Stats: 3,152,693 members, 7,816,834 topics. Date: Friday, 03 May 2024 at 06:24 PM

Mercedes Benz Thread - Car Talk (85) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Car Talk / Mercedes Benz Thread (968505 Views)

Photo: Mercedes Benz Vs Audi / Mercedes Benz Releases Details On 9G Tronic Nine Speed Auto / The Life Cycle Of The Mercedes Benz ! (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (82) (83) (84) (85) (86) (87) (88) ... (546) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: Mercedes Benz Thread by praxisnetworks: 7:30am On Mar 26, 2015
M112 V6...M111 Inline 4 cylinders.....M104 Inline 6 cylinders....

cne010:

Mercedes Benz started the class era so its the first one hence the w201
After that from 1993 to 2000 W202
from 2001 to 2007 W203
From 2007 to 2013 W204

The W202 was upgraded aka facelifted in the year 2000 so most of the problems have been corrected and they look better physically. I really can't tell the difference in the engines you stated. I only know the M112 the V6 and M111 the straight 6.

The best way to know that is through the VIN.
Re: Mercedes Benz Thread by Chichilas: 10:15am On Mar 30, 2015
Re: Mercedes Benz Thread by Insanity(m): 1:54pm On Mar 30, 2015
Hello all,

I need the help of MB gurus in the house. I wanna purchase my first car this April and I'm really liking this MB C320 4matic 2005 (I heard this trim was switched to C350 in 2005, true?) or C280 4matic 2006. I'll like to know your opinion on this models/trims and you can suggest any better model, trim btw 2004-2006.

Please, I wanna purchase the car from cotonou myself, any info on how to do pre-purchase inspection? I don't know any MB specialist mechanic in Lagos, any very good MB mechanic in Lagos?

Any other info on this MB model And trim will be highly appreciated, recalls? transmission issues? Etc. I read one poster saying MB V6 engines usually have a lot of issues, please is this something I should be concerned about?

My other option is Infiniti G35X 2006. Based on experience and knowledge, which is the better option between the two. Though personally I prefer the MB, I still don't want a vehicle that I won't enjoy without issues. I love the MB, I just wanna make an informed decision.

Please house, any information will be highly appreciated. Thanks.
Re: Mercedes Benz Thread by skj1377(m): 11:48am On Apr 05, 2015
Insanity:
Hello all,

I need the help of MB gurus in the house. I wanna purchase my first car this April and I'm really liking this MB C320 4matic 2005 (I heard this trim was switched to C350 in 2005, true?) or C280 4matic 2006. I'll like to know your opinion on this models/trims and you can suggest any better model, trim btw 2004-2006.

Please, I wanna purchase the car from cotonou myself, any info on how to do pre-purchase inspection? I don't know any MB specialist mechanic in Lagos, any very good MB mechanic in Lagos?

Any other info on this MB model And trim will be highly appreciated, recalls? transmission issues? Etc. I read one poster saying MB V6 engines usually have a lot of issues, please is this something I should be concerned about?

My other option is Infiniti G35X 2006. Based on experience and knowledge, which is the better option between the two. Though personally I prefer the MB, I still don't want a vehicle that I won't enjoy without issues. I love the MB, I just wanna make an informed decision.

I think we have same taste in cars . I had same choice two years ago till i drove a friends benz C240 . What i can tell you is benz is a super car . I owned a nissan maxima with the so called 3.5 vq engine the engine in the infinity your thinking of buying. That engine could not hold its own agaist a 1996 benz c class. Nissan is fast but not stable at high speeds, the car suffers from lower arm ball joint shock absorbers problem. Besides when i owned mine the nozzle was not in ladipo market i had to order from abroad. Nissan suffers from overheating after driving fast for 70 0km and above. You need to keep one eye on temp or your car is gone
Re: Mercedes Benz Thread by skj1377(m): 11:54am On Apr 05, 2015
Insanity:
Hello all,

