Stats: 3,156,780 members, 7,831,513 topics. Date: Friday, 17 May 2024 at 08:01 PM

$600m Chinese Rail Loan Not Diverted – Okonjo-iweala - Politics (4) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / $600m Chinese Rail Loan Not Diverted – Okonjo-iweala (32610 Views)

$600m Jets’ Deal Raises US Imports Of Nigeria’s Crude / $1bn Chinese Rail Loan Not Diverted – Okonjo-iweala / $1bn Chinese Rail Loan Not Diverted – Okonjo- Iweala (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: $600m Chinese Rail Loan Not Diverted – Okonjo-iweala by Mordyb: 9:53pm On Aug 16, 2015
It seems many people have adopted this pseudo blindness to the part where there were contracts and Mou where stated and how she asked people to refer to the Chinese government for further clarification as the contract has been awarded. Secondly for the dolts that can't comprehend the loan is from a cooperate institution with the aim of making profit and they would have a monitoring team on ground to check implementation and also disbursement because contract were signed and you can not spend on what is not covered in the mou/contract and if the contract has not been done satisfactory you sue them and not the awarder

if you observe carefully whenever NOI responds to her accusers the never have a good comeback instead they resort to name calling and that is the end of that story

12 Likes 3 Shares

Re: $600m Chinese Rail Loan Not Diverted – Okonjo-iweala by nortcentrallord(m): 9:53pm On Aug 16, 2015
handie:
Wait! The loan is meant for rail projects ba? In a situation where loans meant for the rail sector is being used for expansion of airport terminals, hydro electric power projects and a galaxy backbone project, is that not diversion? How does expansion of airport terminal affect development of the rail sector? Buhari said and I quote: [b] President Muhammed Buhari Monday in Abuja
called for an explanation from the Ministry of
Finance on the foreign loans obtained for rail
projects but diverted to other purposes.
Speaking at the end of a presentation on the
Ministry of Transport by the Permanent
Secretary, Mohammed Bashar at the
Presidential Villa, President Buhari said that it
was disappointing to find that foreign loans
obtained in line with signed agreements were
moved from one project to another.
“I hope that due process was followed before
such diversions were carried out. Taking money
from one project to another has to be done
properly,” Garba Shehu, his senior special
assistant on media and publicity, quoted the
President as saying.
Mr. Buhari was reacting to the specific instance
of the diversion of a substantial part of the loan
of USD1.005 billion from the Chinese Exim
Bank, obtained for the construction of a
standard gauge rail line linking Lagos to Kano
but which was moved elsewhere.
[/b]. Source:www.premiumtimesng.com/news/188134-buhari-launches-probe-into-alleged-diversion-of-1billion-loan-for-rail-projects.html Now, how is this NOI statement different from Buhari's statement? Was the loan meant for airport terminal expansion?

Please read again. Concentrate on knowing if the loan for the light rail was given or not.

Re: $600m Chinese Rail Loan Not Diverted – Okonjo-iweala by likila: 9:53pm On Aug 16, 2015
handie:
Wait! The loan is meant for rail projects ba? In a situation where loans meant for the rail sector is being used for expansion of airport terminals, hydro electric power projects and a galaxy backbone project, is that not diversion? How does expansion of airport terminal affect development of the rail sector? Buhari said and I quote: [b] President Muhammed Buhari Monday in Abuja
President as saying.
but which was moved elsewhere.
[/b]. Source:www.premiumtimesng.com/news/188134-buhari-launches-probe-into-alleged-diversion-of-1billion-loan-for-rail-projects.html Now, how is this NOI statement different from Buhari's statement? Was the loan meant for airport terminal expansion?

you, buhari and the current permanent secretary of the ministry of finance no get one atom of sense.

Re: $600m Chinese Rail Loan Not Diverted – Okonjo-iweala by Femolacaster(m): 9:54pm On Aug 16, 2015
wiseoneking:
Yes, invite her in your Dream. Dreamer
I dont know what is wrong with you, brainwashed tanoids? What is wrong in inviting her to come and defend herself? SMH

Re: $600m Chinese Rail Loan Not Diverted – Okonjo-iweala by ibedun: 9:55pm On Aug 16, 2015
xandy84:
Am not for or against for NOI but your comment makes little sense. A woman who attended Harvard is the one you calling glorify clerk? What is your qualification? have you ever step out of Nigeria before? For your information, average Americans can not get into Harvard so you should appreciate Nigerians who do.

I almost went to Harvard but I could afford it and could not find a sponsor or guarantor for a $100k loan to support my studies. I went back to London instead.

