGFtIHN0ZXBoYW4gY3JlZGl0IGNhcmRzIDIwMjU%3D

You can try credit unions, some are pretty strong in some states and see what they can offer.

Learning about how a crsedit society works is important. Lastly we all came from majority cash societies where you bought based on what you had. Dont underestimate how important that is, it helps you regulate your appetite in buying..
I only spend on CC what i already have in cash. And if I have to spend what i dont have it should be on what appreciates in value..

Sometimes I watch the Ramsey show on Ytube, his busineess is about getting ppl out of debt. Listening to ppls stories on how they got into debt despite 6figure salaries is a lot of learning for me.
Re: At The NVC Processing Stage Of The U. S Family Based Preference Category. by Taal17: 3:15pm On Jan 16
sugaDaddy:
I understand that many of us have travelled and are finding our way in USA but please, let’s stick to the topic of this forum. For the past few days, there’s been a lot of discussion that has nothing to do with why this thread was created. Please, (I mean no offence but) if you want to discuss about employment, wages, oyinbo women 🤦🏾‍♂️, there are many threads that have been created for that.

Currently, there has been a lot of information concerning Trump’s immigration bans on many countries including Nigeria. We should focus more on this issues, and discuss on how to navigate this by sharing information and updates.

Most people here are at NVC processing stage (more or less) and are going through a lot (especially with all these immigration bans happening) so we should not derail this thread.

Like I said, there are other threads discussing different issues concerning America.

Thanks🙏🏾🙏🏾
I understand, nor vex

There are no updates for those at Consular processing stage that is interview scheduling as visas ca nnot be issued due to the partial ban.
Consular in lagos would still schedule interviews but wont be able to issue a visa. When the ban is reviewed then those who were interviewed already would be up for reconsideration.
Next time for review of the ban is June 2026, unless something changes before then.
The only disadvantage is if your medicals expire and you have to pay again.

Those who are yet to get to interview stage , then processing goes on as normal, nothing changes.

Im sure you know that the policy updates coming back to back affect a wide range of applicants for different visa tyoes both in and outside Nigeria. Only 10998 affects immigrant visas

Even OPT student applicants in the US collect join this restriction ..sigh.
Re: At The NVC Processing Stage Of The U. S Family Based Preference Category. by Taal17:
stacyadams:
1..as a minimum wage earner how long should one do the job before moving to other things?
2 i wan join millitary them say i go write asvab which involves maths and me no know anything bout maths..i go still write am like that and hope i pass the fitness test.
3what career is okay to look into,?
4 i opened an account with BOA,I i never pick up my CC yet..can you expentiate on how to build cc..between BOA and credit union which is better to bank with?
5 how long is cool to stay with your host before finding your way to avoid overstaying ur welcome?
1. Concentrate on building work experience and some savings. Decide what career you want to do and plot your way there. After 6months please look for other jobs that you qualify for. If your career gets more pay with certificate courses take them. Best to find someone doing what you want do and research how to get there. Chatgpt is there, use it.
4. You can open with both banks, as you progress you can see what they offer.
2. You can join the military, check out reserves as well. There's navy , airforce so many options. And they pay for school too. So it has its benefits. Find out ppl who've joined and ask about their experience. The math's may not be that bad jare so look for study materials. Im sure reddit has threads on stuff like this.
5. Hmmm I'd say 6months, regardless make sure you contribute something to the household whilst you're there. Whether chores or taking up some bills.
I answered about CC and so did Ashiri.
Stay away from women. Use your time to understand the ulture of where you are.
Re: At The NVC Processing Stage Of The U. S Family Based Preference Category. by CutieKing: 12:03pm On Jan 17
internationalman:
You are talking bullshit man. I just got here sir and I have other plans. I don't plan on remaining a minimum wage earner for ever, that's if $17/hr is even considered minimum wage.. I took up the job just so I don't stay idle before I move on to other things. And FYI there are many low income earners here that don't rely on government support for anything as long as they can pay their rents and eat well. Not everyone is on the quest for becoming rich in life. They don't work hard as much as we do because they don't have poverty in their family they need to eradicate..

