Goodluck Jonathan Really Tried For This Country And It's Citizens - Politics (6) - Nairaland
Nairaland Forum › Nairaland General › Politics › Goodluck Jonathan Really Tried For This Country And It's Citizens (32181 Views)
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Reply (Go Down)
| Re: Goodluck Jonathan Really Tried For This Country And It's Citizens by Ifyz0001: 10:51pm On Mar 27 |
Sebi we don see person wey sabi the game ...who that person helps las las AsomughaChuks02: |
| Re: Goodluck Jonathan Really Tried For This Country And It's Citizens by phemray(m): 10:53pm On Mar 27 |
obonujoker:This writer can never pass an exam beyond average when he was in school because his reasoning is not comprehensive. Jonathan was the worse, borrowing money to subsidise and support dollars is a weaked policy. Salaries not paid, no projects, contractors were owed and u are just quoting minimum wages but u didn't talk about how it was not paid and ASUU strikes among other strikes. It's not How far but how well. |
| Re: Goodluck Jonathan Really Tried For This Country And It's Citizens by Gotocourt: 11:13pm On Mar 27 |
nairalanda1:Good memory bro |
| Re: Goodluck Jonathan Really Tried For This Country And It's Citizens by donmik: 11:33pm On Mar 27 |
Tinubu supposed d pay 150k min wage as it is now going by how Yaradua tried reach |
| Re: Goodluck Jonathan Really Tried For This Country And It's Citizens by Sundaymessi: 11:33pm On Mar 27 |
nairalanda1:....and those who went to Ojota and mobilised the nation against fuel subsidy removal only for them to do the same now that they are in power were actually those who brought this country to its knees. |
| Re: Goodluck Jonathan Really Tried For This Country And It's Citizens by donmik: 11:36pm On Mar 27 |
[quote author=nairalanda1 post=138907819]Buhari inherited an economy that was already failing in quote for several months. In 2014, March, oil prices started falling. People who had seen the same story before in 1982, began nodding their heads like agama agama. By January 2015, NOI was prophesying that the economy would be bad, regardless of who won. So, yes GEJ handed over a bad economy to buhari. Na high oil price he dey use to hide the cracks. The problem with Buhari and tinubu is that instead of using hard times to shine, dem come dey do borrow borrow to maintain what we had when oil prices were high, because the sane decisions they needed to take to pull us out of danger, they no take because they preferred to be in power rather than do the hard decisions to leave Nigeria a good leagacy All of our leaders are the Buahri and Tinubu came to steal and get richer than the former PDP leaders. " It's my turn to steal more than anyone" That's why they keep borrowing and sharing As if that's not enough, they removed the only thing all Nigerians benefit from and pocket it. That's the subsidy |
| Re: Goodluck Jonathan Really Tried For This Country And It's Citizens by MIKOLOWISKA: 11:47pm On Mar 27 |
obonujoker:What did he do, exactly? Mention the things he did that caused this result |
| Re: Goodluck Jonathan Really Tried For This Country And It's Citizens by Coolgent(m): 11:53pm On Mar 27 |
Obasanjo and Bola hmm |
| Re: Goodluck Jonathan Really Tried For This Country And It's Citizens by Mirasteel: 1:06am On Mar 28 |
Everything was so good during Jonathan's tenure, life was very good then. foodstuffs were very cheap, dollar to naira was low. The only bad thing was insecurity but compare to now, things weren't that bad. The day APC took over this country that was the day Nigeria started sinking. |
| Re: Goodluck Jonathan Really Tried For This Country And It's Citizens by bigcasava1(m): 2:09am On Mar 28 |
obonujoker:by the time he finishes we go learn |
| Re: Goodluck Jonathan Really Tried For This Country And It's Citizens by Putinofrussia: 5:37am On Mar 28 |
Hungrychicken:Yes. Nigeria was borrowing money to pay workers as from 2014 up till when Buhari came in 2015 because the price of oil just came down to $78 globally,the GEJ(I respect him as a father and gentleman) became more clueless than what it was before that. Even with all the humongous revenue from oil that made the economy seemed to be stable,there were no infrastructures,no Nelfund,no free technical colleges,ASUUstrikes were rampant,workers were being owed etc because they have embezzled all the money. |