Re: $600m Chinese Rail Loan Not Diverted – Okonjo-iweala by vikyno(m): 9:56pm On Aug 16, 2015
[quote author=ibedun post=37029191]

Foolish man. She was a glorified clerk over there and she was no more than a token affirmative action candidate. That's why she jumped at the opportunity twice. She had zero power and did not even report to the senior management team let alone the board or committee at the world bank. The finance minister was well beyond her level. Useless thief. NOI you are thief.[

Excuse me, I think your cows need attention. They are straying away.

Re: $600m Chinese Rail Loan Not Diverted – Okonjo-iweala by handie(m): 9:56pm On Aug 16, 2015
sunnyb0b0:

Is it that you can't read or comprehension is your problem?
My friend, u have the problem with comprehension. What did NOI say that's different from What PMB initially said? I give u money to buy a house and u go buy a car with it. Is that not diversion?

Re: $600m Chinese Rail Loan Not Diverted – Okonjo-iweala by nortcentrallord(m): 9:58pm On Aug 16, 2015
ProfEinstein:
How come we are not feeling the impact of the money u claim was well utilized? You r a bloody thief and liar and u must be jailed for looting this country backwards

When will you have sense? Do you even know the job of the finance minister? You are just another illiterate half educated Nigerian claiming to know it all. NOI's power as a finance minister has a beginning and an end. Democracy is not absolute power. Try to know the resposiblilties of a finance minister before spewing thrash.

Re: $600m Chinese Rail Loan Not Diverted – Okonjo-iweala by permsec: 10:00pm On Aug 16, 2015
wiseoneking:
Yes, invite her in your Dream. Dreamer
The senate or the House of Reps invited her over in the last administration but she left them with a 100 pages of confusion.

Any cattle farmer that has the slightest oppurtunity to represent its people at the federal level thinks he/she can joke with someone whose level of intelligence and brilliance dwarfs theirs. Iara husband don tire.

PROUDLY A WAILER

Re: $600m Chinese Rail Loan Not Diverted – Okonjo-iweala by ProfEinstein: 10:01pm On Aug 16, 2015
nortcentrallord:

When will you have sense? Do you even know the job of the finance minister? You are just another illiterate half educated Nigerian claiming to know it all. NOI's power as a finance minister has a beginning and an end. Democracy is not absolute power. Try to know the resposiblilties of a finance minister before spewing thrash.
Anuofia, quote me again and thunder will fire d shit out of your ass, ezi

Re: $600m Chinese Rail Loan Not Diverted – Okonjo-iweala by azimibraun: 10:02pm On Aug 16, 2015
How Many times does GEJ have to lose election for these sectionist and Bigots to just understand it's a new dawn and move on?

Re: $600m Chinese Rail Loan Not Diverted – Okonjo-iweala by tete7000(m): 10:02pm On Aug 16, 2015
luvinhubby:
The more reason why Abdusalami's peace committee advice to Buhari is very appropriate, the veracity of such allegations needs to investigated, parties involved questioned before any public statements on such matters.
I hope APC leaders like Oshiomhole is not pushing Buhari too hard to force him playing to the gallery.

I found it mind buggling that all those at the ministry can't even understand the terms of the projects under their watch. Imagine the enormity of this refutation: under the sign agreement, there is no way any money could have been diverted. Reason: The chinese government itself releases money directly to chinese contractors doing the projects. Their own people asses projects and give approvals for release of money. Worse still the project mentioned by presidency is not even among funded projects.

If the government got it wrong on simple details like this, how can they be trusted on all other information they release to public? At this time I think it is becoming apparent how imperative it is for the President to appoint minister with needed qualification and experience to handle the job of studying those books.

11 Likes 1 Share

Re: $600m Chinese Rail Loan Not Diverted – Okonjo-iweala by handie(m): 10:04pm On Aug 16, 2015
likila:

you, buhari and the current permanent secretary of the ministry of finance no get one atom of sense.
Well, ur post shows just how sensible u are. I can just imagine ur parents' pain... Imagine giving birth to a cretin like u. It woulda been better if they had used condoms. The world would have been one idiot less.
Re: $600m Chinese Rail Loan Not Diverted – Okonjo-iweala by nworanco(m): 10:05pm On Aug 16, 2015
ibedun:

I am a chartered accountant in a London based financial institution. Happy now.
U sounds like a fool and also roars like a hungry pet animal

Re: $600m Chinese Rail Loan Not Diverted – Okonjo-iweala by azimibraun: 10:06pm On Aug 16, 2015
1000 accusations and she will counter them all. Yet everything went wrong under her watch. When the real deal starts, I hope she still have her facts to defend herself.

