Stats: 3,329,880 members, 8,442,744 topics. Date: Friday, 10 July 2026 at 03:18 PM

Army Decries Low South-east Enrolment, Only 117 From Anambra - Politics (2) - Nairaland

Nairaland ForumNairaland GeneralPoliticsArmy Decries Low South-east Enrolment, Only 117 From Anambra (15196 Views)

1 2 3 4 5 6 Reply (Go Down)

Re: Army Decries Low South-east Enrolment, Only 117 From Anambra by Tailorcaesar: 1:41pm On Apr 19
Back in 2018, right after finishing NYSC. I enrolled for the Nigerian Army here in Onitsha, after going the the rigorous surety and obtaining signatures from LGA and traditional rulers, I entered camp, I engaged in all the sporting and educative activities in the camp, when the names came out I saw my name written boldly that I wasn't shortlisted, that I can neither read nor write. mind you I just finished my NYSC, whereas so many people from the north where in our camp, and their names got shortlisted under Anambra, I know one Musa Muhammad who can't read out his name in English was shortlisted.

These are one of the few reasons why so many igbos refused to enrol in the NIGERIAN ARMY
Re: Army Decries Low South-east Enrolment, Only 117 From Anambra by IGBOSON1: 1:45pm On Apr 19
Image123:
They should pick them from their bedroom or shops to make them Chief? Current airforce chief Kevin Aneke from Enugu is not Igbo enough? Ikechukwu Ogalla is not Igbo enough as head of Navy? Ihejirika, Madueke, Malu and co are not Igbo enough. Or they didn't rise through the ranks? All these gaslight doesn't help anyone or work.
When you reduce your number, you reduce your chances in years to come. You'll still gaslight with marginalization then, no be you?
Sure!....Because your Nigeria only started existing 15 or so years ago when Ihejirika was appointed the first Igbo COAS since Aguiyi-Ironsi!?
Re: Army Decries Low South-east Enrolment, Only 117 From Anambra by IGBOSON1: 1:47pm On Apr 19
Tailorcaesar:
Back in 2018, right after finishing NYSC. I enrolled for the Nigerian Army here in Onitsha, after going the the rigorous surety and obtaining signatures from LGA and traditional rulers, I entered camp, I engaged in all the sporting and educative activities in the camp, when the names came out I saw my name written boldly that I wasn't shortlisted, that I can neither read nor write. mind you I just finished my NYSC, whereas so many people from the north where in our camp, and their names got shortlisted under Anambra, I know one Musa Muhammad who can't read out his name in English was shortlisted.

These are one of the few reasons why so many igbos refused to enrol in the NIGERIAN ARMY
Thanks for the enlightening anecdote bros!
Re: Army Decries Low South-east Enrolment, Only 117 From Anambra by Mbanda(m): 1:52pm On Apr 19
attackgat:
The Nigerian Army has expressed concern over what it described as the low level of enrolment from the South-East in the ongoing recruitment, revealing that Anambra recorded only 117 applicants out of 38,000 applications received nationwide.

This was disclosed during a sensitisation event held at the Ministry of Youths’ office in Awka, the state capital.

The leader of the army delegation to sensitise youths in Awka, Brig.-Gen. Uche Nnabuihe, said the figure was recorded as of April 7, before the commencement of a nationwide awareness campaign for the 91 Regular Recruits Intake.

Sunday PUNCH gathered that in April 2025, the Nigerian Army had raised concerns over the poor enrolment of South-East youths in its recruitment exercise.
The leader of the 2025 army recruitment enlightenment team, Chima Ekeator, had said the South-East was gradually losing out on what was rightfully theirs.

Speaking during a town hall meeting in Enugu, Ekeator said out of 200 slots allocated to South-East states in last year’s recruitment, the region barely recorded 100 applications.

“Our people are losing what rightly belongs to them. Each year, whenever a slot is being allocated to our people, we keep noticing that the number of applicants from our side is usually very poor,” Ekeator said.

Speaking at the sensitisation on Saturday, Nnabuihe said the programme was aimed at encouraging more youths from Anambra and the South-East to participate in the recruitment, which is open to tradesmen and non-tradesmen, and will close on May 27.

He added that the sensitisation was intended to correct the imbalance and encourage youths to take advantage of the opportunities available in the Nigerian Army.

Nnabuihe said, “We observed with concern that out of 38,000 applications received nationwide, only 117 came from Anambra as of April 7.

“This sensitisation is to correct that imbalance and encourage our youths to take advantage of the opportunities available in the Nigerian Army.

“We urge eligible youths to apply. The Army offers a structured career path and opportunities for national service.”

Also speaking, Lt.-Col. Ogbemudia Osawe said the Army had expanded its training infrastructure with institutions in Abakaliki and Osogbo to accommodate recruits.

