Stats: 3,328,559 members, 8,436,299 topics. Date: Tuesday, 30 June 2026 at 06:12 AM

When I Say Things Are Cheap In Nigeria, Lots Of People Will Argue With Me - Food - Nairaland

Nairaland ForumNairaland GeneralFoodWhen I Say Things Are Cheap In Nigeria, Lots Of People Will Argue With Me (36161 Views)

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Reply (Go Down)

When I Say Things Are Cheap In Nigeria, Lots Of People Will Argue With Me by Nnamdipapa(op): 2:02pm On Feb 17
Here is a bunch of banana I bought for N500, this would go for nothing less than $4 in Canada, please note these are organic bananas we are talking about not the extra-sweet, GMO tampered bananas in the west and I got this in Lagos meaning folks living in the suburbs might even be buying cheaper.

I also buy I big avocado for N400, do the maths and convert to $. When next you complain about Nigeria, remember we have cheap and easily accessible fruits and vegetables.

Re: When I Say Things Are Cheap In Nigeria, Lots Of People Will Argue With Me by Nnamdipapa(op): 2:06pm On Feb 17
I got these books for 16, 200 Naira today in Lagos, you couldn't get one of these books for less than $15 on Amazon or bookshops in Canada.

Re: When I Say Things Are Cheap In Nigeria, Lots Of People Will Argue With Me by AWONEYAN(m): 2:13pm On Feb 17
You are very correct things are relatively cheap in Nigeria compared to the west.

Our problem is bad leadership.

We should be better than this.

If we poverty is taking away. Banditry and kidnapping is overcome... Epileptic power supply becomes a thing of the past.
We can solve the rest problem by ourselves.
Water supply (we make bore holes)
Bad road (we rugged car)

No one will see traveling abroad as making it in life
Re: When I Say Things Are Cheap In Nigeria, Lots Of People Will Argue With Me by Nnamdipapa(op): 2:16pm On Feb 17
AWONEYAN:
You are very correct things are relatively cheap in Nigeria compared to the west.

Our problem is bad leadership.

We should be better than this.

If we poverty is taking away. Banditry and kidnapping is overcome... Epileptic power supply becomes a thing of the past.
We can solve the rest problem by ourselves.
Water supply (we make bore holes)
Bad road (we rugged car)

No one will see traveling abroad as making it in life
I agree with you, we have to work together as citizens to pressure our government to provide good leadership and build infrastructures. Aside from that, Nigeria and Africa is the best plavmce to be in the world.
Re: When I Say Things Are Cheap In Nigeria, Lots Of People Will Argue With Me by advanceDNA: 2:22pm On Feb 17
Nnamdipapa:
Here is a bunch of banana I bought for N500, this would go for nothing less than $4 in Canada, please note these are organic bananas we are talking about not the extra-sweet, GMO tampered bananas in the west and I got this in Lagos meaning folks living in the suburbs might even be buying cheaper.

I also buy I big avocado for N400, do the maths and convert to $. When next you complain about Nigeria, remember we have cheap and easily accessible fruits and vegetables.
Ogaaaa….. relocate go nigeria go dey enjoy the cheap banana….
Re: When I Say Things Are Cheap In Nigeria, Lots Of People Will Argue With Me by MONEY247: 2:26pm On Feb 17
but in Canada there is constant power supply

in Canada, more people live above the poverty line

in Canada human life comes first
in Canada there are better roads

and so many more....

At least you get your value for money in Canada..
Re: When I Say Things Are Cheap In Nigeria, Lots Of People Will Argue With Me by Nnamdipapa(op): 2:27pm On Feb 17
advanceDNA:
Ogaaaa….. relocate go nigeria go dey enjoy the cheap banana….
I relocated in August last year, I and my family are enjoying Nigeria and the biggest regrets is not relocating like four years ago. It has been a positive experience here in Lagos so far.
Re: When I Say Things Are Cheap In Nigeria, Lots Of People Will Argue With Me by Nnamdipapa(op): 2:33pm On Feb 17
MONEY247:
but in Canada there is constant power supply

in Canada, more people live above the poverty line

in Canada human life comes first
in Canada there are better roads

and so many more....

At least you get your value for money in Canada..
Yes, you make a good points but, with all the above, more people are still miserable over there than in Nigeria.
You do realize Nigeria is still a developing country and, we still have a long way to go but despite all that, we have it good here in Nigeria.