Re: $600m Chinese Rail Loan Not Diverted – Okonjo-iweala by onelife97: 10:06pm On Aug 16, 2015
$500m for expansion of airports?
My people,have u noticed any such amount in any of the mentioned airports by the ex-finance minister?

We need to probe these thieves walai.Haba Una no dry fear God ni.like say Una fit buy heaven with stolen money.
And she dry talk and e dry sweet for her big mouth.soro niyen,ehn $500m and nothing really to show it.Walai akoi Allah fa!

Re: $600m Chinese Rail Loan Not Diverted – Okonjo-iweala by amazingspiderma: 10:07pm On Aug 16, 2015
ibedun:

Now,I even more disappointed that someone who claimed to have studied or worked in UK could refer to a former World Bank VP as a glorified clerk.
Please go out and check your post code again,if you understand what I mean.

Re: $600m Chinese Rail Loan Not Diverted – Okonjo-iweala by xandy84: 10:09pm On Aug 16, 2015
So you are a chartered accountant and you think like jambite.. no offense but your post lack civility. NOI has gave a detailed explanation of what money was borrowed and how such borrowed money was disbursed to the various contractors handling the project. Buhari led administration should make their findings before making allegation. Its beginning to be one too many baseless allegations that is ridiculing the present administration.

ibedun:

Re: $600m Chinese Rail Loan Not Diverted – Okonjo-iweala by madridguy(m): 10:10pm On Aug 16, 2015
by handie(m): 9:10pm
Wait! The loan is meant for rail projects ba? In a situation where loans meant for the rail sector is being used for expansion of airport terminals, hydro electric power projects and a galaxy backbone project, is that not diversion? How does expansion of airport terminal affect development of the rail sector? Buhari said and I quote: President Muhammed Buhari Monday in Abuja
President as saying.
but which was moved elsewhere. . Source:www.premiumtimesng.com/news/188134-buhari-launches-probe-into-alleged-diversion-of-1billion-loan-for-rail-projects.html Now, how is this NOI statement different from Buhari's statement? Was the loan meant for airport terminal expansion?

luvinhubby:
The more reason why Abdusalami's peace committee advice to Buhari is very appropriate, the veracity of such allegations needs to be investigated, parties involved questioned before any public statements on such matters.
I hope APC leaders like Oshiomhole is not pushing Buhari too hard to force him playing to the gallery.

Re: $600m Chinese Rail Loan Not Diverted – Okonjo-iweala by seankay(m): 10:10pm On Aug 16, 2015
wiseoneking:
When you wake up from your dream. You have been scam fiam. Ndoo.
Bros its u dat needs to wake up undecided
Re: $600m Chinese Rail Loan Not Diverted – Okonjo-iweala by naijaking1: 10:11pm On Aug 16, 2015
Another wild goose corruption hunt by Buhari?
The criminal old man and his equally criminal group want to use confusing PR tactics to divert people's attention.

https://www.nairaland.com/2528641/buharis-failed-promises/1

Re: $600m Chinese Rail Loan Not Diverted – Okonjo-iweala by azimibraun: 10:11pm On Aug 16, 2015
Lokoja/Abuja road dualization project was paid for in full 4 previous times. Yet I saw with my own eyes Dr NOI saying Sure P money will help in dualizing the Lokoja/Abuja road. I have it on good authority at that time the project money was already budgeted for as at the time she was saying that. I don't want to believe what people say about her because some people are not sure of what they are sayin about her. I am sure about my own so I am talking based on my own experience and direct knowledge. Sure P must be investigated and probed.

Re: $600m Chinese Rail Loan Not Diverted – Okonjo-iweala by babestella: 10:12pm On Aug 16, 2015
ibedun:

Foolish man. She was a glorified clerk over there and she was no more than a token affirmative action candidate. That's why she jumped at the opportunity twice. She had zero power and did not even report to the senior management team let alone the board or committee at the world bank. The finance minister was well beyond her level. Useless thief. NOI you are thief.

Idiooo0ooot calling someone's mother a "thief" without evidence or court pronouncement shows how stewpid and s1lly you are and will forever remain. What have your "saint" mother achieved all her life other than to give birth to a cretin like you.

Can you even measure up with NOI children? You should be very ashamed of yourself, s1lly leech like you.

You trying to downgrade NOI's personality is laughable, even a pepper seller will not recognize you and your mother no matter your qualification. Rubbish.