Osawe highlighted the benefits of joining the service to include career progression, regular pay and allowances, access to continuous military education, and specialised training.

Other benefits include exposure to diverse cultures, welfare packages, free medical care for personnel and their families, as well as pension and gratuity.

He added that personnel also have opportunities for international assignments.

In his remarks, the Permanent Secretary, Anambra State Ministry of Youths, Ifeatu Emodi, commended the initiative, describing military enlistment as crucial, especially for youths in the South-East.

Emodi said many young people in the region had shown declining interest due to misconceptions and misinformation about the Army.

A traditional ruler, Igwe Michael Okeke-Uche of Enugwu-Agidi, also lauded the welfare structure of the Nigerian Army and urged youths to enlist to ensure adequate representation of the South-East in the military.

https://punchng.com/again-army-decries-low-south-east-enrolment/
Even the 117 individuals who were enrolled lack sufficient information. Had they been adequately informed, it is likely that they would not have chosen to participate.
Re: Army Decries Low South-east Enrolment, Only 117 From Anambra by Image123(m): 2:03pm On Apr 19
sweerychick:
keep shut, when they aforementioned above start dealing with terrorist decisively una go still dey shout Igbo coup
Errr, one yo can make your point or reply without frustration. Two, any example of when this happened before?
Re: Army Decries Low South-east Enrolment, Only 117 From Anambra by IGBOSON1: 2:04pm On Apr 19
Mbanda:
Even the 117 individuals who were enrolled lack sufficient information. Had they been adequately informed, it is likely that they would not have chosen to participate.
That's if they're even Igbo sef!
Re: Army Decries Low South-east Enrolment, Only 117 From Anambra by Image123(m): 2:06pm On Apr 19
Tailorcaesar:

In other words, a whole group are bent on giving up because of an incident or a pocket of incidences. This same story happens in every sphere due to how corrupt our systems are. Taking it tribal is another level. You give the future generation less chance.
Re: Army Decries Low South-east Enrolment, Only 117 From Anambra by Image123(m): 2:08pm On Apr 19
IGBOSON1:
Sure!....Because your Nigeria only started existing 15 or so years ago when Ihejirika was appointed the first Igbo COAS since Aguiyi-Ironsi!?
He said South Easterners are not good enough to be Chief of Army, Chief of Defense staff, Chief of Air Staff, inspector general of police. i simply pointed out people who have been in such or similar positions. Keep moving the goalpost, don't worry the presidents are crying and very worried by this.
Re: Army Decries Low South-east Enrolment, Only 117 From Anambra by ZombieDredd: 5:20pm On Apr 19
FairlyUSEDpussy:
Ibos sud endeavor to get enlisted in the military Ooo.......

What if someday bandits try to run over the country and each geopolitical zone r meant to defend themselves who then will they turn too......

At least get the training Incase of incasity
What is incasity? embarassed
Re: Army Decries Low South-east Enrolment, Only 117 From Anambra by loveth360(f): 6:22pm On Apr 19
floss:
Even the 117 needs to check if they applied voluntarily
Do they want the so called IPOB terrorists in their army?
Re: Army Decries Low South-east Enrolment, Only 117 From Anambra by owobokiri(m): 6:28pm On Apr 19
anonymous1759:
Stop lying to suit your narrative. There was never a time like that.
It was difficult to join the military in early 2000's
Because there wss no much work for the military then.

It's easier now when Boko haram started reducing their Manpower. As of now para military are used in Borno on a stead. Stop lying Bitter Obi Agent. Boko haram grew wings under PDP . Playing politics with everything makes people take your point for granted.
As a member of the indomie generation, you can't relate.
In the 70s and 80s and even early 90s, a lot of easterners tried picking up northern identity to get into positions in the security agencies..
Go and verify..
Re: Army Decries Low South-east Enrolment, Only 117 From Anambra by engrchykae(m): 8:14pm On Apr 19
So If I join now, I will have to work with "repentant Boko Haram"
Nonsense institution
Re: Army Decries Low South-east Enrolment, Only 117 From Anambra by Dalohad:
Donbunchis:
Naija that doesn't want me to join the army DSSC 2011 & 2012 intake because I am Igbo.
Only for people to start demanding 250k from me during the 2013 exercise. I should pay then, to serve Nigeria.

Now even depot enlistment is begging Igbo people.
They should first accommodate plenty Igbo officers first and that will encourage rank and file to enlist
Funny enough, I also tried joining the army through the DSSC as a professional but was told by a Colonel to stop wasting my time and go do my postgraduate study, because I am Igbo and my chances are very slim in the military.. grin

I am grateful to that Colonel (who was also a professional) till today. I saved my money and, have gone ahead to become a Doctorate holder and an International Medical Adjunct Professor.