On band A, I have lights for about 22 hours in a day and when the light is off, the kids go to play table tennis or basketball in the compound, don’t forget we have good weather all year round in Nigeria. This week there was a mass shooting in BC Canada leading to death of 10 students. This goes to show nowhere is perfect or totally without one form of problem or the other.8
Re: When I Say Things Are Cheap In Nigeria, Lots Of People Will Argue With Me by advanceDNA: 2:34pm On Feb 17
Nnamdipapa:
I relocated in August last year, I and my family are enjoying Nigeria and the biggest regrets is not relocating like four years ago. It has been a positive experience here in Lagos so far.
U suppose relocate go east or north oooo… banana and other food cheap for there pass lagos ooo
Re: When I Say Things Are Cheap In Nigeria, Lots Of People Will Argue With Me by Nnamdipapa(op): 2:37pm On Feb 17
advanceDNA:
U suppose relocate go east or north oooo… banana and other food cheap for there pass lagos ooo
I have Enugu on my mind end of this year. I see a 7 bedroom duplex at a ridiculous cheap price
In Nigeria, you have freedom to live anywhere you want my friend.
Also, Lagos is still a part of Nigeria so my point about Nigeria is still valid.
Re: When I Say Things Are Cheap In Nigeria, Lots Of People Will Argue With Me by Bahamas95(m): 2:37pm On Feb 17
The way some of you reason is why these politicians use the masses to catch cruise.

Stop making excuses for these criminals that have stolen your past, present and future.
Re: When I Say Things Are Cheap In Nigeria, Lots Of People Will Argue With Me by Nnamdipapa(op): 2:39pm On Feb 17
Bahamas95:
The way some of you reason is why these politicians use the masses to catch cruise.

Stop making excuses for these criminals that have stolen your past, present and future.
Ok, you want me to lie and say foods are more expensive in Nigeria? You want me to constantly badmouth and de-market my country? Show me anywhere I praized a single politician
Re: When I Say Things Are Cheap In Nigeria, Lots Of People Will Argue With Me by advanceDNA: 2:49pm On Feb 17
Nnamdipapa:
I have Enugu on my mind end of this year. I see a 7 bedroom duplex at a ridiculous cheap price
In Nigeria, you have freedom to live anywhere you want my friend.
Also, Lagos is still a part of Nigeria so my point about Nigeria is still valid.
Re: When I Say Things Are Cheap In Nigeria, Lots Of People Will Argue With Me by advanceDNA:
Nnamdipapa:
Ok, you want me to lie and say foods are more expensive in Nigeria? You want me to constantly badmouth and de-market my country? Show me anywhere I praized a single politician
U just think food is cheap because u relocated to nigeria with higher purchasing power than most Nigerians…and may probably still get your benefits or pensions

There is a large number of pple that the 500naira banana u posted is a luxury they can only afford once in a while…..average nigerian salary nor pass 50-80k ooo

cars probably looks cheap to you too … but the average nigeria cant save up to get a 18 year old camry anymore that used to sell for 1.9M but is now 10M…

Ut Its fine that your pov is different shaaa
Re: When I Say Things Are Cheap In Nigeria, Lots Of People Will Argue With Me by Bahamas95(m): 3:03pm On Feb 17
Nnamdipapa:
I don't want you to de-market or bad-mouth Nigeria, that's non of my business.

The question I wanna ask you is...... Can you compare the living conditions of an average Nigerian to that of an average person in Canada?”

Re: When I Say Things Are Cheap In Nigeria, Lots Of People Will Argue With Me by Nnamdipapa(op): 3:06pm On Feb 17
advanceDNA:
U just think food is cheap because u relocated to nigeria with higher purchasing power than most Nigerians…and may probably still get your benefits or pensions

There is a large number of pple that the 500naira banana u posted is a luxury they can only afford once in a while…..average nigerian salary nor pass 50-80k ooo

cars probably looks cheap to you too … but the average nigeria cant save up to get a 18 year old camry anymore that used to sell for 1.9M but is now 10M…

Its fine thats your pov is different shaaa
Cars are more expensive in Nigeria though due to high importation costs as we mostly import everything. We still have a long way to go as a nation and I believe we all have a role to play if we want a functioning country for the future generations.

Also, I agree our politicians are mostly clueless and we continually have to hold them accountable instead of sucking up to them.
Re: When I Say Things Are Cheap In Nigeria, Lots Of People Will Argue With Me by Nnamdipapa(op): 3:09pm On Feb 17
Bahamas95:
I don't want you to de-market or bad-mouth Nigeria, that's non of my business.

The question I wanna ask you is...... Can you compare the living conditions of an average Nigerian to that of an average person in Canada?”
I see average Nigerians clubbing and having fun every Friday night, come to my area and see people having fun that average Canadians never have.

Remember, the average Canadian havelike 5months in a year with extreme cold weather with people staying mostly indoors with uber boring lives.
Re: When I Say Things Are Cheap In Nigeria, Lots Of People Will Argue With Me by ibechris(m): 3:39pm On Feb 17
All these ur comparisons aren't necessary... we are not earning in dollars.

NIGERIA is the home of the most poorest on the continent and the poorest even in the world.

So,how can u not buy those items very cheap when it is obvious that u live in a high income country.
Re: When I Say Things Are Cheap In Nigeria, Lots Of People Will Argue With Me by WhiteIverson:
You say it's cheap but what is the purchasing power of majority of the citizens?

Let's compare

In Nigeria, the minimum wage is 70,000. If you were to spend your minimum wage only on 500 naira bananas, you would only be able to buy 140 pieces.

