Stats: 3,149,922 members, 7,806,677 topics. Date: Tuesday, 23 April 2024 at 08:36 PM

Opinion: 2.5D Screens And Curved Tvs Are Not Worth It,stop Wasting Your Money ! - Phones - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Science/Technology / Phones / Opinion: 2.5D Screens And Curved Tvs Are Not Worth It,stop Wasting Your Money ! (4236 Views)

Is The Syinix 55 Inch TVs Worth It? / #didyouknow That The #infinixs4 Has 2.5D Glass Body That Makes It Uniquely Aesth / Is 2.5D Curved Glass Just Another Marketing Gimmick (2) (3) (4)

Opinion: 2.5D Screens And Curved Tvs Are Not Worth It,stop Wasting Your Money ! by TechCapon(m): 6:44pm On Jun 18, 2018

As far as I know, 2.5D curved display in smartphones is just a marketing jargon used to squeeze out extra cash from customers and nothing more. Before I go further, let me explain exactly what 2.5D screen is all about.
2.5D refers to a slight curvature at the edge of the glass display, also known as a contoured edge. While not an official name for any piece of technology, it is widely used to reference this type of display design. You might not even really be able to notice it on some smart phones. Devices like the Infinix S2 X522, tecno camon cx etc all come with 2.5D even though you hardly notice it. Higher end smartphones like Samsung galaxy s6 edge, G Flex comes with a more noticeable 3D curved screen giving them a premium look.

What are the benefits?

Honestly the answer is no benefit. Apart from the fact that it slightly improves the design, it really doesn’t add any value to the phone. 2.5D glass doesn’t improve display quality, it doesn’t prevent the screen from cracking or anything like that so what’s the point? It even makes it difficult to put a screen protector on it for those 3D screens like the s6 edge, because you hardly find a curved screen protector in the market. I just think it’s just a gimmick they’re trying to use to sell their products. No wonder Apple and other smartphone companies stopped introducing it to their recent products.

Now let’s go over to the TV world.

I really don’t understand why TV makers introduced this concept? A curved TV is just a flat TV that bends around the edges. It’s not really a new trend, it has been around for a few years now but I can’t fathom why a curved TV was produced but I think it’s still the same reason as above, to squeeze out extra cash. According to LG’s Director of New Product Development Tim Alessi. “Since the appeal of curved is purely aesthetic and it does nothing to enhance the picture quality, we prefer to focus on flat form factor for the TV itself.” That’s exactly my point, it does nothing to enhance picture quality! No wonder LG announced last year it will no longer make curved TVs. That leaves Samsung as the only brand selling curved TVs, my question is for how long will they keep up the charade? Besides, if you hang a curved TV on a wall, it looks ugly and awkward. Funny enough, this curved TV was more expensive than the flat TV when it first came out but funny enough, buyers have realized it’s just a trick and are going back to the original flat TVs.

Do you think there are any real value for curved screens ? Tell us in the comment section.

Lalasticlala
Mynd44

source: http://techcapon.com/opinion-2-5d-phone-screens-and-curved-tvs-are-not-worth-itstop-wasting-your-money/

Re: Opinion: 2.5D Screens And Curved Tvs Are Not Worth It,stop Wasting Your Money ! by daamazing(m): 7:20pm On Jun 18, 2018
What are you even saying..? Curved TV screen is bar, gives a better FOV

Re: Opinion: 2.5D Screens And Curved Tvs Are Not Worth It,stop Wasting Your Money ! by GrandMufti: 8:13pm On Jun 18, 2018
daamazing:

Very soon he'll say 3D is jargon

Re: Opinion: 2.5D Screens And Curved Tvs Are Not Worth It,stop Wasting Your Money ! by Nobody: 8:24pm On Jun 18, 2018
daamazing:
what's fov? Do your research before making comments. Major tech bloggers are saying the same thing. There's no benefit of a curved screen

Re: Opinion: 2.5D Screens And Curved Tvs Are Not Worth It,stop Wasting Your Money ! by Nobody: 8:25pm On Jun 18, 2018
GrandMufti:

Very soon he'll say 3D is jargon
what's 3D? I'm not sure if you even know what it means
Re: Opinion: 2.5D Screens And Curved Tvs Are Not Worth It,stop Wasting Your Money ! by GrandMufti: 8:38pm On Jun 18, 2018
lofty900:
what's 3D? I'm not sure if you even know what it means

Then come back when you are sure lipsrsealed

Re: Opinion: 2.5D Screens And Curved Tvs Are Not Worth It,stop Wasting Your Money ! by Nobody: 8:48pm On Jun 18, 2018
GrandMufti:

Then come back when you are sure lipsrsealed
lol. I agree with the op. How many new phones do you see coming with the so called 2.5D? Truth is it doesn't move people anymore that's why they're coming out with this bezeless concept. That's the reigning thing now.

