Stats: 3,159,034 members, 7,838,585 topics. Date: Friday, 24 May 2024 at 05:46 AM

Panama Papers: Falana Wants Public Officials With Foreign Accounts Tried - Politics - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / Panama Papers: Falana Wants Public Officials With Foreign Accounts Tried (7775 Views)

Police Displays Money "Wike Bribed INEC Officials With" In Court (Photos) / Senate Wants Public Officers To Operate Foreign Accounts / Falana Wants EFCC To Probe Loans Given By Ex-CBN Governors (2) (3) (4)

Panama Papers: Falana Wants Public Officials With Foreign Accounts Tried by Adesiji77: 1:09am On Apr 08, 2016
A human rights lawyer, Mr. Femi Falana (SAN), on Thursday called for the prosecution of Nigerian public officers who are found to be holding foreign accounts in Panama.

Falana said in a chat with one of our correspondents on Thursday that while private citizens named in the leak could be exempted, public officers among them were liable for prosecution.

He said, “Private persons are not prohibited from keeping accounts wherever they like. However public officers have always been barred by the Code of Conduct Bureau and Code of Conduct Trubunal Act from operating foreign accounts in any manner whatsoever.

“To that extent, former and serving public officers whose accounts have been published in the Panama Papers are liable to be prosecuted if they had failed to declare them in their asset declaration forms.

“Secondly, the onus is on them to prove that any funds in such accounts emanated from their legitimate income.”

However, a former Senate President, David Mark, who had been linked with the offshore assets scam had denied any link to the firms that were indicted in the report published in the Panama Papers.

He has therefore threatened legal actions against media organisations that published stories that linked him to the scam. He argued that Mark had not contravened any laws of the land in that respect.

The Media Assistant to the erstwhile Senate President, Mr. Paul Mumeh, who stated this in a statement issued in Abuja, explained that a thorough scrutiny of the document showed that Mark’s name was not mentioned in the report.

Meanwhile, Africa’s richest man, Alhaji Aliko Dangote; and his cousin, Sayu Dantata, have been named among prominent people who operate shell accounts in tax havens.

Some of the companies linked to Dangote include Paseo Trading Limited, Seychelles; Petrowest S.A., Seychelles; SID Holdings Corp, Panama; and Chalmers Shipping Inc, Panama.

According to internal data of the Panama-based offshore-provider, Mossack Fonseca, obtained by the German newspaper, Süddeutsche Zeitung and shared by the International Consortium of Investigative Journalists with Premium Times and over 100 other media partners in 82 countries, Dangote and Dantata, as well as his business allies have over the years used shell companies domiciled in controversial tax havens in their business transactions.

There was no evidence, however, that Dangote or Dantata had evaded tax or were using the accounts for illicit activity.

According to documents sighted by Premium Times, Dangote is one of the most prominent clients of Mossack Fonseca, and in Panama alone, based on company registration addresses provided by shareholders, 13 shell companies registered by the firm are directly linked to persons and companies who in turn are linked to the billionaire and his allies.

Dangote and Dantata, the founder of MRS Holdings bought equal shares of 12,500 each from OVLAS S.A, a shell company registered in Seychelles, a tax haven, on October 6, 2003.

On the same date also, a company they both own as at 2003, MRS Oil and Gas Co. Limited bought 25,000 numbers of shares from OVLAS S.A.

According to the documents, three years after they exited as shareholders of the company, Dangote, Dantata and M.R.S Oil and Gas Company Limited ceased to be shareholders in the company. That was on April 12, 2006.

But in an arrangement that seems curious, Dangote was issued a higher amount of shares, 250,000, on the same day he resigned.

In the same manner, Dantata, was issued the same amount of 250,000 shares. That means the businessmen might have simply resold the shares back to themselves. Their company, MRS Oil and Gas, was re-issued 500,000 shares.

When contacted, however, the spokesman for the Dangote Group, Tony Chiejina, told The PUNCH that Dangote never had any relationship with the offshore entities.

Chiejina said, “I wish to state categorically that neither Aliko Dangote nor Dangote Industries Ltd. has any form of relationship with these alleged four offshore companies. The group has four quoted companies on the Nigerian Stock Exchange and we cannot afford to tarnish our reputation or conduct our business in an unethical manner given this profile.

http://www.punchng.com/panamapapers-falana-wants-public-officials-with-foreign-accounts-tried/

Re: Panama Papers: Falana Wants Public Officials With Foreign Accounts Tried by fistonati(m): 1:19am On Apr 08, 2016
Even falana is not a saint

Re: Panama Papers: Falana Wants Public Officials With Foreign Accounts Tried by LegalAnalyst(m): 1:49am On Apr 08, 2016
Yes, federal government should by now do the needful of investigating the Panama Papers allegation. And If anyone is found culpable, he should be made to face the full wrath of the law. Ideally, this is a simple and typical step a serious government will take in a situation like this.

