Stats: 3,325,216 members, 8,420,860 topics. Date: Friday, 05 June 2026 at 12:54 PM

Kano Hisbah Arrests 9 Muslims For Not Fasting During Ramadan - Islam - Nairaland

Nairaland ForumNairaland GeneralIslamKano Hisbah Arrests 9 Muslims For Not Fasting During Ramadan (10058 Views)

Poll: Are the activities of Hisbah an infringement of constitutional rights?

Yes 83% (364 votes)
No 8% (37 votes)
Hisbah should be regulated by National Assembly 7% (33 votes)
This poll has ended

1 2 3 4 Reply (Go Down)

Kano Hisbah Arrests 9 Muslims For Not Fasting During Ramadan by Aryafucksfinaly(op): 7:27am On Feb 20
The Islamic police in Nigeria's northern state of Kano arrested nine Muslims on Wednesday who were seen eating food during the first day of this year's Ramadan fast.

Kano has a majority Muslim population, where an Islamic legal system - Sharia - operates alongside secular law.

The Islamic police, known as the Hisbah, search cafes, restaurants and markets every year during Ramadan to ensure Muslims are adhering to the fasting hours. Some establishments stay open in areas of Kano where many Christians live.

For Muslims, eating is prohibited between sunrise and sunset. Fasting is one of the Five Pillars of Islam, which lay the basis for how Muslims are required to live their lives.

Hisbah's deputy commander general Mujahid Aminudeen told the BBC that the nine detained - seven males and two females - had feigned ignorance that Ramadan had begun.

"We have arrested them and they are with us where we are going to be teaching them the importance of fasting, how to pray, read the Quran and become better Muslims," he said.

It is not clear when the Hisbah plans to free them. In similar cases in the past, officers have got in touch with the families of those detained to make sure there is proper monitoring after their release so that they fast to the end of the month.

Just over two decades ago, Sharia was introduced to work alongside secular law in 12 of Nigeria's northern states that all have a majority Muslim population.

Ramadan is the ninth month of the Islamic calendar and has a special significance in Islam.

It is during this month that Muslims believe the first verses of the Quran - Islam's holy book - were revealed to the Prophet Muhammad.

Every year, Ramadan is expected to last between 29 or 30 days. In Nigeria, fasting started on Wednesday 18 February and it is predicted to end on either 21 or 22 March.
https://www.bbc.com/news/articles/c62gjgl75jpo

Hisbah Arrests Nine Muslims For Breaking Ramadan Fast In Kano State

In northern Nigeria’s Kano state, the Islamic police, known as the Hisbah, arrested nine Muslims on Wednesday for eating food during the first day of Ramadan, the BBC reports.

Kano, a majority-Muslim state, enforces Sharia law alongside Nigeria’s secular legal system, with the Hisbah monitoring cafes, markets, and restaurants each year to ensure adherence to fasting hours.

Seven males and two females were detained after claiming ignorance that Ramadan had begun. Hisbah deputy commander general Mujahid Aminudeen told the BBC that the detainees will be taught “the importance of fasting, how to pray, read the Quran and become better Muslims.”

Sharia law has operated in Kano and 11 other northern states for over two decades, guiding religious practice alongside civil law. Fasting from sunrise to sunset is one of the Five Pillars of Islam and is mandatory for all adult Muslims.
https://www.arise.tv/hisbah-arrests-nine-muslims-for-breaking-ramadan-fast-in-kano-state/

Re: Kano Hisbah Arrests 9 Muslims For Not Fasting During Ramadan by Stephen0mozzy:
Well, when you're in Rome, you have to behave like the Romans.

You can't get the "benefits" of claiming a religion, and yet breaking its tenets.

Edit: All mentions can Krye me a river.
Re: Kano Hisbah Arrests 9 Muslims For Not Fasting During Ramadan by STEWpid(f):
C h a i..

I am dumbfoundedly flabbergasted!!

