Stats: 3,327,640 members, 8,431,903 topics. Date: Tuesday, 23 June 2026 at 12:16 AM

Information Thread for International Postgraduate Programs - Education (2) - Nairaland

Nairaland ForumNairaland GeneralEducationInformation Thread for International Postgraduate Programs (6877 Views)

1 2 3 Reply (Go Down)

Re: Information Thread for International Postgraduate Programs by happyday: 6:31am On May 23, 2017
Johnnyessence:
oga oooo so na only first class graduates they need. What of the second class graduates and third class graduates too. Baba God do your wonders ooo.
They don't need first class graduates, they want those who are motivated and self-driven. The theory is, students who are motivated often finish with first class degrees. If you happen to not graduate with that, you'll need to show them your potential through other different ways. Apply still.
Re: Information Thread for International Postgraduate Programs by Nobody: 6:40am On May 23, 2017
happyday:
Forget it! This doesn't apply to Nigerian applicants. How else will US schools assess your ability, if not with your GPA or test scores? Is it through the non-existent research experience we have here?

All the best!
I am quite familiar with scholarship programs of the Saudi Arabian schools and plan to do my master's program there. But I have US or UK schools in mind for PhD program at a later time.

I don't know why Nairaland does not notify members sometimes when their moniker gets tagged on a thread.

Thanks for your contribution.
Re: Information Thread for International Postgraduate Programs by happyday: 6:47am On May 23, 2017
Hi all! Just seeing this, so I figure I should drop a hint or two. FYI, US (post)graduate schools don't advertise admissions the way other countries do theirs. It's a standard practice that every year interested and motivated students would apply to schools of their choosing, based on what they want from a US graduate degree.

For the most part, you have to DIY. To apply to US grad schools (esp STEM), you'll need to send your transcripts (which include your undergrad GPA), convince 2/3 people to recommend you, write a statement of purpose explaining your reason for getting a grad degree, take tests (the most common for STEM courses is the GRE), and also the TOEFL (to prove you can survive on English-speaking campus like those in in America).

These should get you admitted, if you choose the right mix of schools.

The other part is the money. If you do a very good job of selling yourself well, (and you're lucky!), most schools will cover your tuition, and then pay you a stipend every month, so you can help some Profs with their research. So, you get a degree, and alongside get paid to get research experience. A good deal, if you ask me.

All the best to everyone!
Re: Information Thread for International Postgraduate Programs by happyday: 6:49am On May 23, 2017
gensteejay:
I am quite familiar with scholarship programs of the Saudi Arabian schools and plan to do my master's program there. But I have US or UK schools in mind for PhD program at a later time.

I don't know why Nairaland does not notify members sometimes when their moniker gets tagged on a thread.

Thanks for your contribution.
Makes sense! Do your best in your Master's, and the dots would connect down the line.
Re: Information Thread for International Postgraduate Programs by Johnnyessence(m): 8:56am On May 23, 2017
happyday:
They don't need first class graduates, they want those who are motivated and self-driven. The theory is, students who are motivated often finish with first class degrees. If you happen to not graduate with that, you'll need to show them your potential through other different ways. Apply still.
please what of those that have Ielts results please. In five days period from now I will be collecting my ielts results. I have read your advice here but am really really scared. Even if it is somebody applying for post graduate diploma I won't mind applying to it. Please if you know about scholarship too please let us know. Thanks for your reply here.
Re: Information Thread for International Postgraduate Programs by happyday: 12:08pm On May 23, 2017
Johnnyessence:
please what of those that have Ielts results please. In five days period from now I will be collecting my ielts results. I have read your advice here but am really really scared. Even if it is somebody applying for post graduate diploma I won't mind applying to it. Please if you know about scholarship too please let us know. Thanks for your reply here.
Either TOEFL or IELTS is fine. US schools don't offer post graduate 'diploma'. Mostly MSc/PhD.

