Stats: 3,165,799 members, 7,862,647 topics. Date: Sunday, 16 June 2024 at 09:53 PM

Why Oil Activities Cannot Resume In Our Land Now – Ogonis Fume - Politics - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / Why Oil Activities Cannot Resume In Our Land Now – Ogonis Fume (7539 Views)

Ghanaian Monarch On Demolition: Nigeria Wanted To Take Our Land Forcibly / COVID-19: Governors Fume As Interstate Travel Ban Collapses / Presidential/ NASS Polls: We’re Disappointed, Afenifere, PANDEF, Others Fume (2) (3) (4)

Why Oil Activities Cannot Resume In Our Land Now – Ogonis Fume by nwakibie3(m): 1:21pm On Jan 15, 2018
Ogonis are kicking against resumption of oil activities in the their land especially the exploration of OML Eleven.

A Frontline Environmental activist, Celestine Akpobari in an interview with our correspondent said the plan to begin oil exploration when impacted sites are yet to be cleaned is insensitive.

Akpobari said until the clean up effectively takes off, Ogonis are not willing to allow exploration of crude in the area.

“Shell, NNPC, NPDC and Robo-Michael are about to cause another bloodbath in Ogoni land and I can tell you that they will not succeed.

“If these companies were sensible enough they would have come to ask questions.

“Since we launched our agitation as a people over 2,000 persons have been killed from this struggle. Even the cleanup we are still begging the Federal Government to release funds.

“We have not gotten up to any stage and people will think they can just wake up and feel they can just come and bribe their way or force their way on a people.

“What is happening means that we will be sleeping one day and Shell with NNPC or Robo-Michael will use soldiers to lay their pipelines as they did in the 90s.

“That will not happen especially when some of us are still alive,” Celestine said.

Also speaking, Godspower Igwe and Savior Oscar who are Youth Leaders in Ogoni cautioned prospective oil companies to wait until the clean up begins proper before lobbying to resume oil exploration.

They said youths will mobilize to resist the forceful resumption of exploration in any part Ogoni Land.

Godspower said, “What we want is to see that everything that has to do with the actualization of a clean environment is achieved.

“We don’t want a situation where Ogoni youths, stakeholders, traditional rulers, and activists will be shifting attention in the actuation of bringing back oil exploration in Ogoni Land.”
It will interest you to know that indigenous oil companies have approached some leaders of Ogoni on their intention to explore crude in their land.

http://dailypost.ng/2018/01/15/oil-activities-cannot-resume-land-now-ogonis-fume/

Re: Why Oil Activities Cannot Resume In Our Land Now – Ogonis Fume by freeze001(f): 1:26pm On Jan 15, 2018
Very good! The FG should put money where its mouth is!What was the point of all that fanfare and so-called launching without any intention of following through? Deception and propaganda as usual!

25 Likes 3 Shares

Re: Why Oil Activities Cannot Resume In Our Land Now – Ogonis Fume by Amberon: 1:28pm On Jan 15, 2018
I met a foreigner at the airport. While he was waiting for his flight we got talking about Nigeria and buisness. The conversation reached a point and he asked me "do you know wiwa"? I said who? He said "Sari Wiwa"? I said "do you mean the late Ken Saro Wiwa"? He answered yes and told me that that place where Wiwa was from needs to be cleaned up right? I said yes, that is Ogoni and the federal government has just commenced a project for the clean up of Ogoni. Then he reached out for a complimentary card and showed it to me, he said "This is the buisness card of the company (Chinese company whose name I can't remember) that should be cleaning up Ogoni but your government (or whoever was in charge of giving out the contract) is asking for a whopping 50% of that money back (as bribe-but there was a particular term he used for it which I have forgotten). So according to him, the company refused hence the reason the money was never disbursed for the contract.

He explained to me that he has been to Nigeria several times on buisness trips and even knows some top government officials in Nigeria and that it is a normal thing for the government to request for a particular amount of money back as bribe from a company after awarding contracts to it. If true then really Nigeria is doomed.

38 Likes 3 Shares

Re: Why Oil Activities Cannot Resume In Our Land Now – Ogonis Fume by cdqyehyeh(m): 1:43pm On Jan 15, 2018
Dats A Nice Muv By The Ogonni Pple, Dey Shud Nt Gree. Atleast Fg Shuld Finish The Clean Up Dey Started Earlier B4 Any Exploration Wil Start Agen.

Re: Why Oil Activities Cannot Resume In Our Land Now – Ogonis Fume by Oxalic(m): 1:58pm On Jan 15, 2018
Correct.