I J ust bought my second benz 2007 c230 well the car is at seme boarder has not been cleared i bought from an auction in usa so far so good
Re: Mercedes Benz Thread by jodeci01: 12:52pm On Apr 05, 2015
Wishing you a hitch free delivery, don't forget to upload pixs. Cheers
skj1377:

I J ust bought my second benz 2007 c230 well the car is at seme boarder has not been cleared i bought from an auction in usa so far so good
Re: Mercedes Benz Thread by skj1377(m): 2:16pm On Apr 05, 2015
jodeci01:
Wishing you a hitch free delivery, don't forget to upload pixs. Cheers
thanks bro. the thing about the benz c230 2007 with the seven speed gear box model is that it has transmission issues and you have to do a vin check to know if the car has once had transmission issues or not.
I will advice you to do both a vin check and also buy a high milage benz c class or buy one that indicates that the gearbox has once been replaced to be on the safe side. The gear box starts failing from say 70k to 110k miles so if for instance you buy one that says 170k miles i guess the gearbox would have been fixed by the previous owner.
you need to research the model you want to buy as different models have peculiar issues and avoid flooded cars. lastly judge the benz you want to buy by the number of errors the scanner indicates and not by the sturdy look of the body, in other words,go to cotonou with a launch scanner , c3 scanner or with enough money to rent a scanner there.
finally go to cotonou with one or two friends they will see what you did not see and save you a few thousands in additional expenses.

Re: Mercedes Benz Thread by skj1377(m): 2:22pm On Apr 05, 2015
one more thing the cost of clearing an Infiniti G35X 2006 is N400,000 more than the cost of clearing an Infiniti G35 2006.
you see that x at the back of g35 cost 400k so be wise..
Insanity:
Hello all,

Re: Mercedes Benz Thread by praxisnetworks: 4:04pm On Apr 05, 2015
this a benz thread!

skj1377:
one more thing the cost of clearing an Infiniti G35X 2006 is N400,000 more than the cost of clearing an Infiniti G35 2006.
you see that x at the back of g35 cost 400k so be wise..
Re: Mercedes Benz Thread by themodernman: 5:48pm On Apr 05, 2015
skj1377:

Why haven't you cleared d benz nah? Is d clearing cost on d high side?
Re: Mercedes Benz Thread by themodernman: 5:51pm On Apr 05, 2015
egesie:

that's more impossible than the word "impossible"...diff configuration, mercedes benz engines are mounted verticallly while toyota camry engines are mounted horizontally, hv u thought abt the gears, ecu, fanbelt etc?

There is really nothing you won't see on nairaland

What do you expect from Japboys..most of 'em are Ricers.
Re: Mercedes Benz Thread by Insanity(m): 2:54pm On Apr 06, 2015
skj1377:

I will advice you to do both a vin check and also buy a high milage benz c class or buy one that indicates that the gearbox has once been replaced to be on the safe side. The gear box starts failing from say 70k to 110k miles so if for instance you buy one that says 170k miles i guess the gearbox would have been fixed by the previous owner.
you need to research the model you want to buy as different models have peculiar issues and avoid flooded cars. lastly judge the benz you want to buy by the number of errors the scanner indicates and not by the sturdy look of the body, in other words,go to cotonou with a launch scanner , c3 scanner or with enough money to rent a scanner there.
finally go to cotonou with one or two friends they will see what you did not see and save you a few thousands in additional expenses.

Thanks a lot for this info.
I've been researching a lot on the trims I'm interested in. This point you noted on the transmission and buying a high mileaged car to avoid issues, I will be very worried buying a ten years old MB model with high mileage. I plan on using this car for a while, let's say 3+ years. What do you think of this?

You said you purchased ya car on auction. You mean you bought via online auction, shipped to cotonou as you mentioned seme border? Is it possible to request for this informations like car repair history and number of previous owners in cotonou?

You've had MB before. which MB specialist mechanic do you recommend in Lagos?

Where do get the OEM parts you use for repairs?

I like the C320s and 280s, is there a year you highly recommend btw 2004-2006?

Can you give a clue to how much you bought yours, let me have a price range on mind before going there.