I can't really say much, unless I know your profile. And your plans. Your undergrad degree, GPA, GRE scores (if you've taken it), etc.
Re: Information Thread for International Postgraduate Programs by Johnnyessence(m): 2:05pm On May 23, 2017
happyday:
Either TOEFL or IELTS is fine. US schools don't offer post graduate 'diploma'. Mostly MSc/PhD.

I can't really say much, unless I know your profile. And your plans. Your undergrad degree, GPA, GRE scores (if you've taken it), etc.
thanks for your reply here I appreciate it. Well my profile goes thus , I graduated in university of Ilorin having second class lower certificate. I study geology and mineral science too. In the Ielts exam I did of recent am expecting band results of 8.0. My main focus is applying for masters degree in u.s. Since you said its hard getting post graduate diploma in u.s schools well am opting for masters degree. I love to do masters in geophysics or petroleum geology. All this courses are some how related to my previous degree I got in the undergraduate level. Please I need more of your advice and reply on it. Thank you.
Re: Information Thread for International Postgraduate Programs by happyday: 3:34pm On May 23, 2017
Johnnyessence:
thanks for your reply here I appreciate it. Well my profile goes thus , I graduated in university of Ilorin having second class lower certificate. I study geology and mineral science too. In the Ielts exam I did of recent am expecting band results of 8.0. My main focus is applying for masters degree in u.s. Since you said its hard getting post graduate diploma in u.s schools well am opting for masters degree. I love to do masters in geophysics or petroleum geology. All this courses are some how related to my previous degree I got in the undergraduate level. Please I need more of your advice and reply on it. Thank you.
Your best bet is to take the GRE, and score as high as you can. Put in your best efforts, and try to score in the 320's. This, along with good SoP and applying to a suitable school, should compensate for your weakness.
Re: Information Thread for International Postgraduate Programs by Johnnyessence(m): 5:01pm On May 23, 2017
happyday:
Your best bet is to take the GRE, and score as high as you can. Put in your best efforts, and try to score in the 320's. This, along with good SoP and applying to a suitable school, should compensate for your weakness.
thanks for your reply here I really appreciate it. Please I want to ask is that all the tertiary schools in U.S accept GRE only niiii. Well from my research so far IELTS results is well accepted in all the schools abroad. I make a lot of enquiries on it and am well satisfied. If Canada tertiary institutions can accept Ielts results why is U.S different. Well I have see different scholarship advert online on MIT that they ask for IELTS band 6.5 results on last february. Please I still need more clarification.
Re: Information Thread for International Postgraduate Programs by happyday: 5:10pm On May 23, 2017
Johnnyessence:
thanks for your reply here I really appreciate it. Please I want to ask is that all the tertiary schools in U.S accept GRE only niiii. Well from my research so far IELTS results is well accepted in all the schools abroad. I make a lot of enquiries on it and am well satisfied. If Canada tertiary institutions can accept Ielts results why is U.S different. Well I have see different scholarship advert online on MIT that they ask for IELTS band 6.5 results on last february. Please I still need more clarification.
GRE tests how critically you can think, IELTS/TOEFL tests your English communication skills. As you can see, they test different things, and so schools ask you to do both.
Re: Information Thread for International Postgraduate Programs by Johnnyessence(m): 5:29pm On May 23, 2017
happyday:
GRE tests how critically you can think, IELTS/TOEFL tests your English communication skills. As you can see, they test different things, and so schools ask you to do both.
thanks for your reply. Well as you can see ielts is testing on all the skills. They will test someone based on his or her listen skills,written skills,speaking skills and reading skills. From what I read so far ielts are all rounder. That's why the tertiary schools someone apply too will be tested through the ielts band results. Well sir in my conclusion if Canada that's neighbouring country to U. S can accept Ielts band results why is u.s different. Even european schools accept ielts results not to talk of asian schools. Well I have note your reply. Thanks for your reply again thank you.
Re: Information Thread for International Postgraduate Programs by chaiks: 5:40pm On May 23, 2017
happyday:
serious? wanted to apply but saw only those with GPA of 4.5 and above.so 4.49 can't apply?
Re: Information Thread for International Postgraduate Programs by chaiks: 5:45pm On May 23, 2017
happyday:
Hi all! Just seeing this, so I figure I should drop a hint or two. FYI, US (post)graduate schools don't advertise admissions the way other countries do theirs. It's a standard practice that every year interested and motivated students would apply to schools of their choosing, based on what they want from a US graduate degree.