*NaijaLegalAnalyst*

Re: Panama Papers: Falana Wants Public Officials With Foreign Accounts Tried by orisa37: 6:11am On Apr 08, 2016
No The Law. Instead identify them and allow the Governments to give them lands and production facilities in their respective States to invest the money in Nigeria honourably.

Re: Panama Papers: Falana Wants Public Officials With Foreign Accounts Tried by todayboy: 6:16am On Apr 08, 2016
Mr falana why did you want the government to try only public officials what about the business men like dangote and Theophilus danjuma who sponsored buhari election into power.

When you fight corruption by selecting only certain people you kill the essence

Re: Panama Papers: Falana Wants Public Officials With Foreign Accounts Tried by TPAND(f): 7:02am On Apr 08, 2016
Can't believe falana said this.

Tried without a substantive evidence all on the premise that PanamaPapers said.

Sorry to say, I am seeing that this Falana guy is a loquacious ranter who wants attention all the time

Re: Panama Papers: Falana Wants Public Officials With Foreign Accounts Tried by Aufbauh(m): 7:34am On Apr 08, 2016
" This city is what it is because our citizens are what they are" - Plato

The prime minister of Iceland has resigned amidst the Panama papers scandal, South Africans are calling for Zuma's head just for using government fund to renovate personal house.
Unfortunately in Nigeria, more than 3 of our leaders have also been implicated in the same Panama papers and none of us is saying a thing. In a way, we all deserve exactly the type of leaders we have

16 Likes

Re: Panama Papers: Falana Wants Public Officials With Foreign Accounts Tried by Pidggin(f): 7:35am On Apr 08, 2016
There should be no sacred cows in this trial, all names implicated should be tried.
Re: Panama Papers: Falana Wants Public Officials With Foreign Accounts Tried by omusiliyu(m): 7:36am On Apr 08, 2016
From frypan to fire... Oloye Bukola Saraki
Re: Panama Papers: Falana Wants Public Officials With Foreign Accounts Tried by Wilson125(m): 7:36am On Apr 08, 2016
Hmm
Re: Panama Papers: Falana Wants Public Officials With Foreign Accounts Tried by 5starmilitant: 7:36am On Apr 08, 2016
Oga lawyer, all talk and no action makes you a toothless bulldog.
The 48 hours you gave FG to release the Shiite leader & his wife who happens to be your clients has expired.

Toothless bulldog indeed.

Re: Panama Papers: Falana Wants Public Officials With Foreign Accounts Tried by Bawsse(m): 7:37am On Apr 08, 2016
I concur with falz the Bahd guy's dad on this 1...

Re: Panama Papers: Falana Wants Public Officials With Foreign Accounts Tried by charsobodo(m): 7:37am On Apr 08, 2016
That would have been great, but Nigeria being what we all know, I do not think anyone will be tried because of the Panama issue. We are already used to seeing bigger corruption and looting so the Panama case is a small fry...
Re: Panama Papers: Falana Wants Public Officials With Foreign Accounts Tried by McBrooklyn(m): 7:38am On Apr 08, 2016
This Panama Papers of a thing sef! Make dem kill all those people wey dey connected now! Abi who their being alive don Epp?

Re: Panama Papers: Falana Wants Public Officials With Foreign Accounts Tried by Joshuahunpe(m): 7:38am On Apr 08, 2016
Are they selling fuel? If so how much? And where? Cus im so hungry to read that useless post.
Pls som1 to help me wit it.
Re: Panama Papers: Falana Wants Public Officials With Foreign Accounts Tried by loyaltonia: 7:38am On Apr 08, 2016
True talk Mr SAN

Re: Panama Papers: Falana Wants Public Officials With Foreign Accounts Tried by Pavore9: 7:47am On Apr 08, 2016
The irony of it is that many Nigerians are not interested in seeing those implicated tried.

Re: Panama Papers: Falana Wants Public Officials With Foreign Accounts Tried by spafu(m): 7:48am On Apr 08, 2016
What makes the property hidden?
Re: Panama Papers: Falana Wants Public Officials With Foreign Accounts Tried by ajepako(f): 7:52am On Apr 08, 2016
Apparently Mr. falana is just waking up..

Our politician are thieves right from the mamas' bellies... angry
Re: Panama Papers: Falana Wants Public Officials With Foreign Accounts Tried by Day169: 7:53am On Apr 08, 2016
..same ol' same ol'.
The Nigerian govt arguably has the the richest (most corrupt I mean) set of public officials in the world!
Re: Panama Papers: Falana Wants Public Officials With Foreign Accounts Tried by epadomo(m): 7:59am On Apr 08, 2016
Following......

Waiting u wan see way make u reach here?
Re: Panama Papers: Falana Wants Public Officials With Foreign Accounts Tried by PresVA: 8:02am On Apr 08, 2016
Panama should provide more evidence na. According to the report, "There was no evidence, however, that Dangote or Dantata had evaded tax or were using the accounts for illicit activity."

Also, David Mark has openly denied the allegations levelled against him. ..