Re: Why Oil Activities Cannot Resume In Our Land Now – Ogonis Fume by clevvermind(m): 2:04pm On Jan 15, 2018
Those people milking our resources and polluting our lands thought that we are fools, only God will punish them.

Re: Why Oil Activities Cannot Resume In Our Land Now – Ogonis Fume by Bobriskyblog: 3:35pm On Jan 15, 2018
hm
Re: Why Oil Activities Cannot Resume In Our Land Now – Ogonis Fume by Icecomrade: 3:35pm On Jan 15, 2018

The last time I checked Buhari was celebrated for his commitment to clean up Ogoni Land.

GEJ was berated as an ijaw man who could not do the same for his people.

One and half year down the line, we are all still in the mood of celebrating Buhari verbal commitment.

NAIJA!!!!

18 Likes

Re: Why Oil Activities Cannot Resume In Our Land Now – Ogonis Fume by Papanwamaikpe: 3:36pm On Jan 15, 2018
Story
Re: Why Oil Activities Cannot Resume In Our Land Now – Ogonis Fume by Andyblaze: 3:36pm On Jan 15, 2018
Ogoni people are the most marginalized in the world

Meanwhile what do u guys think of this - https://www.nairaland.com/4291389/check-out-song-nairalanders-andy#64221632
Re: Why Oil Activities Cannot Resume In Our Land Now – Ogonis Fume by Firefire(m): 3:37pm On Jan 15, 2018

Re: Why Oil Activities Cannot Resume In Our Land Now – Ogonis Fume by ironheart(m): 3:38pm On Jan 15, 2018
Hahahahahah, the world is moving away from fossil fuel and we are fighting over what will not be valuable in a few years time

Re: Why Oil Activities Cannot Resume In Our Land Now – Ogonis Fume by Nobody: 3:40pm On Jan 15, 2018
Amberon:
I met a foreigner at the airport. While he was waiting for his flight we got talking about Nigeria and buisness. The conversation reached a point and he asked me "do you know wiwa"? I said who? He said "Sari Wiwa"? I said "do you mean the late Ken Saro Wiwa"? He answered yes and told me that that place where Wiwa was from needs to be cleaned up right? I said yes, that is Ogoni and the federal government has just commenced a project for the clean up of Ogoni. Then he reached out for a complimentary card and showed it to me, he said "This is the buisness card of the company (Chinese company whose name I can't remember) that should be cleaning up Ogoni but your government (or whoever was in charge of giving out the contract) is asking for a whopping 50% of that money back (as bribe-but there was a particular term he used for it which I have forgotten). So according to him, the company refused hence the reason the money was never disbursed for the contract.

He explained to me that he has been to Nigeria several times on buisness trips and even knows some top government officials in Nigeria and that it is a normal thing for the government to request for a particular amount of money back as bribe from a company after awarding contracts to it. If true then really Nigeria is doomed.
there are a thousand and one investor looking to invest in Nigeria but when they come the demands of many of these officials drive them away. This is why we see foreigners signing agreements everyday but we don't see industries. This is where corruption has eaten deep into. We need a total overhaul!

Re: Why Oil Activities Cannot Resume In Our Land Now – Ogonis Fume by adecz: 3:40pm On Jan 15, 2018
How dem wan take "cleanup" all
These nyama-nyama sef??

E be like say na another way to
chop money by politicians...
Re: Why Oil Activities Cannot Resume In Our Land Now – Ogonis Fume by shalomm: 3:41pm On Jan 15, 2018
Amberon:

I can categorically say that you are correct sir. it is true. they ask for some certain percent back. infact i have experience one. Nigeria is indeed doomed.

11 Likes 1 Share

Re: Why Oil Activities Cannot Resume In Our Land Now – Ogonis Fume by pussypounder(m): 3:43pm On Jan 15, 2018
NOOO to Abookis and Fulani's.... They are animals!!!!

Re: Why Oil Activities Cannot Resume In Our Land Now – Ogonis Fume by chiedu7: 3:44pm On Jan 15, 2018
Una See why my people cannot stand Buhari.
Dem wan carry money from South use to build the North that they destroyed.