| Re: Goodluck Jonathan Really Tried For This Country And It's Citizens by nairalanda1(m): 6:04am On Mar 28 |
donmik:Subsidy had to go because the cost to our economy was excessive Buhari was literally borrowing and printing money to pay for subsides. Because oil revenues had been low since 2014 due to falling oil prices and falling production. That led to the situation in August 2022 where debt servicing was eating 97% of revenue Had subsidy not been removed in 2023, by now things would have been ten times worse than they are now. There are good reasons why the subsidy had to go. It was seen since 1993. |
| Re: Goodluck Jonathan Really Tried For This Country And It's Citizens by nairalanda1(m): 6:05am On Mar 28 |
Sundaymessi:Nigeria was brought to its knees by the decisions made in 1960 to make our economy resource dependant. Nigeria has never been good. Doesn't excuse APC. Simple and short. But Nigeria's problems didn't begin in 2015 |
| Re: Goodluck Jonathan Really Tried For This Country And It's Citizens by nairalanda1(m): 6:08am On Mar 28 |
43Ronin:Even now they say the same thing that our economy is the largest in Africa and we are potentially going to be the world leader. And I just laugh knowing what is happening now under Tinubu. Same story under GEJ. For our economy to the truly good we got to be an industrial nation. Not a nation dependent on oil prices. If GEJ had won in 2015, by now you guys would be saying that he took Nigeria from being number one to no 20. The signs of failure were there. Borrowing to pay salaries and subsidies on fuel not being enough to sustain low oil prices We were here before. |
| Re: Goodluck Jonathan Really Tried For This Country And It's Citizens by nairalanda1(m): 6:14am On Mar 28 |
crossbreedwears:I am sure 90% of our population would love to go back to the 1970s when one naira was one dollar and bread cost 50kobo In fact we could have been on our way to a much better economy than under GEJ right now if APC in 2015 started the process of diversified economy, industrialisation and subsidy removal on power and petrol back then. That they didn't is why they are useless GEJ economy was based on high oil prices and the fact that our debt being forgiven in 2006 meant that most of the oil revenue could be poured into subsidies. Until the high price of oil drove subsidy costs to levels that were economically unstable Also the good times under GEJ stifled domestic industries. High oil prices means more forex to use in importing which means problems down the road. Industries close down and unemployment increases. And when the oil prices crash borrowing commences to keep up appearances. Already happening under GEJ as at September 2014. |
| Re: Goodluck Jonathan Really Tried For This Country And It's Citizens by nairalanda1(m): 6:17am On Mar 28 |
GravityDefier:Sorry, Tinubu is not worthy of my support for many reasons corruption no plan to indstrialise Nigeria no plan to even diversify our economy from oil No plan to end subsides on power which is a large part of the reason why our electric sector is in crisis More white elephant projects Like your GEJ. Tinubu is GEJ without the oil money. All.of our leaders are useless. |
| Re: Goodluck Jonathan Really Tried For This Country And It's Citizens by olabrad: 7:37am On Mar 28 |
LordBiden:Show me.thw specific economic magic that yaradua did. |
| Re: Goodluck Jonathan Really Tried For This Country And It's Citizens by AutoTechDoyz(m): 8:00am On Mar 28 |
nairalanda1:I understand all you're saying. But why is it that when the supposed high price of fuel falls only the masses bear the brunt while the leaders continue to live at their usual elite level? And you have never ever given us any reason why this should be case. |
| Re: Goodluck Jonathan Really Tried For This Country And It's Citizens by Alliswell248: 8:02am On Mar 28 |