For the most part, you have to DIY. To apply to US grad schools (esp STEM), you'll need to send your transcripts (which include your undergrad GPA), convince 2/3 people to recommend you, write a statement of purpose explaining your reason for getting a grad degree, take tests (the most common for STEM courses is the GRE), and also the TOEFL (to prove you can survive on English-speaking campus like those in in America).

The other part is the money. If you do a very good job of selling yourself well, (and you're lucky!), most schools will cover your tuition, and then pay you a stipend every month, so you can help some Profs with their research. So, you get a degree, and alongside get paid to get research experience. A good deal, if you ask me.

All the best to everyone!this I'll be nice.please I have some documents except GRE.I'll write it soon when money comes. for the TOEFL part,can one use proficiency proof obtained from ones school as an alternative? is GRE a must for ones application to be considered ?kindly help please.
Re: Information Thread for International Postgraduate Programs by happyday: 5:46pm On May 23, 2017
Johnnyessence:
thanks for your reply. Well as you can see ielts is testing on all the skills. They will test someone based on his or her listen skills,written skills,speaking skills and reading skills. From what I read so far ielts are all rounder. That's why the tertiary schools someone apply too will be tested through the ielts band results. Well sir in my conclusion if Canada that's neighbouring country to U. S can accept Ielts band results why is u.s different. Even european schools accept ielts results not to talk of asian schools. Well I have note your reply. Thanks for your reply again thank you.
Nope, IELTS doesn't test on all the skills. It's not an all-rounder. In fact, schools will easily waive it for you, if they guess that you can speak decent English, and won't have trouble speaking the language. If you're a US resident, you won't need to take the TOEFL/IELTS. But the GRE is starkly different.

US citizens, residents, Int'l students, everyone takes the GRE. GRE assumes you can speak, read, and write English well. So they take it further and test how well you can reason deeply. You take GRE for postgraduate studies, and SAT for undergrad in the US.

Can you see the difference?
Re: Information Thread for International Postgraduate Programs by happyday: 5:47pm On May 23, 2017
chaiks:
serious? wanted to apply but saw only those with GPA of 4.5 and above.so 4.49 can't apply?
If you have 4.0 or higher, apply still.
Re: Information Thread for International Postgraduate Programs by chaiks: 5:56pm On May 23, 2017
happyday:

All the best to everyone!this I'll be nice.please I have some documents except GRE.I'll write it soon when money comes. for the TOEFL part,can one use proficiency proof obtained from ones school as an alternative? is GRE a must for ones application to be considered ?kindly help please.please can Canadian schools give scholarship without GRE?
Re: Information Thread for International Postgraduate Programs by chaiks: 5:58pm On May 23, 2017
happyday:
If you have 4.0 or higher, apply still.
OK.thank you.please I equally want to know if Canadian schools consider for masters scholarship without GRE.
Re: Information Thread for International Postgraduate Programs by happyday: 6:05pm On May 23, 2017
chaiks:
OK.thank you.please I equally want to know if Canadian schools consider for masters scholarship without GRE.
Each school has its requirements. You'll need to check for the school you want.
Re: Information Thread for International Postgraduate Programs by Johnnyessence(m): 7:42pm On May 23, 2017
happyday:
Nope, IELTS doesn't test on all the skills. It's not an all-rounder. In fact, schools will easily waive it for you, if they guess that you can speak decent English, and won't have trouble speaking the language. If you're a US resident, you won't need to take the TOEFL/IELTS. But the GRE is starkly different.

US citizens, residents, Int'l students, everyone takes the GRE. GRE assumes you can speak, read, and write English well. So they take it further and test how well you can reason deeply. You take GRE for postgraduate studies, and SAT for undergrad in the US.