Meanwhile to simply clean Ogoni where the oil comes from, dem no gree

Re: Why Oil Activities Cannot Resume In Our Land Now – Ogonis Fume by santopelele(m): 3:45pm On Jan 15, 2018
NO be today we start to dey hear ogoni threats, their leaders wil just shut up once the govt gives them money for early morning ogogolo, they sabotage biafra struggle and that is the same how the govt is sabotaging their clean up exercise. mumu dey smell

Re: Why Oil Activities Cannot Resume In Our Land Now – Ogonis Fume by chiedu7: 3:47pm On Jan 15, 2018
santopelele:
NO be today we start to dey hear ogoni threats, their leaders wil just shut up once the govt gives them money for early morning ogogolo, they sabotage biafra struggle and that is the same how the govt is sabotaging their clean up exercise. mumu dey smell
See This agent of confusion.
Ogoni & the Niger Delta are demanding Biafra too.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wiwNijX8X6s

Re: Why Oil Activities Cannot Resume In Our Land Now – Ogonis Fume by Iruosonobrugwhe: 3:47pm On Jan 15, 2018
Ogoni has refused anybody to resume oil activities in that domain for over 20yrs but still collecting allocation and 13% derivation benefits from oil produced from other parts of rivers state that are equally polluted. i dont get it
Re: Why Oil Activities Cannot Resume In Our Land Now – Ogonis Fume by santopelele(m): 3:48pm On Jan 15, 2018
Re: Why Oil Activities Cannot Resume In Our Land Now – Ogonis Fume by ionsman: 3:49pm On Jan 15, 2018
The Edo state government awarded contracts under the Agric initiative bla bla bla... Osaro Idah and the P.S of the ministry of agriculture collected huge kickbacks,now contractors finished work,they(government) have refused to pay up the outstanding funds which is where contractors will get their own profits...

Walahi, this country is a mess.

Re: Why Oil Activities Cannot Resume In Our Land Now – Ogonis Fume by rawtouch: 3:50pm On Jan 15, 2018
calm down folks..
Re: Why Oil Activities Cannot Resume In Our Land Now – Ogonis Fume by freeze001(f): 3:50pm On Jan 15, 2018
ironheart:
Hahahahahah, the world is moving away from fossil fuel and we are fighting over what will not be valuable in a few years time

They are not fighting over oil but over their right to a safe and clean environment which is contiguous to the right to life! Or do u mean that their environment and lives will not be valuable in a few years time? I should think not!

Re: Why Oil Activities Cannot Resume In Our Land Now – Ogonis Fume by truthstands12: 3:57pm On Jan 15, 2018
When you people were dancing with Amina Mohammed and VP Osibanjo that the ogoni clean up is going to be completed soon, Wike was laughing at you people and you think this FG of today is ready to spend billions of dollars on Ogoni land. You are not serious. You people were made to believe that Buhari and Amaechi love you people more than Jonathan. We are watching naaa. Lets see. Clean up indeed. If Buhari wants to lay that pipe, he'll do it with soldiers and there's nothing you people can do. After all you people voted for APC. Enjoy your change.

Re: Why Oil Activities Cannot Resume In Our Land Now – Ogonis Fume by erico2k2(m): 3:58pm On Jan 15, 2018
Iruosonobrugwhe:
Ogoni has refused anybody to resume oil activities in that domain for over 20yrs but still collecting allocation and 13% derivation benefits from oil produced from other parts of rivers state that are equally polluted. i dont get it
Ogoni land or Rivers state ? ?
Re: Why Oil Activities Cannot Resume In Our Land Now – Ogonis Fume by Sagay212: 4:11pm On Jan 15, 2018
The useless govt has been promising to clean up the ogoni land. The evil peoole even lied they set up a committee to clean up the land, yet we haven't seen anything. You don't want to clean up the land you polluted but you want to collect hotel. The militant should resume work asap.

Re: Why Oil Activities Cannot Resume In Our Land Now – Ogonis Fume by Thisis2raw(m): 4:13pm On Jan 15, 2018
Why is the FG fining it hard to clean up a place they help pollute? Are the people living there lives not important?
I just pity my Ogonis brothers and sisters

Re: Why Oil Activities Cannot Resume In Our Land Now – Ogonis Fume by Claumy2(m): 4:27pm On Jan 15, 2018
Buhari is corruption...

Re: Why Oil Activities Cannot Resume In Our Land Now – Ogonis Fume by Nobody: 6:05pm On Jan 15, 2018
Amberon:

Re: Why Oil Activities Cannot Resume In Our Land Now – Ogonis Fume by mrdan(m): 6:27pm On Jan 15, 2018
Amberon:

The term you are looking for is 'kick back'
Most times to get a contract from federal or state the person in charge will be asking for it before they can approve it.

It's a curse Nigerians have been suffering from, for a long time.

President Buhari To Visit South Africa Over Welfare Of Nigerians / Governor Ganduje Presents N197bn Budget For 2020 / Describe Gej's Administration In 2 Words.

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 57