Stats: 3,331,105 members, 8,448,671 topics. Date: Monday, 20 July 2026 at 04:53 PM

Obiano Makes Igbo Language Compulsory - Politics - Nairaland

Nairaland ForumNairaland GeneralPoliticsObiano Makes Igbo Language Compulsory (1921 Views)

1 Reply (Go Down)

Obiano Makes Igbo Language Compulsory by Danladi7(op): 10:21am On Oct 26, 2017
Obiano makes Igbo language
compulsory
Posted By: Nwanosike O

Anambra State Governor, Willie Obiano, and former
National Chairman of the All Progressives Grand
Alliance (APGA), Chief Victor Umeh, have called on
Ndigbo not to allow Igbo language to go extinct.

The two spoke at the weekend at the Prof Dora Akunyili
Women’s Development Centre in Awka, during a summit
organised by Otu Suwakwa Igbo group, led by Prof Pita
Ejiofor, the former Vice Chancellor, Nnamdi Azikiwe
University (UNIZIK).
The programme was organised in collaboration with the
Anambra State Ministry of Diaspora Affairs, Culture and
Tourism.

Addressing the crowd, Obiano announced that Igbo
language had become compulsory in all the schools in
the state, while students should be wearing Igbo native
attires every Wednesday.
Also, every school in the state must make speaking of
Igbo language every Wednesday compulsory, while the
era of folk tales should be brought back with immediate
effect.

The governor said with all these measures and
establishment of Igbo radio in the state soon, Igbo
language would not die as being speculated.
He also promised to take one or two persons of the Igbo
group abroad each year, during what he called Anambra
Day and World Igbo Congress (WIC).
For Umeh, any society that abandons its language would
never go forward, adding that language binds the people
together.
He said speaking and writing of Igbo language in
schools should be made compulsory, lamenting that
Ndigbo had abandoned their language and culture for
foreign ones.

Anambra state Commissioner for Diaspora Affairs,
Culture and Tourism, Mrs. Stella Onuorah, condemned
private schools that flog their students for speaking Igbo
language in their schools.

She said by such act, they were helping Igbo language
to go into extinction, adding that they should teach their
students Igbo and encourage them to write it, just like
what happens in the North and West.

www.thenationonlineng.net/obiano-makes-igbo-language-compulsory/
Re: Obiano Makes Igbo Language Compulsory by IgboticGirl(f): 10:23am On Oct 26, 2017
Igbo language has been compulsory since in anambra so I don't kw wat he is talking about

I think Obiano should pay more attention to his agbada dressing which is not Igbo dressing that he normally wear on Igbo occasion Dan all this eye service
Re: Obiano Makes Igbo Language Compulsory by Atiku2019: 10:32am On Oct 26, 2017
Politics grin
Re: Obiano Makes Igbo Language Compulsory by Danladi7(op): 10:35am On Oct 26, 2017
This is unconstitutional grin
Re: Obiano Makes Igbo Language Compulsory by Blue3k(m):
Where is months to cry about the unconstitutionality. He made a thread crying for 15 pages over Lagos. I hope he'll have energy to denounce his own kin. I'm guessing he'll just expose himself as unprincipled, hypocritical and suspected bigot.

Re: Obiano Makes Igbo Language Compulsory by sarrki(m): 10:37am On Oct 26, 2017
IgboticGirl:
Igbo language has been compulsory since in anambra so I don't kw wat he is talking about

I think Obiano should pay more attention to his agbada dressing which is not Igbo dressing that he normally wear on Igbo occasion Dan all this eye service
Eye service or nose services

Obiano will coast to victory next month
Re: Obiano Makes Igbo Language Compulsory by sarrki(m): 10:39am On Oct 26, 2017
Atiku2019:
Politics grin
Obiano deserved 2nd term

He worked

Bros nay I ask ?

Where is that mofo that said election won't hold ?

I mean Nazi ?
Re: Obiano Makes Igbo Language Compulsory by Evablizin(f): 10:41am On Oct 26, 2017

The competition is real.

Re: Obiano Makes Igbo Language Compulsory by sarrki(m): 10:43am On Oct 26, 2017
Evablizin:

The competition is real.
My dearest one ow you dey ?
Re: Obiano Makes Igbo Language Compulsory by MyNewJackeT: 10:44am On Oct 26, 2017
igbo language had always been compulsory.
in every secondary schools ever since, why is this governor shouting irrelevant things
Re: Obiano Makes Igbo Language Compulsory by Evablizin(f): 10:49am On Oct 26, 2017
sarrki:
My dearest one ow you dey ?
i'm great sir,hope you're good?
Re: Obiano Makes Igbo Language Compulsory by Kingsley1000(m): 10:49am On Oct 26, 2017
Obiano the dribbler
Re: Obiano Makes Igbo Language Compulsory by IgboticGirl(f): 11:24am On Oct 26, 2017
sarrki:
Eye service or nose services

Obiano will coast to victory next month
Were u hide since grin
Re: Obiano Makes Igbo Language Compulsory by Preciousnelly19: 1:58pm On Oct 26, 2017
IgboticGirl:

It's no longer compulsory for 2years now
Re: Obiano Makes Igbo Language Compulsory by samebony1: 2:06pm On Oct 26, 2017
Preciousnelly19:
If this happened within the last 2 years, then Obiano should be held responsible as he has been governor for nearly 4 years now.
Abi I lie?
Re: Obiano Makes Igbo Language Compulsory by Nobody:
Where are those fools that have been wailing non-stop since the beginning of this week on top Yoruba matter? Guess they will be too ashamed to show their faces (that is if they are honorable) or be swift to tell us how Anambra was developed with Igbos wealth only. Awon akuri gbogbo.
Re: Obiano Makes Igbo Language Compulsory by Johnayoola(m): 5:39pm On Oct 26, 2017
where's that foolish he-goat,omo igbo jatijati called months
Re: Obiano Makes Igbo Language Compulsory by deji17: 5:47pm On Oct 26, 2017
sarrki:
Obiano deserved 2nd term

He worked

Bros nay I ask ?