Government should investigate the issue(s) while Panama provides more evidence for their claim(s)...
Re: Panama Papers: Falana Wants Public Officials With Foreign Accounts Tried by Pheals(f): 8:04am On Apr 08, 2016

noise is loud that is y we are hearing falana grin

Re: Panama Papers: Falana Wants Public Officials With Foreign Accounts Tried by poseidon12: 8:12am On Apr 08, 2016
todayboy:
Mr falana why did you want the government to try only public officials what about the business men like dangote and Theophilus danjuma who sponsored buhari election into power.

Actually, T. Y. Danjuma was a public official. And the leak revealed that he started operating the off shore companies and secret bank accounts since when he was a public official and serving army officer.
So Danjuma needs to be investigated and prosecuted. We are watching Buhari, the so called man of integrity.
Decent countries have already announced investigations but we have not heard anything from the Nigerian government on what they will do about the leaks. Buhari is a complete disappointment.

Re: Panama Papers: Falana Wants Public Officials With Foreign Accounts Tried by Hillzy(m): 8:14am On Apr 08, 2016
Mr. Falana now u ar talking, no be dat one way u com dey rant say make dem release one dead man call zazarky
Re: Panama Papers: Falana Wants Public Officials With Foreign Accounts Tried by Abeymills(m): 8:18am On Apr 08, 2016
Bubuhari has no balls 2giv his dogs efcc order to arrest them all his looking for his hw to nail ex president Jonathan but alas d discoveries are his allies danjuma dangote etc he will pretend he didn't hear about dis report hypocrite

Re: Panama Papers: Falana Wants Public Officials With Foreign Accounts Tried by emi14: 8:34am On Apr 08, 2016
Where is the brains of these Nigerian public servants? Each time they swimming their backs are visible. They loot to Swiss, Dubai, UK and now panama leaving traces that will later link them to such illegality. Most of them are educated yet behave otherwise.
Re: Panama Papers: Falana Wants Public Officials With Foreign Accounts Tried by Maser: 8:35am On Apr 08, 2016
todayboy:

Is your father one of the thieves?

I can't understand why people like you don't want this country to be good. When corruption is being fought, you advance stupid reasons to discredit it. Just re-read your post. Should we then abandon the fight against corrupt persons because the people you want prosecuted are not in the docks just yet. Should everyone be brought to book at the same time so you can be convinced it is genuine? Do you know what it takes to bring one person to court let alone everyone of them? Do you know how many Nigerians, perhaps including you or your father, needs to face justice for stealing our commonwealth?

I wholeheartedly support PMB in his current effort and God willing, one by one all who stole will have their day, but good a thing, the journey has just begun.

Re: Panama Papers: Falana Wants Public Officials With Foreign Accounts Tried by lonelydora: 8:42am On Apr 08, 2016
We know this country nah. Nothing will happen to them sef.
Re: Panama Papers: Falana Wants Public Officials With Foreign Accounts Tried by engrchykae(m): 8:45am On Apr 08, 2016
Aufbauh:

The prime minister of Iceland has resigned amidst the Panama papers scandal, South Africans are calling for Zuma's head just for using government fund to renovate personal house.
Unfortunately in Nigeria, more than 3 of our leaders have also been implicated in the same Panama papers and none of us is saying a thing. In a way, we all deserve exactly the type of leaders we have
when u want to know the true identify or character of a people,watch their movie industry with wisdom sifting away fantasies from realities but whatever you see in the leadership or government of a people is the true character of the people.
Nigerians deserve what is happening to us.
PEAK MILK SAYS ITS IN YOU BUT CORRUPTION SAYS ITS IN NIGERIANS

Re: Panama Papers: Falana Wants Public Officials With Foreign Accounts Tried by nollywoodbabe: 8:56am On Apr 08, 2016
TPAND:
Can't believe falana said this.

Tried without a substantive evidence all on the premise that PanamaPapers said.

Sorry to say, I am seeing that this Falana guy is a loquacious ranter who wants attention all the time

And I guess you have not heard that the Prime minister of Iceland has Resigned because of "PanamaPapers Said" as you put it. So while the world is already taking action you want the Original Copies in your hands before you do shey? But fortunately getting Copies to try or indict individuals will be a piece of cake cos we live in the information age where everything is shared digitally just as you would be surprised to know where am sending this from.

Re: Panama Papers: Falana Wants Public Officials With Foreign Accounts Tried by birmingham04: 8:57am On Apr 08, 2016
Aufbauh:

Almighty God will bless you. Our youths have a lot of problems. Instead of them to voiced out their anger on our bad leaders they will be the one hailing them Baba alaye baba olowo tuale baba. I wept for the youths of this country.

Governor Akeredolu Signs ₦187 Billion Ondo 2020 Appropriation Bill Into Law / Plot To Extend Buni-Led APC Caretaker Committee Tenure Till June 2022 Thickens / PDP Enugu Rally: President Goodluck Jonathan In Enugu;blast Buhari - Read Quote

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 67