Stats: 3,329,203 members, 8,439,313 topics. Date: Saturday, 04 July 2026 at 11:19 PM

Wike Rules Out Backing Fubara For Second Term - Politics - Nairaland

Nairaland ForumNairaland GeneralPoliticsWike Rules Out Backing Fubara For Second Term (15995 Views)

1 2 Reply (Go Down)

Wike Rules Out Backing Fubara For Second Term by politicoNG(op): 9:39am On Mar 30
The battle lines for the 2027 governorship race in Rivers State may have been drawn.

Minister of the Federal Capital Territory (FCT), Chief Nyesom Wike, fired an early and decisive shot.

In a blunt and characteristically combative declaration, the former governor ruled out any possibility of backing his successor, Governor Siminalayi Fubara, for a second term.

Wike spoke during a pre-convention meeting with some Rivers APC delegates at his Abuja residence, where he made it clear that no pressure, inducement or political manoeuvring would make him repeat what he described as the “mistake” of 2023.

Quashing speculations about a possible reconciliation or future alliance, Wike said he had learned hard lessons from his decision to support Fubara’s emergence as governor and would not be swayed again.

He said: “No amount of blackmail, no amount of intimidation will make me repeat the same mistake I made before.

“If anybody is bringing money to you, it is your business. I don’t know how long I will live on this earth, but I will not make that mistake again.”

The minister, who has repeatedly expressed regret over his role in Fubara’s emergence, blamed the current political crisis in Rivers on what he described as betrayal and ingratitude.

The once-close political allies have since fallen out, plunging the state into prolonged instability marked by factional battles and institutional tensions.

Wike also issued a stern warning to politicians allegedly using his name to advance their governorship ambitions ahead of 2027.

He cautioned that such individuals were acting on their own and should not drag him into their political calculations.

He said: “Don’t go and entangle yourself with anybody saying he wants to run for governorship.

“Some people are parading themselves, forming groups – Ijaw groups, Ogoni groups, Ikwerre groups – using my name. Continue to group yourselves, but I see all of you and I’m marking you.”

He urged members of his political family to remain cautious, safeguard their resources and avoid being misled by opportunistic politicians.

Wike declared: “My fight is not an easy one. I don’t need to win, but I will make sure that before you come out, there is no remedy. So be careful. Hold your money and pray for God to choose you.”

Taking a swipe at those allegedly funding online campaigns against him, Wike maintained that he was unfazed by opposition and even thrived in political battles.

He said: “If you want to fight me, it is okay. Without a fight, I can’t survive.

“But I want somebody who, when he leaves office, will still appreciate those who helped him, not someone who will bring in new people to fight us.”

The minister also praised members of the Rivers State House of Assembly, led by Speaker Martins Amaewhule, for what he described as their resilience and loyalty.

According to him, the lawmakers chose to endure hardship, including going without salaries, rather than betray their political convictions.

Shortly after Wike’s remarks, Bomah Iyaye distanced himself from reports suggesting he had declared interest in the governorship race or secured the minister’s endorsement.

In a statement, Iyaye described the reports as inaccurate and misleading, insisting that he remained focused on his responsibilities at the NDDC.

“My attention has been drawn to reports circulating on social media suggesting that I have declared an ambition for the office of Governor of Rivers State and have been endorsed by the Honourable Minister,” he said. “These reports are not true and do not reflect my position.”

He clarified that he had neither made any formal declaration nor received endorsement from Wike or any other political figure.

“I remain fully committed to my duties as Executive Director, Finance and Administration of the NDDC, working with stakeholders to advance sustainable development in the Niger Delta,” he added.

Also, uncertainty continues to surround Governor Fubara’s political future, particularly regarding his intention to seek a second term.

His silence has fueled speculation that he may have shelved re-election plans.

However, a source close to the governor dismissed such claims, saying Fubara would soon make his position known.

The aide, who spoke in confidence, maintained that Fubara remained a strong political force in the state and enjoyed considerable goodwill within the APC’s national leadership.

According to the source, the governor is still being considered a viable candidate to fly the party’s flag in 2027, despite the ongoing rift with his predecessor.
https://thenationonlineng.net/2027-wike-rules-out-fubara/

Re: Wike Rules Out Backing Fubara For Second Term by Whyme24(m): 9:45am On Mar 30
Ftc occupied. I reserve my comment for beta matas
Re: Wike Rules Out Backing Fubara For Second Term by saintruky(m): 9:45am On Mar 30
Wike mean this man o... But Sim no dey pdp na...
Re: Wike Rules Out Backing Fubara For Second Term by educatedfool: 9:45am On Mar 30
Didn't they already settle their differences?

Re: Wike Rules Out Backing Fubara For Second Term by id4sho(m): 9:45am On Mar 30
“If anybody is bringing money to you, it is your business. I don’t know how long I will live on this earth, but I will not make that mistake again.”

😅😂🤣

Ogogoro go kpai you 🤷🏿
Re: Wike Rules Out Backing Fubara For Second Term by Excellent93(m): 9:46am On Mar 30
This wike self forming semi demi god I just tire ...only you PDP only you APC...this one he's saying he won't live forever ,you know you won't live forever and your cursing mayhem grin
Re: Wike Rules Out Backing Fubara For Second Term by princeade86(m): 9:46am On Mar 30
You no be God and u can never be
Re: Wike Rules Out Backing Fubara For Second Term by Anishinaabe: 9:46am On Mar 30
politicoNG:
https://thenationonlineng.net/2027-wike-rules-out-fubara/
Is he assured of tomorrow? The sickness called politicking in Nigeria is beyond incurable
Re: Wike Rules Out Backing Fubara For Second Term by Barrywhite8620: 9:46am On Mar 30
This one no be small matter
Re: Wike Rules Out Backing Fubara For Second Term by id4sho(m): 9:46am On Mar 30
Excellent93:
First person to comment it can only be God grin
Which kind snail speed you get undecided
Re: Wike Rules Out Backing Fubara For Second Term by Cum4me(m): 9:47am On Mar 30
Excellent93:
First person to comment it can only be God grin
Keep dreaming and wake up with your slow data
Re: Wike Rules Out Backing Fubara For Second Term by LibertyRep: 9:48am On Mar 30
Na wah, Hasn't this been resolved already?

