Stats: 3,158,933 members, 7,838,330 topics. Date: Thursday, 23 May 2024 at 07:36 PM

The Adventures Of A New UK Migrant - Travel (49) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Travel / The Adventures Of A New UK Migrant (276454 Views)

Parenting In The UK As A Nigerian Migrant. / Adventures Of A UK Bound Nurse / The Adventures Of A Village Scholar In Germany (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (46) (47) (48) (49) (50) (51) (52) ... (72) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: The Adventures Of A New UK Migrant by Nobody: 10:00pm On Dec 28, 2017
Hope she no be overstayer like my experience, that will be asking if you love her after you cshook her the first Fuukeh, give me a baby...maybe its because she is a benin girl sha, b4 nko, wetin man go talk

Re: The Adventures Of A New UK Migrant by Lexusgs430: 10:00pm On Dec 28, 2017
UKmigrant:
So she asked me why I ignored her note, I apologized that i was just shocked and didn't know what to do. We talked into the late night that day, it was like we've known each other since forever!

We were both busy the next day, but we agreed to go on a date the following weekend. Weekend came and we went out. She insisted we split the bills. Felt really strange to me cos I have never split bills with any babe before.

So you went Dutch with a lady on a 1st date?
Re: The Adventures Of A New UK Migrant by Inkredible(m): 10:01pm On Dec 28, 2017
UKmigrant:

Fastforwards she asked me what we can make of "this" and I told her I dunno...
She said ok we figure things out along the way. It seemed like a good arrangement to me grin
She is on vacation now outside the UK and returning in January, but before she left she invited me to her house once and she also spent her last night at mine cheesy

I am still single afterall, but I have a friend with benefits grin To be continued in January!

Just like that? shocked

You dinnor even spend sef. lipsrsealed
Re: The Adventures Of A New UK Migrant by wonlasewonimi: 10:02pm On Dec 28, 2017
Lexusgs430:

Why not free Grammar?

No amount spent on education is too much bro..[s]especially when you are loaded like uncle ralphlauren[/s]
Re: The Adventures Of A New UK Migrant by Lexusgs430: 10:03pm On Dec 28, 2017
famzynet:

Nigeria is just a joke,you mean to tell me that earning £10 per hour is too small? Shai! Why did I even end up being born in this country? Of all countries,why Nigeria? I am 7years post medical school graduation and my boss feels he is overpaying me at £1.03 per hour. Attempts at government work failed because of nepotism and even the formerly open north complain of no budget from government to employ . I am tired of running from states to states,spending limited resources to get residency with my west African primary in surgery that will soon expire. I have really learnt a lot from this post. I just have to hasten my preparations to join you guys. Enough is enough! I will not tolerate this beyond next year!

When you eventually cross over, expect about £75 per hour minimum on an increasing scale ......

Re: The Adventures Of A New UK Migrant by Nobody: 10:03pm On Dec 28, 2017
Thats how they fired one Romanian nurse from work, she's a 37yr old divorcee, all of them no dey really send me. She started disturbing me to escort her to the boring British museum and i had things to do. Anyway, i figured out she just needed some Cassava b4 she left the country. So i reluctantly obliged her with my African candy vertigo stick. I think she was impressed. Anyway, she isn't no Angelina Jolie, but at least i got free kitten

Re: The Adventures Of A New UK Migrant by Lexusgs430: 10:05pm On Dec 28, 2017
fighal:
I take God beg all of una biko, the savings talk done do... You guys should tell us how you left naija, the struggles you had in you first weeks/months there.. Bo be all these argue argue make us follow UKmigrant thread... We followed because of his ADVENTURE..
Please if you guys want to argue, una fit create una own thread... Una done change the aim of this thread.. As it stands now, this thread is aimless...
On behalf of potential immigrants, I appeal to you guys to please give the thread a purpose... Una done turn am to bear parlour already..

Nothing wrong with beer parlour discussions nah.....

Re: The Adventures Of A New UK Migrant by Lexusgs430: 10:09pm On Dec 28, 2017
wonlasewonimi:

No amount spent on education is too much bro..[s]especially when you are loaded like uncle ralphlauren[/s]

Grammar schools are probably the next best thing to private secondary (and it's free).......
Re: The Adventures Of A New UK Migrant by fatima04: 10:14pm On Dec 28, 2017
Lexusgs430:

Grammar schools are probably the next best thing to private secondary (and it's free).......

Ehn ehn, pls tell us more make I learn biko smiley
Re: The Adventures Of A New UK Migrant by Ralphlauren(m): 10:25pm On Dec 28, 2017
Lexusgs430:

Why not free Grammar?