Can you see the difference?
okay oo. So what you mean is that U.S schools only ask for GRE results baaa. I don't think so. For me it depend on what thechool want. I have read a scholarship advert in which the school management ask for ielts and other Results as part of the admission requirement. Well one will just have to make some more research. Thanks for your reply here.
Re: Information Thread for International Postgraduate Programs by Nobody: 8:46am On May 24, 2017
happyday:
Hi all! Just seeing this, so I figure I should drop a hint or two. FYI, US (post)graduate schools don't advertise admissions the way
Please can you expatiate what you mean by "If you do a very good job of selling yourself well..."?

I am planning to do my master's program in geophysics or medical physics. And I am a freelance writer. Last year, I used to write news reports for a website on recent scientific discoveries.

Is there any way I can use my writing skills to "sell myself" to schools offering scholarships?

Apart from getting high scores in GRE, TOEFL and the likes; composing a top-notch SOP and obtaining good recommendations from academic references, any other tips on how a second class (upper division or lower) graduate can boost their application for a scholarship, so it may be somehow close to the pedigree of application of a first class graduate?
Re: Information Thread for International Postgraduate Programs by happyday: 3:25pm On May 24, 2017
gensteejay:
Please can you expatiate what you mean by "If you do a very good job of selling yourself well..."?

I am planning to do my master's program in geophysics or medical physics. And I am a freelance writer. Last year, I used to write news reports for a website on recent scientific discoveries.

Is there any way I can use my writing skills to "sell myself" to schools offering scholarships?

Apart from getting high scores in GRE, TOEFL and the likes; composing a top-notch SOP and obtaining good recommendations from academic references, any other tips on how a second class (upper division or lower) graduate can boost their application for a scholarship, so it may be somehow close to the pedigree of application of a first class graduate?
Your experience as a freelance writer counts! There's a common trend among successful writers and speakers; they understand their audience deeply. They get into the audience's brain, speak to their pain points, assuage their fears, encourage their dreams, confirm their fears and cast stone at their enemies!

To sell yourself to the graduate admissions committee, you need to understand them; put yourself in their shoes.

If you can get high score on your GRE (330's), write a really top-notch SoP, and submit glowing hot letters of recommendation, that's it. You've basically compensated for your 'weaknesses'. Then, you can only hope for the best.

Cheers!
Re: Information Thread for International Postgraduate Programs by Nobody: 3:30pm On May 24, 2017
happyday:
Your experience as a freelance writer counts! There's a common trend among successful writers and speakers; they understand their audience deeply. They get into the audience's brain, speak to their pain points, assuage their fears, encourage their dreams, confirm their fears and cast stone at their enemies!

To sell yourself to the graduate admissions committee, you need to understand them; put yourself in their shoes.

If you can get high score on your GRE (330's), write a really top-notch SoP, and submit glowing hot letters of recommendation, that's it. You've basically compensated for your 'weaknesses'. Then, you can only hope for the best.

Cheers!
Great tips!

Thanks a lot, sir.
Re: Information Thread for International Postgraduate Programs by teraWorldwide: 4:01pm On May 24, 2017
Interested in acquiring an MSc / PhD degree abroad (Europe / Asia), kindly check the following scholarship opportunities to apply as deadlines are fast approaching

1. University of Kent MA Scholarships at School of Politics and International Relations, UK
University of Kent, United Kingdom
http://theeducationalresourceagency.com/2017/04/28/university-kent-ma-scholarships-school-politics-international-relations-uk/
Application Deadline: May 31, 2017

2. Undergraduate Scholarships for ASEAN Students at Chulalongkorn University in Thailand, 2017
Chulalongkorn University, Thailand
http://theeducationalresourceagency.com/2017/04/28/undergraduate-scholarships-asean-students-chulalongkorn-university-thailand-2017/
Application Deadline: May 26, 2017

3. Bachelor of Law Scholarships at University of Tasmania in Australia, 2017
University of Tasmania, Australia
http://theeducationalresourceagency.com/2017/04/28/bachelor-law-scholarships-university-tasmania-australia-2017/
Application Deadline: Open