Now is to prepare the kufr for the day that they will be stoned hisbahly,,

This one na Halfganistarn fasting,,
Re: Kano Hisbah Arrests 9 Muslims For Not Fasting During Ramadan by Omihanifa: 7:42am On Feb 20
Hypocrites grin
Nah by force to fast??
What of people that will still observe the fasting and after breaking their fast, they still pound other people's wives a minors?

Many years ago when I was in the north, most hausa guys will go to brothels during breaking of fast and tell you so far the act was done after the break of fast, it's not a sin.
Re: Kano Hisbah Arrests 9 Muslims For Not Fasting During Ramadan by TokoEkambi: 7:48am On Feb 20
Huh duh there's no compulsion in Islam blah blah. This is the nonsense they dream of spreading all over the country. They should use this energy to search for bandits. And this their "fasting" is funny. You skip only lunch, but take breakfast and dinner. What the hell kinda fasting is that?!
Re: Kano Hisbah Arrests 9 Muslims For Not Fasting During Ramadan by loveth360(f): 7:49am On Feb 20
Everything about them is force.

Na cult.
Re: Kano Hisbah Arrests 9 Muslims For Not Fasting During Ramadan by Osiris12: 8:47am On Feb 20
loveth360:
Everything about them is force.

Na cult.
Islam is actually a political movement. Na one Muslim mod ban person for 60 years
Re: Kano Hisbah Arrests 9 Muslims For Not Fasting During Ramadan by engrchykae(m): 9:24am On Feb 20
This is the nonsense they intend to give to igbos.
We are born free,will die free,will be reborn free.
We practice live and let live but Islam must not be practiced in igboland.
Those who wish to identify with Islam in igboland have signed up for doom
Re: Kano Hisbah Arrests 9 Muslims For Not Fasting During Ramadan by Antlisiam: 9:54am On Feb 20
One of the characteristics of sl.ve in which our muslims are is to by a must obey obey their master. Asolat is a must, fasting is also a must
Re: Kano Hisbah Arrests 9 Muslims For Not Fasting During Ramadan by OgbeniOja1: 10:30am On Feb 20
Afghanistan loading in the north
Re: Kano Hisbah Arrests 9 Muslims For Not Fasting During Ramadan by OgbeniOja1: 10:30am On Feb 20
Afghanistan like sharia loading in the north
Re: Kano Hisbah Arrests 9 Muslims For Not Fasting During Ramadan by jeff1993: 10:30am On Feb 20
These are the people I share country with
Re: Kano Hisbah Arrests 9 Muslims For Not Fasting During Ramadan by Cutezt(m):
Sheybi to go heaven na by force?

I never see this kind of peaceful religion before
Re: Kano Hisbah Arrests 9 Muslims For Not Fasting During Ramadan by AntiChristian: 10:34am On Feb 20
They should be thoroughly investigated!

Keep mute as na Muslim vs Muslim with Shar'iah!
Re: Kano Hisbah Arrests 9 Muslims For Not Fasting During Ramadan by NotOgaSeun: 10:34am On Feb 20
It's a pity...
Just imagine that Islam is the only religion in the world.
Re: Kano Hisbah Arrests 9 Muslims For Not Fasting During Ramadan by SlavaUkraini: 10:34am On Feb 20
Wow, so the fasting is mandatory ?
Re: Kano Hisbah Arrests 9 Muslims For Not Fasting During Ramadan by Nobody: 10:35am On Feb 20
Na Kwankwaso and that other pedophile in Zamfara started this sharia craze in a secular state. That's what emboldened Boko haram.

Religion is a personal thing. You can't regulate people's form of worship or adulation to the cosmic forces.

Sick and illiterate politicians have destroyed the psyche of their followers.
Re: Kano Hisbah Arrests 9 Muslims For Not Fasting During Ramadan by autoez: 10:36am On Feb 20
Im a Christian and respect islam religion. Pastors don't even care whether you fast or pray. All they want is your money. Many hypocrites in Christianity. But the way they force their people should be looked into. There should be better ways other than arresting someone for not fasting. That's to ancient to be used in 2026

If were leader, i will just punish them by throttling their data speed. Make it seriously slow like 0.70kb/s.