There’s nothing like Grammar school up north oh. undecided

That’s about the only perk you guys in England get. grin
Re: The Adventures Of A New UK Migrant by Lexusgs430: 10:27pm On Dec 28, 2017
Ralphlauren:

There’s nothing like Grammar school up north oh. undecided

That’s about the only perk you guys in England get. grin

Fully understood......
Re: The Adventures Of A New UK Migrant by Ralphlauren(m): 10:28pm On Dec 28, 2017
wonlasewonimi:

Hehehehehe.

Since I have shelved the idea of having 10kids, I can as well give the few I’ve got the best.

Re: The Adventures Of A New UK Migrant by Lexusgs430: 10:30pm On Dec 28, 2017
fatima04:

Ehn ehn, pls tell us more make I learn biko smiley

Grammar school is a system where the best students that pass 11 plus exams, are admitted into Grammar Schools.

Grammar schools are the next best thing to private secondary schools. Standards are very high, discipline is very high etc etc etc

And the beauty of it all, it's free............. Uniforms and materials are not cheap, but it's a better trade off......

Re: The Adventures Of A New UK Migrant by imconfused(f): 10:42pm On Dec 28, 2017
Lexusgs430:

No grammar in Scotland unfortunately..the way things are going,the plan is to keep dumbing down academics so everyone will be equal and all round fairness will rule the land.
Good state primary and private secondary would be the best way forward..fees will increase though as private schools are being stripped of their charity status abi perks.

If I may ask,where are the nice affordable areas in England where kids can be raised..good schools,not necessarily grammar..I no too trust my pikin and book for now..

Re: The Adventures Of A New UK Migrant by imconfused(f): 10:45pm On Dec 28, 2017
famzynet:

Nigeria is just a joke,you mean to tell me that earning £10 per hour is too small? Shai! Why did I even end up being born in this country? Of all countries,why Nigeria? I am 7years post medical school graduation and my boss feels he is overpaying me at £1.03 per hour. Attempts at government work failed because of nepotism and even the formerly open north complain of no budget from government to employ . I am tired of running from states to states,spending limited resources to get residency with my west African primary in surgery that will soon expire. I have really learnt a lot from this post. I just have to hasten my preparations to join you guys. Enough is enough! I will not tolerate this beyond next year!

Do & move,no point wasting time..you can even state work here, prepare & take USMLE then port to the US.once I become a consultant,I'm escaping from UK..that's my long term plan.

Re: The Adventures Of A New UK Migrant by wonlasewonimi: 10:46pm On Dec 28, 2017
imconfused:

Do & move,no point wasting time..you can even take USMLE & port..once I become a consultant,I'm escaping from UK..that's my long term plan.

How do you intend to combine all these studies with IT?
Re: The Adventures Of A New UK Migrant by Lexusgs430: 10:47pm On Dec 28, 2017
imconfused:

No grammar in Scotland unfortunately..the way things are going,the plan is to keep dumbing down academics so everyone will be equal and all round fairness will rule the land.
Good state primary and private secondary would be the best way forward..fees will increase though as private schools are being stripped of their charity status abi perks.

If I may ask,where are the nice affordable areas in England where kids can be raised..good schools,not necessarily grammar..I no too trust my pikin and book for now..

I think Kent is one of the best boroughs for Grammar school education.......

Primary schools don't expect you to rely completely on their teachings. The onus is on the parent or guardian to provide extra education/tuition for their wards........
Re: The Adventures Of A New UK Migrant by Nobody: 10:48pm On Dec 28, 2017

Re: The Adventures Of A New UK Migrant by Lexusgs430: 10:50pm On Dec 28, 2017
UKmigrant:
I've been having some issues with the heater in my room. I called landlady today and she immediately bought me a portable one to serve me pending when the heater in fixed.

Why not get your Ghanaian babe to come keep you warm?

Re: The Adventures Of A New UK Migrant by imconfused(f): 10:50pm On Dec 28, 2017
wonlasewonimi:

How do you intend to combine all these studies with IT?

Not taking USMLE ooo. One exam soon to enter core training,then 3 exams & I'm done with exams for good.
All these hopefully 3-4 years..After that I intend to just start learning this IT thing..its just something I've been thinking of.Dont have time for now but at least I now know where to start.
Will I be a doctor forever? Burn out is real,I'm looking into alternatives
Re: The Adventures Of A New UK Migrant by Nobody: 10:51pm On Dec 28, 2017
Re: The Adventures Of A New UK Migrant by Lexusgs430: 10:52pm On Dec 28, 2017
UKmigrant:
She don go america cry

I am not suggesting anything o, but vivastreet comes in handy.......

Re: The Adventures Of A New UK Migrant by imconfused(f): 10:53pm On Dec 28, 2017
Lexusgs430:

I think Kent is one of the best boroughs for Grammar school education.......