Re: Opinion: 2.5D Screens And Curved Tvs Are Not Worth It,stop Wasting Your Money ! by meobizy(f): 11:19pm On Jun 18, 2018
daamazing:
Sorry, it has no benefit whatsoever.
If you check Amazon reviews a lot of customers type livid epistles because they sold off better TVs to buy newer shinier curved ones which turned out inferior.

Re: Opinion: 2.5D Screens And Curved Tvs Are Not Worth It,stop Wasting Your Money ! by meobizy(f): 11:19pm On Jun 18, 2018
OP is this your new account? You didn't need to delete the old one.

The only feature I'm going to buy a TV for nowadays is 4K, 8K or 16K with HDR support. Those are screen formats I know will become mainstream soon.

Re: Opinion: 2.5D Screens And Curved Tvs Are Not Worth It,stop Wasting Your Money ! by oxygenlove(m): 12:11am On Jun 19, 2018
i dnt understand what yur saying o, stil enjoying ma granpa dash me "4k resolution" tv cheesy cheesy

Re: Opinion: 2.5D Screens And Curved Tvs Are Not Worth It,stop Wasting Your Money ! by Nobody: 12:44am On Jun 19, 2018
meobizy:

Sorry, it has no benefit whatsoever.
If you check Amazon reviews a lot of customers type livid epistles because they sold off better TVs to buy newer shinier curved ones which turned out inferior.
exactly. It has no benefit. The reason LG stopped making curved oled TVs is that they recorded low sales. Customers still prefer the normal flat TV

Re: Opinion: 2.5D Screens And Curved Tvs Are Not Worth It,stop Wasting Your Money ! by Badb0y4lyf(m): 3:36am On Jun 19, 2018
Screen technology has come a long way from TFT to amoled on phones and from cathode ray tube to plasma and now Qled curved screen is just a technological idea that can be marketed to rake in More cash but I believe. They have more applicational use on mobile phones
Re: Opinion: 2.5D Screens And Curved Tvs Are Not Worth It,stop Wasting Your Money ! by chinebu(m): 6:40am On Jun 19, 2018
Is it your money that I am spending to buy it? What's your problem.
Re: Opinion: 2.5D Screens And Curved Tvs Are Not Worth It,stop Wasting Your Money ! by Nobody: 7:38am On Jun 19, 2018
Broke people always think they have an opinion cool
Re: Opinion: 2.5D Screens And Curved Tvs Are Not Worth It,stop Wasting Your Money ! by khalhokage(m): 8:13am On Jun 19, 2018
Those curved TVs actually reduce the viewing angle, so it's the opposite of a benefit, like iPhones removing the headphone jack and calling it courageous.

Re: Opinion: 2.5D Screens And Curved Tvs Are Not Worth It,stop Wasting Your Money ! by khalhokage(m): 8:15am On Jun 19, 2018
DREAMZZZ:

So.... rich people don't have opinions? got it.

Re: Opinion: 2.5D Screens And Curved Tvs Are Not Worth It,stop Wasting Your Money ! by Nobody: 8:56am On Jun 19, 2018
DREAMZZZ:
this post is strictly for intellectuals, not for dumb people.

Re: Opinion: 2.5D Screens And Curved Tvs Are Not Worth It,stop Wasting Your Money ! by Nobody: 8:58am On Jun 19, 2018
khalhokage:
Those curved TVs actually reduce the viewing angle, so it's the opposite of a benefit, like iPhones removing the headphone jack and calling it courageous.
exactly. Mehn that headphone jack removal really doesn't make sense.

Re: Opinion: 2.5D Screens And Curved Tvs Are Not Worth It,stop Wasting Your Money ! by Nobody: 9:41am On Jun 19, 2018
lofty900:
intellectual but you dont have money to buy the tv ....so you criticize while crying in poverty grin
Re: Opinion: 2.5D Screens And Curved Tvs Are Not Worth It,stop Wasting Your Money ! by onatisi(m): 9:53am On Jun 19, 2018
lofty900:
lol. I agree with the op. How many new phones do you see coming with the so called 2.5D? Truth is it doesn't move people anymore that's why they're coming out with this bezeless concept. That's the reigning thing now.
The op has a point and if the manufacturers of these curved products are truly dumping the idea then maybe the market isn't responding well as anticipated.
New designs actually sell at first but when ppl realized that the out is still the same as the older designs,they will eventually go back to the old ideas .

Re: Opinion: 2.5D Screens And Curved Tvs Are Not Worth It,stop Wasting Your Money ! by orbgoblin: 10:16am On Jun 19, 2018
those are the only features that matter and and with large screens too
meobizy:
OP is this your new account? You didn't need to delete the old one.

The only feature I'm going to buy a TV for nowadays is 4K, 8K or 16K with HDR support. Those are screen formats I know will become mainstream soon.
Re: Opinion: 2.5D Screens And Curved Tvs Are Not Worth It,stop Wasting Your Money ! by omogidi234(m): 11:38am On Jun 19, 2018
Hmmmm. Nice topic. I guess for me, it would help me to determine if I want or not and not necessarily be under pressure to buy a curve TV.