Where is that mofo that said election won't hold ?

I mean Nazi ?
I support you on this one. The Igbos should vote for Obiano in Anambra state in the next month election. They should try and salvage whatever is left of their ethnic pride by supporting their own, which is APGA in this case. If Obiano loses, it means that is the end of APGA. The APC guy appears like a thug and by the way, he was the PDP candidate in 2013. So it really does not make sense that APC will continue in their buffoonery of fielding former PDP member as their candidate.
Re: Obiano Makes Igbo Language Compulsory by unohbethel(m): 6:07pm On Oct 26, 2017
Blue3k:
Where is months to cry about the unconstitutionality. He made a thread crying for 15 pages over Lagos. I hope he'll have energy to denounce his own kin. I'm guessing he'll just expose himself as unprincipled, hypocritical and suspected bigot.
u must be crazy..the igbo language have been compulsory since atleast four years now..and notice that its only igbos that take it..also where i school in anambra, during the igbo day(every wednesday )hausas and yorubas students are not forced to put on the igbo attire,its ONLy igbos..so what are u talking about?
Re: Obiano Makes Igbo Language Compulsory by Blue3k(m): 6:37pm On Oct 26, 2017
unohbethel:
u must be crazy..the igbo language have been compulsory since atleast four years now..and notice that its only igbos that take it..also where i school in anambra, during the igbo day(every wednesday )hausas and yorubas students are not forced to put on the igbo attire,its ONLy igbos..so what are u talking about?
Sounds like a contradictory information being presented on thread. If it's already compulsory why is he calling for it. Is he calling for it at lower levels. Next people on her said it isn't compulsory. Which is it?

Next you're saying Igbo language compulsory is only for igbos. I didn't see him make such clarification. I guess the school full of name checkers to make sure your studying igbo.

Preciousnelly19:
Front Page: lalasticlala
Re: Obiano Makes Igbo Language Compulsory by Omofunaab2: 11:39pm On Oct 26, 2017
So igbos made igbo language compulsory in their states but don't want Yoruba language made compulsory in a Yoruba state

These guys are b*st*rds..... Walahi
Re: Obiano Makes Igbo Language Compulsory by Opakangallant: 11:46pm On Oct 26, 2017
Omofunaab2:
So igbos made igbo language compulsory in their states but don't want Yoruba language made compulsory in a Yoruba state

Even UNN, a federal university is now ibo only school. You'll hardly see up to 3% from other tribes there.

But they go to OAU, UI, ABU and others to claim right as Nigerians.

The day Yorubas will wake up and say enough is enough is the day their world ends. That day is surely coming soon.
Re: Obiano Makes Igbo Language Compulsory by kn23h(m): 11:47pm On Oct 26, 2017
Omofunaab2:

They can’t stop us.

It’s even laughable.
Re: Obiano Makes Igbo Language Compulsory by kn23h(m): 11:49pm On Oct 26, 2017
Johnayoola:
where's that foolish he-goat,omo igbo jatijati called months
Lmao oga o. grin Omo eniyan ma ni eranko yen sha. Maa da were yen loun.
Re: Obiano Makes Igbo Language Compulsory by kn23h(m): 11:51pm On Oct 26, 2017
unohbethel:
Who is forcing Ibos to put on Yoruba attire in Lagos?

I wish they were forced. I’m tired of seeing carpet looking attire with animal pictures on it. Are you guys calling yourselves zoo animals?
Re: Obiano Makes Igbo Language Compulsory by unohbethel(m): 11:57pm On Oct 26, 2017
kn23h:
Who is forcing Ibos to put on Yoruba attire in Lagos?

I wish they were forced. I’m tired of seeing carpet looking attire with animal pictures on it. Are you guys calling yourselves zoo animals?
maybe u think ur talking to a person wo isnt in lag.. can u show me pictures of this ur postulation(carpet looking attire with animal pictures)?
Re: Obiano Makes Igbo Language Compulsory by kn23h(m): 12:19am On Oct 27, 2017
unohbethel:
maybe u think ur talking to a person wo isnt in lag.. can u show me pictures of this ur postulation(carpet looking attire with animal pictures)?
I’m talking about the Ibo trad attire. The one your men wear on top of their skirt.
1 Reply

Imo Govt To Make Igbo Language Compulsory In SchoolsImo Govt Mulls Making Igbo Language Compulsory At SchoolsGovernor Willie Obiano Makes New Appointment.234

Please Tone To AIT And Hear Fayose OutBuhari Is A Rogue, IBB Is Bi-sexual,OBJ The Errand Boy,Stop The Media Brainwash!Implementation Of The New Minimum Wage Will Automatically Get Buhari Re-elected