Stats: 3,325,282 members, 8,421,176 topics. Date: Friday, 05 June 2026 at 09:59 PM

2027: Senate Rejects Mandatory Electronic Transmission Of Results - Politics - Nairaland

Nairaland ForumNairaland GeneralPolitics2027: Senate Rejects Mandatory Electronic Transmission Of Results (12928 Views)

1 2 3 4 5 Reply (Go Down)

2027: Senate Rejects Mandatory Electronic Transmission Of Results by fergie001(mod): 6:59pm On Feb 04
The Nigerian Senate rejected a proposed amendment that sought to make the electronic transmission of election results from polling units to the IReV portal compulsory on Wednesday during plenary consideration of the Bill for an Act to Repeal the Electoral Act No. 13, 2022 and Enact the Electoral Act, 2025.

The rejected proposal was contained in the new Clause 60(5) of the draft bill, which aimed to mandate presiding officers to electronically transmit polling unit results in real time after completing and signing Form EC8A.

The clause was designed to strengthen transparency and reduce electoral malpractice through technology-driven result management.

However, the Senate voted against the amendment and approved the retention of the existing 2022 Electoral Act provisions on vote counting and result documentation.

The motion to reject the electronic transmission clause was swiftly seconded by the Deputy President of the Senate, Senator Barau Jibrin.

Under the rejected proposal, presiding officers would have been required to transmit results electronically to the IReV portal immediately after signing and stamping the prescribed result form at the polling unit, alongside physically announcing the results.

Instead, the Senate resolved to retain the 2022 provision, which mandates presiding officers to manually complete result forms, sign and stamp them, distribute copies to polling agents and security personnel where available, announce results at the polling unit, and transfer results “in a manner as prescribed by the Commission” without expressly mandating electronic transmission.

In a related development, the Senate also rejected a proposed amendment under Clause 47 that would have allowed voters to present electronically-generated voter identification, including a downloadable voter card with a unique QR code, as a valid means of accreditation.

Lawmakers voted to retain the existing 2022 provisions requiring voters to present their Permanent Voter’s Card (PVC) for accreditation at polling units.

The Senate further upheld the provision mandating the use of the Bimodal Voter Accreditation System (BVAS) or any other technological device prescribed by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) for voter verification and authentication, rather than allowing alternative digital identification methods as proposed in the new bill.

With these decisions, the Senate reaffirmed the use of PVC and BVAS-based accreditation while rejecting efforts to expand digital voter identification and make electronic transmission of results compulsory.

Plenary was still ongoing at the time of filing this report.
https://thesun.ng/senate-rejects-mandatory-electronic-transmission-of-results-retains-2022-electoral-act-provisions/

Re: 2027: Senate Rejects Mandatory Electronic Transmission Of Results by brain54(m): 7:03pm On Feb 04
Why change the status quo that favors them...?

It's obvious no beneficial/progressive change can come from those lots.

Long way to go Nigeria... loooong way!
Re: 2027: Senate Rejects Mandatory Electronic Transmission Of Results by fergie001(mod): 7:04pm On Feb 04
Congrats to our amiable leader, President Bola Ahmed Tinubu till 2031.
Re: 2027: Senate Rejects Mandatory Electronic Transmission Of Results by Finquas: 7:06pm On Feb 04
Lobatan grin. If sane Nigerians were thinking this group of riggers will allow mandatory transmission of results.. then it means their brains is not truly sane .
They should just expunge that fraudulent electronic voting crap from the Constitution and just keep selecting and appointing themselves till the day we buy ourselves brain and do the needful cool
Re: 2027: Senate Rejects Mandatory Electronic Transmission Of Results by Ofunaofu: 7:11pm On Feb 04
A drug lord is a drug lord.

He is not interested in meaningful reforms, electoral reforms, structural reforms, or even the much-talked-about restructuring they were singing about before they grabbed power and ran away with it. That conversation is no longer happening.

