Stats: 3,159,036 members, 7,838,587 topics. Date: Friday, 24 May 2024 at 05:52 AM

General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 7 - Travel (344) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Travel / General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 7 (711761 Views)

General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 10 / General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 9 / General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 8 (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (341) (342) (343) (344) (345) (346) (347) ... (402) (Go Down)

Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 7 by biikeys(m): 4:18am On Aug 10, 2015
GboyegaD:

If you have a CGPA above 3.5, I would suggest you consider UNT as well because it comes with out of state tuition waiver and an additional $1000 scholarship per year. Please check if that still holds as I'm talking from my experience working with the International Office during Summer of 2012.

I got that at UTA too smiley The only condition being I had to get a professor to fund me

BTW... I no see your call o

Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 7 by coobboy(m): 4:22am On Aug 10, 2015
Stewee:

It's when he goes and brings his older brother and their gang members to beat yo ass your eyes will clear. grin
Lol, i go run, my leg no go touch floor.

Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 7 by coobboy(m): 4:23am On Aug 10, 2015
GboyegaD:

If you have a CGPA above 3.5, I would suggest you consider UNT as well because it comes with out of state tuition waiver and an additional $1000 scholarship per year. Please check if that still holds as I'm talking from my experience working with the International Office during Summer of 2012.
Wow thats great, thanks for the enlightment sir.
I would do that for sure now.
Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 7 by Nobody: 4:23am On Aug 10, 2015
amanze15:
yeah sure, one chic was forming yankee for me at POE when customs open her bag na like 4 big golden morn pack dey inside her bag grin grin grin grin grin buh food is super cheap here though, my folks are putting me through groceries shopping techniques
big golden morn is about 900 naira which is like 4 dollars. She can get cereal here for that amount.
Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 7 by imperiouxx(m): 4:49am On Aug 10, 2015
@ makinde851, Spidyy, Denvan, warriboy21, guiterist, DanjaNinja, igbonerd and chidexhenry,

Cheers guys!
Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 7 by imperiouxx(m): 5:02am On Aug 10, 2015
zeezahbee:
sirRiddy: Please, what is the difference between summer internships
and Optional Practical Training in the United States?
Anybody knowledgeable about these matters should please
provide a guide on these matters.
cc BigFrancis21 ebdib mystiqme slimmy05 deetus
ttmacoy msnas zeezahbee and every other guru who can*
contribute to this.

OPT is an optional training and it run for 12-17 months depends on your course. You can only start OPT after you graduate. You are required to leave the USA 60days after the end of OPT

Summer internship could be CPT, you could earn credit for it. It could also be called IT ( like naija IT) and you resume the next semester to continue classes. The summer internship will be a job related to your course and it could also be unpaid.

OPT = after graduation

Summer internship ( CPT or iT ) = before graduation

Don't forget OPT is of two types:

pre-OPT while you're still in school and post-OPT after your graduation.

Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 7 by MrRoYCe(m): 5:11am On Aug 10, 2015
slimmy05:
so what he gets to pay is in-state tuition?

Yea
Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 7 by Nobody: 5:19am On Aug 10, 2015
imperiouxx:

Don't forget OPT is of two types:

pre-OPT while you're still in school and post-OPT after your graduation.
Is it possible I do OPT and head back for another masters program in same school?

Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 7 by imperiouxx(m): 5:25am On Aug 10, 2015
slimmy05:
Is it possible I do OPT and head back for another masters program in same school?

Yes but you only entitle to one OPT per level of degree. After your second masters, either in the same field or different field, same school or a different school, you cannot do the OPT for the same level of degree twice.

Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 7 by Nobody: 5:36am On Aug 10, 2015
imperiouxx:

Yes but you only entitle to one OPT per level of degree. After your second masters, either in the same field or different field, same school or a different school, you cannot do the OPT for the same level of degree twice.
Yea, I'm aware of the opt aspect. One can do opt after bachelors and still do opt after masters

Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 7 by imperiouxx(m): 5:37am On Aug 10, 2015
Stewee:

Well a recruiter once told me that to indicate interest to have a pilot career in the army I have to be 24 or younger...

Please note that I said "indicate". I was made to understand that as with most other major careers in the military, it is by "availability" of slots. Once you're over 24, you really don't have a shot at having a pilot career in the military.

At least that's the understanding I have.

You're right. Joining the airforce is greatly age restricted.

You start at younger age and walk your way through many training unlike other forces.

Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 7 by imperiouxx(m): 5:41am On Aug 10, 2015
slimmy05:
Yea, I'm aware of the opt aspect. One can do opt after bachelors and still do opt after masters

Ok.
Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 7 by Nobody: 6:52am On Aug 10, 2015
is it compulsory to have an admission letter when going for an interview, can the i20 suffice? what do i respond if am asked about my admission letter

also my school resumes august 31 am planning to get an emergency interview next week how do i go about this
Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 7 by Nobody: 7:53am On Aug 10, 2015
calken:
is it compulsory to have an admission letter when going for an interview, can the i20 suffice? what do i respond if am asked about my admission letter

also my school resumes august 31 am planning to get an emergency interview next week how do i go about this
Yes.
Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 7 by texrem(m): 8:13am On Aug 10, 2015
DeeTus:
Yes.

pls which address can I use to mail d embassy cos I made a mistake on my mum dob.
Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 7 by Nobody: 8:21am On Aug 10, 2015
texrem:

pls which address can I use to mail d embassy cos I made a mistake on my mum dob.
I guess you have to update then. The address is on the same page.