What do you think
Re: Kano Hisbah Arrests 9 Muslims For Not Fasting During Ramadan by Zuckembego: 10:36am On Feb 20
If you arrest people for not fasting, it shows you don't know the purpose of fasting.

Fasting is a personal thing for you to move closer to your maker. Time to rekindle your faith and move far away from sin.

How does this affect the life of other person(s)?
Re: Kano Hisbah Arrests 9 Muslims For Not Fasting During Ramadan by MrSly(m):
Hishbah and islamic states in Nigeria are illegal. If one like me becomes president I will disband them within the first 5minutes of my administration.
Re: Kano Hisbah Arrests 9 Muslims For Not Fasting During Ramadan by olayinka63: 10:38am On Feb 20
Chai the arrest pain the kuffar gaan. See how they are wailing on top wetin no concern them. grin grin grin grin grin angry grin grin
Re: Kano Hisbah Arrests 9 Muslims For Not Fasting During Ramadan by ogascomax: 10:39am On Feb 20
This people sha is it by force to fast.
Re: Kano Hisbah Arrests 9 Muslims For Not Fasting During Ramadan by Obaofaba: 10:39am On Feb 20
Why will people be eating openly during the Ramadan fasting period?

If you are not fasting, eat your food secretly during the day time.
Re: Kano Hisbah Arrests 9 Muslims For Not Fasting During Ramadan by LeeSmart: 10:39am On Feb 20
Heard someone was beaten to pulp in Osun state for not observing fasting yesterday.... small small this violent people don dey conquer S.W
Re: Kano Hisbah Arrests 9 Muslims For Not Fasting During Ramadan by maddman: 10:39am On Feb 20
Stephen0mozzy:
Well, when you're in Rome, you have to behave like the Romans.

You can't get the "benefits" of claiming a religion, and yet breaking its tenets.
This is a very stewwwpid take. Even the Romans won't force you to eat their food

A man should have a right to decide when and what he should have for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Take that right away from him then you're enslaving him. Hisbah has no business in a functional society
Re: Kano Hisbah Arrests 9 Muslims For Not Fasting During Ramadan by Itiskdg121(m): 10:39am On Feb 20
I refuse to believe this news.
This is 2026 for goodness sake
Re: Kano Hisbah Arrests 9 Muslims For Not Fasting During Ramadan by DeltaBachelor(m): 10:40am On Feb 20
lol. Arrest person again for not fasting. I remember during my stay there, I go first chop for Sabin gari well before I come out o
Re: Kano Hisbah Arrests 9 Muslims For Not Fasting During Ramadan by LeeSmart: 10:40am On Feb 20
Obaofaba:
Why will people be eating openly during the Ramadan fasting period?

If you are not fasting, eat your food secretly during the day time.
What nonsense talk is this? Won't be surprised if you're an APC supporter
Re: Kano Hisbah Arrests 9 Muslims For Not Fasting During Ramadan by Oluwomonext212(m): 10:41am On Feb 20
Sorry I don’t really comment on religious issues, but seems like the word freedom is an abomination in Islam
Re: Kano Hisbah Arrests 9 Muslims For Not Fasting During Ramadan by Pious101: 10:41am On Feb 20
Imagine a religion that would force u against what you don't want to do
Re: Kano Hisbah Arrests 9 Muslims For Not Fasting During Ramadan by rummmy: 10:42am On Feb 20
Nonsense religion that enforces everything in favour of their weak Allah...........useless religion bigots grin grin
1 2 3 4 Reply

Can One Have Intercourse During Ramadan?Ramadan: Kano Hisbah Arrests Three Males, Eight Females For Not FastingTwo Pastors Accept Islam In Ogun State During Ramadan Lecture (Photos)234

Advice: Do Not Face The Qiblah When Answering The Call Of NatureFasting Monday And ThursdayGo Easy On Yourself (may Allah Have Mercy On You)