That's not even the point by the way. The point is, the kind of life I can get here even as a low earner as compared to its Nigerian equivalent is a raise in my standard of living.
I didn't attack your personality,only commented on your exaggeration of realities in the US.Just learnt you are still new,its okay to exhibit that exuberance but whatever you decide to do with your life is not my business,your choice and i wish you well.
For the records,no state pays as high as $17/hr min.wage.
These are the issues, cut this unsolicited gratification down a bit.
Best of luck.
Re: At The NVC Processing Stage Of The U. S Family Based Preference Category. by Dansakimotors: 12:41pm On Jan 17
Hello House,
My children I130 got approved in December just before the Ban on Immigration Visa. I need your advice on these points:
1) Should i still go ahead to create there profile on the NVC portal (Which entails paying the Fees)
2) Before these ban, How long typically would the process have taken to complete.
3)) The DNA part, how long does it take ( As am told it took a whole year for someone that did for his children months back)
Re: At The NVC Processing Stage Of The U. S Family Based Preference Category. by ecomallchemistt: 3:01pm On Jan 17
Dansakimotors:
Hello House,
My children I130 got approved in December just before the Ban on Immigration Visa. I need your advice on these points:
1) Should i still go ahead to create there profile on the NVC portal (Which entails paying the Fees)
2) Before these ban, How long typically would the process have taken to complete.
3)) The DNA part, how long does it take ( As am told it took a whole year for someone that did for his children months back)
2. Usuallly takes 2 - 3 years , all things / documentation being equal.

3. 4 - 6 months.
Re: At The NVC Processing Stage Of The U. S Family Based Preference Category. by Taal17: 10:42pm On Jan 17
Dansakimotors:
Hello House,
Whats your children's PD ?
Are they IR?

The ban is currently on visa issuance sp it doesn't affect processing so go ahead and continue processing. Even if the ban didn't exist your kids still have to wait awhile because delays from those ahead of you
So its better you do your pricessing
Re: At The NVC Processing Stage Of The U. S Family Based Preference Category. by stacyadams: 11:18pm On Jan 17
Taal17:
1. Concentrate on building work experience and some savings. Decide what career you want to do and plot your way there. After 6months please look for other jobs that you qualify for. If your career gets more pay with certificate courses take them. Best to find someone doing what you want do and research how to get there. Chatgpt is there, use it.
4. You can open with both banks, as you progress you can see what they offer.
2. You can join the military, check out reserves as well. There's navy , airforce so many options. And they pay for school too. So it has its benefits. Find out ppl who've joined and ask about their experience. The math's may not be that bad jare so look for study materials. Im sure reddit has threads on stuff like this.
5. Hmmm I'd say 6months, regardless make sure you contribute something to the household whilst you're there. Whether chores or taking up some bills.
I answered about CC and so did AshiriStay away from women. Use your time to understand the ulture of where you are.
thank you very much for this wonderful piece ...i do all what u said on number 5,i will talk more on that later sha
Re: At The NVC Processing Stage Of The U. S Family Based Preference Category. by stacyadams: 11:23pm On Jan 17
CutieKing:
I didn't attack your personality,only commented on your exaggeration of realities in the US.Just learnt you are still new,its okay to exhibit that exuberance but whatever you decide to do with your life is not my business,your choice and i wish you well.
Best of luck.
im on $ 20 minumum age.
Re: At The NVC Processing Stage Of The U. S Family Based Preference Category. by internationalman(m): 4:47am On Jan 18
CutieKing:
Best of luck.
It sounds like exaggeration to you because you have been living in it and your body and soul is so used to it that it loses its value in your eyes. Even me that came yesterday is starting to see some of the privileges as normal.

Go back and live in Nigeria for just 3 months, then you would begin to appreciate living in America again. I reckon life is difficult no matter where you live. But there's standard and levels to these difficulties, just like poverty in Nigeria is not the same as poverty in developed countries...

Lastly, I don't think there's anyone earning minimum wage here. The reason I pitched $17 as minimum wage is because that's the least anyone legally able to work is willing to take. Maybe $15 for some people.
Re: At The NVC Processing Stage Of The U. S Family Based Preference Category. by internationalman(m): 4:53am On Jan 18
stacyadams:
im on $ 20 minumum age.
Even Delta airlines pays entry level ramp agents with no experience or educational qualifications $22..

No employer pays the $7 or $8 minimum wage, unless they want use their family members do the job.
Re: At The NVC Processing Stage Of The U. S Family Based Preference Category. by jibbson365: 2:00pm On Jan 19
GOD Bless you with this write up... I just pray everything goes back to normal, especially for those of us already Dqd for somes years now.

sugaDaddy:

Thanks🙏🏾🙏🏾
Re: At The NVC Processing Stage Of The U. S Family Based Preference Category. by leanonme82: 1:13am On Jan 21
internationalman:
Even Delta airlines pays entry level ramp agents with no experience or educational qualifications $22..