Re: Opinion: 2.5D Screens And Curved Tvs Are Not Worth It,stop Wasting Your Money ! by TechCapon(m): 11:41am On Jun 19, 2018
omogidi234:
Hmmmm. Nice topic. I guess for me, it would help me to determine if I want or not and not necessarily be under pressure to buy a curve TV.
glad it was helpful to you.

Re: Opinion: 2.5D Screens And Curved Tvs Are Not Worth It,stop Wasting Your Money ! by dasanchez1(m): 2:39pm On Jun 19, 2018
lofty900:
as if you're not dumb too grin grin
Re: Opinion: 2.5D Screens And Curved Tvs Are Not Worth It,stop Wasting Your Money ! by mejai(m): 2:43pm On Jun 19, 2018
Curved doesn't have sense but normal has sense.

like it was stated... It is ugly and awkward on d wall grin

Re: Opinion: 2.5D Screens And Curved Tvs Are Not Worth It,stop Wasting Your Money ! by Phemmygbl(m): 3:23pm On Jun 19, 2018
The point of curved screens is aesthetics. Are you saying aesthetics is irrelevant? If it doesn’t work for you, get the flat one, they didn’t force you to buy did they? You said the curve improves the design, what else do you want? Not all TVs are meant to be hanged. Your article reeks of money issues, what you could have just said is that if you can’t afford the curved screens go with the flat ones. Besides everyone has his/her own preference.

Re: Opinion: 2.5D Screens And Curved Tvs Are Not Worth It,stop Wasting Your Money ! by Nobody: 4:55pm On Jun 19, 2018
Phemmygbl:
The point of curved screens is aesthetics. Are you saying aesthetics is irrelevant? If it doesn’t work for you, get the flat one, they didn’t force you to buy did they? You said the curve improves the design, what else do you want? Not all TVs are meant to be hanged. Your article reeks of money issues, what you could have just said is that if you can’t afford the curved screens go with the flat ones. Besides everyone has his/her own preference.
So in your mind, you just made sense?
Re: Opinion: 2.5D Screens And Curved Tvs Are Not Worth It,stop Wasting Your Money ! by Greatzeus(m): 6:18pm On Jun 19, 2018
Phemmygbl:
Be humble stolen phone seller tongue The Op made an intelligent article, people with such passion for knowledge are rarely poor,even if he is,it won't be for long.
Slowpoke selling stolen goods up and down forming rich.

Re: Opinion: 2.5D Screens And Curved Tvs Are Not Worth It,stop Wasting Your Money ! by Phemmygbl(m): 6:35pm On Jun 19, 2018
CHESTER48:
So in your mind, you just made sense?
the iPhone 7 64gb guy grin, are you stalking me? Well it doesn’t have to make sense to you, so?
Re: Opinion: 2.5D Screens And Curved Tvs Are Not Worth It,stop Wasting Your Money ! by Phemmygbl(m): 6:38pm On Jun 19, 2018
Greatzeus:

Be humble stolen phone seller tongue The Op made an intelligent article, people with such passion for knowledge are rarely poor,even if he is,it won't be for long.
Slowpoke selling stolen goods up and down forming rich.
lmao @phone seller. You’re sounding hurt, it’s okay. Now calm down, take one bottle of cold water, read again-this time to understand. Did I attack or insult the op? Una go just dey carry frustration for head up and down- e dey affect your IQ. Relax, last last e go better grin . Imagine the world with only flat, boring screens. If you like flat go with it and if you want curve please spend your money cheesy

Re: Opinion: 2.5D Screens And Curved Tvs Are Not Worth It,stop Wasting Your Money ! by Greatzeus(m): 6:47pm On Jun 19, 2018
Phemmygbl:
lmao @phone seller. You’re sounding hurt, it’s okay. Now calm down, take one bottle of cold water, read again-this time to understand. Did I attack or insult the op? Una go just dey carry frustration for head up and down. Relax, last last e go better grin . Imagine the world with only flat, boring screens. If you like flat go with it and if you want curve please spend your money cheesy
Shut up kid, I repeat you are a stolen phone seller idiot tongue
Oh you imported them right Ahh lol grin
How you going come on a forum calling a diligent guy poor for posting a knowledgeable article,you don't have to agree with,immature f**ktard.
Vamos,I'm about to watch Sallah vs Russia at the comfort of my home. Your clients are waiting for you with newly snatched phones,go buy them and come here to look for customers, slowpoke tongue grin angry angry

Takee 1 Holographic Smart Phone / How To Use Tweakware Premium Servers Without Paying A Dime / End Of Etisalat 250mb, 500mb And 700mb On Etisalat Data Reselling Platform???

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 39