Stats: 3,165,563 members, 7,861,668 topics. Date: Saturday, 15 June 2024 at 04:41 PM

External Reserves Drop For First Time Since December - Politics - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / External Reserves Drop For First Time Since December (21615 Views)

Nigeria’s External Reserves Hit $40.4bn / Iara & Adams Oshiomhole Seen In Public For The First Time Since Hand Over. PIC / External Reserves Hit Three Month High Near $25bn (2) (3) (4)

External Reserves Drop For First Time Since December by Truth234(m): 9:24am On Mar 23, 2017
The nation’s foreign exchange reserves, which had increased significantly in recent months to hit the $30bn mark, fell for the first time this year on Tuesday.

Latest data from the Central Bank of Nigeria showed on Wednesday that the external reserves dropped to $30.349bn on Tuesday from $30.352bn on Monday.

The reserves, which rose 17.4 per cent from last year when they closed at $25.843bn, hit a low of $23.89bn on October 19, 2016.

The foreign exchange reserves had on December 14 dropped to $25.041bn from $25.048bn the previous day but it increased to $25.043bn the next day.

Continuing their upward trend since then, the reserves crossed the $30bn mark on March 8, 2017 when it closed at $30.014bn from $29.967bn on March 7, the CBN data showed.

Meanwhile, industry experts have described the Tuesday’s decision of the Monetary Policy Committee of the CBN to leave key rates including the benchmark interest rate unchanged as a step in the right direction.

The Chief Executive Officer, Cowry Asset Management Limited, Mr. Johnson Chukwu, said, “It is in line with our expectations. They couldn’t have afforded to loosen because of the pressure that will bring on foreign exchange market. Likewise, they couldn’t have afforded to tighten because the economy is in a recession, and we have not come out of recession. So, you cannot tighten further.”

“I think what they did was the first thing they could have done given the current situation of things.”

The Director-General, West African Institute for Financial and Economic Management, Prof. Akpan Ekpo, said, ‘’It is the right decision because we are not yet out of recession; so let the fiscal side do its work. The MPC decision is perfect; that was what I expected. They need fiscal and structural policies to get us out of recession.”

http://investorsking.com/external-reserves-drop-for-first-time-since-december/
Re: External Reserves Drop For First Time Since December by gbegemaster(m): 9:29am On Mar 23, 2017
Let it fall abeg. Savings is for people that are alive.

Why build external reserves when the nation needs it to survive?

25 Likes 1 Share

Re: External Reserves Drop For First Time Since December by GenBloodykiIler: 9:34am On Mar 23, 2017
angry bad news

Re: External Reserves Drop For First Time Since December by Nobody: 9:46am On Mar 23, 2017
Hmmmm... hope the drop wont stagnate the CBN's inflow to crash the dollar rate?

10 Likes 1 Share

Re: External Reserves Drop For First Time Since December by mrvitalis(m): 9:59am On Mar 23, 2017
I have been against this new policy from the beginning... Build ur reserves to 120 billon before I start this thing ...by then our local manufacturing would have taken shape ..we won't die if we don't school abroad ..or eat/use foreign goods

Re: External Reserves Drop For First Time Since December by abouzaid: 10:09am On Mar 23, 2017
when the bmc crew are already celebrating on the front-page that the price of dollars is falling while the national reserves is rising. liars by profession. Nigeria's problems are structural and have been persistent since independence, worsened since the war ended. No amount of currency manipulations would end the recession and high inflation. if the country disintegrates, the smaller nations would fare better.

35 Likes 7 Shares

Re: External Reserves Drop For First Time Since December by bantudra: 10:31am On Mar 23, 2017
abouzaid:
when the bmc crew are already celebrating on the front-page that the price of dollars is falling while the national reserves is rising. liars by profession. Nigeria's problems are structural and have been persistent since independence, worsened since the war ended. No amount of currency manipulations would end the recession and high inflation. if the country disintegrates, the smaller nations would fare better.

in your dreams...smaller nations will do far worser..

imagine lagos closing all her borders to none yorubas.......the rest of west africa would be finished....

lagos is our financial hub...their are no others in africa,except in egypt....

19 Likes 3 Shares

Re: External Reserves Drop For First Time Since December by ivandragon: 10:52am On Mar 23, 2017
its simple logic...

the FG is pumping more money into the forex market & its only natural that reserves drop.

the problem here is that PMB's Social Media Idi*ots are too daft to know that this was the same scenario in the past that led to the depletion of the reserves coupled with massive payments on subsidy.

28 Likes 1 Share

Re: External Reserves Drop For First Time Since December by abouzaid: 10:56am On Mar 23, 2017
bantudra:

in your dreams...smaller nations will do far worser..

imagine lagos closing all her borders to none yorubas.......the rest of west africa would be finished....

lagos is our financial hub...their are no others in africa,except in egypt....
almost all the great nations of the world are small largely homogeneous nations, Singapore was just a sleepy port when it broke out of Malaysia yet today it has surpassed Malaysia beyond description.saying that there's no other financial hub in black Africa is denying the economic and development miracles taking place in Ghana, Botswana, Angola south Africa etc. even the Liberian dollar is now more than three times more valuable than the naira.disintegration is the option out or we would continue downhill in this mess.

37 Likes 6 Shares

Re: External Reserves Drop For First Time Since December by abouzaid: 10:59am On Mar 23, 2017
ivandragon:
its simple logic...

the FG is pumping more money into the forex market & its only natural that reserves drop.

the problem here is that PMB's Social Media Idi*ots are too daft to know that this was the same scenario in the past that led to the depletion of the reserves coupled with massive payments on subsidy.

that's the best summary, they're now reverting back to the same techniques used by okonjo iweala.

