Break Down Of How Raji Fashola Spent 78 Million Naira On His Website - Politics - Nairaland
Nairaland Forum › Nairaland General › Politics › Break Down Of How Raji Fashola Spent 78 Million Naira On His Website (1633 Views)
| Break Down Of How Raji Fashola Spent 78 Million Naira On His Website by TechLector(op): 5:16pm On Sep 02, 2015 |
[size=20pt]Many Nigerians are upset at the news that Lagos State, Nigeria spent NGN78 million (USD391,468) to maintain a website for their governor, Babatunde Fashola.[/size] https://i0.wp.com/techlector.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/09/why1.jpg I can see why many are confused and outraged, considering that blogs are hosted for free on . Great dedicated servers cost roughly NGN 2000 (USD 9) a month and a fraction of that budget would retain talented Nigerian staff members to keep the site up to date for his tenure as governor. As a professional web developer and a Lagosian, it is my duty to help people understand why N78 million is not just a reasonable cost, but actually a bargain. At the end of this, I hope I’d have convinced you, not confused you, that Lagos state was financially prudent in this project. Domain Name – NGN1 million We all know Nigerians are born entrepreneurs. Hustlers without borders. No doubt some enterprising fellow bought the domain name tundefashola.com and squatted on it. This isn’t unreasonable, considering people have to pay off omo onile to build on their own land they bought with (sometimes) hard earned money. This is post Y2K. Digital omo oniles are real. Template Design – NGN 25 million The web design agency didn’t buy and modify a theme they found online. This is a one of a kind layout. They didn’t want this to drag out for months and years, keeping Lagosians in the dark about what our governor was working on. Instead of small agile teams our western counterparts are so fond of, they probably hired 125 designers at NGN 200,000 ($1,000) each and they produced this masterpiece in a single month. You’re probably wondering why the site isn’t responsive. Look around Lagos and tell me if people aren’t buying devices with bigger screens. Even Tecno has devices that can render this webpage in its full glory without need a mobile design. Smaller screens and mobile-first internet is just a western fad. Flash Banner – NGN 15 million In 2012, Adobe removed Flash from the Android app store. Imagine how hard it must have been for Lagos state to find quality Flash developers when everyone was busy moving on to JavaScript. No doubt those Flash developers knew they were a rare commodity and their surcharges dutifully reflected that fact. It was probably cheaper than sending their developers to Andela to learn Javascript, since they’d need to deploy the official motorcade to carry them from Alausa to Yaba every day. Factor in the cost of fuel during scarcities and it’s really worth it to keep paying the Flash developers their premium rate. Hosting – NGN 40 million The assets of Lagos state must be adequately secured. The server probably backs up every minute, randomly changes location between a network of 50 servers to throw off hackers, while keeping the load time at a respectable 24 seconds. I could go on to point out the search feature which must have cost a fair bit to be engineered, embedded auto-playing (and looping) video which is a rarity on sites these days, content producers that keep the content regularly updated as well as other noteworthy features, but I’ve already exceeded the NGN 78 million budget. I’m proud of Lagos state’s investment and look forward to further spendings of this caliber in the field. I humbly submit myself as a potential candidate in future projects. My love for Lagos will help me strive to deliver such technical prowess consistently on such a tight budget. I live to serve and I’ll do my very best with the limited pay to make Lagos state proud of its digital assets. source: http://techlector.com/break-down-of-how-raji-fashola-spent-78-million-naira-usd-391468-on-his-website/ |
| Re: Break Down Of How Raji Fashola Spent 78 Million Naira On His Website by Nobody: 5:17pm On Sep 02, 2015 |
izalrit |
| Re: Break Down Of How Raji Fashola Spent 78 Million Naira On His Website by whitecloth: 5:18pm On Sep 02, 2015 |
OK. |