Truly, Tinubu is on a mission to become Nigeria’s Paul Biya.
Re: 2027: Senate Rejects Mandatory Electronic Transmission Of Results by Freshandfitpod: 7:11pm On Feb 04
They hate progress, Nigeria is a lost cause
Re: 2027: Senate Rejects Mandatory Electronic Transmission Of Results by Igirigimercenar: 7:12pm On Feb 04
What a shame. Shame on anyone who would support this

Opposition should just give it up, no way are you going to have your way in a crooked system as Nigeria's

Do these people have any shred of conscience left in them

To those of you in APC , especially you seunmsg ,legendhero, helinues, Is this the Nigeria of your dream?
Re: 2027: Senate Rejects Mandatory Electronic Transmission Of Results by Freshandfitpod: 7:13pm On Feb 04
fergie001:
did you see what happen in Kwara

https://www.nairaland.com/8611772/kwara-bandits-gun-down-villagers
Re: 2027: Senate Rejects Mandatory Electronic Transmission Of Results by Maxymilliano(m): 7:13pm On Feb 04
The devil can't work against himself, which means it will be business as usual 😜
Re: 2027: Senate Rejects Mandatory Electronic Transmission Of Results by Odin13: 7:14pm On Feb 04
Tinubu eh..

Na only him go allocate himself 20million votes , then Obi 3million ..

You see tinubu and he’s APC know say Nigerians are mad at them and ready to drag dem out ..

Na his one leg he don place for aso villa 2027

Na only God fit run am for Nigerians right now.

The government by the elites for the wealthy.. the people hat no say

Hahahahahahahaha..

Once he step down.. druggie will lead the opposition in 2031 to fight this same status

Na Yoruba man e be
Re: 2027: Senate Rejects Mandatory Electronic Transmission Of Results by helinues: 7:15pm On Feb 04
Igirigimercenar:

Opposition should just give it up, no way are you going to have your way in a crooked system as Nigeria's

To those of you in APC , especially you seunmsg ,legendhero, helinues, Is this the Nigeria of your dream?
Must you people troll us daily?

Will something terrible happen to you without the daily trolling?
Re: 2027: Senate Rejects Mandatory Electronic Transmission Of Results by Riversides2003(m):
This should lead to revolution. These people know what they are doing.
Re: 2027: Senate Rejects Mandatory Electronic Transmission Of Results by Igirigimercenar: 7:16pm On Feb 04
I can't believe I actually wept because of this. At this point, I think I will have to give up. Opposition should just throw in the towel

What a shame

I give up
Re: 2027: Senate Rejects Mandatory Electronic Transmission Of Results by Hezzyluv: 7:17pm On Feb 04
I don dey talk this thing since, it's only God that will single handedly remove Tinubu not vote. grin
Re: 2027: Senate Rejects Mandatory Electronic Transmission Of Results by jiz: 7:17pm On Feb 04
This is unfair and rigging mode activated
Re: 2027: Senate Rejects Mandatory Electronic Transmission Of Results by seunmsg(m): 7:17pm On Feb 04
Igirigimercenar:

To those of you in APC , especially you, Is this the Nigeria of your dream?
Instead of spamming the mention of forum members, channel your grievances to your elected representatives in the National Assembly. When people are disgruntled with a decision taken by the parliament in advance democracy, they take it up with the lawmakers representing their constituency. They don’t look for people to troll online.
Re: 2027: Senate Rejects Mandatory Electronic Transmission Of Results by Cj4charles(m): 7:18pm On Feb 04
It seems the citizens of the country no longer have a say anymore
Re: 2027: Senate Rejects Mandatory Electronic Transmission Of Results by sultanodudua: 7:18pm On Feb 04
2027 elections might be the worst in history.
Re: 2027: Senate Rejects Mandatory Electronic Transmission Of Results by jiz: 7:18pm On Feb 04
In rigging with wuruwuru and corner corner lies APC strength grin Zero credibility and integrity
fergie001:
Re: 2027: Senate Rejects Mandatory Electronic Transmission Of Results by Riversides2003(m): 7:18pm On Feb 04
Nigeria is really a very unfortunate country. You see the reason why these mofos are all running to APC. In a free and fair election, honestly APC WILL NOT WIN 10 states.
Re: 2027: Senate Rejects Mandatory Electronic Transmission Of Results by phemmie06(m): 7:18pm On Feb 04
That bill can never see the light of the day, most especially with Àpà as senate president and Barao as deputy.
They should credit our account with the fund they budget for election and cancel election.
Re: 2027: Senate Rejects Mandatory Electronic Transmission Of Results by Bobloco: 7:19pm On Feb 04
How can a Senate in 2026, an era driven by ICT, vote against the electronic transmission of election results?