Once again, thanks a lot for your time and response. I appreciate it.
Re: Mercedes Benz Thread by Insanity(m): 3:18pm On Apr 06, 2015
skj1377:

I think we have same taste in cars . I had same choice two years ago till i drove a friends benz C240 . What i can tell you is benz is a super car . I owned a nissan maxima with the so called 3.5 vq engine the engine in the infinity your thinking of buying. That engine could not hold its own agaist a 1996 benz c class. Nissan is fast but not stable at high speeds, the car suffers from lower arm ball joint shock absorbers problem. Besides when i owned mine the nozzle was not in ladipo market i had to order from abroad. Nissan suffers from overheating after driving fast for 70 0km and above. You need to keep one eye on temp or your car is gone

Thanks for ya response. I always wanted the MB but scared of issues. I'm gonna treat it like a baby boy...Lol.

Since you bought yours, what are the issues you've had so far?
What's the maintenance like? Duration or miles?
Which trim did you finally go for? C320?

Thanks for the love bro.

Awesome thread y'all.
Re: Mercedes Benz Thread by skj1377(m): 5:46pm On Apr 06, 2015
I've been researching a lot on the trims I'm interested in. This point you noted on the transmission and buying a high mileaged car to avoid issues, I will be very worried buying a ten years old MB model with high mileage. I plan on using this car for a while, let's say 3+ years. What do you think of this?
i agree with you use a second hand car for 3 or less years and get rid of it thats the psychology. why high milage? reason is simple high milage cars are cheap at auctions besides you can reduce the milage with a c3 scanner to a number your comfortable with say 20k miles. secondly a high milage run and drive car with normal wear and tear with good history will serve you well for three more years.

You said you purchased ya car on auction. You mean you bought via online auction, shipped to cotonou as you mentioned seme border? Is it possible to request for this informations like car repair history and number of previous owners in cotonou?
to tell you the truth if am a car dealer in cotonou i will not tell you that the car am about to sell to you is a flooded car or it was a badly accidented car poorly fixed, put your self in my shoes i need to make money from you say 1 million off the cost price besides i have bills to pay besides i might not seen another buyer in a while. bottom line is you cant hear the truth from me.
what you do is simple pay carfax $50 dollars then go to cotonou when you see a car you like enter the vin on car fax and read the report.

well i have an s430 2003 8cly as i said before different models have peculiar issues mine was camshaft position sensor i bought one in ladipo N3500 and imported a spare $65. i have had to change shock absorbers like 3 times because the spares sold are reworked not MB fault but a nigerian thin cost me N80k i hade to return one i just bought for N28k last week. next time i will import.
i have stopped using mobil one because i think its fake i now use forte synthetic oil N7500 * 2, my engine is now quieter and runs smoother besides the computer requests oil change after 4 months as opposed to 2 months with mobil.
if you buy a good benz you dont need to know any mechanic within 3 years this is my second year of benz and only shocks poblem and thats because its air shock.
Insanity:

Can you give a clue to how much you bought yours, let me have a price range on mind before going there.

Re: Mercedes Benz Thread by skj1377(m): 5:53pm On Apr 06, 2015

Once again, thanks a lot for your time and response. I appreciate it.[/quote]

I buy parts in ladipo but i think order from abroad is far better and would last longer try autoware house.com.
i bought mine from an auction copart.com the landing cost was N920k to cotonou. but that is because its me o if it is you add $1500 only besides the dollar was N162- N165 then and i had a hell of luck buying at the auction on that day. you might not be that lucky the average selling price of that car c230 2007 is $6000 to $8000 i bought mine $3000.

remember to add contonu guys profit and shipping cost as well as documentation with that you will have a good idea of how much it will cost you.
for the last question i will get back to you
Re: Mercedes Benz Thread by skj1377(m): 7:38pm On Apr 06, 2015
try this link type model year one at a time
http://www.carproblemzoo.com/mercedesbenz/c230/2006/
Insanity:

Re: Mercedes Benz Thread by skj1377(m): 7:54pm On Apr 06, 2015
i went for s430 i wanted an E320 2004 but when i read about all the issues and i did not want to buy sbc for 250k i decided to look for another option . the closest was s430 though its 8cly extra fuel thats all. the c320 is to small in size though nice to drive. secondly i like large sized cars in case of head on collision accident. i travel alot and i drive fast i don t want to be squeezed in a small car i lke to strech my legs.
another factor i considered is speed, the benz is very fast and safe. i can afford the extra fuel so fueling is not an issue 88ltr takes you 700km only driving aggressively. finally the most important factor is depreciation am comfortable with losing N500k after 2 and half years provided the car is sold within a month.
no issue with the car, only oil change and brake pad buy forte synthetic i recommend just trust me. as for the shocks its because of my driving style on bad roads besides in the days of my nissan maxiama i had a repair bill of 250k for similar driving style.

Insanity:

Thanks for ya response. I always wanted the MB but scared of issues. I'm gonna treat it like a baby boy...Lol.

Since you bought yours, what are the issues you've had so far?
What's the maintenance like? Duration or miles?
Which trim did you finally go for? C320?

Thanks for the love bro.

Awesome thread y'all.
Re: Mercedes Benz Thread by vtravinskyi(m): 7:40pm On Apr 07, 2015
I found good Internet portal vs many important goods, information, cars. I did choice that site is a good portal for everybody. Looking now on Internet sites. It's many, many information. How are you think so, information on Mercedes-Benz car is true or no. Add your comment on information to german car. For example Mercedes-Benz cars in Lagos on
Re: Mercedes Benz Thread by Insanity(m): 8:23pm On Apr 08, 2015
skj1377:

try this link type model year one at a time
http://www.carproblemzoo.com/mercedesbenz/c230/2006/

Thanks a lot for ya assistance. You've really helped me a lot.
Re: Mercedes Benz Thread by babatosan: 6:50am On Apr 11, 2015
What type of coolant is best for a 1998 c240 with a M112 engine. Secondly, where can I get it?

Re: Mercedes Benz Thread by Nobody: 8:52am On Apr 11, 2015
babatosan:
What type of coolant is best for a 1998 c240 with a M112 engine. Secondly, where can I get it?

I think you can get the one from Total fuel stations. They should suffice

Re: Mercedes Benz Thread by praxisnetworks: 12:39pm On Apr 11, 2015
No! MB coolants are red colored! Please read through this thread in particular late Trac's comments

cne010:

I think you can get the one from Total fuel stations. They should suffice
Re: Mercedes Benz Thread by Nobody: 1:04pm On Apr 11, 2015
praxisnetworks:
No! MB coolants are red colored! Please read through this thread in particular late Trac's comments

All coolants do the same job and that would get the job done OEM Benz coolants are green and hard to find here only if you want to go the Abro way. Check Mbworld.com other coolants can be used. Just like Benz recommends mobil engine oil but you can use other ones allowed it's same specs.

The color is just to trace if there is a coolant link.

I stand to be corrected.
Re: Mercedes Benz Thread by praxisnetworks: 1:10pm On Apr 11, 2015
ok sir.... just have a vague memory of late Trac's arguments....

cne010:

All coolants do the same job and that would get the job done OEM Benz coolants are green and hard to find here only if you want to go the Abro way. Check Mbworld.com other coolants can be used. Just like Benz recommends mobil engine oil but you can use other ones allowed it's same specs.

The color is just to trace if there is a coolant link.

I stand to be corrected.
Re: Mercedes Benz Thread by praxisnetworks: 1:20pm On Apr 11, 2015
Coolant and antifreeze is a topic we are asked about on a regular basis, and often causes confusion; types, colours, service life etc.

Perhaps the most frequent cause of confusion is what the difference between anti-freeze or coolant is. Basically, they’re the same product (although the term “coolant” could just be applied to plain water; see below!)

To help clear some of the confusion up on the more technical details of antifreeze and coolants we enlisted the help of Martyn Mann – Technical Director, Millers Oils UK - who has provided the information below.

