Stats: 3,143,176 members, 7,780,233 topics. Date: Thursday, 28 March 2024 at 11:11 AM

VIN Tampering: A Case Study /Imgdump - Car Talk (2) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Car Talk / VIN Tampering: A Case Study /Imgdump (26484 Views)

9 Places Car VIN (vehicle Identification Number) Is Located (Photos) / 9 Facts You Need To Know About Your Car VIN (Vehicle Identification Number) / How To Calculate Fuel Consumption In Your Car Using Innoson G5 As A Case-study (2) (3) (4)

Re: VIN Tampering: A Case Study /Imgdump by Cosplay: 10:52am On Apr 26, 2018
Jazzlite:

A. In the case of a vehicle involved in a accident...that part of the front chassis had to be cut off.... and replaced....the VIN will definitely be compromised.
I would have love to explain in pictures...but unfortunately I am tied up somewhere. But I will still do.

By the way Oga I want to inspect Range Rovers too.

Actually, no. That would have no connection whatsoever with this specific case.

This is about other possible explanations for the scenario I painted above.

Why exactly would the vin itself be ‘compromised’ in the situation you referred to? This isn’t about a vehicle VIN coming up as belonging to a similar vehicle, which is what would happen in the cut-weld situation you mentioned.

It’s about a vehicle vin itself being nonexistent and invalid.

Perhaps you should read the posts again.

Re: VIN Tampering: A Case Study /Imgdump by Cosplay: 10:53am On Apr 26, 2018
2017 Honda CR-V Vehicle 1

Specifications:

VIN - 5J6RW2H93HL059004

www.nairaland.com/attachments/7517085_screenshot20180804131318gallery_jpegfd522ade73418cdea91a771368adf852

Colour - G546M - Dark Olive Metallic - Black

Series/Trim - Touring

Drive Type: 4WD/4-Wheel Drive/4x4

Cylinders: 4

Primary Fuel Type: Gasoline

Transmission Style: Continuously Variable Transmission (CVT)

History:

July/August 2017:

Manufactured and shipped to dealer

Early September 2017:

Registered/Titled - Louisville, Kentucky.

Mileage at Title: 270 Miles

www.nairaland.com/attachments/7516896_screenshot20180804021809word_jpeg2c70caa1644388e581ae25eb70746abd

Mid September 2017:

Mileage - 270 - odd Miles

Devastating Damage reported -

Pillars totaled, passengers expired at scene. (Kentucky State Police Case #:17-00230). Rollover, Biohazard damage.

-VEHICLE OVERTURNED

-Kentucky State Police Report - LEFT FRONT IMPACT COLLISION WITH SECONDARY VEHICLE (Case #:17-00230)

-VERY SEVERE FRAME DAMAGE REPORTED

-MULTIPLE AIR BAG DEPLOYMENT

-VEHICLE WAS TOWED

October/November 2017:

Vehicle declared Salvage - State Farm Inc, Kentucky.

www.nairaland.com/attachments/7516911_screenshot20180804021723word_jpega157e83ddd37d5f9308e00aae2c2f8e3

Claims paid.

www.nairaland.com/attachments/7516895_screenshot20180804021921word_jpeg1bb8048610d865b64c0490d19c03bf6b

Vehicle moved to auction - Copart Inc.

Auction announced as Junk/Parts Only.

Auction document - Bill of Sale, Parts Only, No Title.

December 2017

Vehicle sold by Copart, Louisville, Kentucky. Winning bid 2000 USD. North Carolina.

www.nairaland.com/attachments/7516910_screenshot20180804015434chrome_jpeg8f9f012d6031718cfa095302f3daa8e1

February 2018

Vehicle returned to Copart auction.

Half-hearted attempts at repairs noted. Hood flattened, windscreen changed.

Vehicle still a hulking pile of junk.

Vehicle sold by Copart, Greer, South Carolina. Winning bid 4250 USD.

27 February 2018

Vehicle removed from Copart Premises.

The End...

Re: VIN Tampering: A Case Study /Imgdump by Jazzlite: 10:56am On Apr 26, 2018
Cosplay:

Actually, no. That would have no connection whatsoever with this specific case.

This is about other possible explanations for the scenario I painted above.

Why exactly would the vin itself be ‘compromised’ in the situation you referred to? This isn’t about a vehicle VIN coming up as belonging to a similar vehicle, which is what would happen in the situation you mentioned.

It’s about a vehicle vin being nonexistent and invalid.
All falls under compromised VIN or inconsistent VIN.
Re: VIN Tampering: A Case Study /Imgdump by Cosplay: 10:57am On Apr 26, 2018
Not quite.

2017 Honda CR-V Vehicle 2

Specifications:

VIN - 5J6RW2H93HL059004. Same as vehicle 1

www.nairaland.com/attachments/7516913_screenshot20180803123437buyselljijing_jpeg3046b9d43c69d98331f6f9104b05edf3

Colour - NH603PX - White Diamond Pearl - White

Series/Trim - Touring, Turbo.