In Canada the minimum wage is $16.95. Multiply that by 40 hours weekly and also multiply by 4 weeks. You earn $2,712 dollars monthly. If you were to spend your monthly salary only on bananas at $4 dollars each, you'd be able to purchase 678 pieces.

When you want to compare prices of different countries, there are a lot of factors to consider. How do you expect the prices of bananas to be in cheaper in Canada than Nigeria?
Re: When I Say Things Are Cheap In Nigeria, Lots Of People Will Argue With Me by Lifestone(m): 4:06pm On Feb 17
Bahamas95:

Because he said some good truthful things about Nigeria?
Re: When I Say Things Are Cheap In Nigeria, Lots Of People Will Argue With Me by gammarays(m): 4:35pm On Feb 17
Nnamdipapa:

I don't know if I'm to call you crazy or what. You compared using the exchange rate of dollar to naira
You see how your currency has lost value for you to buy that size of banana for #500

That size of banana is $4 in US and won't exceed #50 of any currency with value.

You buy just banana with #500 of your money while someone with #500 Yuan will buy stuffs of greater value and quantity not to talk of #500 USD
Re: When I Say Things Are Cheap In Nigeria, Lots Of People Will Argue With Me by Gerrard59(m): 4:54pm On Feb 17
OP is a troll or is merely showing off. His second thread aimed at denigrating Nigerians who earn in naira but complain of higher prices, then goes on to juxtapose their complaints against USD prices as if the country's official currency is USD.
Re: When I Say Things Are Cheap In Nigeria, Lots Of People Will Argue With Me by optm(m): 6:31pm On Feb 17
The question should be, what percentage of nigerians can afford it?
Re: When I Say Things Are Cheap In Nigeria, Lots Of People Will Argue With Me by Love800(m): 6:33pm On Feb 17
But saudi arabia and nigeria are age-mates. And if you start listing top-5 good and standard countries, saudi is up there as a developed nation.

Where is ur sovereignty(naija)!
Nnamdipapa:
Yes, you make a good points but, with all the above, more people are still miserable over there than in Nigeria.
You do realize Nigeria is still a developing country and, we still have a long way to go but despite all that, we have it good here in Nigeria.

On band A, I have lights for about 22 hours in a day and when the light is off, the kids go to play table tennis or basketball in the compound, don’t forget we have good weather all year round in Nigeria. This week there was a mass shooting in BC Canada leading to death of 10 students. This goes to show nowhere is perfect or totally without one form of problem or the other.8
Re: When I Say Things Are Cheap In Nigeria, Lots Of People Will Argue With Me by MEGAWATCH: 7:07pm On Feb 17
How does this Tinubu supporters sleep at night after telling all this liars on the internet?

Nawaoo!

🤔🤔🤔🤔🤔
Re: When I Say Things Are Cheap In Nigeria, Lots Of People Will Argue With Me by Hhh4444:
how much is minimum wage in Nigeria and minimum wage in Canada?
Re: When I Say Things Are Cheap In Nigeria, Lots Of People Will Argue With Me by elevated2:
Nnamdipapa:

On what basis are you comparing what's produced in a country with another country that imports it? You have not considered export & import taxes, transportation, VAT etc. What a misleading narrative! Are used cars cheaper in Nigeria compared with the countries of exports?
Re: When I Say Things Are Cheap In Nigeria, Lots Of People Will Argue With Me by frank417: 7:08pm On Feb 17
The amount for the books is more than 30% of some people's monthly salary in nigeria. How many states in nigeria pay minimum wage of 70k? Many don't. Alot of people earn below 50k per month in nigeria

I know a Cyber Cafe attendant that earns less than 25k per month. 3 days into the job he was already buying food on credit.
Re: When I Say Things Are Cheap In Nigeria, Lots Of People Will Argue With Me by Omalicious1: 7:08pm On Feb 17
Nnamdipapa:

You said "things" are cheap...pls how much is the rent of 2 bedroom flat in your area?
Re: When I Say Things Are Cheap In Nigeria, Lots Of People Will Argue With Me by Boladogailese(f): 7:08pm On Feb 17
This combo was what one yahoo boy used on me the first time I cheated on baba Dare bitter sweet memories
Re: When I Say Things Are Cheap In Nigeria, Lots Of People Will Argue With Me by TimiofAbuja: 7:08pm On Feb 17
Ransom isn't cheap o....very expensive
Re: When I Say Things Are Cheap In Nigeria, Lots Of People Will Argue With Me by Rootprof(m): 7:09pm On Feb 17
Nnamdipapa:
I got these books for 16, 200 Naira today in Lagos, you couldn't get one of these books for less than $15 on Amazon or bookshops in Canada.
... Are you sure those books are original and not pirated copy ?
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Reply

Prices Of Things Are Really HighCost Of Living Is Still Relatively Cheap In The North, See #200 FoodThe Food I Will Be Missing When I Become Rich (photos)234

The 3k Meat I Bought Yesterday At A Slaughter At Asaba.Nigerian Restaurants In LondonHow I made Spicy Concoction Vegetable Noodles. Photos