Fill another form online and let the guys at the embassy update it.
Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 7 by texrem(m): 8:22am On Aug 10, 2015
texrem:

I need to mail dem now..
Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 7 by texrem(m): 8:24am On Aug 10, 2015
DeeTus:
I guess you have to update then. The address is on the same page.

Fill another form online and let the guys at the embassy update it.

I just wanna change a month..from October to august
Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 7 by Nobody: 8:31am On Aug 10, 2015
texrem:

I just wanna change a month..from October to august
Is your mom going to the embassy with you? If not, you may leave it and concentrate on your interview.
Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 7 by texrem(m): 8:48am On Aug 10, 2015
DeeTus:
Is your mom going to the embassy with you? If not, you may leave it and concentrate on your interview.

My mum for wia...at my age..
Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 7 by warriboy21(m): 9:11am On Aug 10, 2015
imperiouxx:
@ makinde851, Spidyy, Denvan, warriboy21, guiterist, DanjaNinja, igbonerd and chidexhenry,

Cheers guys!

Imperious i Don wait diis shayo tire
Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 7 by warriboy21(m): 9:21am On Aug 10, 2015
amanze15:
yeah sure, one chic was forming yankee for me at POE when customs open her bag na like 4 big golden morn pack dey inside her bag grin grin grin grin grin buh food is super cheap here though, my folks are putting me through groceries shopping techniques

Abeg if Dem teach u make u teach me o
Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 7 by awe2015(f): 9:29am On Aug 10, 2015
My i-210 is about to be sent to me this week. My question is, can i make SEVIS payment immediately i receive it? I applied for Spring 2016

@walspring, slimmy05, bigfrancis1...etc
Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 7 by Nobody: 10:04am On Aug 10, 2015
awe2015:
My i-210 is about to be sent to me this week. My question is, can i make SEVIS payment immediately i receive it? I applied for Spring 2016

@walspring, slimmy05, bigfrancis1...etc
Mennh, you're very fast grin

Yes. And you can book your appointment right away, then, of course September grin

Pay attention to the date of resumption on your I-20, infact orientation date. It should be < or = 120 days.

Good luck!
Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 7 by Jesemela: 10:45am On Aug 10, 2015
Thought my bro was d only one
brosdoncome:

I'm faced with the same problem too. I tried booking an appointment, it is still showing passport still at the consulate. I still tried to input my MRV receipt number to confirm my payment and schedule a date for my interview, it kept on saying no valid receipt number on our record.
Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 7 by exxy(m): 11:05am On Aug 10, 2015
makinde851, Spidyy, Denvan, warriboy21, guiterist, DanjaNinja, igbonerd and chidexhenry,

Congratulations to Y'all, welcome on board
Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 7 by GboyegaD(m): 11:16am On Aug 10, 2015
biikeys:

I got that at UTA too smiley The only condition being I had to get a professor to fund me

BTW... I no see your call o

No vex ooo. I have a deadline for later today ni ooo.
Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 7 by GboyegaD(m): 11:21am On Aug 10, 2015
DeeTus:

That's synonymous to fraud. His best potion is to fill a new DS-160 and get the embassy to update his application. He might want to invite her sometimes in the future and it will be used against her.
Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 7 by Nobody: 11:33am On Aug 10, 2015
DeeTus:
Mennh, you're very fast grin

Yes. And you can book your appointment right away, then, of course September grin

Pay attention to the date of resumption on your I-20, infact orientation date. It should be < or = 120 days.

Good luck!

You remember that dude you volunteered to pray for regarding his visa interview? well, he got his visa approved today... cheesy cheesy cheesy cheesy..
You sabi pray oooo. God really hears your prayers..

House, we have got a confirm MOG here...

Call in for prayers regarding visa interviews...

Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 7 by Nobody: 11:36am On Aug 10, 2015
Jesemela:
Thought my bro was d only one

Got the same 'passport still with the embassy' message but I ignored them...went ahead and booked my appointment
Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 7 by Walspring: 12:09pm On Aug 10, 2015
brosdoncome:

Which email address do I send the message to?

I dont know the email but login to your appointment page site and use the feedback option there, Just click on feedback under/above cancel update profile and use that to email they, automatically you will get a reply from them..

(1) (2) (3) ... (341) (342) (343) (344) (345) (346) (347) ... (402)

GENERAL Irish (student)visa & Work Permit-New THREAD*** / General Australian Visa Enquiries / North Cyprus

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 39