Not all antifreeze / coolant is the same!

Coolant can be plain water; water is a very effective coolant but would not protect against sub freezing temperatures or protect against corrosion inside the engine. The use of antifreeze protects against both problems.

Antifreeze not only suppresses the freezing point of your engine coolant, but provides good corrosion protection and increases the boiling point during use.

Most commercial antifreeze formulations include a glycol (to suppress the freezing point and raise the boiling point), corrosion inhibiting compounds and a coloured dye (commonly orange, green, red, or blue fluorescent) to aid in identification. A 1:1 dilution with water is usually used, resulting in a freezing point in the range of minus 37 °C to minus 42 °C, depending on the formulation.

There are two basic types of coolant available today dependent on the corrosion inhibitors used:

·inorganic additive technology (IAT)
·organic additive technology (OAT)

Inorganic Additive Technology

This is the traditional coolant based on inorganic additives and is called inorganic additive technology (IAT). It is a tried and proven chemistry that provides a fast acting protective film. The additives deplete and the coolant needs to be drained and replenished every couple of years. This type can be used on all mixed metal engines with components including steel, cast iron, copper, brass, aluminium and solder without any detrimental effect.

Organic Acid Technology

The newer OAT coolants work differently than the older silicate based IAT coolants. Aluminium and ferrous metals form a surface-layer of corrosion in the presence of moisture, even with the little bit of moisture in the air. OAT coolants prevent this metal-oxide layer that protects the surface against this corrosion. Inherent with their design, the OAT coolants last longer than the older traditional IAT coolants. This category of antifreeze cannot be used in systems containing yellow metals.

A couple of questions and answers.
Why are coolants different colours?

Coolants/antifreezes are coloured so you can visually see them; colour intensity can be an indication of over dilution. The different colours are non specific to the different types of antifreeze. The manufacturer can dye the product any colour they want. The colour is no guide to the actual type of antifreeze type and the label should be read before use.

What is best for performance use?

It is always best to use the engine manufacturer’s advice. If engine contains yellow metals [copper and brass as in older vehicles] then the long life products based on organic technology should not be used. As a general rule, most modern engines require the long life organic antifreezes.

Is there any advantage to using concentrate over pre-mixed coolants?

None other than the user may want to use the pre-mixed product due to ease of handling or cost and visa versa.

Can concentrate and pre-mixed coolants be mixed?

A simple answer is that you can, however do not mix IAT and OAT antifreeze together
http://forums.mercedesclub.org.uk/showthread.php?t=81294

also look at this

http://bevo.mercedes-benz.com/d/d/en/Spec_310_1.pdf
Re: Mercedes Benz Thread by Nobody: 6:47am On Apr 12, 2015
praxisnetworks:
ok sir.... just have a vague memory of late Trac's arguments....

Sorry to sound off point and derailing, is he dead? When did he died? How did you know he died?

Re: Mercedes Benz Thread by nurey(m): 8:46am On Apr 12, 2015
lomomike:

Sorry to sound off point and derailing, is he dead? When did he died? How did you know he died?

I also need to know. I wanted to ask if the LATE was referring to trac's former comments.
Re: Mercedes Benz Thread by Nobody: 9:06am On Apr 12, 2015
lomomike:

Hmmm Oga Mike
Re: Mercedes Benz Thread by Eyop: 9:08am On Apr 12, 2015
lomomike:

Oga,he meant his late comments and NOT that he's dead.

Re: Mercedes Benz Thread by realy2: 9:22am On Apr 12, 2015
Hello house. Please how do i locate Benz affairs or a reliable Benz workshop. I drive a 2000 C280 sports. Cheers
Re: Mercedes Benz Thread by praxisnetworks: 11:16am On Apr 12, 2015
Late as in late on the mb thread sir....

lomomike:

(1) (2) (3) ... (82) (83) (84) (85) (86) (87) (88) ... (546) (Reply)

Nasty effects of road accidents (caution very graphic and potentially offensive images)!

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 97