Primary schools don't expect you to rely completely on their teachings. The onus is on the parent or guardian to provide extra education/tuition for their wards........

Is Kent affordable?Houses are so costly..shebi you guys have adviced me to buy today today..

Please give me 3 places,I don't mind going northish too..not Scotland though.
Re: The Adventures Of A New UK Migrant by Nobody: 10:53pm On Dec 28, 2017
imconfused:

Do & move,no point wasting time..you can even state work here, prepare & take USMLE then port to the US.once I become a consultant,I'm escaping from UK..that's my long term plan.

Strong woman!
That was the original plan, couldn't discipline myself to study when i got here
All this reading for this and reading for that since 2002.

Abeg, make i remain my lane jeje and try simpler things
Re: The Adventures Of A New UK Migrant by imconfused(f): 10:54pm On Dec 28, 2017
Falzdbadtguy:

Strong woman!
That was the original plan, couldn't discipline myself to study when i got here
All this reading for this and reading for that since 2002.

Abeg, make i remain my lane jeje and try simpler things
If I list the exams I've taken here,you will faint.
There's no option really, to prepare for this one sef,no motivation.Kids running around like spiders.But I won't stop till my combined household income pcm is at least 20k after taxes grin
Point is we must keep pushing,as hard as we can while still young and alive and also remember to enjoy and breathe while able

Re: The Adventures Of A New UK Migrant by Nobody: 10:55pm On Dec 28, 2017
imconfused:

Is Kent affordable?Houses are so costly..shebi you guys have adviced me to buy today today..

My friend bought a house in Leicester for 208k. I think its a 3 bed semi-detached + an attic room...as the 4th room
Re: The Adventures Of A New UK Migrant by Lexusgs430: 10:56pm On Dec 28, 2017
imconfused:

Affordability is very relative in scope and dimensions......

People are still buying and selling in all areas.....

Check rightmove for price comparisons......
Re: The Adventures Of A New UK Migrant by Nobody: 10:57pm On Dec 28, 2017
imconfused:

Not taking USMLE ooo. One exam soon to enter core training,then 3 exams & I'm done with exams for good.
All these hopefully 3-4 years..After that I intend to just start learning this IT thing..its just something I've been thinking of.Dont have time for now but at least I now know where to start.

make sure you get one of those special ergonomic chairs for your back
Re: The Adventures Of A New UK Migrant by imconfused(f): 10:57pm On Dec 28, 2017
Lexusgs430:

Affordability is very relative in scope and dimensions......

People are still buying and selling in all areas.....

Check rightmove for price comparisons......

Will do,thank you
Re: The Adventures Of A New UK Migrant by Nobody: 10:59pm On Dec 28, 2017
imconfused:

If I lost the exams I've taken here,you will faint.
There's no option really, to prepare for this one sef,no motivation.Kids running around like spiders.But I won't stop till my combined household income pcm is at least 20k after taxes grin

I heard Canada and Australia are good too.
If its not too late to do GP for 3yrs and relocate to either.
Infact Govt will even give you 20k just to do GP training in some places up north

Re: The Adventures Of A New UK Migrant by wonlasewonimi: 11:02pm On Dec 28, 2017
imconfused:

Oh I see. There are so many opportunities now in IT. It's a shame Nigeria is in disarray now. We could have been tapping into this goldmine instead of India. When you call all these service providers, their call centres are all located in India and you can't even understand half of what they are saying. Jobs that Nigerians can do eloquently! Anyway, oyinbos don't trust us with their data because of these yahoo boys and most importantly, NEPA.

IT awaits you! Godspeed..
Re: The Adventures Of A New UK Migrant by imconfused(f): 11:04pm On Dec 28, 2017
Falzdbadtguy:

I heard Canada and Australia are good too.
If its not too late to do GP for 3yrs and relocate to either.
Infact Govt will even give you 20k just to do GP training in some places up north

Already have a Gp,not doing it.
I'm interested in head issues.. absolutely fascinating so will pursue it with everything.

Canada & Australia I heard are great o.Will port to either one once I'm done if we still have the zeal.You are going in for GP ,once done you can move..better pay,better work life balance.
If not for my choice in specialty we'd have gone sooner.
I saw in the Canada thread on NL here that there are pathways to get into Canada with 2 years UK work experience but I think it's better to complete GP training then move after that.

(1) (2) (3) ... (46) (47) (48) (49) (50) (51) (52) ... (72) (Reply)

Uk Visa - Visa Appeal Process / Bus Fare Within Nigeria / Pictures Of Nigeria - Show Us Nigeria Through Your Pictures

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 54