Kukutente23:The same Gej that almost "finished" our fx reserve despite crude oil selling at an average of 120 usd per barrel for a greater part of his tenure. Sorry....I am not an illiterate and I don't follow the mobs |
| Re: Goodluck Jonathan Really Tried For This Country And It's Citizens by Kukutente23: 8:06am On Mar 28 |
Alliswell248:Sorry you are Fx was not fixed under Jonathan. It was Buhari who fixed fx. If you have any evidence that Jonathan fixed fx apart from the reserves falling which is not an evidence of fx fixing, being it forward else you're a part of a zombified mob |
| Re: Goodluck Jonathan Really Tried For This Country And It's Citizens by bal4real: 8:13am On Mar 28 |
nairalanda1:Oga, the worst of PDP regime is far better than the BEST of this current regime(APC). That's the bitter truth you guys find it hard to accept. -kiss the truth- |
| Re: Goodluck Jonathan Really Tried For This Country And It's Citizens by nairalanda1(m): 8:20am On Mar 28 |
bal4real:It's not a matter of who was relatively better ...pdp was,...but a matter of whether they were objectively good for the country, and for that gej, tinubu and all our other leaders were bad. Dutch disease. |
| Re: Goodluck Jonathan Really Tried For This Country And It's Citizens by nairalanda1(m): 8:25am On Mar 28 |
AutoTechDoyz:Well, I guess you should organise a revolution and change things then, and I am not being sarcastic. |
| Re: Goodluck Jonathan Really Tried For This Country And It's Citizens by ernieboy(m): 8:45am On Mar 28 |
phemray:did Jonathan borrow more than tinunu and yet tinunu is not subsidizing petrol. |
| Re: Goodluck Jonathan Really Tried For This Country And It's Citizens by AutoTechDoyz(m): 9:22am On Mar 28 |
nairalanda1:I thought as much. You dare not analyse how the profligacy of your masters led us here. |
| Re: Goodluck Jonathan Really Tried For This Country And It's Citizens by Alliswell248: 9:33am On Mar 28 |
We Kukutente23:Point out above where I said fx was fixed. Gej almost "finished" our fx . He was a failure. At a point, his government was borrowing to pay salaries. I'm done with you since you don't want to learn |
| Re: Goodluck Jonathan Really Tried For This Country And It's Citizens by Kukutente23: 9:42am On Mar 28 |
Alliswell248:It's obvious you were just using terms you don't understand Subsidy on fx simply means fx is fixed below its market rate Which govt has not borrowed to pay salaries since GEJ. If that's the definition of failure then you're standing on a failed mandate just as you said baba on failure |
| Re: Goodluck Jonathan Really Tried For This Country And It's Citizens by nairalanda1(m): 9:53am On Mar 28 |
AutoTechDoyz:Well, I have, and I have told you guys what is wrong. But since both sides here, you included, are only interested in campaigning for your masters, not for realistic solutions... |
| Re: Goodluck Jonathan Really Tried For This Country And It's Citizens by Celebrity5496: 10:06am On Mar 28 |
AsomughaChuks02:Chairman, it is not better not to be naive n we Nigerians enjoy the economy, than to be naive n be suffering |
| Re: Goodluck Jonathan Really Tried For This Country And It's Citizens by Barteze: 10:40am On Mar 28 |
obonujoker:True talk my brother may God bless our hurtles. Philip Consulting UBA House 4th floor, I used to work on the 13th floor then before moving to telecom industry too in 2011. |
| Re: Goodluck Jonathan Really Tried For This Country And It's Citizens by zoomzoom(m): 11:21am On Mar 28 |
[quote author=AsomughaChuks02 post=138907058]President Jonathan tried with cash flows but he was a naive politician with little experience in the game. Game!!!?. Really!!!? This is the problem with Nigeria!! You want people who play games with your live instead of REAL LEADERSHIP abi?😰🤮 Morons!!😤😡 |
“If Goodluck Jonathan Were President During Coronavirus” By Reno Omokri • Dele Sobowale Apologises To Goodluck Jonathan. GEJ Reacts • Femi Fani-Kayode & Orubebe Visit Goodluck Jonathan (Photos) • 2 • 3 • 4
Adamu Adamu And His Entourage Visits Asiwaju Bola Tinubu (Photos) • Sheikh Khalid Suspended For Criticising Buhari Over Kaduna Train Bombing • Timipre Sylva Resigns As Nigeria’s Junior Petroleum Minister