No employer pays the $7 or $8 minimum wage, unless they want use their family members do the job.
It all depends on the state you’re in. Even many medical assistants get $8, $10 jobs in the south. Cities are generally expensive and pay higher because of it. Cost of living is on par.
Re: At The NVC Processing Stage Of The U. S Family Based Preference Category. by internationalman(m): 3:00am On Jan 21
leanonme82:
It all depends on the state you’re in. Even many medical assistants get $8, $10 jobs in the south. Cities are generally expensive and pay higher because of it. Cost of living is on par.
If you have a job that you intend to pay as low as $8 to $10 for, you might as well do it yourself or employ family members to do it. Because nobody is going to apply..

All those were only possible because illegal immigrants were willing to do any job for any pay. You can't be well documented and go through all the security background checks, drug test and in some cases tuberculosis test and be offered a job of $8. Even warehouse jobs that pay the lowest some now pay as high as $18 without prior experience or qualifications.
Re: At The NVC Processing Stage Of The U. S Family Based Preference Category. by cutedharmee: 8:50am On Jan 21
leanonme82:
8$ &10$ job in which country? This one deep o, I've never seen that amount been paid...
Re: At The NVC Processing Stage Of The U. S Family Based Preference Category. by Spanishmilf(m): 11:02am On Jan 21
sugaDaddy:

Thanks🙏🏾🙏🏾
There is nothing much to say, nothing much to do
all immigration are on hold cos of the ban or do you want nigerians in america to go and arrest trump. me reading their experiences gives me soo much joy idk why u are like this. there is a ban currently everything is on hold
Re: At The NVC Processing Stage Of The U. S Family Based Preference Category. by leanonme82: 3:24pm On Jan 23
We got in the US on the 5th of December. Applied for my familys green cards on the 17th and our green cards just came in the mail. I was really praying all these bans wouldn't affect it. We thank God.

Those of us that interviewed in November literally just scraped by Trumps gates. This was what he did in his 1st term and i know the pain of the whole process being on hold for3/ 4 years after waiting like 14 years already.
It will pass and those waiting will still get to reunite with their families. Just focus on other productive things. It was in my time of waiting i pivoted from audit to a data analyst career that got me to the UK on a skilled worker visa. God will still work his plans out in our lives so stay positive.
Re: At The NVC Processing Stage Of The U. S Family Based Preference Category. by leanonme82: 9:03pm On Jan 23
cutedharmee:
8$ &10$ job in which country? This one deep o, I've never seen that amount been paid...
I think that’s the going rate for eatery jobs like McDonald’s.
Entry level medical assistants is $12/hr. This one is a fact. In some other states it might be more.
It all depends on the state you’re in.
Re: At The NVC Processing Stage Of The U. S Family Based Preference Category. by aestake: 2:47am On Jan 24
leanonme82:
We got in the US on the 5th of December. Applied for my familys green cards on the 17th and our green cards just came in the mail. I was really praying all these bans wouldn't affect it. We thank God.

Those of us that interviewed in November literally just scraped by Trumps gates. This was what he did in his 1st term and i know the pain of the whole process being on hold for3/ 4 years after waiting like 14 years already.
It will pass and those waiting will still get to reunite with their families. Just focus on other productive things. It was in my time of waiting i pivoted from audit to a data analyst career that got me to the UK on a skilled worker visa. God will still work his plans out in our lives so stay positive.
Congrats! What do you mean by the bold?
Re: At The NVC Processing Stage Of The U. S Family Based Preference Category. by cutedharmee: 9:41am On Jan 25
leanonme82:
I think that’s the going rate for eatery jobs like McDonald’s.
Entry level medical assistants is $12/hr. This one is a fact. In some other states it might be more.
It all depends on the state you’re in.
Probably depends on state as you said. A newly grad CNA with no experience here is 21dolz
1 2 3 ... 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 Reply

Nvc ProcessingCase Complete At NVC For IR1/CR1 Immigrant VisaPhoto Of Overspeeding Car That Flew Into The 2nd Floor Of A Building In The U.S234

USA Fiancee (K1) Visa ThreadU.S Visit: Port Of Entry Interview/stories.Travelling To Canada Part 3