24 Likes 1 Share

Re: External Reserves Drop For First Time Since December by 2muchopoTBdope(m): 11:04am On Mar 23, 2017
ivandragon:
its simple logic...

Yh true talk but my question is 'this CBN intervention fund usually pumped into the forex market, how sustainable is it? Cos at some point this foreign reserve may get depleted more esp if the Oil price drops. Or what do u think??
Re: External Reserves Drop For First Time Since December by YonkijiSappo: 11:57am On Mar 23, 2017
This administration has been able to gradually shore up our external reserves even in the middle of an oil price crash, while the previous ineffective buffoon and his 40 thieving cronies left external reserves at virtually $0, right in the middle of an oil boom...

20 Likes 2 Shares

Re: External Reserves Drop For First Time Since December by oviejnr(m): 11:58am On Mar 23, 2017
The User above me read my mind out loud grin grin

Re: External Reserves Drop For First Time Since December by OBAGADAFFI: 11:58am On Mar 23, 2017
Now we now where the Forex money is coming from grin

But they will still deny it anyways.

Re: External Reserves Drop For First Time Since December by Ibime(m): 11:59am On Mar 23, 2017
ivandragon:
its simple logic...

Nobody questioned the external reserves during GEJs tenure.

The query was always about the Excess Crude Account.

Re: External Reserves Drop For First Time Since December by Nobody: 11:59am On Mar 23, 2017
This will cause dollar rise.
Re: External Reserves Drop For First Time Since December by Donald7610: 12:00pm On Mar 23, 2017
PMB has spent plenty money to treat his prostrate problem
Re: External Reserves Drop For First Time Since December by Amberon: 12:01pm On Mar 23, 2017
This isnt a significant drop. However diversification needs to be done and urgently too.

Re: External Reserves Drop For First Time Since December by spako4(m): 12:02pm On Mar 23, 2017
No cause for Alarm
Nothing is permanent in life.
The most important thing is to make life better
for the citizens with the money available

Re: External Reserves Drop For First Time Since December by wristbangle: 12:02pm On Mar 23, 2017
ToriBlue:
This will cause dollar rise.

Not really. As long as dollars pump in the market is steady and sustainable but I doubt. Our import is still very much higher than export.
Re: External Reserves Drop For First Time Since December by NNVanguard(m): 12:05pm On Mar 23, 2017
This is just the major fear of the sustainability of the naira as more dollars is doled out to sustain the fall.
Re: External Reserves Drop For First Time Since December by Wazzaowner(m): 12:05pm On Mar 23, 2017
Currency spectators be lyk!!!!
Re: External Reserves Drop For First Time Since December by martineverest(m): 12:05pm On Mar 23, 2017
Not bad... Dollar has fallen

Re: External Reserves Drop For First Time Since December by Whoeppme(m): 12:06pm On Mar 23, 2017
2muchopoTBdope:

Yh true talk but my question is 'this CBN intervention fund usually pumped into the forex market, how sustainable is it? Cos at some point this foreign reserve may get depleted more esp if the Oil price drops. Or what do u think??

While hoping the reserve don't deplete even more while oil prices rise or at the least remain stable its eminant that owed subsidies be paid off but ensure not to incure another subsidy owings.

After which we must ensure that our refineries are up and doing to produce at full capacity if not 95%.

If this is sustainable the CBN will have little need to pump in intervention Fund
Re: External Reserves Drop For First Time Since December by Truth234(m): 12:06pm On Mar 23, 2017
amoto94

My concern is sustainability of foreign exchange supply. The Shale has upped production following Donald Trump wins, disrupting OPEC successful consensus, hence, plunging oil below $50/barrel for the first time in three months.

Even though, oil was pegged at $45 a barrel in the 2017 budget, there is possibility of price slipping below that benchmark if OPEC failed to take into consideration US Shale production during September cut. However, our oil revenue will take a slight hit for now but I don't think it will have a significant impact on current progress considering the fact that just about $2.6 billion has been sold so far by the CBN, which is below what we generate in a single month. Therefore, the CBN still has enough arsenal to hurt speculators and close forex gap.
Re: External Reserves Drop For First Time Since December by eph12(m): 12:07pm On Mar 23, 2017
mrvitalis:
I have been against this new policy from the beginning... Build ur reserves to 120 billon before I start this thing ...by then our local manufacturing would have taken shape ..we won't die if we don't school abroad ..or eat/use foreign goods
Local manufacturing? Well government should just focus on light first. That's the only way we can guarantee sustained productivity and attract foreign investors in their numbers.

Electricity and security

Re: External Reserves Drop For First Time Since December by Otradearena: 12:07pm On Mar 23, 2017

Re: External Reserves Drop For First Time Since December by Nobody: 12:08pm On Mar 23, 2017
Re: External Reserves Drop For First Time Since December by nwabobo: 12:08pm On Mar 23, 2017
Let Emefiele keep pimping dollars. E go soon clear us for eyes.
Re: External Reserves Drop For First Time Since December by Okuda(m): 12:08pm On Mar 23, 2017
gbegemaster:
Let it fall abeg. Savings is for people that are alive.

Lmao!!!! We are aLive o!!!!
Re: External Reserves Drop For First Time Since December by tunde1200(m): 12:08pm On Mar 23, 2017
grin YES OOO

mrvitalis:
Re: External Reserves Drop For First Time Since December by mayoor15(m): 12:09pm On Mar 23, 2017
mrvitalis:
Just say you want people to die, in our history we've never reached even 70 billion and you are saying 120billion, please carry your policy go somewhere else...

T.b. Joshua: There Was A Man I Knew By Femi Fani-kayode / Opposition Leaders Behind Fuel Scarcity, Says mu’azu / Babalola Borishade To Face EFCC Trial

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 51