Drive Type: FWD/2-Wheel Drive/4x2

Cylinders: 4

Primary Fuel Type: Gasoline

Transmission Style: Continuously Variable Transmission (CVT)

History

July/August 2018

Surfaces for sale in Lagos State, Nigeria

www.nairaland.com/attachments/7516912_screenshot20180803123617buyselljijing_jpegfbe475904be399ba466bbc45e79e527d

Displayed mileage: 18,004 KM

www.nairaland.com/attachments/7516894_screenshot20180803123700buyselljijing_jpeg3c39a8619c258124a8d5fa957e91960b

VIN stickers for side by side comparison of Vehicles 1 and 2:

Addendum:

1. Vehicle 1 appears to have disappeared into a scrap yard and was cannibalized for parts.

2. Vehicle 2 appears to be a 2017 Honda CR-V of Canadian origin. Note bilingual labels in French/English, Odometer is also displayed in KM, though for this model there is an option/button to switch to Miles.

3. Vehicle 2 cannot possibly bear the same VIN as Vehicle 1. Vehicle 2 has a relatively high quality counterfeit VIN sticker, which includes the VIN and the barcode from vehicle 1.
Note fonts, spacing, 4WD vs FWD, Colour codes, among others.

4. Vehicle 2 is a quite expensive, late model vehicle of uncertain origin and provenance, most certainly illegally obtained. VIN cloning par excellence.

5. Nigeria, specifically Lagos State, urgently needs updated and modern automobile safety and security laws/rules/regulations.

Re: VIN Tampering: A Case Study /Imgdump by LeJeun3: 11:45am On Apr 26, 2018
Jazzlite:

A. In the case of a vehicle involved in a accident...that part of the front chassis had to be cut off.... and replaced....the VIN will definitely be compromised.
I would have love to explain in pictures...but unfortunately I am tied up somewhere. But I will still do.

By the way Oga I want to inspect Range Rovers too.

You want make I inspect am abi na you wan go??

Re: VIN Tampering: A Case Study /Imgdump by Jazzlite: 11:48am On Apr 26, 2018
LeJeun3:

You want make I inspect am abi na you wan go??

I wan go nah....
Re: VIN Tampering: A Case Study /Imgdump by Whizpeter(m): 12:24pm On Apr 26, 2018
Jazzlite:
You will have more than a eyeful.

If I hear say you bring any picture come out. You that can bark but can't bite.

Cosplay, good job you've done here, kudos.

Re: VIN Tampering: A Case Study /Imgdump by Whizpeter(m): 12:24pm On Apr 26, 2018
Re: VIN Tampering: A Case Study /Imgdump by LeJeun3: 1:07pm On Apr 26, 2018
Jazzlite:

I wan go nah....

Asta la vista ... with all pleasure!

Re: VIN Tampering: A Case Study /Imgdump by mexxy1(m): 7:06pm On Apr 26, 2018
Impressive! Keep it up cosplay.

Re: VIN Tampering: A Case Study /Imgdump by calculusx(m): 10:46pm On Apr 26, 2018
• Am I surprised? NO. Don't mean to derail your thread but I will give an insight how such Vehicles make it to Nigeria next week most especially from Canada and majority of them are latest Cars. How such Cars make it out of Lagos Port without duty is still a mystery to me. It takes someone with an eagle eye and experience to notice such though.
Don't be surprised it happen in US too as I fell a Victim to something similar 4yrs ago to a Corolla bought legitimately through IAAI(No Vin plate or Vin Tag on the Vehicle at all). 1 bottle of Champagne for you but still, make your contact numbers available for NLers to reach you directly for questions

14 Likes

Re: VIN Tampering: A Case Study /Imgdump by Nobody: 6:38am On Apr 27, 2018
You have a message waiting you on ES 330 Thread. Kindly check.
rikaboy85:
Cosplay how can i reach you privately??
Re: VIN Tampering: A Case Study /Imgdump by Drdreluv: 10:26pm On Apr 27, 2018
Following.....
Re: VIN Tampering: A Case Study /Imgdump by Cosplay: 3:05am On Apr 28, 2018
progress69:

Bros can u check this for me?
4T3BE11A49U002317

You should consider obtaining a carfax or other form of VIN report for future purposes. It would paint a better picture of the history of this vehicle.

This comes up for a white 2009 Toyota Venza Base trim.

Has an accidented and salvaged history.

Re: VIN Tampering: A Case Study /Imgdump by Cosplay: 3:07am On Apr 28, 2018

Re: VIN Tampering: A Case Study /Imgdump by king406(m): 3:37am On Apr 28, 2018
Thank you very much for this, God bless.
Re: VIN Tampering: A Case Study /Imgdump by Cosplay: 9:40am On Apr 28, 2018
MrFinbarr:
Cosplay please can you look up this Vin for me, please bro.