Re: $600m Chinese Rail Loan Not Diverted – Okonjo-iweala by madridguy(m): 10:14pm On Aug 16, 2015
by handie(m): 9:10pm
Wait! The loan is meant for rail projects ba? In a situation where loans meant for the rail sector is being used for expansion of airport terminals, hydro electric power projects and a galaxy backbone project, is that not diversion? How does expansion of airport terminal affect development of the rail sector? Buhari said and I quote: President Muhammed Buhari Monday in Abuja
President as saying.
but which was moved elsewhere. . Source:www.premiumtimesng.com/news/188134-buhari-launches-probe-into-alleged-diversion-of-1billion-loan-for-rail-projects.html Now, how is this NOI statement different from Buhari's statement? Was the loan meant for airport terminal expansion?

Lawalemi:
Why the persecution; can`t APC work without destroying other people?
Re: $600m Chinese Rail Loan Not Diverted – Okonjo-iweala by azimibraun: 10:14pm On Aug 16, 2015
You guys should stop the insults and let's talk substance. SURE P must be investigated. The Lokoja/Abuja road dualization must be investigated and probed.
Re: $600m Chinese Rail Loan Not Diverted – Okonjo-iweala by Nobody: 10:16pm On Aug 16, 2015
Buhari is truly clueless on what is needed to make Nigeria great, honestly. I really started believing it when he said Nigeria should go back to farming since oil is no more reliable etc etc. Such a stupid statement.

What Nigeria needs to get back on track is manufacturing. He has to help business grow and thereby create jobs which will make the economy grow and make the middle class grow. Germany and Japan are two examples he should look at. Farming should be encouraged but it can never be the spring board for the Nigeria' greatness. Look at even South Africa. They have a developed vibrant farming sector but like America its not just farming it's Agri business, where they use economies of scale to grow into massive conglomerates that sometimes make more money than NNPC. These are no small farms. They are simply manufacturing foods and related products. A company can grow chickens and in addition make various chicken products, from raw bagged chicken to processed chicken products to various other products.

These man's ideas or lack thereof are outdated. El rufai would have been a better choice.

Tkester:

That is a fact people don't understand.

Probe - probes, are all arguments of a brainwashed and incapacitated dolt. Since 1999 this country has gone through more than five different probe panels and the end is always NOTHING. Here we are with yet another 'oputa panel', my only worry is that the so called probes have been used to replace more and urgent critical attention seeking areas, like how to shore up our dwindling government earnings, how to douse the tribal tension buhari's govt is generating by its in-actions.

I only pity Nigerians who just as buhari promised that in his tenure he will declare his assets publicly and force his aides to do same, he will cancel the office of the first lady, he will crush boko haram in two months, etc. Will be disappointed and many of them might even be more disappointed when by the end of this year we start hearing billions of naira worth of misappropriation going under the current regime.

The truth about this probes is that buhari is using it to hide his govt ineptitude... However only time will tell, as I beleive that 10 weeks is more than enough for buhari to give Nigerians a sense of the direction his govt tends to follow.

Re: $600m Chinese Rail Loan Not Diverted – Okonjo-iweala by Vanpascore(m): 10:17pm On Aug 16, 2015
likila:

who be you?
ur elder
Re: $600m Chinese Rail Loan Not Diverted – Okonjo-iweala by ibedun: 10:18pm On Aug 16, 2015
nworanco:

U sounds like a fool and also roars like a hungry pet animal

Please explain,
Re: $600m Chinese Rail Loan Not Diverted – Okonjo-iweala by ocelot2006(m): 10:19pm On Aug 16, 2015
Ngozi Okonjo Iweala: Schooling APC bumheads since 1886.

Re: $600m Chinese Rail Loan Not Diverted – Okonjo-iweala by Nobody: 10:23pm On Aug 16, 2015
Stupid woman.

Streamlined IT jobs @ http://nextdooronline.com
Re: $600m Chinese Rail Loan Not Diverted – Okonjo-iweala by likila: 10:24pm On Aug 16, 2015
ocelot2006:
Ngozi Okonjo Iweala: Schooling APC bumheads since 1886.

the funny thing is,
they are boko haram.
they refuse to be schooled.
the article says $500m was obtained for airports project yet they still say $600m was diverted from, non-existent, lagos-kaduna railway project.

Re: $600m Chinese Rail Loan Not Diverted – Okonjo-iweala by nkemjacob2(m): 10:25pm On Aug 16, 2015
when probing start full dis week the public will know if the money is diverted or not

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (Reply)

Governor Wike Applauds Fayemi’s Leadership Qualities (photos) / Protest In Kano Over Court Ruling On New Emirates / Oshiomhole Survives Impeachment, Gets Vote Of Confidence

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 78