I am well respected by all and sundry, including my mates who are now Lt Cols, Majors and Squadron Leaders in the military..
Re: Army Decries Low South-east Enrolment, Only 117 From Anambra by tiswell(m): 8:30pm On Apr 19
Wow,I'm surprised Anambra has such a huge number of intakes huh
Re: Army Decries Low South-east Enrolment, Only 117 From Anambra by Batman2412(m): 8:32pm On Apr 19
Something we used to beg for before but you politicized it
Re: Army Decries Low South-east Enrolment, Only 117 From Anambra by SMerchant: 8:33pm On Apr 19
Tell Soludo to enroll his mad son and daughter and other relatives into Army to support his calamity
Re: Army Decries Low South-east Enrolment, Only 117 From Anambra by Tooreda: 8:36pm On Apr 19
Why is army fixated on recruiting from the East that tribalists so much despise?

Why recruit Easterners to help go after Islamist terrorists?
Re: Army Decries Low South-east Enrolment, Only 117 From Anambra by Obapluto: 8:37pm On Apr 19
How many from the north? They won't say.. Tinubu needs take full control of the army if he truly wants to fight insecurity.. God Bless PBAT
Re: Army Decries Low South-east Enrolment, Only 117 From Anambra by Bahamas95(m): 8:38pm On Apr 19
Una dey find who una wan kee abi?

After I join army today, tomorrow I go hear say FG don pardon 1,000 terrorists......Una try well well.
Re: Army Decries Low South-east Enrolment, Only 117 From Anambra by lezz(m): 8:41pm On Apr 19
The army should focus on the quality and training of recruites and it on regions before they graduating rights abusers and criminal
Re: Army Decries Low South-east Enrolment, Only 117 From Anambra by franchasng: 8:42pm On Apr 19
These are clear signs that Igbos are gradually getting tired of Nigeria and a sign that sooner than later, Nigeria will expire like Yugoslavia cool
Re: Army Decries Low South-east Enrolment, Only 117 From Anambra by HacheNoire:
The Federal government needs to activate mandatory military service!

NYSC should be converted to 5 years of military service and should be a mandatory employment requirement
Re: Army Decries Low South-east Enrolment, Only 117 From Anambra by lezz(m): 8:44pm On Apr 19
The army should focus on the quality and training of recruites and not on regions before they start graduating human rights abusers and criminals .
Re: Army Decries Low South-east Enrolment, Only 117 From Anambra by Deepspirituals: 8:44pm On Apr 19
How Many of the Top Politicians Children already Joined the Army
Re: Army Decries Low South-east Enrolment, Only 117 From Anambra by zoomzoom(m): 8:44pm On Apr 19
[quote author=wizelink post=139146198]This same energy expended in finding out why the youths of Southeast extraction are not enrolling in Nigeria army, thus not using up their job allocation should also be extended to CBN, NNPC, DPR, EFCC, NIA, DSS, NPA, etc whenever they plan to recruit.

Or, are the job openings of aforementioned institutions not meant for the youth of Southeast Nigeria?

GBAM!!!.
Re: Army Decries Low South-east Enrolment, Only 117 From Anambra by eenai(m): 8:46pm On Apr 19
If you successfully recruit the 117 then you can come and we can continue the discussions.
Re: Army Decries Low South-east Enrolment, Only 117 From Anambra by Okechinwadike: 8:48pm On Apr 19
OkonkwoOkoro:
Name one anti Ibo policy.
customs, firs, nnpc, nia, dss strictly not for igbos. But police, army, immigration, civil defence, jtf is for igbos
Re: Army Decries Low South-east Enrolment, Only 117 From Anambra by aariwa(m): 8:49pm On Apr 19
Anything igbo man see and e no put I’m head just know that thing is a disaster and will harm you if you enter like current buhari and tinubu disaster
Re: Army Decries Low South-east Enrolment, Only 117 From Anambra by LCling: 8:53pm On Apr 19
117 are surely another tribes or mixed tribe or deceived candidates.
Re: Army Decries Low South-east Enrolment, Only 117 From Anambra by Bahamas95(m): 8:53pm On Apr 19
Deepspirituals:
How Many of the Top Politicians Children already Joined the Army
Don't mind them, they reserve NNPC slots for their children that are even in primary school but expect others to join the military.

Dem dey announce NNPC, CBN and their likes jobs like this?
1 2 3 4 5 6 Reply

Army Decries Poor Igbo Youths’ Enlistment In Military ServiceAPC Presidential Campaign Council Decries Low Collection Of PVCs In S/ WestFG Orders Immediate Closure Of Enrolment Activities At NIMC Headquarters234

Owoseni Ajayi, Lawyer Writes Fayose, Demands N600m In Unpaid Legal Fees2023 Presidential Election: Tinubu/Shettima Campaign ScheduleFuel Subsidy: NLC Confirms Shelving Strike, Accuse Industrial Court Of Bias