| Re: Break Down Of How Raji Fashola Spent 78 Million Naira On His Website by benedictnsi(m): 5:19pm On Sep 02, 2015 |
So in other words, the money don go be that abi ![]() |
| Re: Break Down Of How Raji Fashola Spent 78 Million Naira On His Website by DaBullIT(m): 5:25pm On Sep 02, 2015 |
Wrong question In other words, is the spending reasonable / is it fraudulent ? benedictnsi: |
| Re: Break Down Of How Raji Fashola Spent 78 Million Naira On His Website by benedictnsi(m): 5:26pm On Sep 02, 2015 |
DaBullIT:I see |
| Re: Break Down Of How Raji Fashola Spent 78 Million Naira On His Website by laudate: 5:29pm On Sep 02, 2015 |
TechLector:Lemme guess... you are just being sarcastic, right??! ![]() |
| Re: Break Down Of How Raji Fashola Spent 78 Million Naira On His Website by drss(m): 5:31pm On Sep 02, 2015 |
What about the two bore holes that cost N130 million (stand to be corrected)? Can u give us a break down. |
| Re: Break Down Of How Raji Fashola Spent 78 Million Naira On His Website by DaGC(m): 5:40pm On Sep 02, 2015 |
Your post would have made more sense if the domain name wasn't in his personal name. ![]() |
| Re: Break Down Of How Raji Fashola Spent 78 Million Naira On His Website by coolitempa(f): 5:40pm On Sep 02, 2015 |
Everyone knows these 'leakages' were just targeted at the person of our next President - Fashola..... ![]() |
| Re: Break Down Of How Raji Fashola Spent 78 Million Naira On His Website by Nobody: 6:09pm On Sep 02, 2015 |
What a trash! |
| Re: Break Down Of How Raji Fashola Spent 78 Million Naira On His Website by jmoore(m): 6:17pm On Sep 02, 2015 |
drss:The equipment were imported from space. Space travel is really expensive. Taxes paid to aliens before they allow equipment to be shipped from their territory is also high. |
| Re: Break Down Of How Raji Fashola Spent 78 Million Naira On His Website by 2sex(m): 6:20pm On Sep 02, 2015 |
TechLector:Rubbish... Complete Rubbish with flimsy excuses to squeeze tax payers money. I will create a counter thread on this. Never did so but just watch it. You think everybody is a fool like you? I am forced to even call you thief for trying to fool the public. |
| Re: Break Down Of How Raji Fashola Spent 78 Million Naira On His Website by 2sex(m): 6:25pm On Sep 02, 2015 |
jmoore:the idiot think say na only him sabi web stuff. |
| Re: Break Down Of How Raji Fashola Spent 78 Million Naira On His Website by TIMEISWISDOM(m): 6:28pm On Sep 02, 2015 |
who is fooling who? |
| Re: Break Down Of How Raji Fashola Spent 78 Million Naira On His Website by Nobody: 6:34pm On Sep 02, 2015 |
Behold is a breakdown of how our Amiable and hardworking former aviation minister Stella Oduah spent the N255million on the purchase of armoured vehicles for the protection of dignataries N100million-consultation fee N30 million-Logistics N125million-procurement and testing of the cars Thatz all guys lol Well done stella Oduah for the judicial use of our money |
| Re: Break Down Of How Raji Fashola Spent 78 Million Naira On His Website by Nobody: 6:35pm On Sep 02, 2015 |
BTW bros i will be waiting for part two of this thread where you will tell us how fashola judiciously spent N139 million for the construction of two boreholes |
| Re: Break Down Of How Raji Fashola Spent 78 Million Naira On His Website by Nelkoko: 6:44pm On Sep 02, 2015 |
J.U.S.T S.H.U.T. D.A. H.E.L.L. U.P |
| Re: Break Down Of How Raji Fashola Spent 78 Million Naira On His Website by TechLector(op): 8:24pm On Sep 02, 2015 |
laudate:lol... I WAS ASTONISHED WHEN I GOT THE BREAK DOWN.... and i start to think If Mark also spent a huge sum like this when starting FACEBOOK ...... i dont want to be left out in this..... WHAT DO YOU GUYS THINK THIS IS? |
| Re: Break Down Of How Raji Fashola Spent 78 Million Naira On His Website by drss(m): 8:25pm On Sep 02, 2015 |
jmoore:...and d water way dey comot for the bore hole dey cure sickness. ![]() |
| Re: Break Down Of How Raji Fashola Spent 78 Million Naira On His Website by TechLector(op): 8:27pm On Sep 02, 2015 |
Raji Fashola Visits Governor Fayose (Photos) • Nigerian Twitter Users Call Out Ambode Over Report That Fashola Spent N139m On • Fashola Spent N139million On Two Boreholes - Lagos Government • 2 • 3 • 4
Nobody Can Probe Me —Amaechi • Exclusive; See Arms Recovered in Akwa Ibom Government House • The Truth Behind Amaechis' Travail