Surely Fubara was misled but he has been humbled enough.

If the Presidency gives him the ticket, you won't be able to resist sha.

Na Godfather you be o, you no be God o.
Re: Wike Rules Out Backing Fubara For Second Term by Blackfire(m): 9:49am On Mar 30
Wike the Emperor

You will leave power...or power will leave you.
Re: Wike Rules Out Backing Fubara For Second Term by Paragon311(m): 9:49am On Mar 30
Feeling like God.

You're nothing but a mortal being Mr. Minister...

I dislike politics with passion especially with people with mentality without them, no one gets into the office...
Re: Wike Rules Out Backing Fubara For Second Term by PulaPower: 9:50am On Mar 30
educatedfool:
Didn't they already settle their differences?
If they did not, you think there will be peace?
Re: Wike Rules Out Backing Fubara For Second Term by TTPAAR(m): 9:51am On Mar 30
Let him gettat....
When will rubbish godfatherism end in Nigeria.
Re: Wike Rules Out Backing Fubara For Second Term by Kaycee9242(m): 9:51am On Mar 30
Wike should pray to be alive till next election first, tomorrow is not promised
Re: Wike Rules Out Backing Fubara For Second Term by Dogalmighty17: 9:55am On Mar 30
Mortal flesh thinks he has a say in tomorrow
Re: Wike Rules Out Backing Fubara For Second Term by adamkkk: 9:56am On Mar 30
Wike u are not a god. Na boy u be.

Made me to remember late Brigadier General Esio Obada(rtd), that was attacking elders in Agbarho. He even bullied his king just because he had khaki men on uniform doing his bidding. He caused so many trouble because he felt invisible... When God took him, progress started going to the community.

No matter how tuff and powerful u are today, u will still loose that power when the time comes.

Where is Abacha today, where is Idi Amin today, where is Buhari today, to mention few
Re: Wike Rules Out Backing Fubara For Second Term by piriton: 9:56am On Mar 30
But they are free to betray the citizens
Re: Wike Rules Out Backing Fubara For Second Term by Lanruze: 9:56am On Mar 30
Money politics has an expiration date Wike.

You are not God & at the right time you will be tamed.

No forever champion. Your cup too full !
Re: Wike Rules Out Backing Fubara For Second Term by MaziObinnaokija: 9:57am On Mar 30
Their palava there but FUBARA FUMBLE for real
Re: Wike Rules Out Backing Fubara For Second Term by Fiscus105(m):
Talking as if he has his own power if not tyrant in Aso rock.

If tyrant removes his backing from chest beater now, him and his structure will collapse within 5 mins.
Re: Wike Rules Out Backing Fubara For Second Term by opes: 10:02am On Mar 30
LibertyRep:
Na wah, Hasn't this been resolved already?

Surely Fubara was misled but he has been humbled enough.

If the Presidency gives him the ticket, you won't be able to resist sha.

Na Godfather you be o, you no be God o.
The presidency won’t force anything regarding Fubara’s re-election. Remember, the same fate befell Ambode of the same APC.
Re: Wike Rules Out Backing Fubara For Second Term by jattopeter(m): 10:09am On Mar 30
Ho , as far as it stands today , Under WIKE apc and pdp are one.
saintruky:
Wike mean this man o... But Sim no dey pdp na...
Re: Wike Rules Out Backing Fubara For Second Term by Nobody: 10:09am On Mar 30
Wike the rabid dog.na Mumu p people wey dey worship am I blame
Re: Wike Rules Out Backing Fubara For Second Term by nickae: 10:09am On Mar 30
The next governor he picks will do worse, because they have seen his antecedent.
Re: Wike Rules Out Backing Fubara For Second Term by 2RightHands1Coc(m): 10:09am On Mar 30
Na so Wike get Power Reach ?
Re: Wike Rules Out Backing Fubara For Second Term by PlasmaTV: 10:09am On Mar 30
Wike's downfall will be epic.
Re: Wike Rules Out Backing Fubara For Second Term by Mirasteel: 10:11am On Mar 30
Wike acting like god.

He will soon be humbled.
Re: Wike Rules Out Backing Fubara For Second Term by MEGAWATCH: 10:13am On Mar 30
I just want the north to deal with Wike just like Tinubu is dealing with El-rufia now.

🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣
Re: Wike Rules Out Backing Fubara For Second Term by Chucks13: 10:16am On Mar 30
Wike as much as I like you pls wahala nor dey taya you?

Leave Fubara na, haba which kind thing be dis na?

You said make he apologised he did it, you said make he beg he begged, you said make he join apc he joined apc yet you nor gree, biko na wetin again you want? Haba, rest na.
1 2 Reply

Wike to PDP Govs backing Fubara: I Am Far Bigger Than All Of You Put TogetherRivers: Labour Party Adopts PDP Guber Candidate, Fubara For March 11 PollWike Rules Out Reconciliation With Atiku, To Deliver Rivers Votes For Opposition234

Repentant Abia Criminals Demand For AmnestyFG To Build EFCC Headquarters With N24bn, Hires N3.8bn Vessels For NIMASAN601m Traced To Oyo-Ita, Forfeited To FG