4T1BF32K85U103184

Thank you so much.

You need to obtain a more comprehensive VIN report. I do not offer those as a service but you could get in contact with computerglobal or the other VIN check threads.

Re: VIN Tampering: A Case Study /Imgdump by Cosplay: 9:40am On Apr 28, 2018

Re: VIN Tampering: A Case Study /Imgdump by MrFinbarr(m): 9:47am On Apr 28, 2018
Cosplay:

You need to obtain a more comprehensive VIN report. I do not offer those as a service but you could get in contact with computerglobal or the other VIN check threads.

Alright. Thank you so much.
I appreciate.
Re: VIN Tampering: A Case Study /Imgdump by Machini(m): 11:12am On Apr 28, 2018
Dear Cosplay,
Kindly assist with this VIN: 4T1BF28B8YU111534
Anticipating your kind response.
Re: VIN Tampering: A Case Study /Imgdump by GAZZUZZ(m): 12:44pm On Apr 28, 2018
rikaboy85:
Cosplay how can i reach you privately??

send me a P.M I will respond.

Re: VIN Tampering: A Case Study /Imgdump by progress69: 1:11pm On Apr 28, 2018
Cosplay:

You should consider obtaining a carfax or other form of VIN report for future purposes. It would paint a better picture of the history of this vehicle.

This comes up for a white 2009 Toyota Venza Base trim.

Has an accidented and salvaged history.

From my understanding, they said that doesnt mean the car is bad. Like this accident i am seeing is not a serious one. I checked carfax...its about $35 to get the report. Is there a cheaper link?
Re: VIN Tampering: A Case Study /Imgdump by Cosplay: 1:35pm On Apr 28, 2018
progress69:

From my understanding, they said that doesnt mean the car is bad. Like this accident i am seeing is not a serious one. I checked carfax...its about $35 to get the report. Is there a cheaper link?

As long as this was repaired to standard, it's actually not as severe as some cases I've come across. In this case a physical inspection by a trained and trustworthy professional, in addition to the VIN report, should inform your decision.

You can contact computerglobal for competitive carfax prices. His information is in the Autos Section.

Good Luck.

Re: VIN Tampering: A Case Study /Imgdump by progress69: 1:42pm On Apr 28, 2018
Cosplay:

As long as this was repaired to standard, it's actually not as severe as some cases I've come across. In this case a physical inspection by a trained and trustworthy professional, in addition to the VIN report, should inform your decision.

You can contact computerglobal for competitive carfax prices. His information is in the Autos Section.

Good Luck.

Thanks !
Re: VIN Tampering: A Case Study /Imgdump by DEXTROVERT: 10:26pm On May 04, 2018
Cosplay:
I very recently came across a Vehicle Advert in the Autos Section of this Forum, as I so often do, and was about to make a VIN request, as I also often do, but I noticed I had been beaten to the punch by a fellow interested, as I am, in making the aforementioned section a more transparent and a safer marketplace for buyers and sellers alike.

I also noticed the reluctance of the seller to provide the VIN. This isn't exactly unusual, as while significant progress has been made and a lot of adverts now include the VIN and relevant vehicle history, some sellers still express significant resistance to the idea for a number of often less-than-rational reasons.

However, as I often do, I further investigated the vehicle put up for sale, which appeared to be a US-origin 'Tokunbo' 2014 Toyota Venza, LE Trim, ostensibly sporting the 2.7 L 1AR-FE I4 and finished in Barcelona Red Metallic (3R3) color scheme.

The results of my investigation have prompted this thread.

https://www.nairaland.com/4458017/sparkling-red-toks-2014-toyota

Boss can you help me check if this vin is accidented or had issues
2T1BR32E23C743326
Re: VIN Tampering: A Case Study /Imgdump by CarGuideNG: 10:29pm On May 04, 2018
DEXTROVERT:

Boss can you help me check if this vin is accidented or had issues
2T1BR32E23C743326

CarGuideNG:
Hello Sir

Get in touch for your comprehensive and premium vehicle VIN reports with photographs where often available.

We run a 24 hour service to meet your needs.

https:///send?phone=2347011116171

Click on the above link to contact us via whatsapp. We are also available via SMS, and emails to our Mobile Numbers listed above.

Re: VIN Tampering: A Case Study /Imgdump by chikasin4(m): 6:19pm On May 05, 2018
Pls cosplay help me retrieve the car history of this my car.
Thank you.
2T1BR32E93C739600
Chyco4life2@yahoo.com

Driver Flees With Employer’s SUV 2 Weeks After Employment (photos) / Lagos To Impose New Taxi Rules To Clamp Down On Services Like Uber / How Nigerians Behave As Car Owners

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 42