What exactly are they afraid of?

If you claim to be popular with the people, why do you fear implementing far-reaching electoral reforms that would guarantee elections that are truly free, fair, and credible elections devoid of manipulation?

At this point, one is tempted to suggest that Tinubu and INEC should simply share the N1 trillion budgeted for the 2027 elections among Nigerians and dispense with the charade of conducting elections altogether. At least that would be more honest.
Re: 2027: Senate Rejects Mandatory Electronic Transmission Of Results by Apcshit: 7:19pm On Feb 04
What a shame ,I am very disappointed
Re: 2027: Senate Rejects Mandatory Electronic Transmission Of Results by fergie001(mod): 7:19pm On Feb 04
Igirigimercenar:
I can't believe I actually wept because of this. At this point, I think I will have to give up. Opposition should just throw in the towel

What a shame

I give up
You now believe me 😂

INEC should share the money and give us. Any Governor that fails to properly install himself or his successor effectively, na him sabi.
Re: 2027: Senate Rejects Mandatory Electronic Transmission Of Results by chatinent: 7:19pm On Feb 04
Pablo's victory is assured.
Re: 2027: Senate Rejects Mandatory Electronic Transmission Of Results by Artiiclebeast:
This would have been enough to galvanize a serious citizenry to hit the streets to chase out these enemies of theirs and shut down the entire country. Even a civil strife at this point shouldn't be a bother or fear for any reasonable patriot.
Re: 2027: Senate Rejects Mandatory Electronic Transmission Of Results by Gotocourt: 7:22pm On Feb 04
Aso rock bandit needs to be chased. Omorrr, Abaracadara go surplus wink cheesy grin
Re: 2027: Senate Rejects Mandatory Electronic Transmission Of Results by amaridigital(m): 7:22pm On Feb 04
Ofunaofu:
A drug lord is a drug lord.

He is not interested in meaningful reforms, electoral reforms, structural reforms, or even the much-talked-about restructuring they were singing about before they grabbed power and ran away with it. That conversation is no longer happening.

Truly, Tinubu is on a mission to become Nigeria’s Paul Biya.
Tinubu ke, in the Senate again? I thought he left the Senate in 1994?
Re: 2027: Senate Rejects Mandatory Electronic Transmission Of Results by Freshtruth(m): 7:22pm On Feb 04
Am not tinubu supporter but it his better he continues rather that starting afresh with obi or Atiku at least tinubu is heading to somewhere and continuity and constiency is the key . The devil u know is better than the angel u don't know wisdom dey say is profitable to direct.
Re: 2027: Senate Rejects Mandatory Electronic Transmission Of Results by Tooreda: 7:22pm On Feb 04
APC TOOK YOU ALL BACK TO STONE AGE
Re: 2027: Senate Rejects Mandatory Electronic Transmission Of Results by floss(m): 7:22pm On Feb 04
I already advised ADC to go home, the amount of rigging that will happen in 2027 by Apc … even the opposition will be marvelled …. Congratulations to Tinubu in advance… the template that Wike gave to Tinubu in rivers state is adopted nationwide by all state governors…
1 2 3 4 5 Reply

Reps Amend Electoral Act, Approve Mandatory Electronic Transmission Of ResultsJega Calls For Mandatory Electronic Transmission Of Election Results.Senate Rejects Motion To Release Nnamdi Kanu234

Bode George Faults Presidential, NASS Elections, Knocks INEC Over IrregularitiesINEC Laments As 241,715 Bayelsa, Kogi, Imo Voters Shun PVCsState Governors Open Security Vote Accounts With CBN