Contact us on Twitter @Tera_worldwide

https://www.nairaland.com/3466778/scholarships-international-students-apply-here/19#56835366
Re: Information Thread for International Postgraduate Programs by Johnnyessence(m): 4:18pm On May 24, 2017
happyday:
please kindly enlightened me about the potentials you are talking about sir. Well am motivated in all ramifications so what else do they want. Well am not in the first class student category. I still need more of the reply. Thanks for your reply. I appreciate it.
Re: Information Thread for International Postgraduate Programs by happyday: 5:36pm On May 24, 2017
Johnnyessence:
please kindly enlightened me about the potentials you are talking about sir. Well am motivated in all ramifications so what else do they want. Well am not in the first class student category. I still need more of the reply. Thanks for your reply. I appreciate it.
A first class is one of the requirements. Work hard on the other reqs.
Re: Information Thread for International Postgraduate Programs by Johnnyessence(m): 7:24am On May 25, 2017
happyday:
A first class is one of the requirements. Work hard on the other reqs.
well I don't have the first class certificate. So I don't think I will apply ooo.
Re: Information Thread for International Postgraduate Programs by Nobody: 8:49am On May 25, 2017
Johnnyessence:
well I don't have the first class certificate. So I don't think I will apply ooo.
There are still other scholarships with more flexible requirements and others will be broadcast before the end of the year.

One should be on the lookout and follow happyday's tips to the letter.
Re: Information Thread for International Postgraduate Programs by Johnnyessence(m): 10:43am On May 25, 2017
gensteejay:
There are still other scholarships with more flexible requirements and others will be broadcast before the end of the year.

One should be on the lookout and follow happyday's tips to the letter.
thanks for your reply here. Please kindly be updating this thread with series of scholarship here. I saw the advert of university of portmouth scholarship yesterday. But I was disturbed yesterday. Infact the courses they listed was my course. Geology to be precise. Now they said it is twenty percent based. So I have to pay eighty percent fund for the money. So so disturb about it. I just have to be on the look out again. Thanks for your reply.
Re: Information Thread for International Postgraduate Programs by Nobody: 11:51am On May 25, 2017
Johnnyessence:
thanks for your reply here. Please kindly be updating this thread with series of scholarship here. I saw the advert of university of portmouth scholarship yesterday. But I was disturbed yesterday. Infact the courses they listed was my course. Geology to be precise. Now they said it is twenty percent based. So I have to pay eighty percent fund for the money. So so disturb about it. I just have to be on the look out again. Thanks for your reply.
I also saw the advert. There are many of such adverts around, where schools offer to waive some percentage of their tuition fee off; but at the end of the day, the remaining part students have to pay will still be outrageous.

I will only post adverts on full scholarships here not partial ones.
Re: Information Thread for International Postgraduate Programs by happyday: 2:14am On May 26, 2017
Johnnyessence:
Cool!
Re: Information Thread for International Postgraduate Programs by Johnnyessence(m): 5:06am On May 26, 2017
gensteejay:
I also saw the advert. There are many of such adverts around, where schools offer to waive some percentage of their tuition fee off; but at the end of the day, the remaining part students have to pay will still be outrageous.

I will only post adverts on full scholarships here not partial ones.
thanks for your reply. I really appreciate it. Infact the school I was talking about is based in the u.k. But fuckup about their twenty percent of scholarship payment.
Re: Information Thread for International Postgraduate Programs by Nobody: 6:19am On May 30, 2017
A repeat post: MEXT scholarship for postgraduate programs in Japan

1 2 3 Reply

Unilag Postgraduate 2020/2021 Information Thread2017/2018 Agip Oil And Gas Local And International Postgraduate Scholarship234

Unizik Releases Her First Batch 2014/2015 Admission List.HOW TO CALCULATE UNILAG POST UTME CUT OFF MARK POINTS - 09082964145Photo: IMSU 2015/2016 Merit Admission List and CUT-OFf mark Is Officially Out.